View Full Version : Premier Division Play Off

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4

MagicMon
04/11/2011, 9:01 PM
Everyone should support their local LOI club, because someday somehow, they'll have this feeling (http://profile.ak.fbcdn.net/hprofile-ak-snc4/50290_289432742619_394304_n.jpg)

04/11/2011, 9:05 PM
http://profile.ak.fbcdn.net/hprofile-ak-snc4/50290_289432742619_394304_n.jpg0

Everyone should support their local LOI club, because someday somehow, they'll have this feeling

They'll feel like an inanimate carbon rod?

MagicMon
04/11/2011, 9:06 PM
Forgot to say too, good luck to Galway, I hope you can put this season behind you and come back as a stronger club in the future.

04/11/2011, 9:14 PM
Yesssssss.

gufc2000
04/11/2011, 9:17 PM
The end of the road, this season has been painful since April. Need to re-organise ship now. The current squad just aren't up to it. It will be a long road back but hopefully we'll be back here eventually.

Its been a dramatic, action packed 5 year stay in the Premier Division.

Congrats to Monaghan. Great achievement for such a small club. And for all the Roddy bashers who came on here at the start of the season and stated that he'd ruin them, bet ye're eating a slice of humble pie tonight! Fair play to him though, he continued the good work of Mick Cooke on modest resources.

CrowdedHouse
04/11/2011, 9:20 PM
Seen at Terryland tonight....Some Limerick Supporters made the trip to Terryland

gufc2000
04/11/2011, 10:14 PM
A big shout out to the Galway United Management Committee who kept the show on the road this season. We'd have no club without them.

Hopefully the efforts won't be in vain and that we can come back stronger in the future

wonder88
04/11/2011, 10:22 PM
Big thanks to the Galway Management Committee for keeping the club going. It was a sad night in Terryland, but hopefully we will have a club to support next year. Also I think it should be said that all the lads who played for the club in recent months did their best

04/11/2011, 10:24 PM
Thanks to all the people who attended tonight it heartened us all and thanks to Michael D. who has made us all so proud. We will be back but we need the backing of the business and sporting community of Galway City and County.

Good luck to the Mons a club that we have the height of respect for and the friendships between supporters still strong.

04/11/2011, 10:26 PM
Would Galway fans like to see Jumbo(think thats his name) stay on for next year?

da bishop
04/11/2011, 10:26 PM
well done to mons,even though as a lims fan its hard to believe we have,n made it and even if he is often a major pain in the ass Roddy is manager of the season .

gufc2000
04/11/2011, 10:29 PM
Would Galway fans like to see Jumbo(think thats his name) stay on for next year?
Yes I would anyways, he can't be faulted for the last few weeks. He inherited a mess from the other clown, and had little time to repair the damage. I'd give him a while in the First Division before judging him.

Roddy in great spirits tonight. Applauded off by both sets of fans, and was very modest about it.

Chant of the night- 'Roddy for President' courtesy of the delirious Mons who were loud and proud tonight.

wonder88
04/11/2011, 10:32 PM
Agree that Roddy has to be manager of the year. Jumbo has not had much time to prove himself really, and it all depends on whether there will be a club next year and how much of a budget it will have.

geezer
04/11/2011, 11:00 PM
Agree that Roddy has to be manager of the year. Jumbo has not had much time to prove himself really, and it all depends on whether there will be a club next year and how much of a budget it will have.

Congrats Mons, oh jesus now ryan tubridy hassome fecker with a poem about us, Anyway, great crowd tonight, good decent turnout for mons, thanks for coming down and thanks to our own crowd who turned out tonight despite a desperate season.

We will plug away and seek a licence and keep it going, The PR team at Utd deserve great praise for getting a crowd like that up the dyke road tonight

born2bwild
04/11/2011, 11:01 PM
They'll feel like an inanimate carbon rod?
I feel like that most of the time...Sh1t, wrong forum.

CSFShels
04/11/2011, 11:05 PM
well done to mons,even though as a lims fan its hard to believe we have,n made it and even if he is often a major pain in the ass Roddy is manager of the season .
Michael O'Neill surely? His achievements this year have been unbelievable.
Bit disappointed with the result but it was inevitable. Would have preferred Galway as an away trip.

04/11/2011, 11:47 PM
At the last minute I went to the game with Tony Ghee who was commenting for Northern Sound and kept him company down and back. firstly congrats to monaghan the better team won and I am sick of losin to them the whole time! Also it was great catchin up with Galwaygirl who used to post on here who i hadnt seen in two years! really lookin forward to playin three galway teams next season but I heard tonight that Salthill were pullin out!

05/11/2011, 12:17 AM

He is in Monaghan.

05/11/2011, 12:22 AM
Just remembering, Roddy back in the Prem should be fun :D

The West Stand will be the place to be next season....ohhh yes :cool2:

The abuse he will get win lose or draw will be nothing short of epic.

4tothefloor
05/11/2011, 1:22 AM
Just out of interest for the Galway fans, if the club get a Premier licence next season and are offered to replace Bohs in the Premier, will they take it? Or is the plan to start over again in the First and play to yer budget?

Mr Maroon
05/11/2011, 1:39 AM
pics: http://www.sportsfile.com/more-images/1111034/

Wonder why keeeiiith duuufffy is there
He's starring in a play in Galway at the moment.

He gave Roddy a hug during the match.

sad night for galway football could be the end of the road now for galway united
Never.

It's impossible to judge him on the last few weeks. He inherited a squad that hadn't trained properly all season.

Just out of interest for the Galway fans, if the club get a Premier licence next season and are offered to replace Bohs in the Premier, will they take it? Or is the plan to start over again in the First and play to yer budget?Of course.

Mr Maroon
05/11/2011, 1:54 AM
I see we were on the Late Late and the 9 o'clock news tonight.

05/11/2011, 2:41 AM
Well done Monaghan and commiserations to Galway. Hope the Mons enjoy life in the premier (how long has it been since you were there last time?)

And hoping Galway overome their problems and resurrect themselves as a force, troubled only by their mystifying inability to get any points off Limerick.

05/11/2011, 2:42 AM

Roddy Collins is box office.

Congrats Mons fans - delighted for you - always enjoyed my trips up there.

Dave_SRFC
05/11/2011, 6:37 AM

Maybe el presidente might be able to get some investment in now that his profile has been raised...

05/11/2011, 7:34 AM
Hope the Mons enjoy life in the premier (how long has it been since you were there last time?)
2001/02 wasn't it? Think they got 15 points, only finishing above Galway.

Terry-Lander
05/11/2011, 8:49 AM
Congrats Mons.

05/11/2011, 9:45 AM

Only ten years since they where last there.....the lucky lucky *******s.

gufc2000
05/11/2011, 10:35 AM
We finished 2nd bottom that year with 19 points, and Monaghan bottom with 12. Think we ended up something like 20 points off safety, Dundalk were relegated that year too.

MagicMon
05/11/2011, 10:43 AM
Yeah Monaghan played good football in the Premier but just couldn't score. The second half of the season the players gave up a bit and there was a few maulings, in particular we'd concede from corners like they were penalty kicks. One highlight was beating Dundalk 1-0 when their physio punched Mick Scully!

head the ball
05/11/2011, 10:44 AM
Congrats to the Mons. fantastic achievement for a small club on a shoestring budget.
Very proud to be a Mon today!
Hope Roddy stays on?
Commisserations for Galway, a fine club with great fans.

05/11/2011, 11:09 AM
Congrats to the Mons. Best of luck and make a good case for the first division next season.

05/11/2011, 11:09 AM
We finished 2nd bottom that year with 19 points, and Monaghan bottom with 12. Think we ended up something like 20 points off safety, Dundalk were relegated that year too.

Yeah, we actually win away to Monaghan but get relegated - Gortakeegan is cursed!! Standing in the bar watching Pats do everything but score to give us a reprieve, but to draw and send us down. Bizarre season that couldnt buy a win 1st half of the season, championship form after christmas, clawed back to safety, relegated (league restucturing etc), win the cup in April only to hand it over in October:(

Congrats to Mons I was hoping ye would get up considering the great seasn yiz had. I will enjoy Roddy back in the Premier and all the sniping that will be thrown in his direction (particularly if he is doing well!)

That said my Dad is a Monaghan man and the ribbing has already started..

GalwayRed
05/11/2011, 12:41 PM
Congrats Monaghan. I won't mind heading back there next season. Always treated very well and the bar is a bonus.

oriel
05/11/2011, 12:51 PM

Speaking of 20 points, I think that was exactly the gap between us and Galway, as we went down on GD, with 3 sides going down that year.

2012 will be a better spread for the PD, 3 teams from Louth/Mons area, a second side in North Dub, and Cork taking their deserved place to repersent munster.

legendz
05/11/2011, 1:02 PM
Congrats to the mighty Mons! Good luck to ye next year in the Premier.

LFC-Zulu
05/11/2011, 1:44 PM
A rundown in the events of last night..

· 111 Monaghan fans (of which, about 20-25 sang) descended upon Terryland Park.
· Monaghan completely outclassed Galway.
· Ryan Brennan and Fabio O'Brien were fantastic.
· Two Monaghan fans ran over the Galway section and decided to pull the Green Street act by taunting then running away.
· No segregation at all, which is ridiculous for such a big game.
· Limerick fan wins the HT Draw.
· Monaghan won 3-1.
· Some lovely, lovely football.
· The full time whistle blew.
· The Monaghan fans under celebrated.
· No pitch invasion, for what must be the first time ever?
· A serious lack of passion from the away support.
· A resigning huff from the home support.
· Monaghan fans leave the ground ten minutes after the full time whistle.
· Galway fans actually invade the pitch.
· An angry looking Roddy Collins goes and buys 50 quids worth of chips.
· Angrily, he points out the banner that a couple of Limerick fans had designed.
· The steward laughs at him.
· Michael D. Higgins looks on with eager eyes at the Galway fans as he departs.
· I walk back to the car, happy in the knowledge that a better footballing side will be in the Premier Division next year, but also in amazement at how Monaghan might just bring 7 fans to Turners Cross next year again.

passerrby
05/11/2011, 2:04 PM
Sad act Zulu and verywrong

05/11/2011, 2:15 PM
I think we've found the owner of that bedsheet banner...

05/11/2011, 2:49 PM
I think we've found the owner of that bedsheet banner...

http://static.guim.co.uk/sys-images/Guardian/Pix/pictures/2009/12/18/1261148702054/Sir-Terry-Wogan-leaves-BB-001.jpg

Terry-Lander
05/11/2011, 3:00 PM
If offered a premier licence should we take it.......No. We don't deserve it based on the season and the stats prove that. Some say we can't afford not to be in premier but the fact is we have no money and would be on another season of embarrasing hidings. That said I hope we can rebuild and will continue supporting the club, in whatever guise it takes.

A huge THANK YOU to the management committee and loyal fans who took on a seemingly impossible task, paid bills to local suppliers left by the previous regime and as Geezer would say 'put the ball in the centre circle' every week.

Had the pleasure to briefly meet some Mons fans in the Menlo park before the game and others afterwards and they are a credit to the club. At the end of the game I went to the Mons fans and applauded them, not one jeer was thrown my way. In fact their humility was amazing.

Feeling gutted today but with the core fan base that is committed to the cause I'm sure we will rise from the ashes and keep the Galway flag flying high.

gufc2000
05/11/2011, 3:10 PM

· 111 Monaghan fans (of which, about 20-25 sang) descended upon Terryland Park.
· Monaghan completely outclassed Galway.
· Ryan Brennan and Fabio O'Brien were fantastic.
· Two Monaghan fans ran over the Galway section and decided to pull the Green Street act by taunting then running away.
· No segregation at all, which is ridiculous for such a big game.
· Limerick fan wins the HT Draw.
· Monaghan won 3-1.
· Some lovely, lovely football.
· The full time whistle blew.
· A resigning huff from the home support.
· Monaghan fans leave the ground ten minutes after the full time whistle.
· Galway fans actually invade the pitch.
· An angry looking Roddy Collins goes and buys 50 quids worth of chips.
· Angrily, he points out the banner that a couple of Limerick fans had designed.
· The steward laughs at him.
· Michael D. Higgins looks on with eager eyes at the Galway fans as he departs.
· I walk back to the car, happy in the knowledge that a better footballing side will be in the Premier Division next year, but also in amazement at how Monaghan might just bring 7 fans to Turners Cross next year again.
Anything but...sang their hearts out from start to finish, and they had any amount of banners in the away section. Scenes of absolute delirium when the final whistle blew. They didn't have to invade the pitch.

Mons have one of the smallest support bases in the league, and have somehow punched amazingly above their weight. Great achievement for them and best of luck to them

bluewhitearmy
05/11/2011, 3:19 PM
If offered a premier licence should we take it.......No. We don't deserve it based on the season and the stats prove that. Some say we can't afford not to be in premier but the fact is we have no money and would be on another season of embarrasing hidings. That said I hope we can rebuild and will continue supporting the club, in whatever guise it takes.

I cant really think of any reason why ye wouldnt accept it better chance of sponsorship and better crowds in the prem at the start of the season.

The only thing would be if ye have a weaker team then ye did this year would hiding after hiding drive people away from the club.

Couldnt see any club turning down the chance to stay up.

Best of luck with things in the off season and hopefully ill be seeing ye next season in the 1st division.

05/11/2011, 4:12 PM

Have you forgotten last years play off? Apart from having to approach a wall to invade a pitch they were probably back in Monaghan before they were convinced that nothing could go wrong:p

Mr Maroon
05/11/2011, 5:00 PM
I cant really think of any reason why ye wouldnt accept it better chance of sponsorship and better crowds in the prem at the start of the season.

Not necessarily. I think more people might come if we can win the odd match in the First than lose almost every match in the Premier.

bluewhitearmy
05/11/2011, 5:20 PM
Not necessarily. I think more people might come if we can win the odd match in the First than lose almost every match in the Premier.

Could be a bad thing for ye to stay up so...

I hope it doesnt come to it and no-one goes bust but thats not very likely.

gufc2000
05/11/2011, 5:47 PM
Agreed, and besides its demoralising seeing the team you support get soundly beaten week in week out.

We've never really achieved anything what we'd have liked since we came up to the Premier. Its been a relegation battle year after year since we were promoted.

2007- finished 8th out of 12 teams which wasn't bad given it was our first year back up.

2008- Progress was expected, and there was genuine hopes we could get a top half finish. Season turned into a nightmare early on- Cousins sacked, financial problems, no home win til October. Great escape pulled off on the final night of the season in Belfield. Finished 9th out of 12 teams.

2009- Promising start under Foster, wayward middle. Dropped into the play-off places on the last night of the season. Avoided such scenario owing to Derry's expulsion. Finished 8th out of 10 teams.

2010- Sprinkles of class here and there, poor 2nd half to the season. Beat Bray in the play-off. Finished 8th out of 10 again

2011- Bottom of the pile.

We've been just hanging on year on year. Next season would more than likely be the same. While its great to be in the Premier, struggling year after year inevitably leads to relegation. There's only so much times you can go to the well before it dries up.

05/11/2011, 5:55 PM

why were Galway on the Late Late Mr Maroon?? By the way great talkin to you in the press box!!At least I know what you look like now!

05/11/2011, 6:01 PM
Speaking of 20 points, I think that was exactly the gap between us and Galway, as we went down on GD, with 3 sides going down that year.

2012 will be a better spread for the PD, 3 teams from Louth/Mons area, a second side in North Dub, and Cork taking their deserved place to repersent munster.
yeah spot on oriel ...

05/11/2011, 6:06 PM
why were Galway on the Late Late Mr Maroon??
Wasn't it because the interview with the Prez?