View Full Version : O'Neill 'to quit' Shamrock Rovers
Rasputin
12/12/2011, 6:07 PM
Sligo fans, I've thought about this a bit.
Whatever about putting up your budget being stupid, the fact that your chairman stated publicly that you've put up the budget is stupid, just stupid.
We made a healthy profit last year and by the looks of it made a healthy profit this year.
Our financial statements are disclosed to the membership, its not cloak and dagger style finances.
Increasing our playing budget if there is the financial clout to match is hardly stupid, especially considering we have invested heavily on infrastructure like new astro turf pitchs, tv gantry, new club shop, new offices etc. We have also increased investment in youth development with the progressive appointment of Dykes.
We will never match Shams financial clout, last season was a perfect example where they could poach the likes of Kilduff, Shepard, Mc Cabe etc and we couldnt match the money being offered to them.
But being cautious and questioning finances is wise, after all it has ment that we have ALWAYS paid our debts, unlike some.
Also gutted O'Neill has left. Bad news for us.
askmehoop
12/12/2011, 6:09 PM
Obviously, didn't think too hard.
First of many aspects which reveal a thread-bare logic, just consider pretty much everything, that has been stated already by Sligo fans on this topic.
Second, what would you prefer, 'buckshee double - under the table contracts' -- now where have we seen those?
Anyways, back to thread, even though MON was one of the most miserable, dour and unimaginative managers before camera - he has achieved great success, particularly the EUROPA games.
Best of luck to him in the future. I'm sure there will be plenty of would be candidates -- however, Paul Cook won't be one:worship:
always found MON very honest in his assesment when in front of the camera. Paul Cook wont be a candidate for the job if it becomes available, aint good enough im afraid.
Oldred
12/12/2011, 8:02 PM
always found MON very honest in his assesment when in front of the camera. Paul Cook wont be a candidate for the job if it becomes available, aint good enough im afraid.
Have to agree. Ye aint good enough for Paul :D
Jicked
12/12/2011, 8:35 PM
No Roddy fan but to compare the two scenarios is just idiotic. O'Neill's had the best squad by a mile in the league last two seasons and earned the most money EVER paid to a manager here last season. The league should've been won both times weeks before they were, and there was no excuse not to play a better brand of football with the players we had.
I'm not comparing the two sitautions, just pointing out how funny it is that a gob****e who plays up to so a certain type of person like Roddy is publicly lauded, whereas one of the most succesfull managers in our clubs history isn't given much respect from his own fans because we only won the league title with two games to spare this year, despite playing 20 odd games extra over some of our title rivals.
askmehoop
12/12/2011, 8:50 PM
I'm not comparing the two sitautions, just pointing out how funny it is that a gob****e who plays up to so a certain type of person like Roddy is publicly lauded, whereas one of the most succesfull managers in our clubs history isn't given much respect from his own fans because we only won the league title with two games to spare this year, despite playing 20 odd games extra over some of our title rivals.
I dont know what some of the mongs that go to Rovers want, play good football and win f**k all and they might be happy. we've played good football at times this year and we've grafted too, we've had to play conservative to compete in europe. Our style of play has been successful and at the end of the day thats all that matters.
DaveyCakes
12/12/2011, 9:02 PM
Few things in this thread -
Sligo fans, I've thought about this a bit.
Whatever about putting up your budget being stupid, the fact that your chairman stated publicly that you've put up the budget is stupid, just stupid.
:
It all depends on how much the budget has been increased, and I haven't seen a figure anywhere. Doubling it would be crazy, a 10 or 15 percent increase could be justifiable given the UEFA revenue and prizemoney coming in....
12/12/2011, 9:10 PM
Rovers have played better football in Europe this season than in the league but that's hardly surprising. Even for the games against Sligo and Derry, I thought Rovers were just as positive and attempted to retain the ball, with the exception of the awful 2-0 in Sligo.
12/12/2011, 9:24 PM
one of the most succesfull managers in our clubs history isn't given much respect from his own fans because we only won the league title with two games to spare this year, despite playing 20 odd games extra over some of our title rivals.
Would you prefer if we didn't have those extra 20 games?
12/12/2011, 9:31 PM
Did you ever consider that the Chairman of the club might know a few truths regarding the budget that you dont? Hence he can make the statment.
There are a 3 or 4 good solid reasons, imo, why and how the budget can/ will be increased. Im sure they will come out when everything is finalised. Until then you keep making your mind up based on tabloid and forum comments.
Obviously, didn't think too hard.
First of many aspects which reveal a thread-bare logic, just consider pretty much everything, that has been stated already by Sligo fans on this topic.
Second, what would you prefer, 'buckshee double - under the table contracts' -- now where have we seen those?
Jaysus lads touchy much??
You didn't even read my point.
I didn't actually comment on the rights or wrongs of actually raising the budget.
By all means raise the budget. But to state publicly that you'll be spending more money at a time when you're looking to sign players strikes me as a bit stupid.
Also, whoever said Sligo made a healthy profit, can you explain how?!
12/12/2011, 11:26 PM
It all depends on how much the budget has been increased, and I haven't seen a figure anywhere. Doubling it would be crazy, a 10 or 15 percent increase could be justifiable given the UEFA revenue and prizemoney coming in....
They had UEFA revenue and prize money (Cup win, decent league finish) this year too. Not to say they shouldn't be increasing it, but I don't see how they can based on those figures alone.
Spudulika
13/12/2011, 5:47 AM
I dont know what some of the mongs that go to Rovers want, play good football and win f**k all and they might be happy. we've played good football at times this year and we've grafted too, we've had to play conservative to compete in europe. Our style of play has been successful and at the end of the day thats all that matters.
askmehoop, I've been critical of the way in which MON had/has Rovers playing. If it was my side I'd just be happy they're winning, so I can just shut up about style etc. However I'd like to see Rovers open up and play when they're up a goal or two, they have a great squad and can just destroy teams. But again, if my side were winning 1-0 and just lumping the ball forward and closing down the opposition, so what. Two of the greatest Ireland matches in my experience were the 1-0 in Stuttgart in 1988 and the 0-0 in Moscow this year. We didn't lose and it was edge of the seat stuff, MON doesn't do edge of seat experience, he gets his sides playing winning football. And it's successful and you're right, that's all that matters.
I didn't actually comment on the rights or wrongs of actually raising the budget.
By all means raise the budget. But to state publicly that you'll be spending more money at a time when you're looking to sign players strikes me as a bit stupid.
Westlife.
despite playing 20 odd games extra over some of our title rivals.
Who did you play 20 games more than this year?
9 european games (before league finished), 4 FAI Cup, 1 league cup, 5 Setanta Cup games, 2 Leinster Senior Cup? So a total of 21 cup games
Pats (not a title rival but indulge me...) had 6 European games, 5 FAI Cup games, 2 league cup games, 2 Setanta and 5 Leinster Senior. Thats 20
Sligo had 2 European games, 6 FAI Cup games, 3 League cup and 4 Setanta. So 15.
Derry, least games of all, but they had 1 FAI Cup and 6 league cup fixtures.
askmehoop
13/12/2011, 10:15 AM
Who did you play 20 games more than this year?
9 european games (before league finished), 4 FAI Cup, 1 league cup, 5 Setanta Cup games, 2 Leinster Senior Cup? So a total of 21 cup games
Pats (not a title rival but indulge me...) had 6 European games, 5 FAI Cup games, 2 league cup games, 2 Setanta and 5 Leinster Senior. Thats 20
Sligo had 2 European games, 6 FAI Cup games, 3 League cup and 4 Setanta. So 15.
Derry, least games of all, but they had 1 FAI Cup and 6 league cup fixtures.
its more around the 10\11 mark, unless mypost is including friendlies. although when you consider the opposition we've faced you'd have to take the physical affect on the players into consideration
13/12/2011, 10:48 AM
its more around the 10\11 mark, unless mypost is including friendlies. although when you consider the opposition we've faced you'd have to take the physical affect on the players into consideration
There's absolutely no way either of your games against the Estonians was any more taxing than a single cup game played by anyone else.
But thats not the point. No one disgarees that its been a long season for Rovers, but playing 6 more games than Sligo (of which 3 were your complete reserve team) isn't something that should effect results
Spudulika
13/12/2011, 11:05 AM
Slightly disagree there Dodge, you haven't put in the travel factor. They're part time players (unless something changed) so you've also got the recovery factor. Plus eyes were cast towards Europe and concentration lost a little on the home front.
El-Pietro
13/12/2011, 11:32 AM
Slightly disagree there Dodge, you haven't put in the travel factor. They're part time players (unless something changed) so you've also got the recovery factor. Plus eyes were cast towards Europe and concentration lost a little on the home front.
if we're talking Travel Factor then I wonder has anyone traveled as far as Pats did this year
13/12/2011, 11:35 AM
Look there's loads of factors. IF we bring travel into it, Sligo and Derry have far more travel within Ireland.
it is not a valid reason for effecting a seasons results
poster
13/12/2011, 11:56 AM
They're part time players (unless something changed)
Again I ask, who there is 'part time'?
13/12/2011, 12:03 PM
I think just Rice of the first team squad has a day job. The others like Flynn and Kavanagh were fringe players. However the players don't train to the same intensity as a full-time side would, even if the players don't have other jobs.
poster
13/12/2011, 12:07 PM
So really, apart from Rice (who imo has been your best player this year) and the fringe lads yer full time?
13/12/2011, 12:10 PM
In terms of it being the players' only job, yeah. That doesn't mean they'd be on the same level of fitness/professionalism as equivalent teams in England/Scotland, or even the likes of Fenlon's Bohs and Shels sides.
So really, apart from Rice (who imo has been your best player this year) and the fringe lads yer full time?
No, they're part time but the players don't have a day job. There's a lot of players throughout the league like that due to the economic situation. It's not the same as being fully pro, imo.
The Indo (http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/hoops-size-up-options-as-oneill-heads-for-exit-door-2961345.html) mentions Kerr, Cook, Kenny, Sean O'Driscoll, Kenny Cunningham, Gary Breen
askmehoop
13/12/2011, 3:07 PM
There's absolutely no way either of your games against the Estonians was any more taxing than a single cup game played by anyone else.
But thats not the point. No one disgarees that its been a long season for Rovers, but playing 6 more games than Sligo (of which 3 were your complete reserve team) isn't something that should effect results
Take out the estonians, who had 7 internationals btw. Copenhagen, Belgrade, Spurs, PAOK and Rublin, and as spudulika pointed out the travelling. Like it or not dodge it has been a far more physically draining season for Rovers, either way we won the league so i dont give a bo**ox what people think.
askmehoop
13/12/2011, 3:08 PM
The Indo (http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/hoops-size-up-options-as-oneill-heads-for-exit-door-2961345.html) mentions Kerr, Cook, Kenny, Sean O'Driscoll, Kenny Cunningham, Gary Breen
All lifted from the ultras forum, great journalism in this country
askmehoop
13/12/2011, 3:16 PM
Look there's loads of factors. IF we bring travel into it, Sligo and Derry have far more travel within Ireland.
it is not a valid reason for effecting a seasons results
different time zones? unless sligo has its own timezone then i think travelling around Ireland is slightly handier.
and if you want to be nit-picky we have a lot more derby games then any of the two teams you mentioned
PartySaint
13/12/2011, 3:34 PM
different time zones? unless sligo has its own timezone then i think travelling around Ireland is slightly handier.
They have to come all the way from the 1970's
poster
13/12/2011, 3:52 PM
They have to come all the way from the 1970's
Not a lot has changed. Pat's still can't manage to win the cup! :sheep:
Rasputin
13/12/2011, 5:02 PM
Fair enough, but it does have its positive aspects imo, it shows the top players in the league that we will be at least in contention for their signatures and it tells the fans that we still have aspirations of winning the league and hopefully a spin off effect of more season tickets, more membership, better sponsorship deals etc.
This seasons budget has not been disclosed yet but it will as it is always done for the members.
But last seasons budget was revealed and there was a thread on here after it was disclosed, have a look around if you want but I really couldnt be arsed.
Rasputin
13/12/2011, 5:11 PM
and if you want to be nit-picky we have a lot more derby games then any of the two teams you mentioned
Our closest trip is roughly 4 hours by bus return, be it Galway or Derry.
Then all the rest are at least 6 hours return to Dublin/Louth/Wicklow.
That is every other week, so dont play the travel card.
13/12/2011, 5:14 PM
I'm not considering friendlies, but playing 10 more games than most teams in Europe this year, was and is a great experience. I wouldn't want to give it up just to play a league side for the 4th time in a few months.
Rasputin
13/12/2011, 5:21 PM
http://www.sligorovers.com/latest-news-news-menu-inside-246/1102-kelly-calls-for-more-help-with-club
13/12/2011, 5:34 PM
http://www.sligorovers.com/latest-news-news-menu-inside-246/1102-kelly-calls-for-more-help-with-club
That's from Feb 2011????
askmehoop
13/12/2011, 5:41 PM
Our closest trip is roughly 4 hours by bus return, be it Galway or Derry.
Then all the rest are at least 6 hours return to Dublin/Louth/Wicklow.
That is every other week, so dont play the travel card.
all the crap that goes with flying somewhere, hanging around airports waiting for take off, waiting for luggage etc or jump on a bus for 2-3 hours jump off the bus and into the ground. no comparison. face it mate sligo weren't good enough to win the league this year.
All lifted from the ultras forum, great journalism in this country
Particularly O'Driscoll. You'd think they'd give a references section at the of the article at least..
Ah yes, good old Packie Lynch. I remember him well.:D
Wonder what he's up to now?
Rasputin
13/12/2011, 10:10 PM
That's from Feb 2011????
Ehh yes and?
Rasputin
13/12/2011, 10:11 PM
all the crap that goes with flying somewhere, hanging around airports waiting for take off, waiting for luggage etc or jump on a bus for 2-3 hours jump off the bus and into the ground. no comparison. face it mate sligo weren't good enough to win the league this year.
Clearly you have never utilised the Mypost travel agency.
askmehoop
13/12/2011, 11:43 PM
Clearly you have never utilised the Mypost travel agency.
The UFO was rented out on Thursday nights
Sean South
14/12/2011, 9:04 AM
That's from Feb 2011????
2011 accounts won't be released until the AGM in January or Feburay 2012. The club has been making a profit the past 5-6 years except for 2008 I think
14/12/2011, 9:12 AM
Can't believe we could have qualified for this at the end of the season but instead stuck out reserve teams. (Although to be honest, we might not have qualified for it anyway).
14/12/2011, 9:34 AM
Ehh yes and?
My point is, how can you use that link from the 2010 season to vindicate raising the 2012 budget?
We made a profit of over €70k in 2007, made a loss of nearly €250k in 2008. (just as an example)
Rasputin
14/12/2011, 12:20 PM
My point is, how can you use that link from the 2010 season to vindicate raising the 2012 budget?
We made a profit of over €70k in 2007, made a loss of nearly €250k in 2008. (just as an example)
A poster asked for the latest official figures from our last AGM so I provided it.
As for the justification for raising our budget as I said all indications are that we made another healthy profit last year again.
Now obviously nobody here will have the official figures until the next AGM so until then its idle speculation and all we can work with is the solid facts at are disposal and one of them is our financial stability over the past few years.
shellyriver
14/12/2011, 2:44 PM
Are you with the Revenue?
14/12/2011, 6:19 PM
A poster asked for the latest official figures from our last AGM so I provided it.
As for the justification for raising our budget as I said all indications are that we made another healthy profit last year again.
Now obviously nobody here will have the official figures until the next AGM so until then its idle speculation and all we can work with is the solid facts at are disposal and one of them is our financial stability over the past few years.
Well, the board are then putting up the budget on the assumption that they made a profit from last season without actually knowing for sure? Makes it even more crazy.
askmehoop
14/12/2011, 6:21 PM
Well, the board are then putting up the budget on the assumption that they made a profit from last season without actually knowing for sure? Makes it even more courageous.
fixed that
poster
14/12/2011, 6:23 PM
Read my post in the transfer rumours thread.
14/12/2011, 6:37 PM
But it's so much effort...
Shouldn't you or Mr Anus be off begging Dahamsta for a new fund raising thread.
Not enough that he removed three of them until he finally capitulated.;)
At least the persistence paid off.