View Full Version : 2012 Pre-Season Friendlies

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7

13/02/2012, 7:27 PM
2-1 Rovers, Alan Keane.

Rovers line up:
https://p.twimg.com/Aljp5c2CIAEjhIb.jpg

and now it's 3-1. Raf again, great cross from Quigley. Half time.

13/02/2012, 7:28 PM
That's not a bad bench to have in fairness..

thomas72
13/02/2012, 7:40 PM
might have to sign another 3or 4 players LOL great friendly to get against quailty team

thomas72
13/02/2012, 8:07 PM
Limerick 2 sligo 3

CSKA striker with a screamer

13/02/2012, 8:12 PM
No Ndo?

13/02/2012, 8:16 PM
No Ndo?Joey doesn't do pre-season games. Only competitive.

13/02/2012, 8:29 PM
So he's sitting on his arse durin pre season..

13/02/2012, 8:32 PM
So he's sitting on his arse durin pre season..He trains (his own routine) and watches some of the games. He's class so no one cares.

bullit
13/02/2012, 8:32 PM
No Ndo?

Prob in Accrington been shown how to play 'should i stay or should i go?' by Cook

13/02/2012, 8:35 PM
3-2 to Rovers at full time.

thomas72
13/02/2012, 8:39 PM
ANY match report sligoman?

Bayern Munchies
13/02/2012, 8:47 PM
Decent enough result for limerick against a very good side...nice to see the Polish lad score.
Also excuse my ignorance but who's the Derek O'Brien that was playing with Limerick tonight?

13/02/2012, 8:49 PM
ANY match report sligoman?Not yet. Rovers site or Extratime might have one at some stage tonight/tomorrow.

Also excuse my ignorance but who's the Derek O'Brien that was playing with Limerick tonight?Ex-Sligo Rovers, Galway, Pat's, Cork...Can't remember if there's any more.

The Lilywhites
13/02/2012, 9:00 PM
Is Stephen Maher gone from Sligo?

Mr Maroon
13/02/2012, 9:20 PM
I was at Sligo vs Limerick tonight. There was about 100 there I'd say. The two lads from CSKA didn't exactly stand out. The number 6 played deep in midfield, put in a few tackles, but didn't really get involved on the ball. The number 9 didn't do much apart from stick one in the top corner.

There were 10 ex-Galway United players involved between both teams. The first 4 goals were all scored by ex-United players. Derek O'Brien's opening goal was great, he was their best attacking player IMO.

Sligo played some great stuff in the first half. Greene, Quigley, Boco and Cretaro combined well.

The game was scrappier in the second. That Seid lad looked hopeless.

13/02/2012, 11:01 PM
Sligo dominated the first half and us the second half. Its like both teams decided before it, right ye attack in the first half and we'll try catch ye on the break and vice versa. Not a bad run out for the two foreign lads seen as they only arrived yesterday. The striker was a little lost up front on his own in the first half and the centre midfielder was well able to get in amongst the sligo lads, although a lot of what he was trying wasn't coming off because of lack of playing with the lads you could still see he was decent enough.

Thought we improved when we had the more settled lads on the field, Gamble, O'Leary, Tracey, Behan and Quinn where all linking up pretty well. Sligo tried to play everything from the back and keep it on the deck. In the first half we put a lot of balls in the air but in the second we kept it on the deck. Sligo love the cross field ball. All in all a decent run out for both teams.

14/02/2012, 12:06 AM
Thought Kalouda looked tidy, would have liked to have seen him play alongside Gamble or in the hole behind the loan striker think it wuld have suited him better, himself and Bradley alongside one another wasn't ideal.

We're a frustrating shower to watch at times actually, two boys showing for balls only to see them float over their heads, hopefully twill gel with a few more games (with or without the Soviets)

Kalouda's boots are absolutely shocking aswell on an aside.

Felt bad for Janzyck ploughing a lone furrow up front, wasn't getting a kick off of Peers and McGuinness. But then he got one chance and absolutely rattled it home.

Derek O'Brien did well big strong lump of a wide man I'd say Scullys fallen in love. I'd take him if he's cheap.

Sligo are a decent outfit great movement took the **** out of our midfield in the first half I was getting worried we'd ship a hiding. They brought on a few novelty players in the second half which helped.

bluewhitearmy
14/02/2012, 12:19 AM
Thought Kalouda looked tidy, would have liked to have seen him play alongside Gamble or in the hole behind the loan striker think it wuld have suited him better, himself and Bradley alongside one another wasn't ideal.

We're a frustrating shower to watch at times actually, two boys showing for balls only to see them float over their heads, hopefully twill gel with a few more games (with or without the Soviets)

Kalouda's boots are absolutely shocking aswell on an aside.

Felt bad for Janzyck ploughing a lone furrow up front, wasn't getting a kick off of Peers and McGuinness. But then he got one chance and absolutely rattled it home.

Derek O'Brien did well big strong lump of a wide man I'd say Scullys fallen in love. I'd take him if he's cheap.

Sligo are a decent outfit great movement took the **** out of our midfield in the first half I was getting worried we'd ship a hiding. They brought on a few novelty players in the second half which helped.

We need a left back i think a lot of this was from him he is far too nervous 5 or 6 times lads were telling him to calm down and keep it down.
His control at times was awful and he seemed nervous in the tackle and was like that against UCD too not good for the only left back in the senior squad at the moment imo.

14/02/2012, 7:36 PM
Latest scores

Ballinamallard Utd 0-0 Dundalk HT
Glentoran 0-1 Shamrock Rovers HT
Crusaders 0-0 Finn Harps HT

14/02/2012, 8:45 PM
Full Times
Glentoran 2-1 Shamrock Rovers
Crusaders 1-0 Harps

bullit
14/02/2012, 9:00 PM
Dundalk bate Ballinamallard Utd by 2 to Nil tonight,goals from Nathan Murphy & u-19 goal scoring sensation Bob McKenna

DRDoc
14/02/2012, 10:28 PM
Are wexford playing in Tallaght on Saturday at 5 vs Rovers does anyone know?

15/02/2012, 9:54 PM
http://www.shamrockrovers.ie/index.php

confd on shamrock rovers website bout youths match..

bullit
16/02/2012, 8:45 PM
finishes drogheda 1 0 dundalk in hdc park,12 quid in to #daylightrobbery

L.T.F.C.
17/02/2012, 12:15 AM
€12 in for a pre-season friendly? Jesus

WindmillWarrior
17/02/2012, 7:32 AM
Both clubs like to milk the local derby aspect of the Jim Malone cup games, was a tenner into boriel last time. I remember one game in UP a few years ago was 15 in!

On the game both sides looked very rusty but I think we deserved the win in the end. Main talking point tho was the very bad injury to Crowley at the end, he was taken straight to hospital. From the first minutes of the game dundalk were sliding into tackles recklessly. On that surface in that rain it was asking for trouble, the dumb ref never clamped down on it (local derby d*ckhead) and the tone was set. Very dissapointing.

White Horse
17/02/2012, 9:10 AM
Both clubs like to milk the local derby aspect of the Jim Malone cup games, was a tenner into boriel last time. I remember one game in UP a few years ago was 15 in!

This is 2012, the Celtic Tiger is dead, and no one has any money. The prices were outrageous and an insult to fans. That being said, it was a credit to both sets of fans that so many turned up.

I thought we were shocking. We looked like a buch of players who just met up in the car park and decided to have a kick about. Drogheda were more cohesive and know their game play (albeit a very limited one).

As you say, the referree was terrible. There was hardly 60 seconds of continuous play in the first 5 minutes. Every player to player contact was blown up. Both teams struggled to find any grip on the pitch, that is one of the downsides of starting the season at this time of the year.

I hope Crowley is OK, it was a great tackle by Foran who impressed thoughout.

thomas72
17/02/2012, 1:41 PM
Cork city v Limerick fc

SAturday 18th 2pm

SHould be another good test I think it time we starting playing the 11 that is going to start the first game in a few weeks?

17/02/2012, 10:05 PM
Cork city v Limerick fc

SAturday 18th 2pm

SHould be another good test I think it time we starting playing the 11 that is going to start the first game in a few weeks?

I think we are starting to see that already going by the last few games. I'd say we will be starting something close to this. We need a left full though.

Barry Ryan

Shaun Kelly
Pat Purcell
Shane Guthrie
Andrew Bhandarkar

Shane Tracey
Stephen Bradley
Joe Gamble
Sean Brosnan (Derek O Brien if he signs I would think)

Quinn
Behan

18/02/2012, 1:22 AM
Gaffney and Sheehan trained the other night aswell. Not sure if they'll be risked in the morning though.

Derek O'Brien will be playing.

Cork and Drogheda should be serious business now with the Harps game coming fast.

Possible line up on March 2nd:

Ryan

Kelly
Guthrie
Purcell
Bhandarkar

Gamble
Bradley

Gaffney
Quinn
Sheehan

Behan

With a bench with the likes of Tracy x 2, O'Brien, O'Leary and McGann on it.

And another useful surprise on the way.

We are going to absolutely smash the First Division this year. :D

thomas72
18/02/2012, 2:00 PM
Cork city 1 Limerick fc 1 HT

BEHAN 35mins, Dan Murray 42mins.

thomas72
18/02/2012, 3:19 PM
Cork city 2 Limerick fc 2, FT

behan 35, Dan Murray 42 at half time
SHane O connor gave city 65min lead shane tracey levelled for Limerick on 75mins.

ANyone a match report?

18/02/2012, 5:16 PM
The 2 foreign guys not signing for Limerick now?

18/02/2012, 5:32 PM
Dunno about the two foreign lads, we've our fingers in a few potentially more realistic pies.

Limerick lined out:

D. Ryan

Kelly
Purcell
Guthrie
C. Tracy

Bradley
Gamble

S. Tracy
Quinn
Sheedy

Behan

First goal for Limerick was a lovely through ball from Paudie and Denis (eventually!) tucked it away.

Corks equaliser, three of the lads rushed out from a corner with the breakaway on forgot to bring the ball with them and Dan Murray of all people hit a daisycutter from the edge of the area.

Cork took the lead when Dunleavy and Horgan had an overlap on Corie on their right wing, Horgan crossed it in to the far post and Shane O'Connor hammered it home on the volley unmarked. Good finish in fairness but a poor goal from our point of view.

Our equaliser then came from Shane Tracy rattling in a free kick which I thought Kevin Burns might have saved to be honest.

Subs: Derek O'Brien came on for Sheedy at half time and hobbled off after about five minutes. :bulgy: On the plus side Gaffney replaced him and looked really sharp.

O'Leary came on for Quinn and McGann came on for S. Tracy.

Some random thoughts:

Wasn't any visible gulf in standard there between the first division side and the premier side.
Gamble played very well.
Shaun Kelly looks fairly decent.
On the other side Corie probably isn't the answer at left back!
Bradley did his flick pass thing again to everyones amusement.
I was surprised by how much bigger than us physically Cork were in general.
Dunleavey was a bit of a mess at right back for them, assume it's not his normal position.

Overall a pretty scrappy game not helped by the fact that the pitch in Bishopstown is an absolute thundering disgrace. I hope for Corks sake they don't train on it.

Would be interested to hear any Cork fans comparisons considering they've now played Limerick, Longford and Waterford.

18/02/2012, 5:33 PM

Think there are a few things to sort out. At the moment the last we heard is they'd be happy to sign and it's up to ourselves and CSKA to sort it out from here.

Would be great to have them as it may attract the polish and Czech people living in limerick up to games but I think most fans are easy either way.

adamd164
18/02/2012, 5:38 PM
Wasn't any visible gulf in standard there between the first division side and the premier side.
That's a Limerick side that will win the First Division by at least 10 points and would be challenging for Europe in the Premier.

Pitch was atrocious, we don't train on it. The u19s use it alright.

Stand-out players for us I felt were Dunleavy, Daryl Horgan and O'Connor. A good run out, looking forward to seeing Tadgh Purcell in up front now as well.

18/02/2012, 5:47 PM
That's a Limerick side that will win the First Division by at least 10 points and would be challenging for Europe in the Premier.

You didn't see the Waterford and Longford games for comparison nah??

Pitch was atrocious, we don't train on it. The u19s use it alright

Is their plans to develop the place at all?? There was some bits and pieces done to it since the last time I was down but tis still in fairly rag order.

askmehoop
18/02/2012, 5:58 PM
Finished 2-0 Rovers in Tallaght v wexford. Twigg and Dennehy

bullit
18/02/2012, 6:22 PM
Highlights :rolleyes: from Thursdays Malone cup friendly DundalkFC v Drogheda Utd.

http://www.dundalkfc.com/dfctv-drogheda-united-1-0-dundalk

18/02/2012, 6:22 PM

Is their plans to develop the place at all?? There was some bits and pieces done to it since the last time I was down but tis still in fairly rag order.

We're nowhere near as strong as ye, you don't need Cork fans to be telling you that. Can't imagine Waterford are either. Play offs have to be our target. If ye don't win the Division by a street it'll be a thundering disgrace as you say yourself.

18/02/2012, 6:25 PM
We're nowhere near as strong as ye, you don't need Cork fans to be telling you that. Can't imagine Waterford are either. Play offs have to be our target

Ye could potentially be a very sticky wicket imho.

Look solid and arguably good enought to be beating everyone else which means we'll struggle to pull away from ye.

Waterford looked fairly ****e on paper alright but I've a Limerickmans natural wariness of them.

If ye don't win the Division by a street it'll be a thundering disgrace as you say yourself

One of my favourite things my dad says. :)

thomas72
18/02/2012, 6:27 PM

According to local radio this morning they said its almost done nothing official from the club yet.
I did hear Derek o brien to Limerick is suppose to be done today again waiting on confirmation from the club.

bullit
18/02/2012, 6:49 PM
Just to mention that it will be a FIV€R into Oriel Park tomorrow afternoon(KO 2PM) for the pre-season friendly v Harps and under 16's will get in free.

Drogheda (robbing B's) United take note please.

http://www.dundalkfc.com/sunday-dundalk-v-finn-harps-e5-in-u16s-go-free

18/02/2012, 6:49 PM
Rovers 3-0 Athlone. Cretaro, Millien & North.

18/02/2012, 7:07 PM
Ye could potentially be a very sticky wicket imho.

Look solid and arguably good enought to be beating everyone else which means we'll struggle to pull away from ye.

Waterford looked fairly ****e on paper alright but I've a Limerickmans natural wariness of them.

One of my favourite things my dad says. :)

I have concerns about our defence, we were a bit shaky last season at times and are carrying a few injuries but I think we'll create plenty going forward with Kirby added. Hopefully between Shaw, Skelly and Bermingham, with the young lad Purdy getting better with experience, we'll score enough to be up there.

blue til i die
18/02/2012, 7:38 PM

We're sh*te, don't worry... :doh:

18/02/2012, 8:29 PM
Town 1 Drogs 1. Skelly for us. Don't know who scored for them.

bullit
18/02/2012, 8:34 PM
Town 1 Drogs 1. Skelly for us. Don't know who scored for them.

Prendergast ? think i seen it on twotter somewere.

18/02/2012, 9:13 PM
Prendergast ? think i seen it on twotter somewere.

I thought McNally got their goal. A terrible goal to give away it was too, classic Town defending.

We tried to play football but our pitch resembles a bog at the moment, was very hard to get anything going. Thought we probably shaded it overall tbh, although there wasn't a whole lot between the teams.

18/02/2012, 10:30 PM
Apparently we had a Romanian lad on trial, Radu Contor was the name I was given. It seems he's going back from wherever he came from next week so no idea if he'll ever be seen on these shores again but "my source" at the game was impressed!