View Full Version : Limerick Premier Division 2011/12

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33

prawnsandwich2
16/08/2011, 12:54 PM
ya 7 o clock ,pike will be missing a few due to gaa commitments,

Moving on to the league.

Handy one for Pike in the opener.

Thought Regional would be easy enough as well, but apparently they have signed a few players who played with them in recent years from the Desmond League.

Hibs7772
16/08/2011, 4:09 PM
I reckon pike will walk the league but Balla and Boro will be much closer challengers this year.

prawnsandwich2
16/08/2011, 4:43 PM
don't know about walking it....certainly favourites.
can't see what happened last year,with the league being contested by only two teams with 8 matches remaining.
no disrespect to the other clubs,but the winner will come from pike,boro,balla or fairview.
that's not to say that the other clubs won't have a big bearing on where the title goes.

Hibs7772
17/08/2011, 1:02 AM
don't know about walking it....certainly favourites.
can't see what happened last year,with the league being contested by only two teams with 8 matches remaining.
no disrespect to the other clubs,but the winner will come from pike,boro,balla or fairview.
that's not to say that the other clubs won't have a big bearing on where the title goes.

yeah cant see the title going anywhere but them four clubs either and i think you can throw regional in there too. be interesting to see how pike and fairview get on with the new rules in place.

lfc at heart
17/08/2011, 8:15 PM
interesting read here about Conor Kavanagh going back to Pike

http://www.westmeathindependent.ie/sport/athlonetown/articles/2011/08/17/4006197-kavanagh-leaves-athlone-as-town-aim-to-bounce-back/

neverseenit
17/08/2011, 9:14 PM

http://www.westmeathindependent.ie/sport/athlonetown/articles/2011/08/17/4006197-kavanagh-leaves-athlone-as-town-aim-to-bounce-back/
Only says what everyone knows but I suppose we can't talk about it can we

lankyboy26
17/08/2011, 9:26 PM
Only says what everyone knows but I suppose we can't talk about it can we

We can only speak about it indirectly.... Great article...!!!

theboywonder8
17/08/2011, 9:37 PM

Don't believe everything you read,he was tired of the travelling for pittance,oh and by the way nasri is on his way as well,that'll be on the limerick post the weekend,

Fairkop
17/08/2011, 9:42 PM
some people just cant handle the truth:rolleyes:well...jack did say it.

17/08/2011, 9:42 PM
Don't believe everything you read,he was tired of the travelling for pittance,oh and by the way nasri is on his way as well,that'll be on the limerick post the weekend,

In fairness its only an hour and 20 minutes up the road and he was training in Limerick so he didn't even have to go up all the time. Something had to have convinced him to come back to Pike to get sick of a few trips up the country in the space of 2 months, if even that.

Athlone already said in pre-season they could not compete with what Limerick junior teams where offering players and it was only when the junior season ended they managed to sign a good few.

neverseenit
17/08/2011, 9:48 PM
Just spoke to someone there and his idea of whoever comes second in the league should be awarded a trophy by other clubs..as the real amateur winners of the league..lol..

theboywonder8
17/08/2011, 10:06 PM
What a childish response,will ye get it into yere heads they are JUNIOR players who have been regraded by governing body,and ye have the cheek to come on here and say yere not pike bashing,I said it once and I'll say it again FAIRVIEW have more ex loi players than pike,haven't once heard ye bashing them,green eyed monster is surfacing again.

theboywonder8
17/08/2011, 10:09 PM
In fairness its only an hour and 20 minutes up the road and he was training in Limerick so he didn't even have to go up all the time. Something had to have convinced him to come back to Pike to get sick of a few trips up the country in the space of 2 months, if even that.

Athlone already said in pre-season they could not com
pete with what Limerick junior teams where offering players and it was only when the junior season ended they managed to sign a good few.

You don't know conors situation,do you,and by the way when Collins and dunne made the same comments about ye,ye were all up in arms over it,so give it a break people are sick and tired of listening to yere pike bashing.

17/08/2011, 10:23 PM
You don't know conors situation,do you,and by the way when Collins and dunne made the same comments about ye,ye were all up in arms over it,so give it a break people are sick and tired of listening to yere pike bashing.

I never said I know his situation just that the travelling isn't as far as your comment might make it sound and there must be more to it than just travelling. Also I don't care if Pike are or are not paying any of their players, whether it be Conor Kavanagh or anyone else, it makes no difference to me in the slightest. I also don't say that Pike have paid him just that it had to have been something decent to convince him back, that doesn't just have to be financial offerings. Collins and Dunne said directly we offered our players more "money" than they could but Moran just says they could not compete with Pikes offer, he does not say anything about money. An offer could be anything. If Moran wanted to say it was financial he could have come straight out and said Pike are giving him more money but he didn't.

I also don't think I ever comment on Pike or their dealings before this so this being "sick and tired of listening to yere Pike bashing" thing is total rubbish.

theboywonder8
17/08/2011, 10:38 PM
Never mentioned you directly,did I,what would you read into it yourself in all fairness,

17/08/2011, 10:43 PM
Never mentioned you directly,did I,what would you read into it yourself in all fairness,

I was quoted and it was in direct reply to my comment so I presumed it was directed at myself.

He was obviously angling at something alright but unless he mentioned money directly, no one can really say much about Padraig Morans comment. Would be a totally different situation as I say if he had straight up said Pike offered him more money than Athlone.

neverseenit
17/08/2011, 10:48 PM
[QUOTE=theboywonder8;1520606]What a childish response,will ye get it into yere heads they are JUNIOR players who have been regraded by governing body,and ye have the cheek to come on here and say yere not pike bashing,I said it once and I'll say it again FAIRVIEW have more ex loi players than pike,haven't once heard ye bashing them,green eyed monster is surfacing again.OTE]yeah but there being regraded every year when there finished playing Loi..how many times can you be regraded..only asking a question so stay calm

theboywonder8
17/08/2011, 11:06 PM
I'm calm as can be,you can be regraded every year,their fai rules and what can you do about it only take advantage of it,fairview and pike have,and jofspring I know what your saying but he could have worded it in a totally different way than he did,I'll bet he hasn't heard the last of this, and if I was Conor I would be looking for clarification of what he meant by it and then an apology in same newspaper,once he made the comment he should have clarified it,I just wonder why mike kerley didn't make this comment,after all he's the gaffer,would you not agree?

Daydreamer
18/08/2011, 6:17 AM
lads all this money talk is ridiculous , fair play to anyone who can get any few bob in the current climate , on the kavanagh situation , maybe he could not handle the pace at a higher level ? . Fair play to him for giving it a go either way.

Second
18/08/2011, 7:11 AM
By all accounts daydreamer he was one of athlones best players last couple of games..

Second
18/08/2011, 7:12 AM
Are the other limk lads coming back too????

prawnsandwich2
18/08/2011, 7:27 AM
What a childish response,will ye get it into yere heads they are JUNIOR players who have been regraded by governing body,and ye have the cheek to come on here and say yere not pike bashing,I said it once and I'll say it again FAIRVIEW have more ex loi players than pike,haven't once heard ye bashing them,green eyed monster is surfacing again.

you seem to be more interested in deflecting attention towards fairview then anything else.
the big question is how long will ye have him?????????

Daydreamer
18/08/2011, 8:34 AM
ya would not surprise me if he was one of their better players , very good anytime i saw him last year but it was only against corbally , heard Tommy Barrett is going to geraldine

pearse4t3
18/08/2011, 9:04 AM
KBO Premier League

Pike Rvs V Aisling Annacotty Home win

Ballynanty Rvs V Regional Utd Home win

Carew Park V Summerville Rvs Home win

Janesboro V Wembley Rvs Home win

Kilmallock V Corbally Utd Draw

Star Rvs V Fairview Rgs Away win

leather
18/08/2011, 9:54 AM
Not going to predict my own clubs matches but here are the rest

KBO Premier League

Kilmallock V Corbally Utd Home win

theboywonder8
18/08/2011, 10:40 AM
you seem to be more interested in deflecting attention towards fairview then anything else.
the big question is how long will ye have him?????????

I am just stating a fact,not deflecting attention on anyone,and as long as his in the country,does that answer your question,

prawnsandwich2
18/08/2011, 10:59 AM
I am just stating a fact,not deflecting attention on anyone,and as long as his in the country,does that answer your question,

very good.....

thomas72
18/08/2011, 11:21 AM
KBO Premier League

Ballynanty Rvs V Regional Utd Draw

Kilmallock V Corbally Utd Away win

theboywonder8
18/08/2011, 11:23 AM

Click on the link now and see what happens,justice will prevail in the end,it always does,and for anyone who doesn't bother the article has peen pulled from the rag,mmmm wonder why.

prawnsandwich2
18/08/2011, 11:49 AM
Click on the link now and see what happens,justice will prevail in the end,it always does,and for anyone who doesn't bother the article has peen pulled from the rag,mmmm wonder why.

well done to however sorted that out.
very unfair on the boy

Draper
18/08/2011, 12:07 PM
Pike are playing tonight home to Aisling Annacotty right? What time lads please?

gaidin
18/08/2011, 12:43 PM

Why was it pulled?

prawnsandwich2
18/08/2011, 2:01 PM
KBO Premier League

could anyone from kilmallock f.c. answer a quick question.
how badly will the fact that the hurling, both club and county, is on the moment,affect them?

rooney10
18/08/2011, 2:04 PM

Star Rvs V Fairview Rgs Away win[/QUOTE]

theboywonder8
18/08/2011, 2:16 PM
well done to however sorted that out.
very unfair on the boy

too true,

theboywonder8
18/08/2011, 2:17 PM
Why was it pulled?

article was incorrect i'd presume,

gaidin
18/08/2011, 2:23 PM
article was incorrect i'd presume,

You presume :)

I didnt see anything in it to warrant it being pulled. There were no quotes attached to why Kavanagh left and most of the articel was regarding the team itself and their poor result in their last match.

prawnsandwich2
18/08/2011, 3:11 PM
You presume :)

I didnt see anything in it to warrant it being pulled. There were no quotes attached to why Kavanagh left and most of the articel was regarding the team itself and their poor result in their last match.

in all fairness,it was very strongly hinted at.
it might have only been 5 or 10% of the article in question but it still does not make it right

Balbec77
18/08/2011, 3:13 PM
could anyone from kilmallock f.c. answer a quick question.
how badly will the fact that the hurling, both club and county, is on the moment,affect them?
not many hurlers playing soccer for last couple of years so wont affect that much.lost a few a team players but brought up a few good b players.

Balbec77
18/08/2011, 3:18 PM
Why was it pulled?

because in fairness everyone knows what the article meant as a lot of people have said the same on here every now and again.and like everyone that has said it without proof they were probably told take it down as they were omly going on hear say aswell.

prawnsandwich2
18/08/2011, 3:26 PM
not many hurlers playing soccer for last couple of years so wont affect that much.lost a few a team players but brought up a few good b players.

can remember the chaps name,but he was a tall lad,still in the minor grade,who played in midfield for ye last year.
fine player,always seemed to be able to create space for himself.
maybe the eyesight is gone,but i though i saw him on the leader,with some of the under 21 team when limerick beat cork?

gaidin
18/08/2011, 3:39 PM
because in fairness everyone knows what the article meant as a lot of people have said the same on here every now and again.and like everyone that has said it without proof they were probably told take it down as they were omly going on hear say aswell.

There is a big difference between what an article writes and meant and how the person reading it interprets it. The article only said he left because Athlone couldnt compete with what Pike offered. The reader interprets this however they want. There were no quotes either from anyone at the club.

I didnt see anything wrong with the article myself.

Out of curiosity what did the article mean?

abbeyvale
18/08/2011, 3:51 PM

What "A" players have ye lost from last season? and other than last years "B" players are there many new players in the "A" squad this season?

gaidin
18/08/2011, 3:51 PM
League Back tonight. Good evening for it as well.

Kilmallock V Corbally Utd Home win

abbeyvale
18/08/2011, 3:53 PM
My predictions

Pike Rvs 1 Aisling Annacotty
Ballynanty Rvs 1 Regional Utd
Carew Park 1 Summerville Rvs
Janesboro 1 Wembley Rvs
Kilmallock X Corbally Utd

I wont predict our own game.

theboywonder8
18/08/2011, 4:10 PM
There is a big difference between what an article writes and meant and how the person reading it interprets it. The article only said he left because Athlone couldnt compete with what Pike offered. The reader interprets this however they want. There were no quotes either from anyone at the club.

I didnt see anything wrong with the article myself.

Out of curiosity what did the article mean?

Why do you think they pulled it??,go to the athlone town fc website and their spokesperson gave the reasons why Conor returned to pike,so can you tell me as you feel they shouldn't have pulled why they did.

theboywonder8
18/08/2011, 5:38 PM
Pike 2 up Barry with both

theboywonder8
18/08/2011, 7:22 PM
Pike10 AA 0

squirmy
18/08/2011, 7:24 PM
Balla won 2-1

theboywonder8
18/08/2011, 7:25 PM
can remember the chaps name,but he was a tall lad,still in the minor grade,who played in midfield for ye last year.
fine player,always seemed to be able to create space for himself.
maybe the eyesight is gone,but i though i saw him on the leader,with some of the under 21 team when limerick beat cork?

Jake mulcahy is his name,quality player,his brother is graeme,think Jake was sub on that team,graeme plays senior as well