View Full Version : Jeff Hendrick M Derby County b.1992

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 14 15

04/02/2017, 2:45 PM
I thought it looked bad from the first angle but pretty innocuous from the second angle. I think a yellow card would have sufficed rather than ruin the game as a spectacle after 5 minutes. It didn't help that Holebas rolled around like he had been shot.Maybe, but referees are very clear with studs up challenges nowadays and players are warned beforehand so Hendrick can have no complaints. How much contact is largely irrevalant after that.

TheOneWhoKnocks
27/03/2017, 2:14 PM
Key players Michael Keane has been the stand-out player and won his place in the England squad on merit. Elsewhere, Jeff Hendrick in midfield and Ben Mee alongside Keane at the back are having excellent seasons too.

https://www.theguardian.com/football/2017/mar/26/premier-league-fans-verdicts-run-in-arsenal-manchester-city

27/03/2017, 4:30 PM
What about Robbie's goal for Villa: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RfZcd_MOd64

Actually, there a few of Robbie's in PL that are absolute crackers.

There was a Matt Holland goal also from a ridiculous angle that I could never find on youtube. anyone remember?

Not the one against Portugal I assume h_9f5-6Bvc0

04/04/2017, 8:06 PM
from BBC:

The Clarets' first real chance of the game results in the opener as Jeff Hendrick beats a couple of players to get into the box and then feeds the ball for George Boyd, who sweeps home.

04/04/2017, 8:32 PM
from BBC:https://my.mixtape.moe/urgxpl.mp4

Fixer82
04/04/2017, 9:00 PM
Not the one against Portugal I assume h_9f5-6Bvc0

No it was for Charlton I think

DeLorean
04/04/2017, 9:39 PM
https://my.mixtape.moe/urgxpl.mp4

Lovely stuff even if the attempted challenges were a bit lackadaisical, shades of his run against Georgia. Great that he can do these things when his side badly needs something and Burnley really needed that.

mark12345
04/04/2017, 10:42 PM
Lovely stuff even if the attempted challenges were a bit lackadaisical, shades of his run against Georgia. Great that he can do these things when his side badly needs something and Burnley really needed that.

He put the goal on a plate for Boyd. But Jeff really needs to get on the ball more for club and country. We're really going to need the best out of him on June 11 versus Austria.

06/04/2017, 11:33 PM
https://my.mixtape.moe/urgxpl.mp4

I note it starts with an deliberately under hit pass by Brady, very clever, I expect they have been practising that trick all week.

DeLorean
17/05/2017, 9:07 AM
Hendrick's goal against Bournemouth made the Sky Sports shortlist for goal of the season. It finished 8th in the voting with Emre Can's recent goal against Watford winning out. - http://www.skysports.com/football/news/11095/10879331/emre-can-wins-monday-night-football-goal-of-the-season-viewer-vote

However, it did take the honours at the Burnley awards night - http://www.player.burnleyfootballclub.com/latest-news/f199d567-c049-4b93-9adf-0b6f38d26a7b

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3LpU-wE9m1E

DeLorean
14/06/2017, 11:12 AM
A piece about Hendrick before the Austria match from The Opel Jersey website here - http://opeljersey.com/new-blog/2017/6/9/we-need-to-talk-about-jeff

I don't agree that the number ten is his most natural position by a long shot, but otherwise not a bad analysis.

14/06/2017, 11:48 AM
Anyone notice him turning down a good chance to shoot with his left in the first half? The ball sat up nicely for the hit but he tried a pass instead. Against Sweden and Italy he nearly scored from a similar position. Each of those near misses set the tone for a good performance, player and team. What a difference a year makes.

DeLorean
14/06/2017, 12:19 PM
Strange alright. I've watched a lot of him over the years and his performances do tend to go stale from time to time. Maybe he just needs a little break from football which he will get now (although the imminent court case won't do much to help him unwind).

A year ago he had just finished a season in and out of an under-performing Championship team whereas now he has been an ever present in an overachieving Premier League team. If anything his confidence should at an all time high. He was out of action for a few weeks near the end of the 2015/16 season though, so maybe that reinvigorated his performances in France. He looked a lot more energetic than he appears at the moment. No doubt the buzz of the tournament played its part too.

14/06/2017, 1:49 PM
He was a better player for us when he was in the Championship. Others have been down the years too. EPL status isn't the be all and end all, though MON places a lot of stock in it.

DeLorean
14/06/2017, 2:15 PM
Might help to stop messing around with his position too to be fair.

TrapAPony
14/06/2017, 10:28 PM
He was a better player for us when he was in the Championship. Others have been down the years too. EPL status isn't the be all and end all, though MON places a lot of stock in it.

One could say he was a better player for us when he was trying to impress and get a move away from Derby to the Premiership. Since he got his transfer, he hasn't bothered too much. Jeff does look like he has some quality but very rarely delivers in an Irish shirt, more often that not he is Mr. Anonymous.

DeLorean
14/06/2017, 10:33 PM
One could say that alright, if one was ridiculously unfair.

14/06/2017, 10:35 PM
I wouldn't be so sure it's lack of effort. Against Austria he just looked confused and out of place.

TrapAPony
15/06/2017, 2:05 AM
One could say that alright, if one was ridiculously unfair.
I don't think it's unfair. Jeff can do far better than he's doing.

15/06/2017, 7:39 AM
It's not just as simple as "he's out of his depth in the premier league" he 's also left the club he's been with since he was 16, had to move house, and justify being Burnley's record signing. He has talent, we've all seen it, so maybe not write him off just yet

DeLorean
15/06/2017, 8:58 AM
Dyche is obviously happy enough with him. It's not like he'd have any problem dropping their record signing, just ask Robbie Brady.

Anyway, there's a big difference between under-performing and not trying.

Fizzer
04/07/2017, 4:07 PM
I see Jeff's trial was due to start today. I've an opinion on the appropriateness of what he's been charged with, and can see why he would plead not guilty but not sure if mods would prefer us to refrain from comment until the conclusion of the trial. For what it's worth, what I was going to raise would be a matter for the judge to deal with in the absence of the jury.

DannyInvincible
05/07/2017, 1:33 PM
What is supposed to have happened - "drunken handbags" - is already being reported in the media: https://www.rte.ie/news/2017/0705/887964-jeff-hendrick/

DeLorean
05/07/2017, 2:47 PM
He accepted he had sent a message to Jeff Hendrick months after the event saying "I'm looking forward to ending your career".

He also accepted he had sent a message saying "I'll dance on your brother, your mother and your Dad's head. You're a scumbag."

Ah Jaysus... Goodnight, Irene!

Fizzer
05/07/2017, 3:59 PM
It just occurred to me that trying to make an offence of violent disorder stick may be problematic for the DPP as against Jeff. As far as I can tell it's just him and Doran who are charged with violent disorder, Doran also being charged with s3 assault. It occurred to me that if you look at the wording s15 of the Public Order Act 1994, the requirement is that 3 or more people must use or threaten to use unlawful violence. I think the offence replaces the common law offences of 'riot' and 'tumult'. The intent behind the creation of the offence by the legislature as far as I can tell is if there's argy-bargy between a crowd of people and the DPP can't specifically distinguish between the actions of the individuals in the group that would constitute offences of assault, then they proffer a charge of violent disorder against the entire group to try and convict them all (or at least 3 of them) in relation to the same event.

However, in Jeff's case, there's only two guys charged. If the prosecution intend to allege that there were more than two guys engaged in the violent disorder then who are those other people?............and why haven't they been charged with a similar offence?

05/07/2017, 6:35 PM
Maybr jeff will become a superstar after this once he knows yer man cant curtail him from ruining his career

06/07/2017, 11:38 AM
What's the world coming to when a taxi offers no sanctuary.
That if you have managed to escape the baying mob, jump into a taxi, lock the doors and utter the immortal line "lets get outta here", that instead of the sound of burning rubber as the taxi scoots to safety, all the poor beleaguered escapee hears is the sound of the door being unlocked.

06/07/2017, 12:54 PM
Maybr jeff will become a superstar after this once he knows yer man cant curtail him from ruining his career
If your man is the only thing curtailing Jeff from ruining his career then it sounds like Jeff is finished.

07/07/2017, 11:43 AM
not guilty...

https://www.rte.ie/news/ireland/2017/0707/888493-jeff-hendrick-court/

DeLorean
07/07/2017, 12:01 PM
Mr. Doran taking one for the team :)

07/07/2017, 3:57 PM
What's the world coming to when a taxi offers no sanctuary.
That if you have managed to escape the baying mob, jump into a taxi, lock the doors and utter the immortal line "lets get outta here", that instead of the sound of burning rubber as the taxi scoots to safety, all the poor beleaguered escapee hears is the sound of the door being unlocked.

I bet he was a jonny foreigner

07/07/2017, 3:58 PM
Mr. Doran taking one for the team :)

The non famous one always geta done....jeff better lool after him now

Olé Olé
07/07/2017, 5:28 PM
I think it's a bit more serious than being provoked and slapping someone.

He instigated the fight, he dragged the - unwilling - participant out of a taxi and cowardly battered him with his mates.

He should get a small prison sentence but this is Ireland, you can glass someone on your 68th occasion before the courts and you will just get another suspended sentence.

Self-vindication after Grealish should be balanced by this...

07/07/2017, 11:14 PM
How many times did Jeff (when in the dock) just happen to mention in passing that he played football for Ireland, that if he had 1 fit leg he would be chasing Fritz around the pitch and only because he was such a famous footballer in the cause of mother Ireland, that he was here now in the dock facing these petty charges.

Fizzer
07/07/2017, 11:33 PM
think he exercised his right to silence

08/07/2017, 9:34 AM
Then it was the defence counsel on Jeff's behalf, waving the green jersey with gusto.

01/10/2017, 1:57 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=46nWHV35RA8

Nice goal from Henrik!! :p

01/10/2017, 4:22 PM
Well the video is gone now, however it is still in my browser cache, the assist was from Ward, so a a very much made in Ireland goal, nice play from the two of them lovely footwork from Hendrick although in reality he did next to nothing just a bit of a shimmy

01/10/2017, 8:00 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E7uo7RFy3I0 1.40ish

01/10/2017, 9:47 PM
the build up to that goal was fantastic, the finish itself was fairly straightforward.
Celtic's opener during the week was a similar goal except the finish came at the far post instead of near the penalty spot

DannyInvincible
01/10/2017, 10:02 PM
the build up to that goal was fantastic

I believe it involved 38 passes without interception.

01/10/2017, 10:03 PM
Highlight here, in good quality.

http://footyroom.com/matches/79940569/everton-vs-burnley/review

at 1.18 ish.

Note Brady is invoked in the move as well, so very much made in Ireland, pity they can't do that when playing for Ireland!!! :p

Well hopefully thing will gel in the next couple of games, but a nice quality more and goal, hopefully it will help get the confidence back.

Also a bit of nice play from Ward prior to that clearing a goal bound ball, who overtakes Duffy in the stats!!

That is two Irish in the top 50. (43 & 46), oh and Brady bubbling under at no 52!!

Will be interesting to see how Burnley fair this season they are currently 6th.

It is possible they go 3rd if they win their next match and neither Chelsea and Arsenal (they are both away from home).

What odds Champions league football next season?

They are about 100-1 for a top 6 finish and 150-1 to 250-1 for a top 4.

01/10/2017, 10:07 PM
the finish itself was fairly straightforward.
The finish I thought, was superb, simply giving the keeper eyes and not smashing the ball, he sends keeper wrong way, makes Keane close his legs instead of spreading himself and confuses Williams. Works great in training, because make defenders feel stupid but takes nerve to try in a match environment.
http://imgtc.b-cdn.net/w/UP373nC

01/10/2017, 10:12 PM
I meant the actual final shot was a straightfoward sidefoot. The sidestep, finding space in a crowded area, taking two defenders and Schneiderlin out of it, and wrong footing the goalkeeper was excellent.

Olé Olé
01/10/2017, 10:15 PM
I can't see what he actually did with that first touch. Would love to see it from another angle. Looks like it must have been sumptuous from this one.

01/10/2017, 11:13 PM
I can't see what he actually did with that first touch. Would love to see it from another angle. Looks like it must have been sumptuous from this one.

You can actually slow it down to half speed on that video, not that it helps much, anyhow it looked good cool as a cucumber.

I think basically he let the ball do all the work and took it later than expected and sent the keeper the wrong way.

He seems good at anticipating what other players will do, they expected him to do something but he did next to nothing, very clever!

02/10/2017, 11:44 AM
He has great feet.

https://streamable.com/x1fi

Philly
30/10/2017, 8:41 PM
Goal tonight v. Newcastle: https://cdn.imgtc.com/uploads/9njNtPXusiC.mp4

Good for his confidence before the Denmark game, he seems be be finding form again this season.

30/10/2017, 9:53 PM
his 30th goal at club level

Olé Olé
18/11/2017, 3:11 PM
After both being fairly ineffectual on Tuesday night, Hendrick and Brady have both managed to nab assists in their first half back with their clubs.