View Full Version : Paul Cook .... going? staying? gone?
10/02/2012, 2:48 PM
Whats the latest update on this? And who is in the running to replace him?
Have a look see !! (http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2012/0204/sligorovers_cookp.html)
born2bwild
10/02/2012, 5:03 PM
Yaaaaawn:
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2012/0210/sligorovers.html (http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2012/0210/sligorovers.html)
Looks like he decided to get off the pot, so.....
adamd164
10/02/2012, 5:38 PM
So he heads off for a week or so, missing a pre-season preparation game in order to talk to a second club since last season ended and now he's back again. Inspiring stuff for the players he's trying to motivate!
Hibs4Ever
10/02/2012, 6:34 PM
He's gotta be on serious money at Sligo to turn down Accrington
poster
10/02/2012, 6:55 PM
He's gotta be on serious money at Sligo to turn down Accrington
I don't think Accrington's budget would be huge compared to the top LOI sides.
10/02/2012, 7:00 PM
I think his point being that it's basically Cooks home club.
poster
10/02/2012, 7:13 PM
I think his point being that it's basically Cooks home club.
He must really love us so. :dog:
10/02/2012, 7:56 PM
He must really love us so. :dog:
He will always love Sligo of course....as long as they keep handing over the money.
What's left on his contract?
10/02/2012, 9:20 PM
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/b/bf/Packets_of_10_Cigarettes,_1960s_(3624085644).jpg
10/02/2012, 11:34 PM
Its unreal actually, the amount of times that he has tried to leave, or was looking else where, or wasn't happy with his budget .... and he is still there and not getting grief. Fair play if he is getting away with it.
askmehoop
10/02/2012, 11:54 PM
or Sligos
It's embarrassing at this stage.
poster
11/02/2012, 1:06 PM
He was never going to leave if the terms weren't right.
Sligo spent €122,015 p/a on management and coaching staff last year.. so it's fair to say Cook is on pretty big money.
http://www.sligochampion.ie/sport/soccer/caution-urged-in-the-pursuit-of-league-title-3001213.html
Rasputin
11/02/2012, 4:20 PM
Sligo spent €122,015 p/a on management and coaching staff last year.. so it's fair to say Cook is on pretty big money.
http://www.sligochampion.ie/sport/soccer/caution-urged-in-the-pursuit-of-league-title-3001213.html
What?
Sorry.. wrong link first time round.. http://www.sligochampion.ie/sport/soccer/cost-of-running-the-cup-winners-was-750000-3001171.html
Spudulika
11/02/2012, 7:06 PM
Heading to Accrington would be an okay move, but he's got a serious chance of winning the league in Ireland and move to a bigger club. He does deserve a better club than Stanley.
11/02/2012, 8:35 PM
It's embarrassing at this stage.
I know but with a username like askmehoop what do you expect
12/02/2012, 8:31 AM
Are Sligo fans not completely p!ssed off at this stage at Cook's constant hooring himself out to other clubs?
shellyriver
12/02/2012, 11:42 AM
Are Sligo fans not completely p!ssed off at this stage at Cook's constant hooring himself out to other clubs?
Yes and no. From our point of view its a tad annoying - but now its settled for the season [which has all being out-of-season] so everything's grand.
You also have to consider his pov - having turned down St Johns, Derry and now Accie Stanley, he has kept his name in the shop window for a long time outside football season, therefore keeping a high profile.
He's a shrewd bhoyo and if we clinch the league this season, he's in with an even better chance of being picked up by a bigger club in 2012/13 English season.
So, all in all, you have to be realistic, and its a results based business and if he wins the league - he will have secured a reputation as the greatest manager Sligo ever had.
poster
12/02/2012, 11:47 AM
He's off to talk to Leeds tomorrow. 33/1.
Spudulika
12/02/2012, 12:04 PM
Couldn't agree more shellyriver with your logic, he keeps his profile up, his name is out there and if he makes a breakthrough in the league this year then he'll go to a higher level club. He's a good manager and deserves a shot at a club better than Stanley.
Rasputin
12/02/2012, 1:06 PM
As long as he keeps bringing success he can whore himself down the docks for all I care.
Spudulika
12/02/2012, 2:19 PM
Rasputin, you post as if you know something. Lots of lonely trawlermen around Sligo? Awful stain on Cook's reputation, may only be good enough for the Spurs job! :-)
bluewhitearmy
12/02/2012, 2:22 PM
I dont get what the big deal is if your club had a very good player and he went on 4 or 5 trials in England and Scotland would you be very upset with him when he came back?
El-Pietro
12/02/2012, 2:35 PM
I dont get what the big deal is if your club had a very good player and he went on 4 or 5 trials in England and Scotland would you be very upset with him when he came back?
I'd wonder why my club was allowing a player to go on multiple trials, or trials at all - if a club wants a player they can scout him and then make an offer.
bluewhitearmy
12/02/2012, 4:11 PM
I'd wonder why my club was allowing a player to go on multiple trials, or trials at all - if a club wants a player they can scout him and then make an offer.
You would be upset that the club were allowing the player to try and get a deal that would be good for both him and the club?
Were you annoyed with Cummins then?
El-Pietro
12/02/2012, 4:35 PM
I was annoyed that we let him on loan to Wolves yes.
I was very pleased when we told Millwall where to go when they asked to take him on loan
Ezeikial
12/02/2012, 8:58 PM
>... but now its settled for the season [which has all being out-of-season] so everything's grand.
Do you really believe that there will be no more talk of a move before next November?
A tad naive me thinks
What is the latest on Ian Foster and Sligo?
shellyriver
12/02/2012, 9:55 PM
Do you really believe that there will be no more talk of a move before next November? A tad naive me thinks
I can deal with talk, the difference is he back in the saddle and also has League title and European games to look forward to -- that's hardly naive, its more like pragmatism.
What would prefer worry about every job vacancy across the briney? I mean, woe-be-tide he leaves, but maybe you don't know but there are other aspiring ambitious managers out there that can be hired by the Sligo Rovers committee. Cook came to Sligo having been given the boot previously, so life is often lottery.
12/02/2012, 10:06 PM
Does he have a preseason programme he is working on? Shouldn't he be working on that?
Ezeikial
12/02/2012, 10:53 PM
I can deal with talk......
So its okay with you if he has talks with as many other clubs as he wishes to court?
Do you really think that Cook is fully committed to Sligo for the full season ahead?
born2bwild
12/02/2012, 11:16 PM
Does he have a preseason programme he is working on? Shouldn't he be working on that?
What? That Leeds thing's not a joke? Is he taking the proverbial? What's going on there? Is he being pushed out? :confused::confused::confused:
shellyriver
12/02/2012, 11:35 PM
So its okay with you if he has talks with as many other clubs as he wishes to court?
Do you really think that Cook is fully committed to Sligo for the full season ahead?
Yes and Yes.
He's made no secret that he's going back to England. In truth, many people in Sligo were hoping he would go now and we would get contract compensation.
He's committed to Sligo because his future success is contingent upon the side doing well.
Roll on the new ASAP.
13/02/2012, 10:19 AM
Going...going...GONE.
13/02/2012, 10:28 AM
http://www.lancashiretelegraph.co.uk/sport/football/accrington_stanley/news/9527612.Accrington_Stanley_close_to_Cook_appointme nt/r/?ref=rss
HulaHoop
13/02/2012, 11:40 AM
Will be interesting to see what get out clauses the bould scouser inserted into some of Sligo's new signing's contracts, that's if they have signed contracts at all....
Spudulika
13/02/2012, 11:47 AM
Hopefully it's just one contract per player, oh wait, wrong club. It's contract plus cash for Sligo players :-) Seriously, this doesn't augur well for the club this season. Especially getting a new man in. Apart from Foster who's in the hunt?
poster
13/02/2012, 12:40 PM
Will be interesting to see what get out clauses the bould scouser inserted into some of Sligo's new signing's contracts, that's if they have signed contracts at all....
Any idea who our new boss will be?
MMVIII
13/02/2012, 1:06 PM
http://www.sligorovers.com/latest-news-news-menu-inside-246/1452-cook-departs-for-accrington
Nah Nah Nah Nah
13/02/2012, 1:23 PM
Thanks for everything Cookie
adamd164
13/02/2012, 1:31 PM
What the hell was with the official Sligo statement over the weekend...
Sligo Rovers wish to announce that Paul Cook is expected to return to Sligo this weekend after talks between Paul and Accrington Stanley concluded unsuccesfully.
We would like to thank Accrington’s Peter Marsden for his professionalism and courtesy in the negotiations with Sligo Rovers and we wish them the very best for the future.
We would also like to thank our supporters for their patience this week regarding this issue and look forward to a return to focus on our pre-season preparations.
Did they have a clue what was going on?!
adamd164
13/02/2012, 1:38 PM
I see Sligo got 2 friendlies with Accrington in as part of the deal. No wonder they let him go, those will be worth an absolute mint!
Gerry Carr to take over?
Rico perhaps? He'd fit in with the style of play anyway.
13/02/2012, 1:51 PM
Who's in charge tonight for the game against the Limerick Globetrotters??
poster
13/02/2012, 1:54 PM
Who's in charge tonight for the game against the Limerick Globetrotters??
Maurice Monaghan and Gerry Carr.
mcgonigle
13/02/2012, 2:16 PM
Thanks for everything Cookie
It's Cook
White Horse
13/02/2012, 2:19 PM
Delighted for Cook, he was desperate to get away from Sligo. I feel sorry for their new signings though. Cook was one of the main reasons they went there. I bet Roddy will have spring in his step today ;)