View Full Version : The Final Weekend - Season 2011
29/10/2011, 8:59 PM
Its also worth remembering the champions were in the same position we were in 6 or 7 years back, not to mention shelbourne there long standing fans know all about what we are going through. The Licence is independent and GUFC will apply like everyone else.
We were semi-competitive at least on the pitch during those years. We picked up 30-odd points on the pitch. Most years that keeps you up. But we were put in a playoff via a points deduction. When we lost our licence, despite the unfairness of it, we didn't appeal it, and paid the consequences on the pitch.
Galway United, rightly or wrongly, were refused a PD licence. If the people running the club were aware then of how things would be there this year, as I believe they were, they should have accepted that refusal. It would have been much easier, cheaper, and better for them to have accepted their fate and get their house in order downstairs. Instead they appealed, won it, and were promptly an embarrassment on the pitch. There's very little to be proud of when you're there simply to serve target practice for the opposition.
Congrats to Cork and Shels. Good to have you back (hopefully we will still be around to renew some rivalries). Now Mons to beat Galway and ill be even happier
29/10/2011, 9:07 PM
Wow, congratulations to Cork. Hard luck to Shels, although I'm sure promotion will soften the blow somewhat. Hopefully Mons can make it three fresh faces in the league next season.
We were semi-competitive at least on the pitch during those years. We picked up 30-odd points on the pitch. Most years that keeps you up. But we were put in a playoff via a points deduction. When we lost our licence, despite the unfairness of it, we didn't appeal it, and paid the consequences on the pitch.
Galway United, rightly or wrongly, were refused a PD licence. If the people running the club were aware then of how things would be there this year, as I believe they were, they should have accepted that refusal. It would have been much easier, cheaper, and better for them to have accepted their fate and get their house in order downstairs. Instead they appealed, won it, and were promptly an embarrassment on the pitch. There's very little to be proud of when you're there simply to serve target practice for the opposition.
You havent a clue about whats gone on in Galway for the last 2 seasons. We couldnt go the Cork,Rovers or Derry Route. With 3 clubs in Galway the FAI didnt give a fiddlers if we went bust as there was 2 replacments. We were refused a licence in the wrong and the Appeals Committee found completely in our favour if they hadnt the end was staring us in the face.
Would any clubs supporters let their club die without a fight. Get your facts right because like Stuey Byrne last night your talking through your ass.
29/10/2011, 9:20 PM
When we lost our licence, despite the unfairness of it, we didn't appeal it, and paid the consequences on the pitch.
Ye submitted fraudulent accounts, hiding hundreds of thousands of debt from the licencing committee. Where's the unfairness?
Congrats to Cork and Shels 2 great Teams whose supporters have been through the ringer .
geezer
29/10/2011, 9:23 PM
mons have their big chance now and should take it, on the field, they are hot favourites.
There was no choice but to appeal last january, we wouldnt have got a first div licence either without the issue that was appealed, Also the rule of last not being demoted to expand the division was agreed by rovers and all the clubs in the premier accepted it, must be the first time ever in the league where all we have to do is win one game at home to stay up (if a licence is attained).
You havent a clue about whats gone on in Galway for the last 2 seasons. We couldnt go the Cork,Rovers or Derry Route. With 3 clubs in Galway the FAI didnt give a fiddlers if we went bust as there was 2 replacments. We were refused a licence in the wrong and the Appeals Committee found completely in our favour if they hadnt the end was staring us in the face.
Would any clubs supporters let their club die without a fight. Get your facts right because like Stuey Byrne last night your talking through your ass.
exactly --at the start of this season the club was been run by nutcases ,the fans took it over just before it was about to fold mid season ---we let go all expensive players were left with 3rd grade local lads as the better ??? players wer with salthill and mervue ---- if we didnt have 3 teams here we would have had a better chance of been stronger ----this season nightmare is nearly over be it in 1st div or prem next year at least we can now regroup and try to build on what we have --the only way is up
29/10/2011, 9:27 PM
Ye submitted fraudulent accounts, hiding hundreds of thousands of debt from the licencing committee. Also, ye were just docked points as it transpired after the licences had been handed out, so ye didn't lose the licence.
The previous board cooked the books. The 400 Club alerted that to the FAI, who duly thanked them with stripping away the PD licence and docking us 8 points, including the 3 points won after the old board had stepped down. The 8 points was the difference between survival in the division and a sabbattical in the other.
bullit
29/10/2011, 9:34 PM
Another thread turns into a Shams v /insert club name/ Bitchfest :(
29/10/2011, 9:35 PM
There was no choice but to appeal last january, we wouldnt have got a first div licence either without the issue that was appealed, Also the rule of last not being demoted to expand the division was agreed by rovers and all the clubs in the premier accepted it, must be the first time ever in the league where all we have to do is win one game at home to stay up (if a licence is attained).
Nobody seems to know what setup the league will be next year. Depending on who you believe, first it was going to be a 10-12 league, then no relegation, then a 16-team league, then 18. Atm it's going to be a 12-team league, but that could change again in the coming months. It's organised chaos.
sullanefc
29/10/2011, 9:42 PM
Absolutely delighted with the result. Roll on premier next year. Best of luck to Galway and Sligo in the remaining matches of the season.
legendz
29/10/2011, 9:50 PM
Nobody seems to know what setup the league will be next year. Depending on who you believe, first it was going to be a 10-12 league, then no relegation, then a 16-team league, then 18. Atm it's going to be a 12-team league, but that could change again in the coming months. It's organised chaos.
Word on a 16 Premier resurfaced in Waterford! I'd imagine we can only go by the fact that there will be a promotion/relegation play-off, that it will be a 12 team premier. The structure of the first division seems a bit more uncertain with Carlow, Cobh, Tralee and Fanad all hopeful of joining next year. Will they only invite one or will the FAI take the step of inviting 3?
geezer
29/10/2011, 9:51 PM
Agreed
GUFC supporters are honest, We have been told by everyone we are "naive" we purposely set out to be honest, Our core values are Honesty, Integrity, Player welfare and a partnership with the Galway FA/FAI.
i would prefer to be seen as "naive" anyday and honest. We probably better off in the 1st for a few years but we have to try and ensure Mons work a bit for it. Now all of a sudden some people in high positions believe we are "hiding" money for licencing, its truly laughable. We decided on the 6th of june to play the play off card. In Galway between the 3 clubs and the u19 we are looking for a pool of 140 players to compete at National Level. Id love to see Galway Footballers or Hurlers trying to get 140 top players its practically impossible, hence the league standings. We will all in Galway now over the next 5 years spend circa 2million and finish nowhere, We are appealing for leadership from the league
At least now more than ever we have a 300 core supporters who will keep going. Its also fair to say that GUFC supporters are taking hope from what rovers supporters have achieved.
Nice to see GUFC on the town today in the shopping centres (over 10 at least) promoting the play off and selling lottos
Thats what licenceing doesnt see, the work on the ground to promote the league
stewy fookin byrne or the pfai wont be promoting the league only doing it down and stirring strikes, I have seen GAA club players train twenty times harder than loi players who are members of the radical pfai
I watched harps tonight and i truly feel for them as well.
thomas72
29/10/2011, 10:00 PM
A lot Athlone first team players refused to play against mons tonight over unpaid wages ye def picked the right weekend for it I hope ye go bust athlone. AS for LimeRick only lost four times all season the least amount in the top four and we still did not get promoted its unreal. GOt into a semi final of the fai and then taken back out of it,The fai gives mons 3pts after there 0-0 draw v harps costly two extra points it turned out to be for us. CORk and shels deserves there promotion well done best of luck to ye next season.
AS for us I reckon we will go up at a canter next season the chairman was talking to supporters before the game saying the club will be adding top players again for next season on top of what we have now also moving into our new home future is bright just a pity we are not moving into the new stadium with premier football.
sullanefc
29/10/2011, 10:10 PM
A lot Athlone first team players refused to play against mons tonight over unpaid wages ye def picked the right weekend for it I hope ye go bust athlone. AS for LimeRick only lost four times all season the least amount in the top four and we still did not get promoted its unreal. GOt into a semi final of the fai and then taken back out of it,The fai gives mons 3pts after there 0-0 draw v harps costly two extra points it turned out to be for us. CORk and shels deserves there promotion well done best of luck to ye next season.
AS for us I reckon we will go up at a canter next season the chairman was talking to supporters before the game saying the club will be adding top players again for next season on top of what we have now also moving into our new home future is bright just a pity we are not moving into the new stadium with premier football.
We only lost once. ;). Best of luck next year though.
MagicMon
29/10/2011, 10:45 PM
Ive rarely seen such a gulf in ability and desire as between Mons and Athlone tonight. Pity shels didnt win but United were full value for the win (apart from the stupid tackle for the red card). Well done to Cork for the title, that was some finish to the season.
Limerick fans, hoping a club goes under because they lost to another team? After all that happened the loi teams based in limerick? Cop on and get some perspective.
bluewhitearmy
29/10/2011, 10:48 PM
We only lost once. ;). Best of luck next year though.
Enjoy prem and well done on winning the league.
Congrats to Cork and Shels. Good luck to Mons and Galway, an unbelievable opportunity for Mons, but if you can't beat them you'll struggle in the Premier..except against Dundalk maybe and Bohs :D
29/10/2011, 11:18 PM
Was wondering why there was no Athlone lineup on Extratime.
monutdfc
29/10/2011, 11:30 PM
Was wondering why there was no Athlone lineup on Extratime.I saw their teamsheet, don't know why the ET reporter wouldn't have
oriel
29/10/2011, 11:41 PM
Only seeing this now, I am delighted for Cork, only lost one game all year, thats champions. Unlucky shels, but they have the cup final and promotion, so I'm sure they'll get over it. Sorry to Cork fans, I paused on the 3/1 price a month ago, should have gone with my gut feeling and placed that damn bet. Anyway well done, thats a big win for you, enjoy
gufc2000
29/10/2011, 11:47 PM
I'm sorry but its usually the team who gets the most points that deserves to go up? Are you saying if a team draws all 30 matches but doesn't lose, does that mean they should go up?
Ye can have no excuses really for finishing 4th, ye had serious financial clout. Everyone wrote off Roddy and the Mons from the outset, but they proved the doubters wrong. They may not be the most glamorous or talented bunch ever, but it appears they play for each other, and get results. And Limerick's record against the top 3 was poor.
Still wouldn't ye out of the Premier equation though, depending on what goes on elsewhere
Park_Lane
30/10/2011, 12:10 AM
we're not up yet.......we still have to beat galway!!
formality really. will be good to have a new team in the prem also.
born2bwild
30/10/2011, 12:31 AM
"the bottom line can be as low as 50 euros (as you've learned this year), but that's the bottom line: anyone who puts loyalty before that doesn't have bills to pay." quote born2bwild from the pfai .
fingal fairy are you sean fifty euro maher representative of the loony group the pfai,
when the supporters in Galway were paying Shepard and O Donnells wages the year before the pfai wouldnt come out of Dublin to represent them as it wasnt worth their while as it was only 2 members. Representative body my arse. Langers & Looneys more like
The pfai, stewy byrne and sean fifty euro maher days are over, Galway Utd will still be alive in whatever division or u19 league we can survive in
Fingal fairy? Where are you getting the 'fairy' bit from?
Look, I don't like that players have to be paid for their services - but they do - the LoI is not the GAA. Sean Maher is a scabby bollock$ but his case brings into focus the basic reality that players are providing a service for which they should be paid. There's nothing 'loony' about that.
30/10/2011, 12:59 AM
Fingal fairy? Where are you getting the 'fairy' bit from?
Look, I don't like that players have to be paid for their services - but they do - the LoI is not the GAA. Sean Maher is a scabby bollock$ but his case brings into focus the basic reality that players are providing a service for which they should be paid. There's nothing 'loony' about that.
You don't like that the players have to be paid but they should be paid?
bluewhitearmy
30/10/2011, 1:14 AM
I'm sorry but its usually the team who gets the most points that deserves to go up? Are you saying if a team draws all 30 matches but doesn't lose, does that mean they should go up?
Ye can have no excuses really for finishing 4th, ye had serious financial clout. Everyone wrote off Roddy and the Mons from the outset, but they proved the doubters wrong. They may not be the most glamorous or talented bunch ever, but it appears they play for each other, and get results. And Limerick's record against the top 3 was poor.
Still wouldn't ye out of the Premier equation though, depending on what goes on elsewhere
Its usually the team that gets the most points on the pitch that deserve to go up that would be us.
You do realise in the middle of this crap talk about how they earned it that they only got up by way of things that happened off the pitch yes? So your talk that we can have no excuses is pure bull we did our job on the pitch.
Spudulika
30/10/2011, 5:45 AM
Don't think anyone did. They had a good nearly team last year, added to it and were clever on and off the pitch. The issue will now be whether they go bust chasing safety in the Premier or just continue their prudence and ethos of previous years.
GalwayRed
30/10/2011, 9:03 AM
Congrats to Cork on promotion. I'm not too worried about the league title. Promotion was the aim and we managed that but it's always frustrating to lose a game to a last minute goal.
On the game itself it was actually a pretty good match. Both teams went for it so it was end to end. I thought we looked very shaky the first ten minutes but then settled down. Casso took his goal very well and on another day Philly Hughes might have scored with one of those one on ones. I think a draw would've been a fair reflection of how the game went but once again we've managed to concede a late decider.
Cracking away support as well.
What is the prize money for winning the FD and coming second?
BulmersKid
30/10/2011, 9:21 AM
http://extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/4920
The FAI has announced the prize money for the 2011 Airtricity League. Prize money for the Airtricity Premier Division, First Division, FAI Cup and EA Sports Cup have all been confirmed.
The 2011 Airtricity Premier Division champions will receive €100,000, while the runners up will get €45,000. First Division champions will be awarded €25,000 with the runners up will pocketing €12,500.
€50,000 will go to the FAI Cup winners, with €25,000 going to the runners-up. The EA Sports Cup champions will collect €10,000. €5,000 will go to the losing team.
kevincronin2000
30/10/2011, 9:48 AM
First Division champions will be awarded €25,000 with the runners up will pocketing €12,500. Shelbourne made it up on the gate recipts from the travelling fans
GalwayRed
30/10/2011, 9:58 AM
Shelbourne made it up on the gate recipts from the travelling fans
We have at least €25k coming in from the cup next week anyway.
30/10/2011, 9:58 AM
The previous board cooked the books. The 400 Club alerted that to the FAI, who duly thanked them with stripping away the PD licence and docking us 8 points, including the 3 points won after the old board had stepped down. The 8 points was the difference between survival in the division and a sabbattical in the other.
Tough. You shouldn't have gotten a licence in the first place, and you think an 8 point deduction is unfair? If simply changing board made everything ok, then it'd be done countless times around the world to avoid any punishment. The club broke the rules and deserved what it got. That obviously doesn't take away from the commendable job the new board have done since.
born2bwild
30/10/2011, 10:16 AM
You don't like that the players have to be paid but they should be paid?]Yeah. I don't like that bills have to be paid but they should be paid if you want the lights/gas to work.
Personal preference and public necessity are different things.
You don't like paying rent to South Dublin Council but you should keep doing it (it's advisable, in your best interests etc etc)
MagicMon
30/10/2011, 10:42 AM
Its usually the team that gets the most points on the pitch that deserve to go up that would be us.
You do realise in the middle of this crap talk about how they earned it that they only got up by way of things that happened off the pitch yes? So your talk that we can have no excuses is pure bull we did our job on the pitch.
So if the Brennans had played v limerick, and it had ended up 0-0, that would have all been fine?
bluewhitearmy
30/10/2011, 10:48 AM
So if the Brennans had played v limerick, and it had ended up 0-0, that would have all been fine?
They were suspended they got the red cards in a senior game so its not the same thing at all sad to even suggest it is.
I didnt know why we were complaining 1st about the Harps thing until i was shown something that will win us the case if it gets heard which it more then likely wont.
born2bwild
30/10/2011, 10:58 AM
Congrats to Cork on promotion. I'm not too worried about the league title. Promotion was the aim and we managed that but it's always frustrating to lose a game to a last minute goal.
On the game itself it was actually a pretty good match. Both teams went for it so it was end to end. I thought we looked very shaky the first ten minutes but then settled down. Casso took his goal very well and on another day Philly Hughes might have scored with one of those one on ones. I think a draw would've been a fair reflection of how the game went but once again we've managed to concede a late decider.
Cracking away support as well.
Carlsberg don't do Magnanimity ....(or exceedingly good cakes)
30/10/2011, 11:00 AM
Yeah. I don't like that bills have to be paid but they should be paid if you want the lights/gas to work.
In fairness, paying for things is a fundamental fact of life, and how the world works. There's no point not liking it. I'm not sure what you mean by differentiating between personal preference and public necessity - you're under no obligation to have lights and gas, so that strikes me as a personal preference. And has nothing at all to do with LoI clubs paying players (which money they generally deserve)
KUFCMan
30/10/2011, 11:19 AM
Has anybody ot the Athlone team from last nite please?
born2bwild
30/10/2011, 11:44 AM
In fairness, paying for things is a fundamental fact of life, and how the world works. There's no point not liking it. I'm not sure what you mean by differentiating between personal preference and public necessity - you're under no obligation to have lights and gas, so that strikes me as a personal preference. And has nothing at all to do with LoI clubs paying players (which money they generally deserve)
The phrase 'I may not like that players have to be paid' was a rhetorical device intended to express sympathy (for the purposes of argument) with those who criticise players for being 'mercenaries'. In truth, I accept that players have to be paid, of course they do, but the accusation that such and such a player is a mercenary implies that players should in fact be playing for something other than their pay cheque. What's the opposite of a mercenary? Someone who plays purely out of loyalty to his club? That's the GAA, not the LoI.
I'm not sure what you don't understand about the 'bills' analogy: I would like to live in a world where I got expensive things cheaper. Cheap gas, good; dear gas, bad....Cheap players playing for loyalty, good; Dear players having to be paid, bad.
But I don't live in that world, so, yeah, it is pointless not liking it. For the same reason, it's pointless and meaningless to call people mercenaries.
30/10/2011, 12:11 PM
Alan Mathews on Newstalk now.
Anyway, on last night. I'm very happy I wasn't able to post from my phone because I would have said a lot of bitter post-match things that were not really appropriate. See the GAA forum.
Still smarting from the loss especially considering the manner in how it happened. Once Cork scored though we took it to them and for the rest of the first half we were incredible. And were unlucky that we didn't go into the second half in the lead.
It was very clear with the score in Lissywoollen that Cork had settled on the draw.
And as is always the way it goes with us we switched off in the last minute.
Congratulations to Cork. Incredible atmosphere last night. It was unbelievable feeling to be there considering what was at stake and the memories of being at horrible pre-season games in Ashtown a few years ago.
Showed that the best 2 teams are deserved to be up and the quality of ball that they are capable off.
Praying that we can keep Casso next year.
Thought the ref had a great game to be honest bar the confusion with the injury time board which went kaput at half time. Hopefully Mons do the business against Galway. Roll on 2012.
30/10/2011, 12:23 PM
I would like to live in a world where I got expensive things cheaper. Cheap gas, good; dear gas, bad
Going way off topic, but that's far too simplistic a view. Things get cheaper mainly because the people supplying get downward pressure on their wages. That's not necessarily a good thing (look at Walmart for an extreme example, but there's plenty of other examples).
I'd also be fairly sure that your idea that paying E50 a week is the difference between a admirable, loyal, community-involved GAA player into a nasty, soccer mercenary is way too naive. (I know you didn't use most of those exact terms, but they're kind of implied by your repeated differentiation between GAA players and LoI players; I've used terms which would usually be thought of as the opposite of "mercenary" in extrapolating your view of GAA players)
adamd164
30/10/2011, 12:27 PM
Alan Mathews on Newstalk now
What's he on about 'we had the three highest goalscorers in the league'? Cummins was top scorer in the division.
El-Pietro
30/10/2011, 12:37 PM
is Alan Mathews the biggest bottler in Irish football? Has he ever won a big league game. obviously hes done well in cups
GalwayRed
30/10/2011, 12:43 PM
I wouldn't have been so magnanimous had I posted straight after the game. There's no point getting too worried about it though. The important thing was promotion and we got that.
30/10/2011, 1:03 PM
is Alan Mathews the biggest bottler in Irish football? Has he ever won a big league game. obviously hes done well in cups
Jaysus. Ye won the league.
What's he on about 'we had the three highest goalscorers in the league'? Cummins was top scorer in the division.
I had made that assumption about Philly as well. But I think his point was well made about breaking up your season into smaller goals.
He also said that we had the meanest defence but Lims had that.
atfconline
30/10/2011, 1:28 PM
I saw their teamsheet, don't know why the ET reporter wouldn't have
If ET had anyone in the press box, they got a teamsheet.
Has anybody ot the Athlone team from last nite please?
Michael Schlingermann, Damien Rushe, Jaime Carr, Mark Walshe, Paul Danaher, Roy King, Davy Ryan, Stephen Relihan, Kevin Williamson, Jason Hughes, Mark Sherlock. SUBS: Tommy Barrett for King (HT), Declan Fallon for Carr (62), Niall Boland for Rushe (63).
Just to point out, there was one change (McGee injured) in the line-up last night from the team that LIMERICK beat in our last game.
They do do alcohol which makes people forget bad nights :D
born2bwild
30/10/2011, 1:47 PM
They do do alcohol which makes people forget bad nights :D
I hope you won't need it for that purpose on Thursday.