View Full Version : Mid-season friendlies
14/07/2012, 10:41 AM
Top of the league top of the league Vs top of the league England Vs Ireland COME ON!!!!!!!
14/07/2012, 12:14 PM
Top of the league top of the league Vs top of the league England Vs Ireland COME ON!!!!!!!
Sligo are playing them too?
harps1954
14/07/2012, 2:00 PM
Look at their website on monday. There will be a full squad flying in from wolfsburg on the day of the limerick game. This is a supurb achievement for the ambitious first division leaders whos gifted young players will strut their stuff against the English Premier champions. Remember when the were in Ireland last year they were not champions and have promised to bring their prem trophy. I dont belive a club would allow their under 15s run around with that do you? Tickets are flying and im optimistic that anyone who wants to see a world cup winner like silva, a fantastic player like Ballatelli or a champions league winner like Toure (the good one) would shun this chance. BTW such is the "community" spirit of the club any kids who buy their ten euro tickets arent confined to the terrace if their accompanied by an adult. They can go into the stand and take their seats. Will you be comming to this one Harps1954? :rolleyes: All are welcome.
As a City fan as well as Harps fan, I'm delighted to see a City team coming to Ireland again. The thing is, although they may be bring their full squad, I wouldn't be too hopeful of too many of them actually playing in the game. While it's great for Limerick and I've no doubt the game will be a sell-out, I'm just worried that City haven't even listed it on their website on their list of fixtures meaning they City will be looking at it in the same way as they are looking at friendlies in England against the likes of Stockport and Oldham (games they haven't included on their website either).
Anyway, don't think I'll make it to Limerick from Donegal as a) cost of match tickets and petrol money would probably mean that it would cost me around €80 - €100 which is too much for a friendly fixture. However, I think for the Limerick public, terrace tickets for €15 is a very good deal and I do hope you sell the game out. I just hope that come 5th August that City put out a decent team that your Chairman has promised they will do (remember, it is Limerick who are saying this, not City).
horton
14/07/2012, 2:18 PM
O/T how did you become a Man City fan harps? Not having a go, but in Manchester, most "locals" would favour Man City, Man United always had the wider catchment area for fans, don't know that many Irish Man City fans to be honest! On topic, a few big names may make the bench but I wouldn't really expect much game time from them. Our football market is pretty small in terms of numbers/potential market in the grand scheme of things so they don't view such friendlies as lucrative as their Asia games, that's where the big bucks are made! Should be a great day for the locals anyway!
MeathDrog
14/07/2012, 2:33 PM
At the end of the day, does anyone really care that much about what sort of line up Man City will put out.
The bottom line is that the average armchair fan in the region will get pulled to it becuase 'Citeh' are playing. Fairplay to Limerick for pulling off this coup. Hopefully they make a few bob out of it.
14/07/2012, 4:37 PM
Man City beaten by Al Hilal: http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2012/jul/13/manchester-city-lose-al-hilal
L.T.F.C.
14/07/2012, 5:22 PM
Look at their website on monday. There will be a full squad flying in from wolfsburg on the day of the limerick game. This is a supurb achievement for the ambitious first division leaders whos gifted young players will strut their stuff against the English Premier champions. Remember when the were in Ireland last year they were not champions and have promised to bring their prem trophy. I dont belive a club would allow their under 15s run around with that do you? Tickets are flying and im optimistic that anyone who wants to see a world cup winner like silva, a fantastic player like Ballatelli or a champions league winner like Toure (the good one) would shun this chance.
I haven't seen scutter as bad as this since that kebab and beer infested hangover poo I had last week.
LIMERICK chairman pat o sullivan was asked today how many players will be coming in as Guest players from the likes of sligo, shams, cork etc etc
his answer was NONE limerick fc will take on city said i dont believe in bringing in outside players for one day we have 8 players playing with ireland under age and rather give them the experiance. great stuff
As if Sligo, Cork et al would allow their players to play in this game. Those days are long gone
bluewhitearmy
14/07/2012, 6:05 PM
As if Sligo, Cork et al would allow their players to play in this game. Those days are long gone
Thats nowhere near what he was asked anyway he was asked how many guest players not a single mentions of any other LOI team at all......
The point still stands. The days of guest players are long gone.
14/07/2012, 6:28 PM
Man City beaten by Al Hilal: http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2012/jul/13/manchester-city-lose-al-hilal
F**k sake, actually was going to throw a few euro on them to be beat too. Seen it at 15/1 on PP.
15/07/2012, 12:50 PM
I'm just worried that City haven't even listed it on their website on their list of fixtures meaning they City will be looking at it in the same way as they are looking at friendlies in England against the likes of Stockport and Oldham (games they haven't included on their website either).
I just hope that come 5th August that City put out a decent team that your Chairman has promised they will do (remember, it is Limerick who are saying this, not City).
as i said keep an eye on their website on monday ish. Ticket sales are booming
thomas72
16/07/2012, 9:39 AM
i was there it was exactly what was asked by a reporter he told him nobody from any other club will be playing for limerick for one day he would rather give the experiance to the young lads FACT
harps1954
16/07/2012, 10:02 AM
O/T how did you become a Man City fan harps? Not having a go, but in Manchester, most "locals" would favour Man City, Man United always had the wider catchment area for fans, don't know that many Irish Man City fans to be honest!
Have been a City fan for well over twenty years - I have relatives who live in Manchester and they took me to City games when I used to visit them when I was younger. There's quite a few City fans in Ireland and plenty of City Supporters clubs here - Donegal, Galway, Limerick, Dublin, Cork, Wexford, Dundalk, Belfast, Cookstown to name some of them. City were over in Ireland in February this year with the FAI Cup and held Kids Coaching Camps in Donegal, Limerick and Cookstown - all free of charge to around 400 kids.
Fester
16/07/2012, 11:29 AM
Shelbourne v Milwall 7.45 tonight (16th July)
bluewhitearmy
16/07/2012, 11:52 AM
i was there it was exactly what was asked by a reporter he told him nobody from any other club will be playing for limerick for one day he would rather give the experiance to the young lads FACT
I was there too and its not what was asked what was asked was would there be any guest players there was never a mention of any other clubs not once.
And in his answer Pat never said anything about any other clubs either he just said he would rather give our own young players a game then anyone else.
They were obviously talking about "Celebrity" guests or something do you honestly think anyone would expect us to invite players from other clubs to come play for us in it?
Oh wait you have put "fact" at the end must be true so.
marinobohs
16/07/2012, 12:47 PM
Have been a City fan for well over twenty years - I have relatives who live in Manchester and they took me to City games when I used to visit them when I was younger. There's quite a few City fans in Ireland and plenty of City Supporters clubs here - Donegal, Galway, Limerick, Dublin, Cork, Wexford, Dundalk, Belfast, Cookstown to name some of them. City were over in Ireland in February this year with the FAI Cup and held Kids Coaching Camps in Donegal, Limerick and Cookstown - all free of charge to around 400 kids.
Man City have the FAI Cup as well ? is nothing safe from their filty rich paws ?
Wish Limerick well with this fixture, just hope some of the "football fanatics" that attend remember where the nearest LOI ground is in the weeks after.
16/07/2012, 12:53 PM
Man City have the FAI Cup as well ? is nothing safe from their filty rich paws ?
Wish Limerick well with this fixture, just hope some of the "football fanatics" that attend remember where the ground is in the weeks after.
Course they will, Munster must be playing again soon.
thomas72
16/07/2012, 2:49 PM
I was there too and its not what was asked what was asked was would there be any guest players there was never a mention of any other clubs not once.
And in his answer Pat never said anything about any other clubs either he just said he would rather give our own young players a game then anyone else.
They were obviously talking about "Celebrity" guests or something do you honestly think anyone would expect us to invite players from other clubs to come play for us in it?
Oh wait you have put "fact" at the end must be true so.
O god. I put them clubs in for an example and yes clubs sometimes uses guest players to make there team more competitive.
marinobohs
16/07/2012, 2:50 PM
Course they will, Munster must be playing again soon.
good spot there Acornvilla. Post amended (well it is Monday) ;)
L.T.F.C.
16/07/2012, 4:56 PM
as i said keep an eye on their website on monday ish. Ticket sales are booming
Nothing yet!
16/07/2012, 5:49 PM
Fooled you all.
http://24.media.tumblr.com/tumblr_m5y7xtYZ7K1qdn1ofo1_500.gif
16/07/2012, 7:07 PM
Actually:
http://img809.imageshack.us/img809/7470/ar0z0753.jpg
Shelbourne v Milwall 7.45 tonight (16th July)
Finished 0-0
16/07/2012, 9:11 PM
Also:
http://img15.imageshack.us/img15/1700/rszar0z0751.jpg
16/07/2012, 9:13 PM
Roberto Mancini there, taking time out from his clubs Austrian training camp to promote Man Citys U-15B made up friendly against The Limerick XI. :bulgy:
16/07/2012, 9:21 PM
Obviously photo-shopped with the most expensive photo-shopping technology known to man.
16/07/2012, 9:21 PM
Obviously a photoshop conjured up by your PR machine in Jackman.
Damn you Sam! Too quick for me
16/07/2012, 9:28 PM
Obviously photo-shopped with the most expensive photo-shopping technology known to man.
So expensive and advanced that it can shop a whole squad in real time and in 3D!!!!
http://cdn.memegenerator.net/images/300x/3479048.jpg
Bish. Bash. Bosh. Jobs a good un. :good:
16/07/2012, 10:13 PM
Ye are the Man City of the LOI so it's a natural, evil, alliance.
16/07/2012, 11:06 PM
How much are city paying for the privilege of playing?
16/07/2012, 11:52 PM
Sheikh Mansour owes Pat O'Sullivan a favour.
Pat gave him a dig out a few years ago.
17/07/2012, 5:10 PM
Our team of crack international super hackers have now hacked the Man City website. (http://www.mcfc.co.uk/News/Club-news/2012/July/Limerick-Friendly)
The swindle continues.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
17/07/2012, 7:33 PM
It was supposed to be on the website yesterday.......
Fester
18/07/2012, 8:01 PM
Longford town 0 v 2 Milwall Lat
Fester
18/07/2012, 8:05 PM
Longford 1 (Reynor) v 2 Millwall 69'
Fester
18/07/2012, 8:20 PM
Longford 1 v 4 Millwall FT
18/07/2012, 8:24 PM
Glad I didn't go to that! Had Christmas cards to make..
eL Bettor
23/07/2012, 9:39 AM
Longford v Man Utd (reserves) tonight
http://www.manutdtalk.com/index.php?threads/reserves-pre-season.42635/page-2
Larnell Cole, Joshua King and Sean McGinty are the 'big' names in the Man United squad travelling to Cork and Longford.
23/07/2012, 10:33 AM
I'll be honest, the only reason I even know the name Sean McGinty is from glancing every so often at the 'Ireland' section of Foot.ie. We all knew this would happen, but I'd imagine the punters will still be happy enough when Man Utds under 17 team beat Longford and 'the future of Utd is in safe hands'.
23/07/2012, 11:07 AM
It was always billed as United Reserves, it's an even weaker Reserve squad than normal with a lot of the older lads away on tour with the first team due to players not being back from the Euros. Smalling was supposed to be coming over until he broke his foot the other day apparently. King and Cole have appeared in the first team. There's a few young lads that are worth keeping an eye on for anyone going to the games, Jack Barmby (son of Nick), Adnan Januzaj a Belgian midfielder, Mats Daehli a Norwegian midfielder and Larnell Cole as mentioned above is highly rated at United. There's a couple of Brazilian trialists too.
eL Bettor
23/07/2012, 11:33 AM
If Longford have a full team out, I'd fancy them for the win
eL Bettor
23/07/2012, 1:05 PM
United XI prepare for Town
Warren Joyce has taken a United XI squad to face Longford Town in a friendly on Monday night.
The hosts include ex-Red Keith Gillespie in their team and it will be the first run-out for a number of players hoping to impress at Reserves level next season.
The squad, which has yet to be officially confirmed, travelled over to Ireland this morning and there could be places for some of the Academy youngsters not involved at the Milk Cup.
Luke Hendrie, Gyliano van Velzen, Tom Lawrence and Charni Ekangamene are also expected to feature after moving up from the youth team but Luke McCullough is on international duty with Republic of Ireland's youngsters.
ManUtd.com will have a report online after the final whistle with the team staying in Ireland to play Cork City on Wednesday evening.
http://www.manutd.com/en/Players-And-Staff/Reserves/Reserves-News/2012/Jul/manchester-united-xi-set-for-longford-town-friendly.aspx
23/07/2012, 1:41 PM
Please God let Longford trounce this lot.
23/07/2012, 2:06 PM
We can't take any of our chances at the moment so wouldn't bet on us trouncing anybody. Some good young players in the United squad as you'd expect, they're generally pretty lightweight though.
King and Cole have appeared in the first team..
Was it King/Cole that appeared in the United first team? Or was it nat King/Cole?
:/
23/07/2012, 2:43 PM
That's weak, even for you. You're capable of much more.
23/07/2012, 2:51 PM
Looks like Stu will have to face the music for that joke. And dance.
That's weak, even for you. You're capable of much more.
:D Yah right, its unforgettable.
23/07/2012, 9:20 PM
Finished 1-0 to Man Utd.