View Full Version : The Final Weekend - Season 2011
28/10/2011, 8:07 PM
No messing. No kissing either thank you very much. Or thumping.
bullit
28/10/2011, 8:07 PM
Yep tomorrow night will see the 1st div wrap-up LR.
Bray 1 up Zambra.
athloneman
28/10/2011, 8:14 PM
how much are rovers going to be fined for all the fireworks going off in the ground???
they could be in serious trouble, game delayed and ref reporting it??
28/10/2011, 8:58 PM
Always updates on extratime.ie of all the first division matches as they happen too Lionel.
28/10/2011, 9:09 PM
how much are rovers going to be fined for all the fireworks going off in the ground???
they could be in serious trouble, game delayed and ref reporting it??
An 8 year old kid was taken to hospital with burns apparently. That won't go well for them regardless of whether the kid may have the firework themselves (no idea if they did obviously).
born2bwild
28/10/2011, 9:44 PM
Drogheda 2-2 Pats
Ha..went up to that match tonight - insane third and fourth goals by Drogs. Both Mulvenna's shot and Dinny Corcoran's volley were goal of the season level. Good crack in the ground. It's an awful dump, though - definitely UEFA 'Kip' Level Category Uno.
By the way, when did Shane McFaul get so crap?
28/10/2011, 9:50 PM
Cracking game in Sligo tonight. Two sides going out to play football; 6 goals - a couple top drawer, a couple of horrific keeper howlers - a missed peno, God knows how many goalline clearances, some lovely one-touch football from both sides. We're very naive at the back - too often got into trouble by giving the ball to Sligo far too easily, but when we turned it on up front, we were a joy to watch at times, and our second was a super little goal. Credit to Sligo too; Paul Cook usually has them playing nice stuff.
bullit
28/10/2011, 10:27 PM
No word off any resignation's yet ??
Foster: will i push you? or will you jump??
28/10/2011, 10:32 PM
Always updates on extratime.ie of all the first division matches as they happen too Lionel.
no need of updates. I may well actually be there in the flesh now. Prop-uh!
MeathDrog
28/10/2011, 11:00 PM
Stuart Byrnes comments tonight before the game were disgraceful especially when you think of his carry on in his last season with Drogheda.
What did he say?
born2bwild
28/10/2011, 11:24 PM
What did he say?
I had a quick look on the RTE player - he said something about Galway not being fit for the Premier. Well, anyone with a pulse can see that, so what's the big deal?
They have friends in high places now, though. Is there anything the magic munchkin in the Aras can do to help them?
bullit
29/10/2011, 1:38 AM
They have friends in high places now, though. Is there anything the magic munchkin in the Aras can do to help them?
If they put a nice video together he might get them into the Nicaraguan Leauge-Division 4 ;)
29/10/2011, 2:40 AM
I had a quick look on the RTE player - he said something about Galway not being fit for the Premier. Well, anyone with a pulse can see that, so what's the big deal?
Donating your salary seems to be the in thing? Stuey was going on about it being a farce that Galway were in the Premier Division, but in fairness they met the conditions laid on them at the time. Whether those conditions are stringent enough is another thing.
29/10/2011, 3:10 AM
Met the conditions? They were originally demoted. Probably be better off if they were.
I can't see them winning either leg of their playoff. Any half-decent, high morale 1st Division side should win comfortably.
bluewhitearmy
29/10/2011, 8:17 AM
Met the conditions? They were originally demoted. Probably be better off if they were.
I can't see them winning either leg of their playoff. Any half-decent, high morale 1st Division side should win comfortably.
And the reason they were demoted was not their fault thats why they won the appeal. So yes they did meet the conditions.
29/10/2011, 9:12 AM
Cracking game in Sligo tonight. Two sides going out to play football; 6 goals - a couple top drawer, a couple of horrific keeper howlers - a missed peno, God knows how many goalline clearances, some lovely one-touch football from both sides. We're very naive at the back - too often got into trouble by giving the ball to Sligo far too easily, but when we turned it on up front, we were a joy to watch at times, and our second was a super little goal. Credit to Sligo too; Paul Cook usually has them playing nice stuff.What about your fan club down the Railway End? What did you think of yer man's hair?
geezer
29/10/2011, 10:37 AM
Thats a disgraceful thing to call our president, also at least gufc fulfilled its fixtures not like your former team sporting fingal who disappeared in the blink of an eye. Its also worth remembering the champions were in the same position we were in 6 or 7 years back, not to mention shelbourne there long standing fans know all about what we are going through. The Licence is independent and GUFC will apply like everyone else. Stewy Byrne always went where the money was he was the biggest mercenary of them all he has wouldnt have an ounce of loyalty in his dna, Unlike the 650 souls that still come to games watching a team that hasnt won at home all season. I do recall being in Tolka at a gufc v rovers game some years back and there wasnt 700 rovers fans at it, Bar Finn harps there wouldnt be many attending any clubs matches with a record like that. Its play to the rules, cut the costs, save for a licence and leave it until the play off.
Gufc is years off being a premier club but dont fault fans for saving their club and being cynical for good reasons "survival"
In the words of our president last night in the radisson in dublin in front of a packed audience
"Galway United is my team and my passion"
Stewy byrne or fingal supporters wouldnt know a lot about that
29/10/2011, 10:50 AM
I'm with you geezer.
Just one thing though, Fungus went boom before the season started. Dublin City imploded mid-season.
29/10/2011, 12:19 PM
Em maybe wait til they're actually on..tomorrow night.
Incidently I'm no better today. I just lost ten minutes of my life looking for a stream of Leeds United V Cardiff City -which kicks off at 1pm ...tomorrow :o
born2bwild
29/10/2011, 1:06 PM
Thats a disgraceful thing to call our president,
I sacrificed sensitivity in favour of alliteration - I'm sure mini micky D would appreciate that!
also at least gufc fulfilled its fixtures not like your former team sporting fingal who disappeared in the blink of an eye. Its also worth remembering the champions were in the same position we were in 6 or 7 years back, not to mention shelbourne there long standing fans know all about what we are going through. The Licence is independent and GUFC will apply like everyone else. Stewy Byrne always went where the money was he was the biggest mercenary of them all he has wouldnt have an ounce of loyalty in his dna, Unlike the 650 souls that still come to games watching a team that hasnt won at home all season. I do recall being in Tolka at a gufc v rovers game some years back and there wasnt 700 rovers fans at it, Bar Finn harps there wouldnt be many attending any clubs matches with a record like that. Its play to the rules, cut the costs, save for a licence and leave it until the play off.
Gufc is years off being a premier club but dont fault fans for saving their club and being cynical for good reasons "survival"
In the words of our president last night in the radisson in dublin in front of a packed audience
"Galway United is my team and my passion"
Stewy byrne or fingal supporters wouldnt know a lot about that
All professional footballers are mercenaries; the bottom line can be as low as 50 euros (as you've learned this year), but that's the bottom line: anyone who puts loyalty before that doesn't have bills to pay.
I don't know if Stewy Byrne was faulting fans for saving their club - I'm certainly not: of course, anyone can see that Galway's supporters should be in the Champions League; forget the LoI premier.
I was making a point about the standard of football they've produced this year.
As for loyalty to Fingal? Well, even if I could afford to get that "SFFC 'tl I die" tattoo surgically removed from my left arse cheek I would never do it.
29/10/2011, 1:09 PM
I sacrificed sensitivity in favour of alliteration - I'm sure mini micky D would appreciate that!
All professional footballers are mercenaries; the bottom line can be as low as 50 euros (as you've learned this year), but that's the bottom line: anyone who puts loyalty before that doesn't have bills to pay.
I don't know if Stewy Byrne was faulting fans for saving their club - I'm certainly not: of course, anyone can see that Galway's supporters should be in the Champions League; forget the LoI premier.
I was making a point about the standard of football they've produced this year.
As for loyalty to Fingal? Well, even if I could afford to get that "SFFC 'tl I die" tattoo surgically removed from my left arse cheek I would never do it.
No need, now that you support Shelbourne fookin' Football Club.
legendz
29/10/2011, 1:11 PM
Looking at the final table. Dundalk would've been the one team outside the top half that I'd have thought at the start of the season would've been up higher. Bohs had a solid season on the park all considered after last winter's turmoil and the on-going uncertainty. Bray did decent as well. Going by comments Devlin made during the season, it seems he needs more support from the powers that be in the club?
born2bwild
29/10/2011, 1:21 PM
No need, now that you support Shelbourne fookin' Football Club.
An elegant solution, but what about the wheelie bin bird on the other cheek?
29/10/2011, 1:48 PM
An elegant solution, but what about the wheelie bin bird on the other cheek?
A lot of black ink could morph it into a castle.
I always wonder what the Lep and Lamper did to there's.
born2bwild
29/10/2011, 2:15 PM
A lot of black ink could morph it into a castle.
I always wonder what the Lep and Lamper did to there's.
The Lep, I don't know.
Lamper hasn't been back to a football match since - he was there from the start, though, I was only there from the playoff v Bray at the end of 2009.
I think he got his whole body covered in an enormous tattoo representing a quasi-biblical scene: On his chest he has a fantastic three headed Liam Buckley/Gerry Gannon/serpent hybrid holding out a football, trying to entice a bashful looking naked man and woman to take the offering.... On his back you can see the two figures standing on some barren, windswept waste land (surrounded by a running track) looking forlorn with only a Fingal scarf, Fingal hat and the now deflated football to cover their nudie bits.
Beautiful work. The poor chap can't leave the house.
29/10/2011, 2:17 PM
Looking at the final table. Dundalk would've been the one team outside the top half that I'd have thought at the start of the season would've been up higher. Bohs had a solid season on the park all considered after last winter's turmoil and the on-going uncertainty. Bray did decent as well. Going by comments Devlin made during the season, it seems he needs more support from the powers that be in the club?
Well we, like most other clubs in the league, can't afford to add to the squad and can't realy afford the squad we have. I think that's the norm for LOI clubs at the moment. It will be annoying if we lose players, we've assembled such a good squad over the last few years, and we're a couple of additions away from a potentially great team but we may be left talking about what might have been. Hopefully we can hang on to the bulk of our team though.
poster
29/10/2011, 3:06 PM
Cracking game in Sligo tonight.
That was a sweet run from you from the Treacy Avenue Stand all the way round the Railway End and up to the Jinks. You never said hello either.
How was your hotel?
born2bwild
29/10/2011, 5:00 PM
Incidently I'm no better today. I just lost ten minutes of my life looking for a stream of Leeds United V Cardiff City -which kicks off at 1pm ...tomorrow :o
Make sure you don't miss Limervalley 47 versus Molehill DisUnited on the eleventy-fifth of Thursduary, take note it's on last Fridgust at the usual kick off time of around Oslo past potato o'clock.
geezer
29/10/2011, 6:08 PM
"the bottom line can be as low as 50 euros (as you've learned this year), but that's the bottom line: anyone who puts loyalty before that doesn't have bills to pay." quote born2bwild from the pfai .
fingal fairy are you sean fifty euro maher representative of the loony group the pfai,
when the supporters in Galway were paying Shepard and O Donnells wages the year before the pfai wouldnt come out of Dublin to represent them as it wasnt worth their while as it was only 2 members. Representative body my arse. Langers & Looneys more like
The pfai, stewy byrne and sean fifty euro maher days are over, Galway Utd will still be alive in whatever division or u19 league we can survive in
bullit
29/10/2011, 6:47 PM
Any Radio stations or club streams covering any of the games ??
29/10/2011, 7:02 PM
Cork and Salthill both 1-0 up away from home in the decisive top/bottom games.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
29/10/2011, 7:10 PM
Mons 2 up
29/10/2011, 7:14 PM
Latest:
Athlone 0-2 Monaghan
Limerick 1-0 Waterford
Mervue 0-0 Harps
Shels 1-1 Cork
Wexford 0-2 Salthill
frenchman
29/10/2011, 7:39 PM
bye bye limerick!!!!!!...if we lose the play-off I'll take it all back!!!
29/10/2011, 7:54 PM
Mons 4-0 up.
frenchman
29/10/2011, 7:57 PM
only another 12 goals and we pass cork!!!!!
cob655
29/10/2011, 8:08 PM
Would I be right in saying as things stand Shels and Cork will automatically get promoted.Then you have a playoff between Galway and mons?
so no auto relegation for Galway?
And no playoff for Limerick?(only chance is if someone in PD looses licence(bohs maybe....))
sullanefc
29/10/2011, 8:10 PM
Would I be right in saying as things stand Shels and Cork will automatically get promoted.Then you have a playoff between Galway and mons?
so no auto relegation for Galway?
And no playoff for Limerick?(only chance is if someone in PD looses licence(bohs maybe....))
Yes....as things stand.....
29/10/2011, 8:13 PM
Wexford 4-2 up on Salthill. Mons have a man sent off and go 5 up!
frenchman
29/10/2011, 8:20 PM
the only thing that can happen now is shels to win and we go up as runners-up otherwise it's galway on wednesday night
[QUOTE=nigel-harps1954;1547542]Wexford 4-2 up on Salthill. Mons have a man sent off and go 5 up![/QUOTis
Is tonights game the end og Salthills participation in the league of Ireland ? rumors have it ??
the only thing that can happen now is shels to win and we go up as runners-up otherwise it's galway on wednesday night
Well if we turn up on tuesday do we get a 3-0 lead
29/10/2011, 8:29 PM
Mervue 1-0 Harps.
29/10/2011, 8:42 PM
2-1 Cork! Last minute!
CCFC 1st division champions 2011 :D
Cuyahoga
29/10/2011, 8:45 PM
Well done Cork , not to worry Shels you'll win the cup next week.
bullit
29/10/2011, 8:48 PM
Wow !! Just wow !!
Congrats to Cork,bad luck Shels.
Park_Lane
29/10/2011, 8:52 PM
Fair play to Cork, great to have two big names back in the prem next season
legendz
29/10/2011, 8:55 PM
Wow, well done and fair play to Monaghan. I hoped Limerick would get their but hat's off to the Mons. I hope they drive on now and win promotion to the Premier. Not everyone is provincial minded etc. but personally I think it's good for Munster that Cork are back in the Premier. Some Kerry lads have played with Cork and have had a chance in the game, while I'm not a fan/supporter of the club at all, well done to them on winning the division. Hopefully Tralee Dynamos will be in a position at some stage to have ye coming Tralee, if not on a regular basis, at least once in a while. Hard luck to Shels but it's good to see ye back in the premier as well. Finally hard luck to Limerick. Ye've had a decent season and unfortunately have come up just short. I don't think ye're far from realising ye're promotion dream. While it's not what ye want, hopefully for us we'll be facing yourselves and Waterford in a few Munster derbies next season.
frenchman
29/10/2011, 8:56 PM
Fair play to Cork, great to have two big names back in the prem next season
we're not up yet.......we still have to beat galway!!