View Full Version : Premier Division Play Off
geezer
31/10/2011, 3:41 PM
Well Magic Monaghan finally get there fair crack of the whip and are red hot favourites for this one
I cant wait for the play off to be over so the off season can begin. Thats where the real drama is! :)
geezer
31/10/2011, 5:11 PM
I cant wait for the play off to be over so the off season can begin. Thats where the real drama is! :)
There will be some drama this winter, we will be lucky if we have a 5 team 1st division.
Mr Maroon
31/10/2011, 5:27 PM
We should have a decent support in Monaghan tomorrow.
geezer
31/10/2011, 5:30 PM
Is there many travelling, Are the Dublin based supporters heading up
31/10/2011, 7:26 PM
Not liking that we are favourites coz I still think galway can do it. Nerves starting to kick in now.
geezer
31/10/2011, 7:31 PM
Monaghan have to win this
born2bwild
31/10/2011, 7:36 PM
Not liking that we are favourites coz I still think galway can do it. Nerves starting to kick in now.
You've got the Brennans, Fabio, how can you lose?
One thing - as an ex-Fingal supporter, sorry, a supporter of an ex-club, I have to ask, because I've been wondering ever since....how do you solve a problem like Keith Quinn? He has a shocking disciplinary record.
gormacha
31/10/2011, 9:45 PM
how do you solve a problem like Keith Quinn?
I saw him in a pre-season friendly for Waterford United back on a freezing cold night in early Feb this year. It was the most nothing of nothing games against the Waterford Oscar Traynor team. And he was still very cross. Very cross.
Paddyfield
31/10/2011, 9:59 PM
See you in the Squealing Pig for a bit of grub at 6pm.
atfconline
31/10/2011, 10:01 PM
You've got the Brennans, Fabio, how can you lose?
One thing - as an ex-Fingal supporter, sorry, a supporter of an ex-club, I have to ask, because I've been wondering ever since....how do you solve a problem like Keith Quinn? He has a shocking disciplinary record.
He was only on the pitch 2-3 minutes the other night. His only part in the game was to get himself sent off!
born2bwild
31/10/2011, 10:32 PM
He was only on the pitch 2-3 minutes the other night. His only part in the game was to get himself sent off!
With Fingal he made, maybe 5-6 appearances in 2010 - 2 straight reds.
31/10/2011, 11:01 PM
[QUOTE=born2bwild;1548066]With Fingal he made, maybe 5-6 appearances in 2010 - 2 straight reds.[/QUOTE
where did quinn disappear to after playin for ye?
born2bwild
31/10/2011, 11:17 PM
[QUOTE=born2bwild;1548066]With Fingal he made, maybe 5-6 appearances in 2010 - 2 straight reds.[/QUOTE
where did quinn disappear to after playin for ye?
The Blaas.
MagicMon
31/10/2011, 11:21 PM
Crazy tackle, stupid red. He flew in 2 footed when the ball was closer to the halfway line than the Monaghan box, and the Athlone guy was going sideways. I'd sooner have him do that than get sent off 2-3 minutes into a play-off game. Thankfully Isichei put in the work of 2 players so it didn't make any difference.
I've had loads of texts/emails asking how Galway only got 6 points etc but after Bray last year I don't think it'll be that easy. Have to get a good win in Gortakeegan. And not have any walls fall down.
If someone had offered me this season so far the day after Mick Cooke f*cked off then I'd have bitten their hand off. Roddy has done a great job so far, I was sceptical when he started but I'll be happy to eat my words if we're in the Premier on Saturday morning!
Ah, you'll be fine. A must-win game against Galway should be a win for any Premier or Premier-hopeful side. Unless the Westerners have been hiding the new Kaka in reserve just for the play-off, they're going to struggle.
...how do you solve a problem like Keith Quinn? He has a shocking disciplinary record.
Introduce him to Pat Flynn and reap the benefits of a new albeit scared player. :D
born2bwild
31/10/2011, 11:30 PM
Introduce him to Pat Flynn and reap the benefits of a new albeit scared player. :D
Is that scared or scarred? Or is it the same thing?
Either way if Mons beat Galway (small if) and IF Quinn is kept on (bigger if?) we'll find out next year.
I think the scarring will lead naturally to the scaring :)
monsexile
01/11/2011, 7:29 AM
Mons are without Quinn and John Reilly while the Brennans and Aidan Collins should play despite being taken off v Athlone.
Previews:
http://monaghanunited.tv/?p=1400
http://www.galwaynews.ie/22409-united%E2%80%99s-future-line
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2011/1101/collinsr_monaghan_galway.html
http://www.independent.ie/sport/other-sports/playoff-pressure-rises-as-uncertainty-shrouds-first-division-2921848.html
http://www.galwayunitedfc.ie/team-news-monaghan-utd-1st-nov
Prez Micky D will be at the second leg
http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2011/1101/1224306844892.html#.Tq-qgFwaNz8.twitter
Crazy odds for the game tonight too - 8/1 for Galway seems very generous despite their run.
01/11/2011, 12:14 PM
I don't suppose this will be on tv anywhere, or there will even be anywhere to watch a stream?
frenchman
01/11/2011, 12:23 PM
what about radio ?
geezer
01/11/2011, 12:25 PM
www.galwaybayfm.ie
updates on www.extratime.ie
monsexile
01/11/2011, 12:39 PM
its on [/URL][URL]http://www.northernsound.ie/ (http://northernsound.ie)
monsexile
01/11/2011, 12:41 PM
RTE will show on MNS. No sign of TG4 doing anything; I'd say there might have been a chance for Friday but they Leinster v Munster eggball already scheduled. Setanta have Plzen v Barcelona tonight
01/11/2011, 12:43 PM
When was the last time TG4 actually televised a game? Thought that ended.
This wont be on TV anyway.
MagicMon
01/11/2011, 1:19 PM
You'll have Tony "never stops talking" Gee on Northern Sound, thats better than 3-D HD TV
01/11/2011, 1:32 PM
And once again Tony will be joined by Conor McMahon so he can give a real good team perspective on it all. Should be a great show.
Hope some neutrals can make it along but only if you cheer for us! Come for the Mondog and stay for the game! :D
01/11/2011, 2:01 PM
I'm heading across to support the Mons, though as Gortakeegan is a graveyard for Dundalk fans maybe you should ban us!!
Noo! We dont win in Gortakeegan, cmon Galway!
Dave_SRFC
01/11/2011, 2:18 PM
Best of luck to Galway in the play offs..
sullanefc
01/11/2011, 4:29 PM
Best of luck to Galway in the play offs..
Seconded, best of luck Galway.
Hope Monaghan do it, even despite Roddy. Galway will be rock bottom again next year if they stay up. I'd hope third in the First Division is better than Galway this season. For the sake of the standard of the First Division, they have to be.
01/11/2011, 6:39 PM
Monaghan United: Sava, Whelan, Grimes, A collins, A Byrne, Foley, Isichei, R Brennan, O'Brien, S Brennan, Keegan. Subs: McDonagh, D Byrne, Paul Byrne, Philip Byrne, Marks, Grace, Rossiter.
Galway United: Winn, Sinnot, Kelly, Gaughan, Sum, Murphy, Ryan, Kim, Sibanda, Cauldwell, Gilmour. Subs: Gavin, Enulbe, Duggan, Walsh, Browne, Holland, de Silvera.
CSFShels
01/11/2011, 6:43 PM
Hahaha knew the Brennans would be playing. Oh Roddy.
gufc2000
01/11/2011, 6:46 PM
Monaghan United: Sava, Whelan, Grimes, A collins, A Byrne, Foley, Isichei, R Brennan, O'Brien, S Brennan, Keegan. Subs: McDonagh, D Byrne, Paul Byrne, Philip Byrne, Marks, Grace, Rossiter.
Galway United: Winn, Sinnot, Kelly, Gaughan, Sum, Murphy, Ryan, Kim, Sibanda, Cauldwell, Gilmour. Subs: Gavin, Enulbe, Duggan, Walsh, Browne, Holland, de Silvera.
Some bad spellings there on our teamsheet...not the first time it's happened though.
gufc2000
01/11/2011, 7:01 PM
Michael Isichei 1-0 Mons
El-Pietro
01/11/2011, 7:07 PM
that was quick.
gufc2000
01/11/2011, 7:09 PM
13 minutes is all we lasted, important that the lads keep the heads and not let the floodgates open
01/11/2011, 7:18 PM
Galway will be rock bottom again next year if they stay up.
Agreed. Come on Galway!
gufc2000
01/11/2011, 8:26 PM
Eric Foley and Sean Gavin sent off. Both teams down to 10 with in or around 5 minutes left
01/11/2011, 8:28 PM
74' - Yellow Card - Yob Son booked for something more like a rugby tackle.Quality.
01/11/2011, 8:29 PM
JAysus. It's all kicking off. Come on the Mons!
gufc2000
01/11/2011, 8:33 PM
Sean Brennan 2-0, facing an uphill struggle now to retain our status
01/11/2011, 8:33 PM
2-0. Massive goal for Mons. Could have gotten a bit jittery going to Galway 1-0 up.
01/11/2011, 8:40 PM
7 Yellows and 2 Reds, madness.
MagicMon
01/11/2011, 9:39 PM
It was a funny one alright, the ref had a good first half I thought, but in the second half he got a bit carried away with himself. I think the reds came out of a bit of aggro when Monaghan put the ball out for a throw-in after a stoppage for a Galway injury when Galway wanted a goalkick. A few yellows came out of Galway fouling on the halfway line to stop Fabio or Byrne running straight through.
Galway were poor technically, I can see how they only got 6 points all season but to give them credit they worked hard and the second leg won't be as straight forward as I'd hoped. The Monaghan players had some touches of class (especially the first goal) but got a bit lazy/nervous if Galway picked the pace up. That said I don't think Galway had any real chances and our defence always looked in control. Sean Brennan was quality and deserved his goal.
Roll on Friday and next season!
historynut
01/11/2011, 10:46 PM
Good cowd ?
01/11/2011, 10:48 PM
Both teams finished with 14 men according to Evanne Ni Chuilinn on RTE just now. Don't know what the hell Limerick are going to make of that...
born2bwild
01/11/2011, 11:21 PM
It was a funny one alright, the ref had a good first half I thought, but in the second half he got a bit carried away with himself. I think the reds came out of a bit of aggro when Monaghan put the ball out for a throw-in after a stoppage for a Galway injury when Galway wanted a goalkick. A few yellows came out of Galway fouling on the halfway line to stop Fabio or Byrne running straight through.
Galway were poor technically, I can see how they only got 6 points all season but to give them credit they worked hard and the second leg won't be as straight forward as I'd hoped. The Monaghan players had some touches of class (especially the first goal) but got a bit lazy/nervous if Galway picked the pace up. That said I don't think Galway had any real chances and our defence always looked in control. Sean Brennan was quality and deserved his goal.
Roll on Friday and next season!
Happened to be in the area so went to the match (didn't travel by tardis)
Second goal was sublime - the work on the wing before the cross was top class.
I have total respect for Galway fans - That 'We'll win again, don't know where, don't know when' chant says it all - that you can keep following the misfortunes of what is effectively a pub team as they get beaten week in week out and still come back for more - well, it has made me see why people were put out by Stuey Byrne's 'not fit for the Premier' comments on MNS the other night.