View Full Version : 2011 Presidential Election- Start of Campaign Poll

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7

TiocfaidhArmani
05/10/2011, 4:41 PM
McGuinness released his bank statement today to show what he is paid by the party. I'm on slightly more than him ffs :D Mitchell says he still doesn't believe him. He would say that though.

culloty82
05/10/2011, 8:20 PM
Irish Times/MRBI Poll:

Higgins 23%
Gallagher 20%
McGuinness 19%
Davis 12%
Norris 11%
Mitchell 9%
Dana 6%

Just when you think the evil empire is dead!

05/10/2011, 9:58 PM
that was done on Monday. Let's see what the post-debate poll is like. Higgins is next too unassailable now. Gallagher isn't transfer friendly.

TiocfaidhArmani
06/10/2011, 10:02 AM
When you have someone who needed to stand on a box during a debate and looks like a nutty professor folk abroad are gonna laugh when he comes in representing us!

06/10/2011, 11:45 AM
When you have someone who needed to stand on a box during a debate and looks like a nutty professor folk abroad are gonna laugh when he comes in representing us!
Maybe we should introduce height restrictions, as well as age ones?

06/10/2011, 12:33 PM

Compared to Sarkozy?

legendz
06/10/2011, 12:34 PM
Couldn't disagree more.

Higgins was way out in front.
McGuinness and Mitchell joint-second.

Norris had a bad debate and didn't come across well.

The two "Independent FFers" were woeful.

And Dana was... yeah.

Higgins did nothing in the debate, same last Friday night. It's seems to be a good move though, when he is polling well there's no need.

cornflakes
06/10/2011, 12:45 PM
Irish Times/MRBI Poll:

Higgins 23%
Gallagher 20%
McGuinness 19%
Davis 12%
Norris 11%
Mitchell 9%
Dana 6%

Just when you think the evil empire is dead!

Interestingly Gallagher has no votes here but according to the two recent poles its a race between him and Higgins.

Would anyone change their preference to him?

06/10/2011, 5:42 PM
Nope. As Mr A said ever so eloquently a while ago, I would crawl out of my grave to vote against him.

legendz
06/10/2011, 6:10 PM
Liek Higgins, not getting involved seems to be a good ploy. I wasn't satisfied with Gallagher's answers to Vincent Browne's grilling regards his time with Fianna Fail and his inability to inspire within Fianna Fail then when they were ruining the country. The same goes for Davis, she failed to answer how she showed leadership in the boards she was in and the bank she was linked to.the
Someone on Today FM articulated what I was thinking on Mitchell, he is doing what any Fine Gael person would do in his position, attack the IRA man seeking office.

07/10/2011, 8:37 AM
Gallagher getting 75% of the FF vote, and FF frontbenchers haven't been able to resist coming out and backing one of their own. I don't know whether it'll come back to bite him - maybe he put to bed him being on the FF NEC up until this year, and launching several FF campaigns in February, early on when only the political geeks were paying attention.

legendz
07/10/2011, 12:14 PM
He is 100% FF. The FF gangsters will always be around. It's just the way it is in Ireland.

Battery Rover
08/10/2011, 7:33 PM
Copy of his resignation letter

http://pix.ie/davidcochrane/2578444

My reading of that is he resigned from the national executive but it doesn't state he has resigned from Fianna Fail

Wolfman
10/10/2011, 11:57 AM
Why is the poll closed?

10/10/2011, 11:58 AM
I think it was only open for a set time (like ten days)

10/10/2011, 12:12 PM
Yeah, I set it for 7 days. The intention was to maybe have another poll closer to the day to see if things had changed at all, and maybe an exit poll as well.

10/10/2011, 12:32 PM
For those not registered today is the last day. COB at your Local Authority's offices is the deadline.

Real ale Madrid
10/10/2011, 6:31 PM
Just listening to Dana's interview on PK today. Jaysus she is off her cake.

11/10/2011, 8:32 AM
Martin McGuinness is on NewsTALK. Handling the questions about membership of the IRA well.

11/10/2011, 10:41 AM
Martin McGuinness is on NewsTALK. Handling the questions about membership of the IRA well.

Name, rank and serial number all the way then?:skeleton:

12/10/2011, 9:05 PM
She is trying to conduct a hatchet job on McGuinness and she's failing miserably.

Well, without doubt that was the worst "debate" in the history of politics. Dana is a spacecadet!!!

13/10/2011, 8:19 AM
Didn't bother, as O'Callaghan is brutal. However, I heard the Dana end piece.... :doctor: (is there a men in white coats thingy?)

TiocfaidhArmani
13/10/2011, 2:32 PM
McGuinness has been grilled like that all his life, the likes of Miriam won't be a problem. I didn't see the debate but I heard she was a terrible host constantly interrupting people. Shame the likes of Dana and Davis are running, they're just boring and a waste of time really.

13/10/2011, 3:22 PM
McGuinness has been grilled like that all his life, the likes of Miriam won't be a problem.
So why did he complain in person, and some shinners send an email to get people to complain? The commentary I've heard on it (even on Pat Kenny!) was that he is right to be peed off, but I haven't heard it suggested that he dealt with it particularly well.

I've heard a few other snippets - anyone want to deny Sean Gallagher is an unofficial FF candidate now? Even todays half arsed attempt at answering the question hours later, he still puts in a bit about Martin doing well!?!

14/10/2011, 12:03 PM
McGuinness is a bit too thin skinned over the grilling. He can reply firmly and authoritative. Anyone that could take a 6 day and night interrogation at castlereagh without blinking once, you'd imagine that Miriam should not get under his skin.
If it was Bernadette mcAliskey being grilled, she would have ripped Miriam to absolute shreds.

Spudulika
14/10/2011, 2:17 PM
Watched the "debate" today. What a load of crap RTE are handing out to those who fund it. MOC was awful, she showed herself up to be biased, unable to handle proper debate and while slightly better than VB or RT, she was still dreadful. She made nasty comments towards MMCG that should be brought up to the Media watchdog and she should be suspended for them. The one that sickened me most was when the candidates were bickering and MMCG said - "I'll act as peacemaker" and she sneered "you're being ironic". That is bias, that is unprofessional and RTE should be ashamed of themselves. I'm going to be back for the election and my MD vote is beginning to turn green in colour, simply to stick it up the "meejas" backsides.

14/10/2011, 2:43 PM
Most of what has been reported has been just Indo crap. I'm with McGuinness on this one.

I mean in the Herald yesterday Miriam was given a 9/10.

TiocfaidhArmani
14/10/2011, 2:49 PM
So why did he complain in person, and some shinners send an email to get people to complain? The commentary I've heard on it (even on Pat Kenny!) was that he is right to be peed off, but I haven't heard it suggested that he dealt with it particularly well.

Why does he complain? Of course he should complain if he's been treated harshly, that's not to say he's not well able for it, that's beside the point.

Most of what has been reported has been just Indo crap. I'm with McGuinness on this one.

I mean in the Herald yesterday Miriam was given a 9/10.

That sums up the Independent Group for you. That said their British version is a fantastic liberal newspaper that I buy without fail. I wish their Irish side would take note about reporting news and not their own opinions.

14/10/2011, 3:57 PM
The London independent is no longer owned by INM. But you are right in what you say.

Spud, agree with you that a complaint should be made.

14/10/2011, 4:59 PM
There is no doubt that O'Callaghan leapt across the boundaries of equitable treatment when it came to McGuinness.
The southern reactionaries just can't restrain themselves.

Anyone got the feeling that there is another race, the race to be regarded as the most victimised candidate.
Dana is making the most effort, followed by Norris and McGuinness.
But the difference is that Dana invents the persecution.

Spudulika
14/10/2011, 9:18 PM
Dana might not have been making anything up. http://www.rte.ie/news/2011/1014/president.html

I wonder what is the exact nature of the allegations, before she went off on a solo run I liked some of what she said. She's no dummy and I'd give her a vote before MDH, he just doesn't deserve to get the job.

Anyone else think Sean Gallagher isn't crafty enough to win? I know he'll be protected to a degree by his meeja luvvy friends, same as with MDH and DN, but he's just a bit soft.

Gay Mitchell is doing the wrong thing going after MMCG, he should just stick to saying what he's done rather than try to rubbish others.

15/10/2011, 12:23 PM
Dana might not have been making anything up. http://www.rte.ie/news/2011/1014/president.html
No one said she was making it up - she was nuts to put it in the public domain by default. First thing everyone did was go digging, and there it is on a US website...

culloty82
15/10/2011, 7:45 PM
Looks like it'll be seven years of President Gallagher!

Gallagher 39%
Higgins 27%
McGuinness 13%
Mitchell 8%
Norris 7%
Davis 4%
Dana 2%

15/10/2011, 9:09 PM
I have missed a big chunk of what Gallagher has done to attract such popularity. Or is it just the FF vote finding its way home?
It looks like Michael D has an upper limit to his popularity.

Spudulika
15/10/2011, 9:14 PM
There is no doubt that O'Callaghan leapt across the boundaries of equitable treatment when it came to McGuinness.
The southern reactionaries just can't restrain themselves.

Anyone got the feeling that there is another race, the race to be regarded as the most victimised candidate.
Dana is making the most effort, followed by Norris and McGuinness.
But the difference is that Dana invents the persecution.

No one said she was making it up - she was nuts to put it in the public domain by default. First thing everyone did was go digging, and there it is on a US website...

Em, actually.......Geysir kinda did. She had to put it in th epublic domain as it was about to come out anyway. Could get rough for her.

15/10/2011, 9:39 PM
Looks like it'll be seven years of President Gallagher

I don't think it's over yet. Every poll seems to have a different leader. Although I'm glad to see the flip-flopper in 5th place, and his early momentum floundering.

16/10/2011, 11:34 AM
Em, actually.......Geysir kinda did. She had to put it in th epublic domain as it was about to come out anyway. Could get rough for her.
You are correct, Dana didn't invent the allegations.
However, she invents her victimhood. She is a classic victim.

16/10/2011, 12:26 PM
I have missed a big chunk of what Gallagher has done to attract such popularity. Or is it just the FF vote finding its way home?
It's a bit worrying really - barely a year since they brought in the IMF, already that 40% of the electorate has forgetten and is willing to vote in someone who was on the FF NEC when the party was signing away our sovereignty! It's quite unbelievable that forgiveness has come so quick.

Caveat is that this poll was taken before he couldn't bring himself to condemn the last FF Government on Prime Time, and then lied about not having the chance to do so the next day (despite being asked several times by O'Callaghan!)

17/10/2011, 4:09 PM
But - he's the cool guy on Dragons' Den. And promised that he'd use no election posters. You have to vote for him!

juan
18/10/2011, 10:32 PM
This morning I found a Martin McGuinness election flyer under my car….. old habits die hard I guess!

18/10/2011, 11:17 PM
But - he's the cool guy on Dragons' Den. And promised that he'd use no election posters. You have to vote for him!

My sister said she was voting for him.

I explained he is an FFer.

She has changed to Dana.

SUCCESS!!!

20/10/2011, 9:19 AM
And to think people on the other thread claimed Gallagher wasn't an FFer... http://www.broadsheet.ie/2011/10/20/sean-is-about-to-have-a-very-bad-day/

In other news, could even Mossad puncture a tyre in Carrick, and it only blow in Kilcock?

20/10/2011, 9:35 AM
It's a bit worrying really - barely a year since they brought in the IMF, already that 40% of the electorate has forgetten and is willing to vote in someone who was on the FF NEC when the party was signing away our sovereignty! It's quite unbelievable that forgiveness has come so quick.

Well from Mullingar the only place on the island to vote in a new FF TD (and a vanker at that). Despite losing a hospital, the barracks going and the town a wasteland. So No. never underestimate how stupid the irish electorate can be.

thebooboys
20/10/2011, 10:12 AM
And to think people on the other thread claimed Gallagher wasn't an FFer... http://www.broadsheet.ie/2011/10/20/sean-is-about-to-have-a-very-bad-day/

The link you've attached sates back to 2008. When Mr. Gallagher has admitted he was active within that party. I'm a Mary Davis voter/no FF connection but have to highlight the inaccuracy of yet another comment on this forum.

20/10/2011, 10:15 AM
How could the link date (sate?) back to 2008 when it talks about events in 2009 and 2010, and is headed up with today's date?

thebooboys
20/10/2011, 10:15 AM
Well from Mullingar the only place on the island to vote in a new FF TD (and a vanker at that). Despite losing a hospital, the barracks going and the town a wasteland. So No. never underestimate how stupid the irish electorate can be.

So stupid in your eyes would be to exercise their democratic right and vote for whomever they choose? Were the British people stupid to elect Tony Blair and his Labour Party 3 years running so? Will they be as stupid to elect the same Labour Party after the current Conservative/Lib Dem coalition goes before the public again? I think electoral "stupidity", as you so eloquently put it, isn't merely reserved for us Irish

thebooboys
20/10/2011, 10:20 AM
How could the link date (sate?) back to 2008 when it talks about events in 2009 and 2010, and is headed up with today's date?

Unless there's something else which is being blocked the article posted concerns a dinner organised in 2008, and a bank loan in 2009 (where you see the connection with his former party regarding this issue is anyone's guess)

Oh and big deal, I put in "sates" instead of dates. Thanks for the correction, your argument is obviously flawed if you're knit-picking like that

20/10/2011, 10:20 AM
He didn't use the word "stupidity" at all, so no need for the inverted commas or the accusation of eloquence. And he didn't say it was reserved for the Irish; he just happened to be talking about the Irish electorate.

And yes, you can vote for whoever you want and still be stupid to do so. They're not mutually exclusive (unless you're saying voting makes you smart?). Given what Fianna Fáil have done to this country - so blatantly - I see no problems in saying it would be stupid to vote for one of their ilk just because they're now nominally Independent.

On the Gallagher stuff - I don't see a problem with highlighting stuff like that for the Presidential race. Gallagher is FF; people need to be reminded of that.

thebooboys
20/10/2011, 10:29 AM
I have no problem conceding the first point, I know he wasn't exclusively talking about the Irish electorate, I was merely pointing out that electorates all over the world do "stupid" things, depending on your own, singular point of view.

Secondly, and again I reiterate, I am not voting for Sean Gallagher, but to stamp him as a FF candidate is misleading. I don't think he'll get elected either by the way but it is obvious to me that his FF-ness is now becoming a much more important issue than it was say 4 weeks ago, when he was insignificant in the polls. To see Michael D, Norris and McGuinness' increasing number of references to Gallagher's former FF connections conveys blatant desperation, all because of 1, more than likely, hyper-inflated, inaccurate poll.

20/10/2011, 10:29 AM
The link you've attached sates back to 2008. When Mr. Gallagher has admitted he was active within that party. I'm a Mary Davis voter/no FF connection but have to highlight the inaccuracy of yet another comment on this forum.
Come off it - Gallagher has continually denied how involved with the party he was, and said he was only a grass roots member interested in local issues. Here he his exposed to being linked to the very top, and it totally undermines how he has tried to downplay just how embedded in the party he was. The money was just resting in my account story undermines his business/ entrepreneurial claims that he has made during the campaign.

I think we're aware that you're a supporter of the FF Quango Queen, so of course you're going to support the other candidate cut from the same cloth.