View Full Version : Euro 2012 - general info

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9

French Toasht
30/04/2012, 12:16 PM
Yeah I got them through the portal and got some pish email today about how the tickets are printed, the colours used, how many stamps they require etc etc, but absolutely no indication about when they'll send them out.

30/04/2012, 12:19 PM
it appears that those who got FAI tickets will receive tomorrow

Junior
30/04/2012, 3:34 PM
Worryingly it says delivery is to:
Paul
xxxxx
xxx
London

No actual surname or anything just "paul"....it must be tickets, ive no other reason to be getting a letter from poland.

Its not the surname Id be worried about, hows a postman supposed to know where xxxxx xxxxx is? London is a big place you know.

01/05/2012, 12:20 PM
well they figured out XXXXX XXXXX, i thought i had 1 too many x's but it got there, brother signed for them this morning.

DeLorean
02/05/2012, 9:43 AM
Does anybody know if there is any legislation/regulations which would prevent us driving in/out of Poland in a rented camper van? (presuming the driver has a full licence obviously). We are renting the camper in Wroclaw.

Junior
02/05/2012, 11:11 AM
Its the Rental company that will have restrictions (if any). I have read of many rented in Germany not allowing them in to Ukraine for example.

DeLorean
02/05/2012, 12:44 PM
Yeah, our crowd were going to charge an extra €1000 refundable deposit if we intended going to Ukraine. Our plan is to go to Berlin for a couple of nights after the Croatia game so not sure how they would feel about that.

punkrocket
02/05/2012, 1:07 PM
Tickets arrived yesterday, signed for by a plasterer I've got doing a bit for me. I suppose if I can trust him with the keys of my house he wouldn't be interested in my tickets. Good to get them in good time, I was in Tokyo 2 weeks before my tickets came the last time, and they didn't arrive from home until after the Cameroon game, I had to make a scene at the Fifa office. Uefa seem more on the ball.

DeLorean
02/05/2012, 1:37 PM
Were they through the portal punkrocket?

Junior
02/05/2012, 1:49 PM
FAI portal this week
UEFA portal next week

Word on the street.......

punkrocket
02/05/2012, 2:07 PM
Through the FAI portal as a season ticketholder DL.

02/05/2012, 6:29 PM
Hang on - is there a separate FAI portal, or is it the UEFA portal with a FAI reference number?

Junior
02/05/2012, 7:34 PM
Hang on - is there a separate FAI portal, or is it the UEFA portal with a FAI reference number?

Yeah same thing.

It was the FAI fans portal which was run by UEFA.com bit u needed an FAI login and password. Those tickets coming this wk.

Then there was the open to any old joe blogs UEFA portal. Those tickets coming next week.

02/05/2012, 9:54 PM
OK, thks.

I got my fekkin useless (or are they? Hopefully not) vouchers for the Q/F onwards. Not surprisingly, given that I've booked flights to Poland, I'm more interested in getting tickets for the group games.

French Toasht
02/05/2012, 11:17 PM
OK, thks.

I got my fekkin useless (or are they? Hopefully not) vouchers for the Q/F onwards. Not surprisingly, given that I've booked flights to Poland, I'm more interested in getting tickets for the group games.

I'm convinced you have tickets there to a QF with England. Don't know where this unrealistic optimism has come from but I have been mulling over taking an extra weeks holidays for a while now to stick around for the showdown with England.

Junior
03/05/2012, 11:09 AM
I'm convinced you have tickets there to a QF with England. Don't know where this unrealistic optimism has come from but I have been mulling over taking an extra weeks holidays for a while now to stick around for the showdown with England.

I agree, England wont make it out of the group stage.

03/05/2012, 1:00 PM
OK, thks.

Stutts, are you going to go on to Ukraine if and when we qualify? I am booked to fly home the day after the Italian game but if we qualify it will be hard to turn down.

To win our group would see us in Donetsk (practically in Russia), run up our group and we're in Kiev, much more doable but still going to be difficult from Poznan. Ukraine is meant to be third world compared to Poland.

Silly Billy G
03/05/2012, 3:50 PM
Yeah I got them through the portal and got some pish email today about how the tickets are printed, the colours used, how many stamps they require etc etc, but absolutely no indication about when they'll send them out.

I also got this, thank god for this forum or i'd be panicking ! i bought them through resale portal. If not there by next week will panic

DeLorean
04/05/2012, 9:07 AM
I also got this, thank god for this forum or i'd be panicking ! i bought them through resale portal. If not there by next week will panic

Don't worry we'll get them alright. It's an amazing machine that prints, evelopes and delivers the tickets right to your front door (http://images.wikia.com/es.starwars/images/c/c8/Counterparts.jpg).

The first person to touch your ticket...... WILL BE YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

punkrocket
09/05/2012, 11:56 AM
Don't worry we'll get them alright. It's an amazing machine that prints, evelopes and delivers the tickets right to your front door (http://images.wikia.com/es.starwars/images/c/c8/Counterparts.jpg).

The first person to touch your ticket...... WILL BE YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Does it have a flux capacitator?

DeLorean
09/05/2012, 12:03 PM
Does it have a flux capacitator?

I am hoping that it won't need one, otherwise it means we haven't received them on time :eek:

09/05/2012, 2:30 PM
Anyone else staying at Pentagos Hostel in Poznan? I just booked a room, £363 for 2 nights for the Croatia game. 3 of us traveling, each room sleeps 4.

1 room still left acc to booking.com

09/05/2012, 2:48 PM
We are stutts.

Its not a great area btw, so we have been told by friends from there, so be safe coming back and going to.

Junior
09/05/2012, 4:35 PM
Tickets secured through the UEFA portal should be enroute. Just had an email UPS - They've left Poland ...Yeehaa!!!

DeLorean
09/05/2012, 9:08 PM
Yeah, mine arrived tonight :D

Silly Billy G
10/05/2012, 12:59 PM
Yeah, mine arrived tonight :D

Mine arrived this afternoon, only awaiting tickets now from polrail and all set, jaysus i cant wait.

10/05/2012, 7:47 PM
Got the email this morning as well, left Warsaw!! Will be great to have in hand. Will be putting them under the mattress until June :)

shaneker
11/05/2012, 5:02 PM
4 pristine tickets for the Spain game arrived today. UPS guy was great - called me when I wasn't home and agreed to drive into town to deliver them to the Indian restaurant where I was having my lunch 10 minutes later!

Seriously excited now, bring it on!

DeLorean
16/05/2012, 8:29 AM
Are there any decent seating charts online for the Euros? I've come across an okay Poznan one but it was a bit too small to read the sections. Can only find a general type of Gdansk one, not one laid out with the blue/green/red/yellow for the Euros.

Bungle
16/05/2012, 11:14 AM
Lads, what is the craic with the tickets coming from Uefa. I received an email notifying me that I was successful in getting tickets with a list of all the games I'm going to. However, the email would appear to indicate that I should bring it to special tickets collection points in order to get tickets outside the stadium.
Anyone else get this email?

Junior
16/05/2012, 2:41 PM
Are there any decent seating charts online for the Euros? I've come across an okay Poznan one but it was a bit too small to read the sections. Can only find a general type of Gdansk one, not one laid out with the blue/green/red/yellow for the Euros.

http://bilety.lechpoznan.pl/info/13/
for the Poznan stadium you should be able to see the view from your seat if you click on the interactive stadium.

DeLorean
16/05/2012, 3:10 PM
Thanks Junior. Judging by the shape of the stadium I think I can take it that the green side represents the side with Poznan written in the seating. Bit mad the way they have block numbers repeating themselves on both sides. There doesn't seem to be anything similar for Gdansk.

French Toasht
16/05/2012, 3:40 PM
Thanks Junior. Judging by the shape of the stadium I think I can take it that the green side represents the side with Poznan written in the seating. Bit mad the way they have block numbers repeating themselves on both sides. There doesn't seem to be anything similar for Gdansk.

Yes the Green section is the one with Poznan written on the seating. Its pretty straightforward actually, just hover the cursor over the four sections of the stadium and it shows the yellow and blue stands are behind the goals and the green and red stands are along the side of the pitch.

Junior
16/05/2012, 7:33 PM
That's all very good here and now looking on the net. Matchday and 20,000 inebriated paddies looking for a block number of which there are two is bound to cause problems!!!

Nah Nah Nah Nah
16/05/2012, 7:55 PM

Go to this site

http://pgearena.gdansk.pl/#start

Clink the "i" button and then stadion. Then on the next page click Panoramy.

EastTerracer
17/05/2012, 1:58 AM
The In Your Pocket guidebooks are starting to release their city guides dedicated to Euro 2012. Some of the pdf versions are not yet updated but there is plenty of useful information available here http://www.inyourpocket.com/poland/Euro-2012-In-Your-Pocket_72755f

17/05/2012, 2:12 PM
I will be really fecked off if i meet anyone who comes in and says with less than 5 minutes to go "thats my seat".....

17/05/2012, 5:29 PM
Lads. Heads melted with the trains from Berlin. Any ideas. Are there buses?

Junior
17/05/2012, 9:09 PM
Are you looking at doing day return?

There's a fella on YBIG running a few buses for CRO and ITL games. We r booked on for the ITL game.

There's also a fella running oneway buses ahead of the CRO game.

Let me know if u need more details on phone at the moment...

17/05/2012, 11:05 PM
I'm only heading for the Croatia game. Heading from Berlin on Saturday morning.
Returning to Berlin on Monday afternoon.

AidoP
18/05/2012, 6:22 AM

You could try this website if you are travelling on your own:

http://www.mitfahrzentrale.de/index.php?landnr=D&lang=GB

It's a website that lets you find someone to get a lift from to your destination if you share the costs. With there being so many Polish in Germany it should be no problem to get a lift from Berlin to Poznan. The only problem is that it is not 100% reliable.

Junior
18/05/2012, 8:05 AM
I'm only heading for the Croatia game. Heading from Berlin on Saturday morning.
Returning to Berlin on Monday afternoon.

We get in to Berlin on Sat and leave on Monday afternoon too.

The lad who posts on YBIG is running return buses, leaving the Sunday morning coming back after the game. He has the football retro gear shop in Temple Bar. A lot of fans have booked with him. Perhaps give him a shout if it suits (its €45euro return).

www.casarebelde.com
www.facebook.com/#!/casarebelde

This public service also do a cheap bus service which I know some fans have booked.
http://www.polskibus.com/en

18/05/2012, 8:34 AM
Lads ive been seeing lots about measles vaccincation etc. I wouldn't normally bother with these sort of things, but on the slight chance it could ruin the trip - and its free in england :D - im thinking of getting it done.

But what im wondering is the 6 *****s as we used to call them not the MMR vaccination? And the BCG was for TB? I thought if you got the vaccination once for these things you are fine, but a doctor was saying at home thats not the case.

French Toasht
18/05/2012, 9:17 AM
Lads ive been seeing lots about measles vaccincation etc. I wouldn't normally bother with these sort of things, but on the slight chance it could ruin the trip - and its free in england :D - im thinking of getting it done.

But what im wondering is the 6 *****s as we used to call them not the MMR vaccination? And the BCG was for TB? I thought if you got the vaccination once for these things you are fine, but a doctor was saying at home thats not the case.

Yeah its the MMR you get as a baby and then the booster you get at 11 in 6th class. The reason you are hearing a lot about measles is that you are based in England and measles is a problem in the Ukraine, where the English fans will be heading. That said I doubt measles recognises borders and it could potentially go viral.

18/05/2012, 9:32 AM
no they reckon its on the border of west poland, again we aren't too close to that but there was a warning from home as well about it. It spreads easy through a cough and what not so if a load of people in the same place it could spread quite quickly.

i suppose no harm in getting it to be on the safe side, would be an awful way to feck up your euros.

18/05/2012, 10:15 AM
This reminds me of all the Irish in Korea itching and scratching with all their mosquito bites!Lol

18/05/2012, 10:22 AM
a bit different between mosquito bites and measles benno, its not the getting sick part that bothers me but being too sick to enjoy a once in a lifetime trip is what i want to avoid.

Nothing less manly by admitting that.

Edit: ah itching, I thought you said bitching :D

18/05/2012, 10:36 AM
We're thinking of hiring a car at Berlin airport. We're on the 6am (ish) flight from Luton on Sat 8th which arrives around 9am local time.

Trains involve too many changes and there is a bus I'm told.

Junior, those details might be a help though.

18/05/2012, 10:52 AM
How many of ye stutts?
Junior cheers for that. I drink with the casa rebelde lad the odd time in my local I might see him later in fact. I'm never on ybig so would never check that.

18/05/2012, 11:20 AM
Three - are we on the same flight