View Full Version : Mid-season friendlies
bluewhitearmy
12/07/2012, 6:27 PM
Limerick announce a press conference in Thomond Park at Noon tomorrow.
Olander
12/07/2012, 7:55 PM
Nice one, what type of press conference are they announcing do you know?
12/07/2012, 10:06 PM
Nice one, what type of press conference are they announcing do you know?
The type of one where the press are there, and they talk from a table at the front and tell people something is going to happen.
13/07/2012, 1:07 AM
It's a press conference about a press conference we're holding in Terryland in a couple of weeks to announce our re branding for next season as FC Limerick of Galway.
Playing out of Terryland Park we will be expecting to secure a Premier licence and do both our cities proud.
We plan to win over the Galway Sporting public by giving geezer one diamond encrusted white glove which he will be using to shake everybody by the hand.
Further details to follow......
Olander
13/07/2012, 1:29 AM
class
thomas72
13/07/2012, 8:43 AM
local radio in limerick reporting that manchester city will play limerick fc at thomond park :clap: they didnt give out a date. if or when comfirmed what a unbelievable friendly to get should be a 26,000 sell out world class players all over pitch city players not bad either ;)
We're the famous Limerick of Galway
and we have gates of 10,000.
10,000 10,000
We're the famous Limerick of Galway
and we have gates of 10,000.
local radio in limerick reporting that manchester city will play limerick fc at thomond park :clap: they didnt give out a date. if or when comfirmed what a unbelievable friendly to get should be a 26,000 sell out world class players all over pitch city players not bad either ;)
If true, will have to bring the ould fella down to this,seeing as he is getting to old to travel over anymore.
Considering ireland friendlies ddin't sell out in Limerick, that should tell you all you need to know about the irish footballing public
13/07/2012, 9:25 AM
Considering ireland friendlies ddin't sell out in Limerick, that should tell you all you need to know about the irish footballing public
It tells you that more people would rather see the English premier league champions than the republic of Ireland in friendlies against Australia and South Africa. Those friendlies were a joke, half the crowd left by half time in the first match because the Irish players clearly didn't want to be there and put in a pathetic showin, most decided not to come back after that. Tickets were around 50 euro for it also.
I'd never expect a sell out for any team cause you never know what the public will do, price will come in to it, the day it's on etc.....
If we got even close to 20,000 for a friendly then happy days.
harpin
13/07/2012, 9:34 AM
It tells you that more people would rather see the English premier league champions than the republic of Ireland in friendlies against Australia and South Africa. Those friendlies were a joke, half the crowd left by half time in the first match because the Irish players clearly didn't want to be there and put in a pathetic showin, most decided not to come back after that. Tickets were around 50 euro for it also.
I'd never expect a sell out for any team cause you never know what the public will do, price will come in to it, the day it's on etc.....
If we got even close to 20,000 for a friendly then happy days.
Is the press conference open to the public?
Treaty Gooner
13/07/2012, 10:10 AM
IF this is what it's about I can't see it doing well... City, despite their success, just aren't that big a draw. As an attraction they're a glorified Sunderland in the eyes of the barstoolers and about 19 people turned up to see them play a few years back. The same barstoolers of whom it would be safe to say a big percentage are United fans... depending on what LFC are paying to get them over here this could be a financial poke in the eye for the club. This is ambitious and hopefully we've set up some kind of player/coach swap style relationship with them like with Arsenal but why City? Because they're PL Champions? The point of these friendlies is to get popular teams to maximize money in, not the flavour of the month.
bluewhitearmy
13/07/2012, 10:26 AM
IF this is what it's about I can't see it doing well... City, despite their success, just aren't that big a draw. As an attraction they're a glorified Sunderland in the eyes of the barstoolers and about 19 people turned up to see them play a few years back. The same barstoolers of whom it would be safe to say a big percentage are United fans... depending on what LFC are paying to get them over here this could be a financial poke in the eye for the club. This is ambitious and hopefully we've set up some kind of player/coach swap style relationship with them like with Arsenal but why City? Because they're PL Champions? The point of these friendlies is to get popular teams to maximize money in, not the flavour of the month.
Somehow i would think that has changed a bit seen as they have some of the best layers in the world now and are Premier League Champions.
13/07/2012, 10:30 AM
I think it is just open to the press but could be wrong.
I agree the likes of Man U and Liverpool would be a bigger draw but I'd also prefer a decent starting 11 from man city or someone else over a man u XI or a Liverpool XI. Plenty of time down the line to set up more friendlies with clubs. There was about 5,000 I think at the Sunderland game, that was Sunderland though with star players like Richardson and Anton Ferdinand and after the whole Irish thing. Man City with even a few star players are still a far far better draw than Sunderland. Most the Irish players were gone from sunderland at that stage and it was against a Munster XI not Limerick. Thy money went to charity too.
13/07/2012, 11:19 AM
Confirmed as Man City, Sunday August 5th in Thomond Park.
Ticket Prices:
Category A Seat €30.00, Category B €20.00, Terrace €15.00, Juniors €10.00
EDIT: You have to wonder what side they're going to bring given the fact Man City are playing Wolfsburg in Germany on the 4th August.
13/07/2012, 11:27 AM
It tells you that more people would rather see the English premier league champions than the republic of Ireland in friendlies against Australia and South Africa..
Thats exactly my point...
Man City friendly v crappy side with no draw - sell out
Ireland friendly v crappy sides with no draw - not a sell out
Real ale Madrid
13/07/2012, 11:36 AM
Anyone know why Limerick are now allowed to host friendlies at Thomond but were not allowed bring Barca to the same venue?
13/07/2012, 11:42 AM
Anyone know why Limerick are now allowed to host friendlies at Thomond but were not allowed bring Barca to the same venue?
Game clashed with the LOI XI V Man Utd game, Lims took them to court over it didn't they, and can host friendly's in thomand for the next 10 years as long as they don't clash with that Dublin supercup cup thingie again.
FAI busted out some really stupid rules to stop the Barca game from happening, but it was all about stopping interest being distracted away from the opening of the Aviva and the Man utd game.
I think!
Cuyahoga
13/07/2012, 11:56 AM
Thats exactly my point...
Man City friendly v crappy side with no draw - sell out
Ireland friendly v crappy sides with no draw - not a sell out
How do you know its going to be a sell out ?
Its not on Man City's website which shows how highly they are treating it. I dont think any of their well known players will be playing especially when they are playing Wolfsburg the previous day.
13/07/2012, 12:07 PM
Man city won't put it on their website as an announcement. They will just slot it in amongst their other friendlies.
Game is to be televised. ESPN supposedly.
Discounts for season ticket holders and the underage academy players and families.
Bringing a full squad over. From what I hear at least 6 starters guaranteed with Auguero, Tevez and a new signing to play.
13/07/2012, 12:09 PM
Mancini is finally set to come up against a manager who can outdo him in the fashion stakes.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
13/07/2012, 12:21 PM
Don't mind what team Man City are going to put out. It's the day before Limerick are due to play in the League Cup semi final. What team are they going to put out for the 2 games?
13/07/2012, 12:24 PM
We will play the reserves against Man City and full team against shams :p
thomas72
13/07/2012, 1:44 PM
Don't mind what team Man City are going to put out. It's the day before Limerick are due to play in the League Cup semi final. What team are they going to put out for the 2 games?
pat o sullivan has hinted that shamrock rovers v limerick will be off if true fair play to rovers.
also at the press conferance it was comfirmed that city will be brining there full squad over that Q.. was asked 2 or 3 times FULL SQUAD COMFIMED in fairness you cant tell people there first team is coming with people buying tickets to see these world class players and they put out reserve team players.
13/07/2012, 1:45 PM
It may suit rovers to move the game too. The week before would suit me nicely :D
13/07/2012, 2:05 PM
http://www.limerickfc.ie/events/ManCity210805.html
What was said at the announcement.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
13/07/2012, 2:12 PM
Hasn't there been times when the league haven't let clubs change games when they're playing in Europe even if the opposition agree?
As regards City bringing their full squad I remember Everton were saying the same when they were playing someone else the day before they played us a few season ago. In the end it was their Under 19s and about 15 minutes of Seamie Coleman. Hard to see City sending their full squad to both Germany and Limerick.
bluewhitearmy
13/07/2012, 2:16 PM
Hasn't there been times when the league haven't let clubs change games when they're playing in Europe even if the opposition agree?
As regards City bringing their full squad I remember Everton were saying the same when they were playing someone else the day before they played us a few season ago. In the end it was their Under 19s and about 15 minutes of Seamie Coleman. Hard to see City sending their full squad to both Germany and Limerick.
Its in the contract that they will bring at least 7 top players i believe.
How do you know its going to be a sell out ?
fair point. Hope it is.
13/07/2012, 2:26 PM
In fairness to City, they could put a full squad of internationals out against Wolfsburg, and a completely different set of full internationals out against Limerick a day later.
13/07/2012, 3:59 PM
As regards City bringing their full squad I remember Everton were saying the same when they were playing someone else the day before they played us a few season ago. In the end it was their Under 19s and about 15 minutes of Seamie Coleman. Hard to see City sending their full squad to both Germany and Limerick.Rovers were selling it as that, Everton never officially announced it as first team.
harps1954
13/07/2012, 4:00 PM
Its in the contract that they will bring at least 7 top players i believe.
A "full squad" and "7 top players" is completely different. Last year, City brought a full squad to the Dublin Super Cup. Look at the team they put out against the LOI Select and the team they put out the next day against Inter Milan (two vastly different teams and the team against the LOI Select had only two or three names that many would have know - Adam Johnston and Shaun Wright-Phillips being those). I'd fully expect the same in Germany and Limerick this year. "7 top players" could see Adam Johnston, Kolo Toure, Edin Dzeko, Stefan Savic, Costel Pantilimon, Abdul Razak and John Guidetti feature - all top players, but fringe players at the end of the day.
I'd expect the team in Germany to be the one that will feature against Chelsea in the Charity Shield. The one in Limerick will be made up of fringe first team players and players from City's Elite Development Squad.
Look at City's website. There is no mention of the game. It's not listed with their other first team friendly games. There was no quotes from City in today's press releases. City are also playing friendlies in England against the likes of Oldham and Stockport and are City XI teams. These aren't listed on the website either which leads me to believe that the squad coming to Limerick will be far from a 'full-squad'.
13/07/2012, 4:11 PM
Just had visions of 2007 (if I remember right) when Harps played Celtic in Finn Park. They promised a full team, but instead brought over a team of fringe players like Thomas Gravesen, Evander Sno, Bobo Balde, Stephen Pressley, Stephen Caldwell amongst others. All good players, but were all fringe players at the time.
13/07/2012, 4:25 PM
A "full squad" and "7 top players" is completely different. Last year, City brought a full squad to the Dublin Super Cup. Look at the team they put out against the LOI Select and the team they put out the next day against Inter Milan (two vastly different teams and the team against the LOI Select had only two or three names that many would have know - Adam Johnston and Shaun Wright-Phillips being those). I'd fully expect the same in Germany and Limerick this year. "7 top players" could see Adam Johnston, Kolo Toure, Edin Dzeko, Stefan Savic, Costel Pantilimon, Abdul Razak and John Guidetti feature - all top players, but fringe players at the end of the day.
I'd expect the team in Germany to be the one that will feature against Chelsea in the Charity Shield. The one in Limerick will be made up of fringe first team players and players from City's Elite Development Squad.
Look at City's website. There is no mention of the game. It's not listed with their other first team friendly games. There was no quotes from City in today's press releases. City are also playing friendlies in England against the likes of Oldham and Stockport and are City XI teams. These aren't listed on the website either which leads me to believe that the squad coming to Limerick will be far from a 'full-squad'.
They also said a full squad will travel. They didn't say they would all play. The promoter has said it will feature some of Man City's top stars.
Have heard Harte, Silva, Clichy, Lescott and one or two more I can't think of to play. Then they have said Tevez, Auguero, Ballotelli etc… could feature. I don't think they could ever come out and guarantee 100% certain players. What if they are injured or move to a different club. Then they have also said a new signing to feature. Could be Robin Van Persie if they sign him but as easily could be some young lad none of us have heard of. I can't see ESPN or whatever global network it is signing contracts to televise a game if it means its a LOI team vs a basically reserve Man City team.
Already there is interest around this game and people seem to be snapping up tickets from the talk around.
Pat O Sullivan has said no money from this will be directly pumped into the club but will go into the community projects that they have set up. He has even stated anybody is free to do a full audit on the club after the game to see where the funds are gone if people don't trust what he said.
Going by the Man City fans forum they think it could be a split of the squad. One is even disappointed cause they already booked Wolfsburg and would rather have come over here. I'd say there could be a decent support over if they can get it done cheap. Handy trip over the water.
13/07/2012, 10:17 PM
Look at their website on monday. There will be a full squad flying in from wolfsburg on the day of the limerick game. This is a supurb achievement for the ambitious first division leaders whos gifted young players will strut their stuff against the English Premier champions. Remember when the were in Ireland last year they were not champions and have promised to bring their prem trophy. I dont belive a club would allow their under 15s run around with that do you? Tickets are flying and im optimistic that anyone who wants to see a world cup winner like silva, a fantastic player like Ballatelli or a champions league winner like Toure (the good one) would shun this chance. BTW such is the "community" spirit of the club any kids who buy their ten euro tickets arent confined to the terrace if their accompanied by an adult. They can go into the stand and take their seats. Will you be comming to this one Harps1954? :rolleyes: All are welcome.
13/07/2012, 10:21 PM
Sorry can't go, have to save my money for the Millwall game
13/07/2012, 10:23 PM
ill try and be at that myself supporting a fellow clubs ambition
Cuyahoga
13/07/2012, 10:32 PM
There is a lot of hype about it already.RTE had a piece about it already on Six One including asking kids about what score it would be. Hilarious and cringeworthy at the same time.
13/07/2012, 10:32 PM
Fair play to Limerick. Sounds like the money will be put to good use. I won't go as I'm far too lazy to travel down but good luck with it anyway.
thomas72
13/07/2012, 10:36 PM
LIMERICK chairman pat o sullivan was asked today how many players will be coming in as Guest players from the likes of sligo, shams, cork etc etc
his answer was NONE limerick fc will take on city said i dont believe in bringing in outside players for one day we have 8 players playing with ireland under age and rather give them the experiance. great stuff
gufcfan
13/07/2012, 10:47 PM
city players not bad either ;)
I thought they just went by Limerick FC these days ;)
13/07/2012, 11:15 PM
There is a lot of hype about it already.RTE had a piece about it already on Six One including asking kids about what score it would be. Hilarious and cringeworthy at the same time.
its big news here in the mid west, agree it was a lot of cheese that RTE report. Sadest of all was when Cathy Halloran went to Na Piersigh GAA club and asked a few kids about the game aaaaaahhhhhhhh. And one of the kids was her son :rolleyes:
13/07/2012, 11:23 PM
I just hope to god there are plenty of first teamers involved. Already people are either A. Whinging about the prices (Which I think are reasonably and reward the regulars) and B. saying its bull**** to be advertising it as a game vs Man City when it should be a Man City XI cause it will be all reserves. Would be nice to shut up the begrudgers in this town.
Going by ticketmaster, one section of the terrace is sold out, two sections of the stand is sold out and only abut 10 seats left in the middle section. Looking good so far anyway.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
13/07/2012, 11:54 PM
I also hope City stick to the words Limerick are saying about them bringing a full squad over. The last thing you need is after the game everyone giving out cause they didn't bring Tevez or Mad Mario.
bullit
14/07/2012, 12:15 AM
Meanwhile in Ballymena.....
http://www.ballymenaunitedfc.com/news/news_2012_07_13_1.htm
The Open Day(28/7/12)ystarts at noon with the showpiece event at 3pm as Ballymena United take on League of Ireland side Dundalk. Admission is Free to the both the Open Day and match before 2pm. After 2pm admission is £5.00 for Adults and £3.00 Concessions. 2012/2013 Season tickets are valid.
14/07/2012, 12:18 AM
Meanwhile in Ballymena.....
http://www.ballymenaunitedfc.com/news/news_2012_07_13_1.htm
It better not just be a Dundalk XI
14/07/2012, 12:19 AM
I also hope City stick to the words Limerick are saying about them bringing a full squad over. The last thing you need is after the game everyone giving out cause they didn't bring Tevez or Mad Mario.
I doubt they'll bring Mario or Silva since their seasons just finished less than 2 weeks ago.
Cuyahoga
14/07/2012, 9:06 AM
And Tevez will probably be gone to AC Milan.
14/07/2012, 10:12 AM
I doubt they'll bring Mario or Silva since their seasons just finished less than 2 weeks ago.
So they don't need to do a pre-season? And an easy friendly match a week before the season starts again? ;P
14/07/2012, 10:40 AM
:cool: as long as both clubs milionaire sheiks get on and we strike many future deals ive no probs with this game.