View Full Version : Setanta Cup 2013
Pages :
[
6]
04/03/2013, 8:34 PM
Bad peno miss, even worse follow up...
I thought it was a super penalty and world class finish.
Fester
04/03/2013, 8:37 PM
Crusader 1 v 3 Cork City FT (Agg 1 - 4). Cork into the next round.
Dillonman
04/03/2013, 8:57 PM
my god the irish league is getting woeful year after year.
littlebray
04/03/2013, 9:02 PM
Crusader 1 v 3 Cork City
Is there some controversy about this? Extratime gives Cork a Magowan OG and an Abbott goal, both in time added (I think, the times are a mess) - was one of them ruled out?
Only1Rovers
04/03/2013, 9:03 PM
oooooooohhhhhh Sligo Rovers were purring for 45 minutes this evening against an understrength Glentoran side. (Second half was forgettable, after the game had finished as a competition).
Anthony Elding looks the biz, plays quick ball, has a bit of pace and has proven he's lethal from 3 yards.
He and Lynch linked up very for the first half. Great to see McMillan get on the score sheet too.
http://balls.ie/football/linfield-penalty-miss-shamrock-rovers-setanta-cup/
Peno miss and follow up
oriel
04/03/2013, 11:11 PM
my god the irish league is getting woeful year after year.
Results tonight would suggest there is certainly a widening gap in the standard between the two leagues.
I was at both of our games v Linfield in 2011 and I couldn't get over how poor they were. We had a good side that year, but even though we battered them 6-4 on agg we still only finished 7th that season I think they went on to win the double? they def won the league.
Results tonight would suggest there is certainly a widening gap in the standard between the two leagues.
12-2 to the LOI tonight..
05/03/2013, 2:17 AM
12-2 to the LOI tonight..
Yeah, but sure the only reason LOI clubs do well in Europe is because they're in the middle of their seasons and have an advantage on all the other clubs who are just out of pre-season.
Wait.
Pablo Escobar
05/03/2013, 7:32 AM
According to the ILS forum our 4-1 aggregate win against Crusaders was lucky and in another tie they would have won.
gormacha
05/03/2013, 8:10 AM
Does anyone on here follow the DanskeThingy Premiership sufficiently to say whether these hidings are a true reflection of the gap between the leagues? The Premiership teams may well have been understrength, but the LOI teams are still gelling in pre-season. To my untrained eye, it does suggest the LOI is stronger, but I know phuq-all about our northern brethren.
DannyInvincible
05/03/2013, 9:14 AM
From even a cursory glance at the two sides in the televised game last night, you could see which side was fitter and the more athletic. And that wasn't the side in the middle of their season. Quite a few of the Linfield players looked to be carrying extra pounds.
How long did this display of brassneckery last on the Tallaght flag pole, ha?: http://balls.ie/football/linfield-supporters-hoisted-a-union-jack-up-a-flagpole-at-tallaght-stadium-tonight/
http://ballsdot.wpengine.netdna-cdn.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/03/unionjack1.png
Pablo Escobar
05/03/2013, 9:40 AM
Does anyone on here follow the DanskeThingy Premiership sufficiently to say whether these hidings are a true reflection of the gap between the leagues? The Premiership teams may well have been understrength, but the LOI teams are still gelling in pre-season. To my untrained eye, it does suggest the LOI is stronger, but I know phuq-all about our northern brethren.
What I do know is that Crusaders were at full strength last night.
05/03/2013, 9:51 AM
The most cursory of glances to Final Score NI on a Saturday would show this to be the case. The gulf is truly getting wider. That cannot be in doubt.
DannyInvincible
05/03/2013, 9:56 AM
The most cursory of glances to Final Score NI on a Saturday would show this to be the case. The gulf is truly getting wider. That cannot be in doubt.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fjEkjeVzL34
05/03/2013, 10:14 AM
I've done a quick comparison. The gap isn't getting wider
http://statsthatarepointless.wordpress.com/2013/03/05/quick-comparison-of-league-of-ireland-versus-irish-league-clubs-in-the-setanta-cup/
05/03/2013, 10:44 AM
http://statsthatarepointless.wordpress.com/2013/03/05/quick-comparison-of-league-of-ireland-versus-irish-league-clubs-in-the-setanta-cup/
Handy, fair play
El-Pietro
05/03/2013, 12:03 PM
Jason Abbot wasnt even in Belfast last night. if he was hed have been on the bench as we didnt have any central midfielders available to bring on.
Magowan own goal.
05/03/2013, 12:25 PM
If we have 4 LOI semi-finalists does that not mean the gap is widening? Granted we will have to wait a couple of years to see this develop as a trend.
The quality gap is getting wider. I don't know how you could say otherwise watching the SSC.
Have you get GF and GA stats actually while you're at it? Actually I know you do. :)
adamd164
05/03/2013, 12:37 PM
Don't know if there were cameras at the game, but Daryl Kavanagh's goal for us last night was absolute world class, in off the crossbar from 30 yards out.
Seaview, Crusaders' ground, is a nice little stadium... was pleasantly surprised. Better facilities than 90% of LOI grounds. We were also welcomed into their bar at HT and FT.
05/03/2013, 12:45 PM
If we have 4 LOI semi-finalists does that not mean the gap is widening? Granted we will have to wait a couple of years to see this develop as a trend.
The quality gap is getting wider. I don't know how you could say otherwise watching the SSC.
But its one year. Last year was the IL's best year ever. Did tht mean that the standards were dramatically narrowed last year? It proves the LOI has always been far stronger. Judging it over time rather than just this year is the key
adamd164
05/03/2013, 12:48 PM
Tournament odds from Bwin:
Sligo Rovers 2/1
Shamrock Rovers 2/1
Cork City 4/1
Drogheda 6/1
Derry City 9/1
Linfield 33/1
Glentoran 66/1
05/03/2013, 2:10 PM
But its one year. Last year was the IL's best year ever. Did tht mean that the standards were dramatically narrowed last year? It proves the LOI has always been far stronger. Judging it over time rather than just this year is the key
That's why I said: Granted we will have to wait a couple of years to see this develop as a trend.
Now about those GF and GA stats...
patrickccfc
05/03/2013, 6:48 PM
anyone else notice at the start of the game last night shamrock rovers fans started singing "shamrock rovers champions" then quickly stopped.. was funny
05/03/2013, 7:15 PM
Judging by the disparity in recent performances between the two League's representatives (resulting in the first time that all four semi finalists could well be LoI clubs) - are the days of this competition as a viable competitive tournament numbered?
What could be done to improve it if so?
Would do a poll in thread but it seems I can't do so...
Fivesilver
05/03/2013, 7:48 PM
Now now - don't be coming on here denigrating the Leinster Senior Cup
05/03/2013, 9:19 PM
Well Dodge says there's no real disparity. :-P
If there was a proper prize on offer like European place then maybe. but most teams that would qualify for it would more than likely qualify for Europe by the cups or league anyway...
Having it as a straight knock out between the best 12 clubs from each association would help too.
adamd164
05/03/2013, 9:31 PM
Crusaders have a Wavin Pipes stand behind the goal. It even has 'WAVIN' written across the stand in white-on-red seats.
Dillonman
05/03/2013, 9:34 PM
Think it should go to a one legged cup tie. would add to the ties. best 4clubs from each into a quarter or go eight clubs from each league and extend it over the season that it involves our clubs pre season and mid season and the same with the northern clubs.
05/03/2013, 9:35 PM
Now now - don't be coming on here denigrating the Leinster Senior Cup
It's the only cup that matters. Just above coming fourth in the English Premier League.
05/03/2013, 10:08 PM
Think it should go to a one legged cup tie. would add to the ties. best 4clubs from each into a quarter or go eight clubs from each league and extend it over the season that it involves our clubs pre season and mid season and the same with the northern clubs.
I agree with one legged ties. Gives a chance for a one-off result to happen, ie. an IL team to win.
NeverFeltBetter
05/03/2013, 10:28 PM
Never seen much of an attraction in it, just spectator wise. I'd be more interested in some kind of Community Shield-type affair where the league champions of both nations or a League XI play each in a one legged thing alternating between capitals, try and make an event of it to promote both leagues. Probably not the best comparison, but something like the All-Star Games they do in the US.
Then again I have no idea how financially lucrative/valuable the Setanta Cup is as it stands, so I might be way off in my suggestions. You wonder how much the IFA values it though. Any chance the Welsh League could get involved in some fashion?
05/03/2013, 10:42 PM
What will Welsh teams add?
Except higher stats in the Goals For column.
Or the Goals Against column if TNS get Bohs.
NeverFeltBetter
05/03/2013, 10:58 PM
Just something new, bigger games for them, promote closer ties, yadda yadda yadda.
05/03/2013, 11:14 PM
Just something new, bigger games for them, promote closer ties, yadda yadda yadda.
If we can't get people excited for Linfield v Shams... What hope has Drogheda v Bala Town?
Though I would be intrigued to see Bangor City v Bangor one day.
05/03/2013, 11:17 PM
LAds, LOI clusb aren't playing friendlies because they won't pay for refs, they're not going to pay for travel to Wales to play in front of 500 people
05/03/2013, 11:21 PM
Lad, LOI clusb aren't playing friendlies because they won't pay for refs, they're not going to pay for travel to Wales to play in front of 500 people
Fixed that for you.
NFB... what Dodge said
adamd164
06/03/2013, 9:49 AM
Highlights of Crusaders vs Cork City - go to 3.40 in to see Daryl Kavanagh's goal. Also follow it up to see a City fan (and poster on here) take a tumble celebrating it. Not me, thankfully.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mh0IDBx8Mqo&feature=youtu.be
citybone
06/03/2013, 5:43 PM
On Soccer AM's twitter page, might get the goal on Soccer AM, Your welcome Daryl Kavanage!
Ned Flanders
06/03/2013, 7:29 PM
Setanta have selected Linfield v Rovers 2nd leg as next Mondays televised game.
adamd164
06/03/2013, 9:39 PM
Setanta have selected Linfield v Rovers 2nd leg as next Mondays televised game.
would have thought Drogs v Derry was the more interesting tie considering it's the only really alive tie. I guess what it comes down to is that there's more rovers fans than either of those though.
legendz
06/03/2013, 9:52 PM
I think the Setanta Cup is grand as it is and has stumbled on it's best format. They'll be going down the road of the hurling league if they chop and change with another revamp in format. Leave it as it is. It's good preparation as it is for teams who'll be in European action in the summer. Good to get a few games played in the similar format over two legs. I don't see how adding Welsh clubs would add to the competition. Roll on more LoI dominance in the Setanta cup and roll on the start of the LoI action this weekend. Just a shame as always that a Kerry club has yet to grace the LoI.
07/03/2013, 8:07 AM
would have thought Drogs v Derry was the more interesting tie considering it's the only really alive tie. I guess what it comes down to is that there's more rovers fans than either of those though.
My guess is it's because Windsor has better TV facilities.
07/03/2013, 9:00 AM
My guess is it's because Windsor has better TV facilities.
Exactly, its a cheaper gig if they dont have to pay crew to setup. Less headache to just be able to go and plug in and away ya go.
There's no sponsor for next year, so if one isn't found, it's finished
DannyInvincible
07/03/2013, 9:27 AM
There's no sponsor for next year, so if one isn't found, it's finished
If Setanta will no longer be attached to the competition, is it fair to assume they'll also cease broadcasting games?
07/03/2013, 9:41 AM
If Setanta will no longer be attached to the competition, is it fair to assume they'll also cease broadcasting games?
Well they'll look to see is it viable anyway.
adamd164
07/03/2013, 9:44 AM
No, they have said they will continue showing games but that a new main sponsor must be found to put in the prize money etc!
adamd164
07/03/2013, 9:46 AM
See below post, where it was confirmed that Setanta would be prepared to continue broadcasting next year...
On the Setanta Cup, there'll need to be a new sponsor from next year if it's to continue. From the Irish Times on Friday:
http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2012/1207/1224327611471.html
Tournament's future in balance as sponsors end eight-year association
The future of the All-Ireland club tournament is in jeopardy for 2014 unless the FAI and IFA can find a new sponsor after Setanta Sports last night confirmed they are pulling out as main backers after eight seasons next year.
Setanta Sports are, however, amenable to continuing to televise the competition, which has a total prize fund this year of €175,000, should a new sponsor be found.
"It's not a surprise, we knew it was coming," said Milo Corcoran, chairman of the Setanta Sports Cup organising committee at the 2013 draw in Belfast last night. "We've our commercial departments working on trying to get someone, or maybe more than one, in to replace them."
Finding a sponsor in the current economic climate looks an unenviable task, Corcoran agreed.
All four League of Ireland clubs in the first round were drawn at home in the first legs last night. The competition begins on February 11th, and will again be played as a straight knock-out competition over two legs.
Meanwhile, Cobh Ramblers look increasingly likely to return to the Airtricity League next season, according to league director Fran Gavin. Having been relegated from the Premier Division at the end of the 2008 season, the Cork club failed to gain a First Division licence and have been absent since.
A N Mouse
07/03/2013, 9:48 AM
VW Cup?