View Full Version : Mid-season friendlies

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6

23/07/2012, 9:28 PM
Very enjoyable game. As I flagged above, we aren't finishing any chances we create. Two or three cracking players in that United side tonight too. Most importantly a good crowd too. Up on 2,500 I'd say. If the weather was better we might have got a few more out.

24/07/2012, 9:38 AM
I trust thats enough to make a decent profit? No idea how much they charge for their reserve team.

Thats the only thing that matters with these games.

Trainee
24/07/2012, 10:20 AM
The Galway XI Squad has been named for the game against Port Vale in Terryland on Saturday night
http://www.galwaynews.ie/26905-lally-takes-charge-galway-soccer-xi-port-vale-game

24/07/2012, 11:08 AM
I trust thats enough to make a decent profit? No idea how much they charge for their reserve team.

Thats the only thing that matters with these games.

Yeah, I think the cost of bringing them over was €8k so we should make a few quid out of it.

Fester
24/07/2012, 12:30 PM
Friendly Matches 24th July

Athlone Town v Port Vale 7.45
Cork City v Watford 7.45
UCD v Stevenage 7.45
Wexford Youths v Bradford City 8.00

24/07/2012, 2:27 PM
http://www.corkcityfc.net/home/wp-content/uploads/2012/07/Zola-Tommy.png

24/07/2012, 2:28 PM
Link to Official CCFC website (http://www.corkcityfc.net/home/2012/07/24/city-to-face-watford-tonight/)

CrowdedHouse
24/07/2012, 2:30 PM
Who's those lads ?

Battery Rover
24/07/2012, 6:13 PM
http://www.athlonetownfc.ie/wp-content/uploads/2012/07/LimPV300.png

Battery Rover
24/07/2012, 6:42 PM
Athlone Town vs Port Vale reschuduled for Wednesday @ 7.45pm weather permitting

sullanefc
24/07/2012, 9:15 PM
Cork City Reserves 0-2 Watford. A snooze-fest played at training match pace almost. 1200 at it roughly.

sheao
24/07/2012, 11:27 PM
Cork City Reserves 0-2 Watford. A snooze-fest played at training match pace almost. 1200 at it roughly.

Could'nt have put it any better myself. The only game I am excited about is Shels on Friday.

born2bwild
24/07/2012, 11:56 PM
With the exception of Shels' 0-0 v Milwall, League of Ireland clubs have lost every single friendly played this summer. Friendlies don't matter but that ain't good.
I'm betting on Limerick to take Man City, though.

25/07/2012, 12:06 PM
Cork are definitely capable of winning tonight. It's a young United side.

Fester
25/07/2012, 1:44 PM
Athlone Town v Port Vale tonight 7.45

El-Pietro
25/07/2012, 2:30 PM
itll likely be a young City side too, lot of games this week, Shels Friday is huge

25/07/2012, 3:18 PM
I'm betting on Limerick to take Man City, though.

I'd imagine a lot of the City lads will be looking to impress.

Like if we do somehow manage to get promoted we'll be looking to strengthen the squad in January.

25/07/2012, 3:51 PM
I'd imagine a lot of the City lads will be looking to impress.

Like if we do somehow manage to get promoted we'll be looking to strengthen the squad in January.

You don't want to sow your hand too much before the Champions League draw in summer 2014 though

25/07/2012, 7:01 PM
Cork have apparently sold out tonight. Mental how many people turn up for these games but a nice earner for the home clubs which is the main thing.

gufcfan
25/07/2012, 7:16 PM
Cork have apparently sold out tonight. Mental how many people turn up for these games but a nice earner for the home clubs which is the main thing.

A full house for these...

Jonny Sutherland, Sean McGinty, Reece James, Luke Giverin, Michele Fornasier, Tom Lawrence, Michael Keane, Adnan Januzaj, Estevao Gladstony, Mats Moller Daehli, Joshua King

Gyliano van Velzen, James Robinson, Agnaldo Pinto, Donald Love, Luke Hendrie, Kenji Gorre, Jack Barmby

Embarrassing. I hope Cork make plenty on it.

Fester
25/07/2012, 7:26 PM
Cork City 1 up Murray 28'

Fester
25/07/2012, 7:37 PM
Cork City 1 v 0 Man Utd (Res) HT
Athlone Town 0 v 0 Port Vale HT

sullanefc
25/07/2012, 7:37 PM
Cork City 1 up Murray 28'

9 First teamers for City V a Man U youth team, so would expect a stronger performance than last night where our reserves/u19s/trialists lost to Watford.

Fester
25/07/2012, 7:57 PM
Athlone town 0 v 2 Port Vale 58'

sullanefc
25/07/2012, 8:14 PM
9 First teamers for City V a Man U youth team, so would expect a stronger performance than last night where our reserves/u19s/trialists lost to Watford.

City make 10 subs at half time. The team is now similar to the side that started against Watford last night.

25/07/2012, 8:20 PM
Athlone 0-2 Port Vale after 78 mins.
Cork 1-0 Man Utd 76 mins

Fester
25/07/2012, 8:23 PM
Port vale now 4 up 80'

Fester
25/07/2012, 8:24 PM
Port vale now 5 up . 3 goals in 3 mins

Fester
25/07/2012, 8:34 PM
Athlone 0 v 5 Port Vale FT

Fester
25/07/2012, 8:36 PM
Cork City 2 v 0 Man Utd XI 91'

Fester
25/07/2012, 8:38 PM
Cork win 2 nill FT

25/07/2012, 8:46 PM
Fantastic result! Well done Cork! Who do they have in the next round?

Battery Rover
25/07/2012, 9:03 PM
Athlone Town 0 Port Vale 5 (Louis Dodds (1), Tom Pope (4))

Nah Nah Nah Nah
26/07/2012, 7:09 AM

Port Vale

gufcfan
26/07/2012, 7:14 AM
Port Vale

They have to beat Galway first ;)

El-Pietro
26/07/2012, 10:19 AM

blackburn next month, home draw too!

Pablo Escobar
26/07/2012, 11:41 AM
blackburn next month, home draw too!

Blackburn must have got a BYE.

London-Irish
26/07/2012, 12:59 PM
Are there any friendlies scheduled for August please?

London-Irish
26/07/2012, 12:59 PM
Also, will the Limerick v Longford league game still take place on Fri Aug 3 with the Man City game and the LC Semi scheduled for a couple of days after?

26/07/2012, 1:16 PM
Also, will the Limerick v Longford league game still take place on Fri Aug 3 with the Man City game and the LC Semi scheduled for a couple of days after?

Ya Longford is down for the 3rd, Man City the 5th and Shamrock the 6th.

We've a senior squad of 31 players so should be grand.

Obviously Longford is the priority. :ball:

26/07/2012, 1:23 PM
Ah ye could play a mostly third choice side against us and ye'll still win it handy. Concentrate on the League Cup.

26/07/2012, 5:47 PM

Its not exactly a friendly, but a galway united/ west united legends -v- aston villa legends. Villa will have players from when they last won the league as well as former irish internationals like Paul McGrath etc, that played with villa down the years. Its to do with the renaming of Terryland Park to Eamon Deacy Park. Its on august the 18th

The Donie Forde
26/07/2012, 6:47 PM
Anyone know where the Bohs XI v MK Dons was played today?
Thanks

Donie

26/07/2012, 9:35 PM

Bray are playing the Liverpool reserves. Think it's on the 5th.

27/07/2012, 8:18 AM
Salthill trying to stop the Galway XI -v- Port Vale match "in association with GUST and The Galway FA" from going ahead tomorrow night, on the grounds of them not approving the 36 page programme that has been published, because it was the GUST that put it together. They are saying that GUST have no right to publish a programme for this match as they have nothing to do with the Galway Oscar Traynor team ??????

27/07/2012, 10:45 AM
Their attendances are inflated too.

sullanefc
27/07/2012, 11:40 AM
Salthill trying to stop the Galway XI -v- Port Vale match "in association with GUST and The Galway FA" from going ahead tomorrow night, on the grounds of them not approving the 36 page programme that has been published, because it was the GUST that put it together. They are saying that GUST have no right to publish a programme for this match as they have nothing to do with the Galway Oscar Traynor team ??????

Sounds very petty to me. And who wants all these chummy clubs to merge? :rolleyes:

mcgonigle
27/07/2012, 12:42 PM

Dundalk v Chelsea XI Aug 14th

http://www.dundalkfc.com/dundalk-fc-v-chelsea-xi-august-14th

bullit
28/07/2012, 2:31 AM
How are ticket sales going for this lads/lassies ?

gufcfan
28/07/2012, 3:20 AM
How are ticket sales going for this lads/lassies ?

No idea, but they will be better than ticket sales of all of Salthill's league games put together no doubt.