View Full Version : The Final Weekend - Season 2011
They do do alcohol which makes people forget bad nights :D
whats MONs excuse then? ;)
Shannonsider
30/10/2011, 5:36 PM
Ive rarely seen such a gulf in ability and desire as between Mons and Athlone tonight. Pity shels didnt win but United were full value for the win (apart from the stupid tackle for the red card). Well done to Cork for the title, that was some finish to the season.
Limerick fans, hoping a club goes under because they lost to another team? After all that happened the loi teams based in limerick? Cop on and get some perspective.
Limerick fans?
One Limerick fan says this and that makes it the view of all of us? I certainly wouldn't want any club to go bust. Rumour in Jackman Park last night was that Athlone played their u-19's last night as their first team players hadn't been payed. Not sure if this is true but disappointed if it is but im proud of what Limerick have achieved this season especially in the last series of games.
CSFShels
30/10/2011, 5:55 PM
Limerick fans?
One Limerick fan says this and that makes it the view of all of us? I certainly wouldn't want any club to go bust. Rumour in Jackman Park last night was that Athlone played their u-19's last night as their first team players hadn't been payed. Not sure if this is true but disappointed if it is but im proud of what Limerick have achieved this season especially in the last series of games.
Looking at the lineup there, a good few players I'd know from the first team, not them all though so it is quite probable that a few under 19s had to be called up to replace those who wouldn't play having not been paid.
atfconline
30/10/2011, 5:58 PM
Michael Schlingermann, Damien Rushe, Jaime Carr, Mark Walshe, Paul Danaher, Roy King, Davy Ryan, Stephen Relihan, Kevin Williamson, Jason Hughes, Mark Sherlock. SUBS: Tommy Barrett for King (HT), Declan Fallon for Carr (62), Niall Boland for Rushe (63).
Just to point out, there was one change (McGee injured) in the line-up last night from the team that LIMERICK beat in our last game.
As above.
30/10/2011, 5:59 PM
Ya the rumour going around was of some kind of strike the athlone players went on. The fact no team sheet was displayed extra time just added fuel to it.
Looking at the team sheet above that doesn't seem to be the story though.
30/10/2011, 6:03 PM
As above.
Dave Ryan in for McGee and Tommy Barett on the bench are two changes off the top of my head from the Limerick. Gary Higgins came on and set up ye're goal against us too and he didn't play any part. Other than that it does look pretty much like the same team that played us alright.
30/10/2011, 6:32 PM
Alan Mathews on Newstalk now.
Anyway, on last night. I'm very happy I wasn't able to post from my phone because I would have said a lot of bitter post-match things that were not really appropriate. See the GAA forum.
Still smarting from the loss especially considering the manner in how it happened. Once Cork scored though we took it to them and for the rest of the first half we were incredible. And were unlucky that we didn't go into the second half in the lead.
It was very clear with the score in Lissywoollen that Cork had settled on the draw.
And as is always the way it goes with us we switched off in the last minute.
Congratulations to Cork. Incredible atmosphere last night. It was unbelievable feeling to be there considering what was at stake and the memories of being at horrible pre-season games in Ashtown a few years ago.
Showed that the best 2 teams are deserved to be up and the quality of ball that they are capable off.
Praying that we can keep Casso next year.
Thought the ref had a great game to be honest bar the confusion with the injury time board which went kaput at half time. Hopefully Mons do the business against Galway. Roll on 2012.
Don't agree with that at all.
No doubt that Shels, who had been well on top eased off in the second half, for whatever reason. Cummins was booked for trying to get a Shels player to hurry up with a throw in.
If we were playing for a draw Derek would have headed for the corner rather than trying to cross in for the winner.
CSFShels
30/10/2011, 7:04 PM
No doubt that Shels, who had been well on top eased off in the second half, for whatever reason. Cummins was booked for trying to get a Shels player to hurry up with a throw in.
If we were playing for a draw Derek would have headed for the corner rather than trying to cross in for the winner.
It definitely isn't anything close to the case. Cork were all out for the win, I was actually surprised by quite how gung-ho they were given the consequences if they did lose.
I hope you won't need it for that purpose on Thursday.
I don't think there is a possibility of Thursday night being a bad night. 94th minute defeat or otherwise.
31/10/2011, 3:21 PM
Limerick fans, hoping a club goes under because they lost to another team? After all that happened the loi teams based in limerick? Cop on and get some perspective.
As pointed out above, ONE fan. That's impressive perspective you're wielding yourself there.
And Limerick's record against the top 3 was poor.
I believe it was better than Shels against the rest of the top four as it happens. But Shels won 20 from 21 against the bottom seven I believe which is some going.
born2bwild
31/10/2011, 3:38 PM
I don't think there is a possibility of Thursday night being a bad night. 94th minute defeat or otherwise.
Well, I'll be there - best chance of points for youse, I reckon.
Cork's winner was in the 98th minute, at least.
31/10/2011, 7:55 PM
Highlights of Sligo v UCD -
wsQa91bQpUI
Well, I'll be there - best chance of points for youse, I reckon.
Cork's winner was in the 98th minute, at least.
No it wasn't, it was scored in the 94th minute.
And the person who claimed we were settling for a draw was clearly at a different game!
Amazing, unforgettable night. Couldn't have been scripted better. Shels singing Championees, PA saying stay off the pitch cos of Shels victory lap, and bang, Cummins finishes it. Unbelievable!
Meh, 2008 was better.
St.Scanlon
01/11/2011, 9:22 AM
Meh, 2008 was better.
St.Scanlon
I enjoyed that one myself.
01/11/2011, 10:01 AM
Meh, 2008 was better.
St.Scanlon
For you, of course.
For me, coming from 10 points behind to have our top scorer score in the 94th minute to win the league in their own stadium will be very very hard to beat.
born2bwild
01/11/2011, 11:25 AM
No it wasn't, it was scored in the 94th minute.
And the person who claimed we were settling for a draw was clearly at a different game!
Amazing, unforgettable night. Couldn't have been scripted better. Shels singing Championees, PA saying stay off the pitch cos of Shels victory lap, and bang, Cummins finishes it. Unbelievable!
I can't believe I'm taking the bait on this.
I have 2 photos -
1 taken at the kick off for the 2nd half - taken (according to the file properties) at 20.50
1 taken just after you scored the winner - taken according to the file properties) at 22.39
Your goal was scored after the season was over.
You cheated.
I'm trying to work out a way to upload these without having their properties wiped. In the meantime, here they are:
http://i41.tinypic.com/kb5bn8.jpg
http://i44.tinypic.com/11rc1nk.jpg
01/11/2011, 11:31 AM
For you, of course.
For me, coming from 10 points behind to have our top scorer score in the 94th minute to win the league in their own stadium will be very very hard to beat.
maybe if you win the league, rather than the lower division, that might top it
01/11/2011, 11:34 AM
1 taken at the kick off for the 2nd half - taken (according to the file properties) at 20.50
1 taken just after you scored the winner - taken according to the file properties) at 22.39
You cheated
If your point is that the goal was scored after the allocated injury time, don't forget that what the fourth official indicates is the minimum time. The ref is free to add on what he feels appropriate. So to score, say, five minutes into four minutes of injury time isn't cheating.
born2bwild
01/11/2011, 11:37 AM
If your point is that the goal was scored after the allocated injury time, don't forget that what the fourth official indicates is the minimum time. The ref is free to add on what he feels appropriate. So to score, say, five minutes into four minutes of injury time isn't cheating.
Bah humbug.
01/11/2011, 1:22 PM
I can't believe I'm taking the bait on this.
I have 2 photos -
You cheated.
So let me get this straight. You say the second half started at at 20.50 and Cork scored at 22.39... almost two hours later? That does actually sound like a clear case of cheating to me. You can't be playing that much injury time.
El-Pietro
01/11/2011, 1:38 PM
era we had the ref paid off to keep playing until we went ahead
So let me get this straight. You say the second half started at at 20.50 and Cork scored at 22.39... almost two hours later? That does actually sound like a clear case of cheating to me. You can't be playing that much injury time.
It's especially surprising as 5 minutes extra is usually more than enough for Shels to concede their late last day goal...
born2bwild
01/11/2011, 1:56 PM
I blame the Evil Timelord John Delaney. Wish I had his Tardis - I'd go back and click 'cancel' on post 167.
You cheated. The season wasn't over until the referee blew his whistle.
Their was only one team cheating, feigning injury and wasting time.
You reap what you sow.
and 2 bottles of champers on the bench too :D :D
maybe if you win the league, rather than the lower division, that might top it
Well it was the only trophy that had previously eluded Cork City FC.
As for the Premier, there's plenty time for that.
Although I thought the 2005 league decider with Derry could never be topped but I think it has. (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JkkNGYtVE5w)
PartySaint
01/11/2011, 4:39 PM
Although I thought the 2005 league decider with Derry could never be topped but I think it has. (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JkkNGYtVE5w)
How the feck can winning the first division ever be better than winning the actual league? I'd prefer to see Pats finish 9th in the Premier rather than see us ever winning the first division
El-Pietro
01/11/2011, 4:44 PM
How the feck can winning the first division ever be better than winning the actual league? I'd prefer to see Pats finish 9th in the Premier rather than see us ever winning the first division
the feeling winning the first division the way we did possibly surpassed the 2005 season. But for me neither is better, they are different experiences.
Especially after the crap we've been through.
sullanefc
01/11/2011, 5:07 PM
How the feck can winning the first division ever be better than winning the actual league?
I think what is meant is that the nature of the win was better. The travelling support, the opposition (its a nicer feeling beating shels than Derry), the last minute goal, the drama, the 10 point gap clawed back etc etc. All this made it a better feeling than 2005. I'm sure Man Utd fans would say that winning the CL in 99 was better than beating chelsea on pens in 08. Just the nature of it made it more exciting.
I'd prefer to see Pats finish 9th in the Premier rather than see us ever winning the first division
Yes but if Pats ever have the misfortune of being relegated then winning the division is better than going up in 2nd. Finishing 9th in the Premier is never good. That means you're sh*t. I'd prefer to win the 1st. Either way, City will never have to worry about finishing 9th in the premier or winning the 1st division ever again!! :p
01/11/2011, 5:12 PM
That video is feckin mental..
SwanVsDalton
01/11/2011, 5:29 PM
I'd say most Derry fans would agree last years Discover Ireland adventure and title win was far more exciting and satisfying than any Premier League mediocrity, no matter how painful it is to end up there. Nice of change of pace at least, give it a try some time!
Although yeah rather win the Premier and all that.
PartySaint
01/11/2011, 6:18 PM
Nice of change of pace at least, give it a try some time!
Nah, Big clubs don't get relegated;)
S.E.P.1990
01/11/2011, 7:30 PM
Firstly, we were not singing Champions...the only chant that went up (twice) was We are top of the league. As the minutes ticked on and we got deeper and deeper there was no way we were going to sing anything like that (this is Shels so naturally there was pessimism!!).
Secondly, Scanlons goal was by far a worse feeling. We, at least, we're already promoted so, even though it would have been good to win the league the main feeling was that we were up. Thank God!
Thirdly, cracking first half - the Cork goalie kept them in it with a number of excellent saves. Second half Cork got on top and a brilliant cross for the goal.
As for the accusation of diving and time wasting it was amazing that Cork finished with 11 men, your number 9 made 3 late tackles including one elbow. In the game there was three blatant elbows by cork players, one which left Cassidy motionless on the ground. The ref didnt even give a free and then the Cork keeper ran up to Cassidy and gave out to him.....insane, as the game hadnt even been stopped until the ball went out. Their was also your centre back throwing the ball at the Shels player because the throw in went against him. Lots of dummies thrown out of the pram by the cork players before the 94th min!!!!
Attendance was fantastic, and great noise made by both. Cork brought 1400 according to the lads on the turnstiles with 1800 shels and about 400 in on free/concession tickets. Looking forward to more of these games!!
The two best teams went up and both should hold there own in the league (mid to lower table depending on signings obviously).
El-Pietro
01/11/2011, 7:36 PM
The two best teams went up and both should hold there own in the league (mid to lower table depending on signings obviously).
speak for yourselves, we've higher expectations than you it would appear. we fear no one.
01/11/2011, 7:40 PM
Yeah, no reason Cork anyway can't emulate Derry this year. Shels should be able to get mid-table, especially if Bohs' players become free.
PartySaint
01/11/2011, 7:50 PM
Urgh going to be a struggle to get into this top 6 if there is a split, Hopefully Saint Bucko can pull it off for us
01/11/2011, 9:26 PM
Regardless of the goal. I thought the last 20 minutes of the game smelt vaguely of Palermo 1990, though nothing to that extent. That was my take on it.
Ye weren't exactly all out for the win though in fairness now were ye as the clock ticked down? No idea why we eased up as much as we did but hey, that's life.
Re that cross in the 94/95/96/97/98th minute; it was that late in the game there was no harm whipping it in, why would he head to the corner when he was being harried and all that would have happened would have been a goal kick. Better to take a chance with a cross eh?
It definitely isn't anything close to the case. Cork were all out for the win, I was actually surprised by quite how gung-ho they were given the consequences if they did lose.
I don't think they were in my mind.
Also for what it's worth re the lack of a 4th officials board at the 88-90min mark; it broke at half-time, why we had no announcement on the PA though is beyond me.
And as SEP said, some of the Cork players' antics were disgraceful, how the keeper wasn't booked for trying to pick up CAsso was nothing short of breathtaking.
Great game though. Was glad to be on that 41 as soon as I was.
01/11/2011, 10:35 PM
Lots of dummies thrown out of the pram by the cork players before the 94th min!!!!Just purely frustration at the time wasting.
And as SEP said, some of the Cork players' antics were disgraceful, how the keeper wasn't booked for trying to pick up CAsso was nothing short of breathtaking.Usually i'd have said he possibly have dropped him but as was stated he had a superb game and got MOTM on extratime.
As was evident on that video going into stoppage time i'd have taken the draw, I thought Shels had marginally the better of the game overall but a draw was probably a fair result.
Having said that we did have a penalty shout or two and Cummins had the ball in the net late on also, ruled out for offside.
02/11/2011, 11:36 AM
Just purely frustration at the time wasting.
Usually i'd have said he possibly have dropped him but as was stated he had a superb game and got MOTM on extratime.
As was evident on that video going into stoppage time i'd have taken the draw, I thought Shels had marginally the better of the game overall but a draw was probably a fair result.
Having said that we did have a penalty shout or two and Cummins had the ball in the net late on also, ruled out for offside.
I think its fair to say the best team won :cool:
S.E.P.1990
02/11/2011, 1:05 PM
speak for yourselves, we've higher expectations than you it would appear. we fear no one.
You may fear no one but you have to be realistic, you played i think 3 premier div teams this season and lost 2 of them. As I said depends on who is signed etc.
El-Pietro
02/11/2011, 1:55 PM
we lost to Pats 1-0 without 5 of our first teamers starting. It took Derry a penalty to beat us without Daryl Horgan. We beat Pats witha weakened side in the League Cup - though they also had a weakened team I believe.
We have done very well against the top 4 sides in the First Division on top of that - Shels two wins and a draw, +5 gd, Monaghan, 1 win and 2 draws, +2 GD, Limerick 1 win, 2 draws in the league +1GD, 1 ET win in the cup
We will bring in new players, of course we will. they will be told what is expected of this team. I know that Tommy is aware of what we expect
02/11/2011, 1:58 PM
Cork and Shels as they stand are good enough to be mid-table teams in the Premier.
S.E.P.1990
02/11/2011, 3:09 PM
Cork and Shels as they stand are good enough to be mid-table teams in the Premier.
Agreed.
we lost to Pats 1-0 without 5 of our first teamers starting. It took Derry a penalty to beat us without Daryl Horgan. We beat Pats witha weakened side in the League Cup - though they also had a weakened team I believe.
We have done very well against the top 4 sides in the First Division on top of that - Shels two wins and a draw, +5 gd, Monaghan, 1 win and 2 draws, +2 GD, Limerick 1 win, 2 draws in the league +1GD, 1 ET win in the cup
We will bring in new players, of course we will. they will be told what is expected of this team. I know that Tommy is aware of what we expect
You expect that you will be higher than mid-table despite losing 2 of your games against Premier Div opposition this season. Shels are technically in a better position - we lost 2 out of 5 games this year with Premier Div, we beat Bohs and Pats, lost to Sligo and Bohs and drew with Pats. But, being realistic, our current team is a mid table team, the same as yourselves. Now this is the key point:this could change depending on signings.....once you see them you can start talking about finishing in the top half of the league.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
02/11/2011, 6:59 PM
You're not going to have Daryl Horgan next season
El-Pietro
02/11/2011, 8:30 PM
we may or we may not - but we also won't be without a key member of our squad for games against Premier Division teams. We will replace him if we can't sign him
You're not going to have Daryl Horgan next seasonis it true that he is the only Sligo Rovers player signed for next season?
Nah Nah Nah Nah
03/11/2011, 7:26 AM
is it true that he is the only Sligo Rovers player signed for next season?
Yeah pretty sure that's true. Sure most players in the league are on 10 month contracts I would have thought. He was signed to a 2 year deal to stop someone in England taking him after 1 season without paying a fee. Still thought we should have held onto him last season but no doubt playing games at the top of the first division will have helped his development. Would expect him to play a big role for us next season - if he's not signed up by someone in England (or Cork.....!)
03/11/2011, 7:47 PM
Yeah pretty sure that's true. Sure most players in the league are on 10 month contracts I would have thought. He was signed to a 2 year deal to stop someone in England taking him after 1 season without paying a fee. Still thought we should have held onto him last season but no doubt playing games at the top of the first division will have helped his development. Would expect him to play a big role for us next season - if he's not signed up by someone in England (or Cork.....!)
it was mentioned in one of the papers that daryl horgan has a two yr contract so its definitely true..