View Full Version : Euro 2012 - general info
Pages :
[
3]
Same thing happened me....i tried to buy 3 tickets for the Spain game, it said that many were not available so than i tried 2 and it let me proceed only for it to crash once it was processing my card details.
Since than it won't let me buy any tickets.
Paddy the Dog
12/12/2011, 7:16 PM
Hale, Holidaysong & French Toasht the same thing happened to me and I haven't had it resolved. I sent them some feedback but nothing has happened. Not happy.
12/12/2011, 7:44 PM
Been locked out now for 24 hours. Sent an email off to UEFA as well but I'm pretty sure I might as well have written it on a piece of bog roll and flushed it down the toilet.
one of the lads at work had the same experience. he ended up ringing the number in poland - basically, no tickets gone through and the girl said it would take up to two weeks before his account was usable again.
Bungle
12/12/2011, 8:10 PM
ireland croatia tickets on the portal now lads!!
12/12/2011, 8:25 PM
Site is clogged again.
brine3
12/12/2011, 9:38 PM
Saw CRO-ESP and for a split second my mind thought it said IRL-ESP.
So are we allowed open 2 accounts on there with the same passport number and address etc......since my main account won't let me buy tickets now. Would it effect my main account which already has the Italy tickets.
Anyone any ideas?
brine3
12/12/2011, 9:47 PM
I have two accounts. One says I'm Irish. The other says I'm Dutch (I'm not). I thought if I told them I was Dutch I might get a higher chance of getting Ireland tickets in the neutral sections of the stadium. I filled in the number of my Dutch driving license :D
12/12/2011, 10:17 PM
I have two accounts.
Eh, That is ingenious. So I would delete it instantly.
brine3
12/12/2011, 10:20 PM
Delete what?
There are different postal addresses and IDs on them. For all UEFA know I am two different people living at different addresses.
Open another one with your work address. If your first account is banjaxed because their website is rubbish then that's not your fault.
12/12/2011, 10:29 PM
i just got 2 for the italy game and i is zero, so i hope it's ok.
Super!
French Toasht
12/12/2011, 10:38 PM
Sometimes I think I'll just buy Croatia v Italy or Croatia v Spain tickets, as they seem to be much more accessable on the site and then just swap them with Croatian or Italians for their matches against us, as I see the game against us being the least glamourous tie from the perspective of the Spaniards, Croatians and Italians.
brine3
12/12/2011, 10:41 PM
It was some genius at UEFA who decided to sell the tickets before the fixtures were known.
ArdeeBhoy
12/12/2011, 10:43 PM
Except that's happened for all the Finals I've ever attended....UEFA/FIFA are not, er, the best when it comes to distributing tickets.
That's yet another reason why they should always be viewed with a degree of contempt.
ArdeeBhoy
12/12/2011, 10:45 PM
You might find that lads who got Croatia tickets on the UEFA ticket portal are also successful with their 'season ticket' application through FAI/UEFA which opens on Monday, and therefore have spares which they might pass on here. Unfortunately I believe applicants for such tickets aren't informed of success or otherwise until March. I find this infuriating; for play-off games applications can be lodged, processed and results made available within a short few weeks yet they feel the need to draw out this application process for months.
The Croatia tickets which have been made available to date have been Cat 1 only, as far as I've seen. It may be the case that Cat 2 and Cat 3 tickets are released a bit later on. It would make sense for sellers to release Cat 1 tickets first to entice nutters, like those of us who have bought them, part with €142 per ticket. The trend for other games seems to be to make them available in descending price, as far as I can see.
If we do manage to secure a hat-trick of tickets on the UEFA ticket portal by purchasing Cat 1 tickets for the Spain game, that'll be an outlay of €426 for 3 games. If my missus finds out I've paid €426 for 3 games there'll be some fierce repercussions on the credit card in terms of a shopping splurge in some fine ladies clothing stores...
It's all a ploy to offload some of the dearer tickets, as they use the 'fear' factor to offload a good no. of them.
Especially when they know the locals have largely no interest at these exorbitant prices!
Ya i would like to know who are all the people that are selling these tickets.......seems to be a lot of 120 euro tickets plus expenses of course....Uefa getting rid of them first perhaps.
Paddy the Dog
12/12/2011, 11:01 PM
So are we allowed open 2 accounts on there with the same passport number and address etc......since my main account won't let me buy tickets now. Would it effect my main account which already has the Italy tickets.
Anyone any ideas?
I wouldn't have thought you could use the same passport number. I decided to open up an account with my wife's name and passport, same address and email account. That worked ok & enabled me to browse available tickets, but no tickets available for Match 14 tonight unfortunately.
Paddy the Dog
12/12/2011, 11:07 PM
Incidentally I had a quick look at the details supplied to me from the FAI on the fans portal which opened today - we've been given a new UEFA number and password, so effectively I will have two accounts in my name, one which I set up last week and acquired tickets with, which is now frozen, and a second via the FAI which will have the same contact & passport details. I think they'll use the passport details to ensure no more than 4 tickets are awarded to each passport, no matter how many accounts you set up.
French Toasht
12/12/2011, 11:42 PM
Does anyone know what the name of our quarter final is, on the assumption that we come second?
13/12/2011, 9:05 AM
WD vs. RC
13/12/2011, 12:44 PM
Got an email reply from UEFA about the try again in 5 minutes error:
Dear Football Supporter,
Thank you for letting us know. We are already aware of this problem and are trying to fix it as soon as possible. We are sorry for the inconvenience.
Best regards,
Your UEFA EURO 2012™ Ticketing Team
13/12/2011, 4:03 PM
Anyone got one of those links that automatically downloads the whole fixtures into your Outlook calendar?
EAFC_rdfl
13/12/2011, 9:25 PM
Anyone got one of those links that automatically downloads the whole fixtures into your Outlook calendar?
try this Stutts, you should be able to merge it into outlook, I have the times as local time so an hour ahead of us, so see what you think:
euro2012
(https://sites.google.com/site/paddyshome/Home/euro2012.ics?attredirects=0&d=1)
francesco_1
13/12/2011, 10:44 PM
120 euro Ireland V Spain tickets up on UEFA Portal.
Silly Billy G
14/12/2011, 9:06 AM
Got an email reply from UEFA about the try again in 5 minutes error:
Dear Football Supporter,
Thank you for letting us know. We are already aware of this problem and are trying to fix it as soon as possible. We are sorry for the inconvenience.
Best regards,
Your UEFA EURO 2012™ Ticketing Team
does that mean we have tickets or not ?
their phone number is +0048 22 5009437
UEFA are some geniuses in fairness. First sell the tickets months in advance, get the cash then. Then for those who dont want the tickets charge a very handsome sell on fee. make a profit on the same tickets, twice basically.
Heard tonight that the travel agents packages are almost certainly going to be 1700 for 2 games and 2500 for 3 games, excl the price of tickets.
Cabs88
14/12/2011, 5:36 PM
i had the same experience. a guy here just got 2 for the italy game though and got a confirmation number, and a confirmation email. i never received a confirmation email
the tickets are still in my account though, and the outstanding balance is zero, so i hope it's ok.
Same thing happened me, the tickets are in my account, but no email.. Not in spam folder either. Have you got email since?
Paddy the Dog
14/12/2011, 6:25 PM
does that mean we have tickets or not ?
their phone number is +0048 22 5009437
It's very unclear isn't it? I'm assuming we don't have those tickets, SBG. My VISA card hasn't been debited for that particular 'purchase' of Spain tickets, and they were quick enough to debit the VISA for the other tickets I bought last week.
Paddy the Dog
14/12/2011, 6:29 PM
Same thing happened me, the tickets are in my account, but no email.. Not in spam folder either. Have you got email since?
I received an enail for one purchase of tickets but not for the other. I'm not too bothered about not getting an email; given they have taken the money from the VISA card I'm assuming that constitutes a contract, and the tickets for both purchases are in the sack. (Although the sack may not be closed and the tickets are scurrying around inside the bag...)
Paddy the Dog
14/12/2011, 6:32 PM
Heard tonight that the travel agents packages are almost certainly going to be 1700 for 2 games and 2500 for 3 games, excl the price of tickets.
Have you taken a look at hotel room prices in Poznan on the internet? I can see nothing less that €200 per night for a twin room, with the average price of what looks like a 2 star hotel more like €250+ per night.
Ya Poznan is about 300 for three nights with Gdansk a little cheaper for the same amount of nights. To be honest I reckon the travel agents will def get much better deals for themselves than you or I would so doubt they are incurring anything like that sort of cost. Also I have heard alot of people say that many hotels are refusing to provide quotes until the new year. More capacity may come about with these hotels when the travel agents have filled their lot. To ease the cost of the trip, alot of lads are looking to base themselves in places like Torun in between the games. You can get a four star there for about 80 per night.
Silly Billy G
04/01/2012, 9:32 AM
Ya Poznan is about 300 for three nights with Gdansk a little cheaper for the same amount of nights. To be honest I reckon the travel agents will def get much better deals for themselves than you or I would so doubt they are incurring anything like that sort of cost. Also I have heard alot of people say that many hotels are refusing to provide quotes until the new year. More capacity may come about with these hotels when the travel agents have filled their lot. To ease the cost of the trip, alot of lads are looking to base themselves in places like Torun in between the games. You can get a four star there for about 80 per night.
i worked for a travel agency before and unless they do a lot of business in Poland you can get the hotels online for the same if not cheaper than they will get them from their suppliers. I stayed in Torun last June 2011 for a stag, beautiful city. V cheap
Slowly but surely better deals are popping up. I got a double room in Gdansk for three nights around the Spain game for 500e. Still not cheap but at least not crazy prices. Being quoted about the same in Poznan for 3 nights around the Italy game but there definitely appears to be alot more availabilty appearing in poznan than in Gdansk. Many places telling me to come back to them in February when they expect some availability to have come up for June.
The prices the travel agents are charging are unreal. 1495 is the cheapest two game package I saw and thats without tickets and you are not even based in the host cities. Plus flying out the night of the Italy match!!
05/01/2012, 3:00 PM
The prices the travel agents are charging are unreal. 1495 is the cheapest two game package I saw and thats without tickets and you are not even based in the host cities. Plus flying out the night of the Italy match!!
and its sold out i believe!
DeLorean
05/01/2012, 3:09 PM
Has anybody gone down the camper van route in past tournaments? Do you just turn up at the relevant location and try to find a place to park it from there or should I really have something organised beforehand? I intend doing quite a bit of driving from city to city so the latter could be difficult enough. Obviously we won't be able to just pull up outside the approapriate nightclub and fall back into it afterwards!! Any information is appreciated.
05/01/2012, 3:49 PM
Has anybody gone down the camper van route in past tournaments? Do you just turn up at the relevant location and try to find a place to park it from there or should I really have something organised beforehand? I intend doing quite a bit of driving from city to city so the latter could be difficult enough. Obviously we won't be able to just pull up outside the approapriate nightclub and fall back into it afterwards!! Any information is appreciated.
might find something here (Polish Federation of Camping)...
http://www.pfcc.eu/ang/main.php?nazwa=campingi2
Slowly but surely better deals are popping up. I got a double room in Gdansk for three nights around the Spain game for 500e. Still not cheap but at least not crazy prices. Being quoted about the same in Poznan for 3 nights around the Italy game but there definitely appears to be alot more availabilty appearing in poznan than in Gdansk. Many places telling me to come back to them in February when they expect some availability to have come up for June.
Out of interest, who is doing packages?
09/01/2012, 1:59 AM
The sad thing is not that the charges are rip-off, but people will pay it.
Indirect flights to/from Berlin around the dates are atm, less than 300. A return bus to Gdansk from there on the Spain gameday is 77. The bus comes back the next day. Poznan can be reached in less than 3 hours by train from Berlin, although the train back takes a bit longer and is overnight. If you ignored the Spain game and just concentrated on the other two, you could stay in Germany where there's loads of accommodation in several cities, and just make your way in/out for the Poznan games. It is awkward admittedly, but the whole trip is awkward however it's done. Anyone who forks out 1500 for a package, before other costs, should ask if it's really worth it.
09/01/2012, 8:02 AM
If you ignored the Spain game and just concentrated on the other two, you could stay in Germany where there's loads of accommodation in several cities, and just make your way in/out for the Poznan games.
at least half the attraction of these tournaments is being in the host country at the time and in the match cities preferably the night before and after our matches. basing yourself in Germany and undertaking a large amount of travel for each of the matches diminishes the tournament experience imo. anyone at WC 2002 who experienced the nights japan and korea were playing will understand
yes, its proving quite expensive but i will do it all ex tickets for less than my flight alone cost for japan!
Out of interest, who is doing packages?
747 is about 1500 for 2 games, 1800 for 3. Abbey is 1700 and 2500. Both pretty much offer the same packages but Abbey have access to tickets whereas 747 dont. All packages fly home the night of the Italy game - really poor if you ask me (of course thats before you even begin to look at their prices).
at least half the attraction of these tournaments is being in the host country at the time and in the match cities preferably the night before and after our matches. basing yourself in Germany and undertaking a large amount of travel for each of the matches diminishes the tournament experience imo. anyone at WC 2002 who experienced the nights japan and korea were playing will understand
yes, its proving quite expensive but i will do it all ex tickets for less than my flight alone cost for japan!
I agree entirely. What I most wanted was to be in the host city the night before and after the match, didnt really care where I spent the rest of the time. Unsurprisingly the night before the match is the most expensive one charged by the host city hotels, some are even looking for min 3 nights accomodation before they will take a booking,
09/01/2012, 8:28 AM
Japan and Korea have wonderful cities and diverse cultures. Poland is a fairly drab place in general, and staying 8-10 days in Poznan/Torun etc, will be tough going.
I appreciate the romance of being in the cities/countries themselves, but accommodation is scarce, expensive, and there's long distances to travel anyway. For the cost conscious traveller who can't find the guts of 1,5k for a 10 day package in central Poland, alternative options should be at least considered.
I would have initially had considered going with a package but when I saw the prices I decided against. I can only make the last two games but for that the best package was 1500 for 4 nights and leaving straight after the Italy game not to mention travelling from Gdansk to Poznan first on the day of that game.
I booked only a week or so ago and got 6 nights accomodation and direct flights for just under 1k. Not cheap by any means but the wife is coming with me and with not much annual leave to play around with it I was limited in how I could go about it. So for an extra two nights and a better all around plan, 3 nights Gdansk, 3 nights Poznan, doing it DIY was over 500 cheaper than the best package for 4 nights. Now Im crossing my fingers that I get the tickets I need in the FAI ballot but Im hoping that if not, tickets would be too hard to come across.
EAFC_rdfl
09/01/2012, 10:23 AM
Likewise we waited on the package prices and then went DIY instead. however our plan is a bit more hectic than elroys!
we are going to frankfurt on 13th AM, to pick up a camper van for the 6 of us (3hr train from frankfurt to pickup point). then either head to Gdansk or Poznan, not decided yet as we have no tickets so far and maybe the Poznan fanzone would be good for the Spain game. Return the camper on the 20th AM with flights back from Frankfurt later that evening. 6 days off work which is the max I can afford, given Im getting married the following month (hopefully ;)) it will be some last hurrah!!
Oh and the costs so far are flights ~160, camper ~1000, so between 6 thats 325. still need to pay for parking etc
DeLorean
09/01/2012, 10:44 AM
We're flying from London to Wroclaw, where we will collect our camper van. The Czechs are playing Russia in Wroclaw the day we arrive so it would be nice to get a ticket for that. Finding places to leave the camper van and obviously match tickets are our only concerns now really.
09/01/2012, 12:37 PM
Japan and Korea have wonderful cities and diverse cultures. Poland is a fairly drab place in general, and staying 8-10 days in Poznan/Torun etc, will be tough going.
Lived in Wroctaw for two months - certainly not a drab place at all - good fun and any nation that can provide good quality vodka isnt a place I would deem boring:D
lionelhutz
09/01/2012, 3:45 PM
I e-mailed my FAI guy in the ticket office re this query but havent got response yet so was wondering if anyone could enlighten me. Are you only allowed apply for a max of 2 tickets for each group game through the FAI portal on UEFA.com? We were block bookers and bought 4 tickets per home game with FAI.
Also, when I finalised my application, it said we'd have to wait until the end of March to know whether we got them, is this correct? That would leave us very unsure of whether to book flights and accomm or not. Also, does anyone know the chances of getting tickets through the FAI?
09/01/2012, 3:59 PM
I emailed them with a big huffy email!!! Here's hoping!
09/01/2012, 5:12 PM
Lived in Wroctaw for two months - certainly not a drab place at all - good fun and any nation that can provide good quality vodka isnt a place I would deem boring:D
So the vodka was one of the "sights" then?
I e-mailed my FAI guy in the ticket office re this query but havent got response yet so was wondering if anyone could enlighten me. Are you only allowed apply for a max of 2 tickets for each group game through the FAI portal on UEFA.com? We were block bookers and bought 4 tickets per home game with FAI.
Also, when I finalised my application, it said we'd have to wait until the end of March to know whether we got them, is this correct? That would leave us very unsure of whether to book flights and accomm or not. Also, does anyone know the chances of getting tickets through the FAI?
You will know by Paddy's Day, whether you got tickets or not. UEFA will draw out the FAI's allocation, at the same time as all the other nation's ballots.
You're only allowed apply for 2 tickets per head, so whether you've applied already or wait until the end of February, your chances of getting your tickets are exactly the same. But the longer you leave it, the less you will have to wait for your answer.
Bungle
09/01/2012, 7:23 PM
Lads, does anybody know if you can get lockers to store bags at polish train/bus stations?
Basically, have all my accommodation sorted. Only night I'm not sorted for is the night of the Ireland Italy game in Poznan. Ridiculously expensive there. Was thinking I'm probably going to be on the lash all night so it's not like I need a hostel/hotel and apparently the summers in Poland are good so I can kip on a green or something :cool:
I'm flying in to Wroclaw. Was hoping to stay there but it's crazy expensive. Gonna head to Krakow from the 7th - 10th June, then Poznan for one night. Then to Wroclaw to take in the Greece Czech game on the 12th. Leave for Gdansk and stay from the 13th - 15th there. Then on to szchezein. Got an ibis hotel there for 115 for 3 nights. Then back to Poznan to hopefully sing the night away and wake up in a happy drunken state on a park green/Mcdonalds celebrating Ireland's march to the next round. Generally found accommodation very reasonable in cities like Krakow and szchezein.
Also, will keep people posted, as I have a spare Croatia ticket going. My mate who I got it for has just been made redundant so is not sure if he's going to be heading.