View Full Version : Mid-season friendlies

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6

gordongekko
28/07/2012, 10:42 AM
How are ticket sales going for this lads/lassies ?

Depends on whos counting them. Gust should consider employing Salthills crack team of counters.

gufcfan
28/07/2012, 10:55 AM
Depends on whos counting them. Gust should consider employing Salthills crack team of counters.
I'm pretty sure a team requires more than one person.

gordongekko
28/07/2012, 11:08 AM
I'm pretty sure a team requires more than one person.

So does a crowd but that does not stop them making it up.

The Donie Forde
28/07/2012, 2:49 PM
Anyone know where the Bohs XI v MK Dons was played today?
Thanks

Donie

Anyone? Must be some Bohs head on here who knows this?

Thanks,

Donie

Spudulika
28/07/2012, 8:22 PM
Anyone? Must be some Bohs head on here who knows this?

Thanks,

Donie

AUL Complex

The Donie Forde
28/07/2012, 9:33 PM
AUL Complex

Thanks, appreciate that.

bluewhitearmy
29/07/2012, 12:31 AM
No idea, but they will be better than ticket sales of all of Salthill's league games put together no doubt.

Well was it?

gordongekko
29/07/2012, 3:01 AM
1212 at gust v port vale ( we found the sd counters after all :) )

Olander
29/07/2012, 3:59 AM
Well was it?
There was a bigger turnout than I was expecting TBH, I think the official attendance was given as 405, not bad considering it was the Galway Oscar Traynor team and Port vale aren't exactly a crowd puller. When we were in the Premier we would usually get about 150 at our home friendlies to put it in perspective.

The next big event is the Chick Deacy friendly, I can see that being very well attended by lots of people from across Galway and beyond.

Great to be back in Terryland

regi
29/07/2012, 8:41 AM
Was at the port vale friendly, no more than 70 or 80 there and at least half were port vale fans. Went round and counted myself! #someonehadtosayit

geezer
29/07/2012, 10:37 AM
405 for the Galway District league junior team wasnt bad at all. Considering Salthill add on their 65 season ticket sales to all home games it approximates to about 8 times the actual attendance against longford the night before in an airtricity league game.

Port Vale won 3-0, roll on the Eamonn Deacy game Galway Utd /West Utd V Aston Villa now for the second installment of the trilogy comeback of Galway United on the 18th of August

gufcfan
30/07/2012, 4:38 PM
Was at the port vale friendly, no more than 70 or 80 there and at least half were port vale fans. Went round and counted myself! #someonehadtosayit

You're another lad that should have stayed in school past junior infants.

30/07/2012, 4:53 PM
GUST inflating attendances?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?! :eek:

*hijacks threads*

geezer
30/07/2012, 5:09 PM

The Galway District league authorised the event, audited the gate, were the organisers are a busy organisation running leagues, have never been excluded from football by low lifes, why would they do that. Good man regi up Salthill id say your nights are mixed up a little, keep blaming the arts festival when ya can only rustle up 26 of your 600 members to find their way to Terryland

Cuyahoga
31/07/2012, 8:30 AM
There is a family fun day in Ferrycarrig Park Wexford on Sunday August 19th . A wexford youths pink team v Wexford youths black team will take place. It is a fundraiser for Nicola Furlong's family. She was murdered in Japan a couple of months ago.

31/07/2012, 12:06 PM
We're playing the usual pre-season friendly against Institute at Riverside on Tueday 7th August.

01/08/2012, 11:36 AM
I5sfJLJLEXQ

bluewhitearmy
03/08/2012, 3:20 PM
Not sure if its been mentiond but us V City is on Setanta on Sunday.

The Lep
04/08/2012, 12:17 PM
Shelbourne FC First Team Squad will be playing Swords Celtic at Balheary, Swords this Saturday at 3pm. All proceeds will be going to the Conan Byrne Zambian Mission . The game is in celebration of Swords Celtic's 50th Anniversary.

04/08/2012, 1:59 PM

Well F*CK it! I was delighted when I heard it was going to be on TV but the 1 station I dont have had to go and buy the rights! At least I can watch it on eircom sports hub.

04/08/2012, 10:17 PM

I was checking the planner for setanta for tomw and there is no mention of the limerick game?

Nah Nah Nah Nah
04/08/2012, 10:24 PM
I was checking the planner for setanta for tomw and there is no mention of the limerick game?

It's on Setanta at 7 according to UPCs TV guide

bullit
04/08/2012, 10:49 PM
Corporate Box seats available still,€50 a pop,help two teams in their fundraising efforts ;)

http://www.dundalkfc.com/fundraiser-corporate-box-tickets-limerick-v-man-city

Nah Nah Nah Nah
05/08/2012, 6:23 PM
Man city won't put it on their website as an announcement. They will just slot it in amongst their other friendlies.

Game is to be televised. ESPN supposedly.

Discounts for season ticket holders and the underage academy players and families.

Bringing a full squad over. From what I hear at least 6 starters guaranteed with Auguero, Tevez and a new signing to play.

Mmmmmmm

Costel Pantilimon (http://www.extratime.ie/squads/players/100163/11114926/)
(G)

Ryan McGivern (http://www.extratime.ie/squads/players/100163/11112489/)
(D)

Joleon Lescott (http://www.extratime.ie/squads/players/100163/11112483/)
(D)

Gael Clichy (http://www.extratime.ie/squads/players/100163/11112484/)
(D)

Dedryck Boyata (http://www.extratime.ie/squads/players/100163/11112485/)
(D)

Samir Nasri (http://www.extratime.ie/squads/players/100163/11113948/)
(M)

James Milner (http://www.extratime.ie/squads/players/100163/11112494/)
(M)

George Evans (http://www.extratime.ie/squads/players/100163/11114932/)
(M)

Denis Suarez (http://www.extratime.ie/squads/players/100163/11112498/)
(M)

Roque Santa Cruz (http://www.extratime.ie/squads/players/100163/11114925/)
(F)

Edin Dzeko (http://www.extratime.ie/squads/players/100163/11112502/)
(F)

Andrea Mancini (http://www.extratime.ie/squads/players/100163/11112504/)
(Sub)

Joe Hart (http://www.extratime.ie/squads/players/100163/11112478/)
(Sub)

Shay Facey (http://www.extratime.ie/squads/players/100163/11114934/)
(Sub)

Harry Bunn (http://www.extratime.ie/squads/players/100163/11114936/)
(Sub)

Luca Scapuzzi (http://www.extratime.ie/squads/players/100163/11112562/)
(Sub)

Reece Wabara (http://www.extratime.ie/squads/players/100163/11114935/)
(Sub)

Cuyahoga
05/08/2012, 6:33 PM
16,000 at it according to extratime.ie dissapointing crowd considering all the hype and the fact that they are premier league champions.

05/08/2012, 6:40 PM
The bitterness is strong with this one. Disappointing to see a crowd like this watching a Limerick team alright :rolleyes:

http://i50.tinypic.com/2rxwsnc.jpg

05/08/2012, 6:41 PM
Pretty awful first half an hour. Stopped watching then just after Man City scored. Had to laugh when they took Nasri off and the crowd booed.

They had their full side out against Wolfsburg last night as expected.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
05/08/2012, 6:44 PM
The bitterness is strong with this one. Disappointing to see a crowd like this watching a Limerick team alright :rolleyes:

Clubs have never had a problem attracting big crowds for games against foreign teams. See how many of them are back the next time ye play a league match is the problem. A

bullit
05/08/2012, 6:46 PM

Yeah,kid yourself that they're there to see Limerick :rolleyes:

Nah Nah Nah Nah
05/08/2012, 6:48 PM

Must be a great game if you're on here during it!

05/08/2012, 6:51 PM
Must be a great game if you're on here during it!

I'm not at it, thought that would be obvious from me being on here

Nah Nah Nah Nah
05/08/2012, 6:53 PM
I'm not at it, thought that would be obvious from me being on here

You putting up a picture from the stands would obviously make me think you were there

Cuyahoga
05/08/2012, 8:08 PM
It finished 4.0 to Man City. 15,600 of the 16,000 attendance will go home happy.

05/08/2012, 10:16 PM
Any truth in the claims of someone throwing a banana at Clichy? Just read it in a Tweet from Barry Glendenning of The Guardian.

Battery Rover
05/08/2012, 10:59 PM
Any truth in the claims of someone throwing a banana at Clichy? Just read it in a Tweet from Barry Glendenning of The Guardian.

Saw it posted on Twitter by Gael Clichy https://twitter.com/gael_22 and Facebook as well by local Limerick lads

Some idiot who wouldnt even know where Jackman Park is more than likely.

05/08/2012, 11:43 PM
Oh no doubt it's some local knuckle dragger who has nothing to do with Limerick FC but it's shameful stuff.

05/08/2012, 11:59 PM
As expected a few starters, more than most teams would get. Disappointed no Augero, ballotelli or Tevez but at the end of the day was just a decent night out for us. We left out Gaffney and O'Leary ha.

17,000ish is a nice crowd too and we seem to have done very well jersey and scarf sales wise.

Banana thrown on the pitch alright and the people who did it thrown out. As expected thousands there that have never seen a loi before. Same lads that threw the banana wre probably cheering usain bolt an hour later.

bluewhitearmy
06/08/2012, 1:03 AM
There was over 20,000 given as attendance where are people getting the 16,000.

bullit
06/08/2012, 1:05 AM

GUST supporters,durty trick :D

MeathDrog
06/08/2012, 1:55 AM
GUST supporters,durty trick :D

They'll sniff it out.

Mr_Parker
06/08/2012, 8:04 AM
Saw it posted on Twitter by Gael Clichy https://twitter.com/gael_22 and Facebook as well by local Limerick lads

Some idiot who wouldnt even know where Jackman Park is more than likely.

http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/sport/football/4473808/Gael-Clichy-claims-banana-was-thrown-on-pitch-in-friendly-against-Limerick-FC.html

gufcfan
06/08/2012, 8:21 AM
“The individual will be banned from all future games at Thomond Park and Jackman Park and the matter will be passed on to the police.”

Hilarious. I'm sure they'll be heartbroken by that.

The punishment they should be facing is criminal charges.

thomas72
06/08/2012, 8:26 AM
OMG the last the they will come here :(

ped_ped
06/08/2012, 8:49 AM

“The individual will be banned from all future games at Thomond Park and Jackman Park and the matter will be passed on to the police.”

Very disappointing, though :(

20,672 given on the Irish Independent, but I couldn't see the East Stand, being in the East Terrace.

06/08/2012, 9:34 AM

Well that's up to the guards I suppose once the two lads were handed over. There was two guards standing by where the banana was thrown on so surely they were involved with removing who did it.

Hopefully who did it gets named and shamed.

4tothefloor
06/08/2012, 12:50 PM
20,682 was the attendance, whether ye like it or not :D

Market's Field
06/08/2012, 1:36 PM
Clubs have never had a problem attracting big crowds for games against foreign teams. See how many of them are back the next time ye play a league match is the problem. A

When is the last time ye had 20,000 at a game?

ped_ped
06/08/2012, 1:51 PM
Look lads I really don't see why this has to turn into petty bickering like everything else on this forum does.

There were 20,000+ in Thomond last night, the vast majority to see Manchester City, not Limerick. Nonetheless it was a massive event for the club in terms of its reputation in the public eye.

City - being City - sliced through Limerick with ease on a number of occasions with two regular goals and two massive mistakes from Limerick defenders, but in periods Limerick played a passing game where they could and got big cheers when they did get up the pitch. It was nice to see the majority of a crowd so large cheer Limerick on, but let's be realistic: the majority of them won't be in Jackman before this season's out.

Now enough with the accusations of bitterness from Limerick fans - they're not.
And enough with pointing out that we don't have 20,000 new fans - we know that.

We got 20,000+ in the gates last night - the vast majority to see Manchester City, not Limerick. Nonetheless it was a coup by the club and the city and a lot of thanks are owed to Pat O'Sullivan. Very few if any are going to be in Jackman three weeks from now

Nah Nah Nah Nah
06/08/2012, 2:30 PM
When is the last time ye had 20,000 at a game?

2011 FAI Cup Final

Market's Field
06/08/2012, 2:55 PM
My point is that it is easy to knock others efforts. We know that very few of those people will be in Jackman for the next home game. However if you have spent a long as we have in the backwater that is LOI 1st Division you be delighted to get 20,000 through the gate to see your team play.