View Full Version : Jeff Hendrick M Derby County b.1992

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [15]

GerryNonDePlume
31/05/2024, 8:44 PM
Hendrick's a strange one. Went from performing well at Premier League level on a reasonably consistent basis to not getting a look in at one of the worst teams in the Championship in relatively short order. Newcastle was an awful move in hindsight. Seems to be a victim of moving to a team that was in the process of getting money to spend. Can't understand why Wednesday couldn't find a role for him, even after coming off the bench to net an important last minute equaliser earlier in the season. It's not because he's a bad trainer. He keeps himself in great condition, even off season.

Hopefully he gets a Championship move. Seems to have the profile that Turkish, Greek, and other teams on the continent would go for as well. I wouldn't be averse to him getting a look in in the future if he gets his club future sorted out, given how threadbare we are there at the moment.

texidub
01/06/2024, 6:54 AM
Yep. It's a crazy short-lived career choice so they have to make money as fast and as best they can - and unless you know the ins and outs of someone's life, I wouldn't judge. I will judge haircuts though since there is only so much silliness a pro football team should tolerate and Hendrick has failed us all in that department.

irishfan86
01/06/2024, 7:11 AM
Hendrick’s best years where when he played in a more advanced position, almost like a No. 10 although much of his running was closing down rather playing in an attacking way on the ball — though he had that in his game as we saw at Euro 2016.

I don’t know if his legs went or if he somehow got typecast as a holding midfielder—but that was never really his skillset when he was at his best. He ended up playing there for us sort of out of necessity given the horrible generation of midfielders we’ve had this decade, but yeah for me not his best position.

Maybe can still do a job at Championship level but wouldn’t be surprised if he has to leave England for a contract.

elatedscum
01/06/2024, 10:03 AM
I always blamed Sean Dyche. Dyche basically gave him 3 jobs: win second balls high up the pitch (long balls will be flicked on to you), feed the ball out to your nearest winger, press high if you don’t win the ball. All his natural footballing ability was sublimated for years and his dribbling, quick feet and creativity were taken out of his game for years and years… really went backwards as a footballer

JR89
01/06/2024, 12:33 PM
I always blamed Sean Dyche. Dyche basically gave him 3 jobs: win second balls high up the pitch (long balls will be flicked on to you), feed the ball out to your nearest winger, press high if you don’t win the ball. All his natural footballing ability was sublimated for years and his dribbling, quick feet and creativity were taken out of his game for years and years… really went backwards as a footballer

Yeah damn that dastardly Sean Dyche. Paying a club record fee for him when they got promoted, and helped turn him into an established PL player. 122 PL appearances in four seasons with a 107 starts. Damn that dastardly Dyche for ruining his career like that.

ColourfulPeanut
01/06/2024, 2:32 PM
Yeah damn that dastardly Sean Dyche. Paying a club record fee for him when they got promoted, and helped turn him into an established PL player. 122 PL appearances in four seasons with a 107 starts. Damn that dastardly Dyche for ruining his career like that.

It's about one step short of the usual Irish football trope.

"He should have moved to the continent. Where the slower more technical style of football would have suited him better and he would have turned into a superstar."

- Lad who once played as Ajax on Football Manager and watched Football Italia on Channel 4, 25 years ago

Fixer82
02/06/2024, 4:33 PM
He was excellent in three out of four of our games in Euro 2016 and had some great moments in those qualifiers.
Unfortunately, that was his peak

Eirambler
25/10/2024, 9:13 AM
Almost three months into the season now and Jeff is still clubless. Are we to take it that he's effectively retired now? Would have thought there would be a contract for him in the Middle East, US or Australia if he wanted it. It's some drop off for him, he is still only 32 and was capped by Ireland as recently as last summer.

Diggs246
25/10/2024, 10:17 AM
I met him and his wife once, the wife is a Scottish stunner and Jeff I have to say did not go to "Betty Ann Norton"

Not one word out of his mouth was English, so basically Australia is perfect

Demesne Lad
01/02/2025, 3:19 PM
Turned 33 yesterday. Is Hendrick still out of the game, or have I missed something?

Eirambler
01/02/2025, 3:21 PM
Money made, feet up.

01/02/2025, 3:22 PM
No, you haven't missed anything. You'd think he'd get something in MLS or the A League in Australia

samhaydenjr
01/02/2025, 8:14 PM
No, you haven't missed anything. You'd think he'd get something in MLS or the A League in Australia

Not good enough to be a Marquee Designated Player in the MLS, but probably too expensive to fall within the salary cap unless he takes a big cut. That said, Kevin Long is at Toronto FC, within the cap.

elatedscum
01/02/2025, 10:20 PM
If I was him and there were no decent championship offers or anything exciting in Europe, I’d definitely have signed in LOI by now, any of Pats, Rovers or Shels. Back in Dublin, European football etc etc. could well be the best player in the league - it hurts me to see cause I would have given so much to have that footballing ability to play for my country or for a living and I would have eeked every game out of it

Eirambler
01/02/2025, 10:59 PM
Is there a danger he'd go back to the LoI now and just be kind of average at that level though? He had three Championship loans during his time at Newcastle and looked poor in all three. He was one of those players who, by 30, looked miles off the player he was at 25. Same as James McCarthy. Don't know if it was a miles on the clock thing, or if the way he was used at Burnley chasing second balls for years just sucked the footballing ability out of him. He was so lucky to get that Bosman move to Newcastle before the Saudis bought them, that contract will have left him on easy street for life.

Olé Olé
02/02/2025, 12:42 PM
Is there a danger he'd go back to the LoI now and just be kind of average at that level though? He had three Championship loans during his time at Newcastle and looked poor in all three. He was one of those players who, by 30, looked miles off the player he was at 25. Same as James McCarthy. Don't know if it was a miles on the clock thing, or if the way he was used at Burnley chasing second balls for years just sucked the footballing ability out of him. He was so lucky to get that Bosman move to Newcastle before the Saudis bought them, that contract will have left him on easy street for life.
No, there isn't that danger. Come on.

Eirambler
02/02/2025, 12:55 PM
Honestly, he's 33 now and he's been **** for about three years, maybe longer. I could see him being pretty average at any level at this stage.

Colbert Report
02/02/2025, 5:09 PM
Come on guys, with the exception of Damien Duff, who came back and played nine matches in the LoI ten years ago, no established international player is going to come back to play in Ireland. Hendrick made a pile of money off that last contract with Newcastle and can live comfortably for the rest of his life. No need to risk an injury playing in front of a few hundred people on terrible pitches when he can kick back and go for a swim in his private swimming pool instead.

02/02/2025, 5:49 PM
Jaysus - someone hasn't been watching LoI lately

03/02/2025, 8:58 AM
Come on guys, with the exception of Damien Duff, who came back and played nine matches in the LoI ten years ago, no established international player is going to come back to play in Ireland. Hendrick made a pile of money off that last contract with Newcastle and can live comfortably for the rest of his life. No need to risk an injury playing in front of a few hundred people on terrible pitches when he can kick back and go for a swim in his private swimming pool instead.

Have seen a fair few clueless posts on here over the years but this one takes the entire biscuit tin. Fair play.

01/03/2025, 5:37 PM
Linked with promotion-chasing moneybags Wrexham (https://www.thewrexhaminsider.com/opinion/wrexham-could-sign-ex-premier-league-star-on-free-transfer-after-devastating-andy-cannon-blow/)

seanfhear
01/03/2025, 6:11 PM
Linked with promotion-chasing moneybags Wrexham (https://www.thewrexhaminsider.com/opinion/wrexham-could-sign-ex-premier-league-star-on-free-transfer-after-devastating-andy-cannon-blow/)
Could the Hendricks Midas touch / signing strike again ? !

09/03/2025, 8:02 PM
Returns to Derby (https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/articles/c8d47ql86r3o). A surprisingly decent club given how long he's been unattached.

Demesne Lad
09/03/2025, 8:18 PM
A deal to the end of the season, i.e. 10 games, presumably in the hope that he can add something positive in the dressing room rather than on the pitch.