View Full Version : Euro 2012 - general info

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9

IsMiseSean
23/03/2012, 9:51 PM
Anyone booked into the Lech Hotel in Poznan?

French Toasht
29/03/2012, 10:03 AM
Looks like we are going to out number England fans by 10 to 1. Amateurs!

God how sweet would it be if we got that 2nd spot and the quarter final with England.

http://www.goal.com/en-gb/news/3284/euro-2012/2012/03/26/2992618/england-fans-set-to-snub-expensive-euro-2012

29/03/2012, 10:12 AM
God how sweet would it be if we got that 2nd spot and the quarter final with England.

really cant see England finishing ahead of France and Sweden. I predict their only point will be a draw with Ukraine. Honestly!

DeLorean
29/03/2012, 11:50 AM
It's the first time I've seen England so written off by the English, I think that could make them more dangerous. The Ukraine* should be tough to beat over there, I think they have a great shout of qualifying out of the group. It's hard to know where they're at exactly though when they haven't played competitively for a couple of years.

*Why do people tend to say 'The Ukraine' quite often as opposed to just Ukraine?

31/03/2012, 12:40 PM
*Why do people tend to say 'The Ukraine' quite often as opposed to just Ukraine?

Ukrainians hate that. It stems from Russian Imperialist times when it was referred like that by the Russians to show that they were merely a region of the Bear.
Still to this day the rest of the world refer to them like that as a consequence of that Russian practice.

I find myself doing it and try to correct myself.

ArdeeBhoy
01/04/2012, 12:53 AM
Sadly, expect the 'Ingles' to get through. But then quite possibly crash and burn. Hopefully.

Though unlikely to be against us.

DeLorean
02/04/2012, 9:32 AM
Ukrainians hate that. It stems from Russian Imperialist times when it was referred like that by the Russians to show that they were merely a region of the Bear.
Still to this day the rest of the world refer to them like that as a consequence of that Russian practice.

I find myself doing it and try to correct myself.

Interesting, I'll try to avoid it myself so! thanks.

DeLorean
04/04/2012, 10:33 AM
Slowly but surely more and more tickets are beginning to surface on the UEFA portal. There were all three categories for the Ireland Croatia game earlier and Cat 1 & 2 for Italian game. I've a feeling a lot of us jumped the gun buying the expensive Cat 1's straight out, not worth taking the chance though. I see as well that tickets for Poland's games have started to become available, even Cat 2's for their Czech match. That's surely a good sign.

We're in Wroclaw on the 8th so I wouldn't mind getting a couple of Cat 2/3's for the Russia v Czech game.

04/04/2012, 4:32 PM
The flippin portal crashed as I was buying my Croatia tickets. There were only Cat 1 available afterwards. I went to buy them anyway but kept getting a "you can only buy 1 category of ticket" error message, even though I was only looking to buy one category! Very frustrating.

DeLorean
04/04/2012, 9:59 PM
Very annoying. A few times I've tried to make the final purchase and it just times out. You pretty much know if it's going to go through or not straight away. The worst thing is when it hasn't gone through I can't even get back in even though there may still be tickets available. Instead I get an error message saying something like "You cannot buy any more tickets while your last purchase is being processed. Please check back in 5 minutes".

18/04/2012, 10:24 AM
sopot and training base..

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2012/0418/317534-euro-2012-republic-of-ireland-facilities/

DeLorean
19/04/2012, 3:31 PM
Euro2012 : Should I Stay or Should I Go (http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/international/2012/0419/317737-euro-2012-should-i-stay-or-should-i-go/)

I got goosebumps with the excitement reading this!!

19/04/2012, 3:36 PM
Ya great read was wondering where to put it, wanted to put it in main where it would get full readership :)

20/04/2012, 8:38 AM
Yeah so did. just read it there.

Come on. Gotta sort my pre-Berlin trip now to London.

Nyiaow!!!

20/04/2012, 12:18 PM
When you coming to London town BS...few of us heading out the thursday for our pre-berlin trip if you are around.

20/04/2012, 12:48 PM
I love the comments from the public underneath the article. The obligatory barstooler dig came quite early, one guy can't make it because he's at a Eucharistic Congress and another is suggesting we spend our money at home to boost the economy :)

When is everyone going to Berlin?

I'm on the 15.55 easyjet from Gatwick on Sat 9th, arriving in Berlin around 7pm. Still no accomodation booked for Poznan or Gdansk yet. I've no tickets either mind you.

20/04/2012, 12:58 PM
Stutts im sure someone will take pity on you.

Im over friday, need a night in berlin....great city.

20/04/2012, 1:00 PM
Never been. Might have to spend Saturday there and get up early for Poznan on the Sunday.

20/04/2012, 1:01 PM
I don't see any comments?

Its full of Germans, you will fit in perfectly stutts.

21/04/2012, 8:53 PM
When you coming to London town BS...few of us heading out the thursday for our pre-berlin trip if you are around.

I had intended coming over on the Friday night but I don't have anything sorted just yet. It's all work dependent. I have from the 8 June to the 8 July booked off as unpaid leave (and I'm heading to Canada on 13 July) so trying not to take any leave unless I have to. But if there's a few of ye out on the Thursday then it would be a shame to not head over.

When is everyone going to Berlin?

I'm on the 15.55 easyjet from Gatwick on Sat 9th, arriving in Berlin around 7pm. Still no accomodation booked for Poznan or Gdansk yet. I've no tickets either mind you.

Flying from Heathrow to Berlin on the 0720 to arrive in Berlin at 1005. Myself and our resident tennis expert, sixesandsevens (http://foot.ie/members/14573-sixesandsevens) are booked into a hotel in Gniezno for Saturday and Sunday.

Never been. Might have to spend Saturday there and get up early for Poznan on the Sunday.

Would like to spend some time in Berlin but I don't think it's the weekend to be fannying about. Poznan is where all the craic will be. I think there's some Kiwis coming with us too.

DeLorean
21/04/2012, 9:53 PM
We're doing Berlin in between our opening two games. The Germans are playing the Dutch while we're there so that should be a good night, although the 7hr drive to Gdansk the next day will be tough enough.

Junior
23/04/2012, 9:10 AM
Get in to Berlin on the Saturday lunchtime. Have 2 nights booked in Berlin. Doing a day return by coach to Poznan and then head home the day after the game. Have this booked for both the Croatia and Italy games.

23/04/2012, 9:23 AM
Don't forget your passport, or both those games might only be one game(Croatia) junior :)

It should be warm enough out there anyway so you wont need a jacket....;)

Junior
23/04/2012, 9:36 AM
You need a passport for Germany? oh ooo

Listen, I wouldnt be getting too feckin cocky with yer mismanagement of recent trips but like a true lady, I wont tell. My unfortunate event was a small blemish on an otherwise immaculate record spanning almost 20years :D (Well actually now I think about it, I missed my flight home from Paris - so perhaps its just play off games that cause me an issue).

Will you be heading to Tullamore in a fortnight to watch the mighty U21's put the jackeens to the sword?

23/04/2012, 9:58 AM
Im not confident that will happen. But no TG4 will have to do for me :)

23/04/2012, 12:09 PM
Myself and our resident tennis expert are booked into a hotel in Gniezno for Saturday and Sunday.

I don't think it's the weekend to be fannying about.

Poznan is where all the craic will be. I'm confused Ted. You don't want to be fannying about anywhere other than Poznan, yet you're staying 50km away? :)

Junior
23/04/2012, 3:37 PM
If you are struggling for accomdation in Poznan (due to cost/availability etc..) I think the craic will be just mighty in Berlin. Loads of Irish basing themselves there or not heading to Poznan on coaches, trains or campervans until the day of the game. As long as Im there the day of the game to soak up the pre-match atmosphere then Ill be happy. Obviously just being there for a two week sess would have been preferable but them days are behind me now - other priorities!!

24/04/2012, 10:35 AM
I'm confused Ted. You don't want to be fannying about anywhere other than Poznan, yet you're staying 50km away? :)

I doubt I'll actually make it to Gniezno. It's a just in case booking.
The talk on this thread is making me think Berlin is a good idea.

Silly Billy G
24/04/2012, 11:30 AM
Whats the official train ticket website ?

Looking to book first class train tickets from Gdansk to Poznan on the 17th June - one way

24/04/2012, 11:45 AM
I so wish I was going.....

I need to win the lottery by the time of the first game.

French Toasht
24/04/2012, 12:18 PM
Whats the official train ticket website ?

Looking to book first class train tickets from Gdansk to Poznan on the 17th June - one way

http://rozklad-pkp.pl/?q=en/node/143

Silly Billy G
24/04/2012, 12:52 PM
http://rozklad-pkp.pl/?q=en/node/143

Is that just the timetable site ? i was on that and couldnt buy tickets. Essentially i am looking to buy 2 first class tickets for the 17th June from Gdansk to Poznan (if possible)

French Toasht
24/04/2012, 1:19 PM
Is that just the timetable site ? i was on that and couldnt buy tickets. Essentially i am looking to buy 2 first class tickets for the 17th June from Gdansk to Poznan (if possible)

The woman I am renting accommodation from in Poznan told me that's the site for booking but there is something about not being able to book a train until one month in advance of the month you intend to book a ticket ie May 1st.

Silly Billy G
24/04/2012, 1:53 PM
The woman I am renting accommodation from in Poznan told me that's the site for booking but there is something about not being able to book a train until one month in advance of the month you intend to book a ticket ie May 1st.

aha- thanks.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
24/04/2012, 7:15 PM
I was told it was this site and that you could only book 30 days in advance. Which seems correct as I could book a train for May 23rd but not the 24th at the moment

www.intercity.pl (http://www.intercity.pl/)

AidoP
25/04/2012, 11:27 AM
I booked our tickets for the train from Poznan to Gdansk in Munich by going to the Deutsche Bahn (DB) place there. We payed a few euro more than we would if we booked it in Poland but we wanted to be sure we had it booked rather than wait till 30 days beforehand on the Polish website as mentioned above.

Doire Abu
25/04/2012, 12:05 PM

Try this website

http://polrail.com/

we've already booked tickets to go down to Poznan from Gdansk on the 10th June.

French Toasht
25/04/2012, 5:25 PM
For any Noel Gallagher fans, he had previously announced on BBC radio that he was playing in the UEFA fan zone in Gdansk the night before the Ireland v Spain game. Now turns out he's playing in Gdansk on June 20th, two days after our final group game against Italy.

26/04/2012, 9:24 AM
Oh thank God i'm hope before that rubbish.

risteard55
26/04/2012, 12:34 PM
For any Noel Gallagher fans, he had previously announced on BBC radio that he was playing in the UEFA fan zone in Gdansk the night before the Ireland v Spain game. Now turns out he's playing in Gdansk on June 20th, two days after our final group game against Italy.

As usual he's talking out of his A***- Thank God we'll miss him.

Silly Billy G
26/04/2012, 1:34 PM
Try this website

http://polrail.com/

we've already booked tickets to go down to Poznan from Gdansk on the 10th June.

bought them there, 274 zloty (65 euro)
thanks

Hopefully its legit :)

Doire Abu
29/04/2012, 11:36 AM
They are supposed to be sending my tickets on 14th May, I'll let you know if they show up.

29/04/2012, 12:09 PM
Oh thank God i'm hope before that rubbish.Paul, you should stop using that English to Hungarian and back to English again translation service.

French Toasht
29/04/2012, 12:10 PM
Speaking of tickets, anyone know when we are likely to receive our match tickets, if you purchased them off the re-sale portal? The portal closed 3 weeks ago but still no sign of tickets.

Junior
30/04/2012, 8:18 AM
First 2 weeks of May appears to be the general consensus

This is from the FAQ section of the UEFA website: "Question
> When and where will I get the tickets?
> AnswerTickets allocated before 10 April 2012 will be issued and distributed
> by courrier service approximately four to six weeks before UEFA EURO 2012 to
> the delivery address provided in the application or to the delivery address
> specified by you in the ticket portal, provided that payment has been
> received on time and in full in accordance with the guidelines set out in
> your order notification.

30/04/2012, 9:14 AM
Paul, you should stop using that English to Hungarian and back to English again translation service.

Its the stupid mobile phone....I hate writing with these smart phones.

Junior
30/04/2012, 11:13 AM
Its the stupid mobile phone....I hate writing with these smart phones.

You bleedin talk like that ya fecking tattie muncher.....

30/04/2012, 12:04 PM
Got this today in an email:

Scheduled Delivery:
Tuesday, 01/05/2012, By End of Day
Last Location:
Wolka Kosowska, Poland, Monday, 30/04/2012

Worryingly it says delivery is to:
Paul
xxxxx
xxx
London

No actual surname or anything just "paul"....it must be tickets, ive no other reason to be getting a letter from poland.

French Toasht
30/04/2012, 12:10 PM
Got this today in an email:

Scheduled Delivery:
Tuesday, 01/05/2012, By End of Day
Last Location:
Wolka Kosowska, Poland, Monday, 30/04/2012

Worryingly it says delivery is to:
Paul
xxxxx
xxx
London

No actual surname or anything just "paul"....it must be tickets, ive no other reason to be getting a letter from poland.

Paul did you get your tickets via the re-sale portal or through the FAI?

30/04/2012, 12:12 PM
Through the FAI. I gather we will be sorted first?