View Full Version : Limerick Premier Division 2011/12
Boro 4-1 Wembley
Boro very good in first half average in second,Wembley were 3 down but kept their heads up.Boro had 2 penos awarded both scored by Shane Clarke and a Keith McNicholas goal before Wembley hit back with a deflected effort,42 year old Conor Lynch hobbled off the bench to score the 4th late in the game,best for Boro Aiden Hurley and Aled Harkin
Boro 1 Glash 2 Hurley 3 Harkin 4 T Clarke 5 Culhane 6 Bourke 7 Goggin 8 Walters 9 S Clarke 10 McNicholas 11 Roche Subs Patrick ??? for Culhane, Quigley for Bourke,Lynch for S Clarke
Second
18/08/2011, 7:35 PM
Pike10 AA 0
Some hiding.. What was team and who scored
thomas72
18/08/2011, 8:08 PM
Carew park 5 summervile 0
jamie kelly, jamie o sullivan, kevin barry, mark sla, mange
3up at half time we played some lovely football in the first half 2nd half we took or foot off the gas took us 20mins to get going again over all it was a satisfied performance we stilll have a coulpe of gears to go up.
best of luck to summervile for the rest of the season.
Carew park 5 summervile 0
jamie kelly, jamie o sullivan, kevin barry, mark sla, mange
3up at half time we played some lovely football in the first half 2nd half we took or foot off the gas took us 20mins to get going again over all it was a satisfied performance we stilll have a coulpe of gears to go up.
best of luck to summervile for the rest of the season.
what was the starting 11
blueboy2
18/08/2011, 8:16 PM
Pike10 AA 0
Thats the difference between an amateur and professional team.
no its the difference between a very good team and relegation canditates
Crap.pike have stepped it up from last year.I know we did not give them a decent match but i was really impressed with their fitness.best of luck to them as they work hard to get where they are.ten nil hurts bad though
theboywonder8
18/08/2011, 8:27 PM
Some hiding.. What was team and who scored
Neville,ahern,mullins,Cian Byrnes e.dunny,Boris,tierney,hartnett,Boyle,Barry,moloney ,barry5,
moloney2,Boyle hartnett Byrnes,
theboywonder8
18/08/2011, 8:29 PM
Crap.pike have stepped it up from last year.I know we did not give them a decent match but i was really impressed with their fitness.best of luck to them as they work hard to get where they are.ten nil hurts bad though
Fair play to ya,most of that team gave pike 19s a hiding the other night,so maybe ones for the future,
blueboy2
18/08/2011, 8:31 PM
no its the difference between a very good team and relegation canditates
Its going to be a joke of a premier league again.
All people will be talking about in a few weeks is the teams in the relegation battle.
A 10 nil result in the Premier league in Limerick cant be good for football in general.
tedd11
18/08/2011, 9:01 PM
kilmallock 3-1 corbally. corbally went 1 up after 5mins with a great header from barry hartnett.went in 1 up at half time.kilmallock equalised on 50mins with a header and went 2-1 up 5mins later thru a paul doona lob after a mix up in corbally defence. kilmallock went 3-1 up after 70mins after scoring on the break with corbally trying to equalise.all in all a good game.at 1-1 we were denied what i thought was a stonewall penalty.a decision that swung the game.both teams battled until the end but in fairness to killmallock they had 4 chances and scored 3 goals.we had about 8 chances and scored 1. Rob egan had an excellent game in goal for kilmallock.will get them alot of points this season. in fairness to kilmallock they played some excellent football and worked extremely hard and took there chances.best of luck to them for rest of season.a young team that are defo improving year on year. also would just like to say fairplay on the condition of kilmallock pitch this evening.it was in magnificant nick.up there with the best fields in town.
abbeyvale
18/08/2011, 9:01 PM
Star 1-4 Fairview
In fairness Star were slow out of the blocks and were totally outplayed in the first half, which saw the View lead 3-0 at HT.
The second half though was a different story, Star hit the woodword 3 times, and missed 2 1 on 1's and Bennis in goal for the View made 3 great saves to deny Star.
Star did pull one back and dominated the 2nd half, only for Fairview to score late on, to leave the scoreline 1-4.
tedd11
18/08/2011, 9:03 PM
Boro 4-1 Wembley
Boro very good in first half average in second,Wembley were 3 down but kept their heads up.Boro had 2 penos awarded both scored by Shane Clarke and a Keith McNicholas goal before Wembley hit back with a deflected effort,42 year old Conor Lynch hobbled off the bench to score the 4th late in the game,best for Boro Aiden Hurley and Aled Harkin
Boro 1 Glash 2 Hurley 3 Harkin 4 T Clarke 5 Culhane 6 Bourke 7 Goggin 8 Walters 9 S Clarke 10 McNicholas 11 Roche Subs Patrick ??? for Culhane, Quigley for Bourke,Lynch for S Clarke
thats a strong starting 11 for janesboro.i think its fair to say they will challenge this season
abbeyvale
18/08/2011, 9:08 PM
Table Pl W D L F A PTS
Pike 1 1 0 0 10 0 3
Carew 1 1 0 0 5 0 3
Fairview 1 1 0 0 4 1 3
Janesboro 1 1 0 0 4 1 3
Kilmallock 1 1 0 0 3 1 3
Ballynanty 1 1 0 0 2 1 3
Regional 1 0 0 1 1 2 0
Corbally 1 0 0 1 1 3 0
Star 1 0 0 1 1 4 0
Wembley 1 0 0 1 1 4 0
Summerville 1 0 0 1 0 5 0
Aisling 1 0 0 1 0 10 0
Results
Pike Rvs 10-0 Aisling Annacotty
Ballynanty Rvs 2-1 Regional Utd
Carew Park 5-0 Summerville Rvs
Janesboro 4-1 Wembley Rvs
Kilmallock 3-1 Corbally Utd
Star Rvs 1-4 Fairview Rgs
Fixtures
Sunday August 21st
Regional Utd V Pike Rvs, 10.30,
Summerville Rvs V Aisling Annacotty, 10.30,
Wembley Rvs V Ballynanty Rvs, 10.30,
Corbally Utd V Carew Park, 10.30,
Fairview Rgs V Janesboro, 10.30,
Star Rvs V Kilmallock, 10.30,
Thursday August 25th (6.30pm)
Pike Rvs V Summerville Rvs
Regional Utd V Wembley Rvs
Aisling Annacotty V Corbally Utd
Ballynanty Rvs V Fairview Rgs, Shelbourne Park,
Carew Park V Star Rvs
Janesboro V Kilmallock
Aanother
18/08/2011, 9:47 PM
Was at the Balla v Regional game, pity to see that poor refereeing is still dominating the Junior game. Stone wall penalty to Regional not given, Balla player is subsequently fouled 10 yards from his own box, ball rolls 15 yards forward from the incident and Balla take the freekick from there with a rolling ball referee puts the whistle in his mouth to call them back and then decides to let play go, Balla go up and score from an obvious offside position, 3 terrible decisions in the space of 20 seconds. Draw would have been a fair result, 2 decent teams, good game.
nononsense
18/08/2011, 10:02 PM
What was the Fairview lineup to-night? are they strong this year? Did Ritchie Ryan (Clonmel Town) sign for them?
Fairkop
18/08/2011, 10:03 PM
promoted clubs both well beaten by the looks of it though early days yet.
theboywonder8
18/08/2011, 10:12 PM
What was the Fairview lineup to-night? are they strong this year? Did Ritchie Ryan (Clonmel Town) sign for them?
No he didn't,yet but the rumours are he is,
theboywonder8
18/08/2011, 10:13 PM
Both were expected defeats though.
thomas72
18/08/2011, 10:26 PM
Both were expected defeats though.
thought summervile would be better it might be a long season for them
square it
19/08/2011, 1:07 AM
Neville,ahern,mullins,Cian Byrnes e.dunny,Boris,tierney,hartnett,Boyle,Barry,moloney ,barry5,
any1 know the AA TEAM
hoops38
19/08/2011, 2:13 AM
any1 know the AA TEAM
harmless 1 to 11
hard to argue that but 6 of the starting 11 were under 19 with 2 others 22.
they will need time to adapt although that hammering was not ideal
any1 know the AA TEAM
i played in it and i dont know it.it was the first time we played together so hopefully it can only improve
Was at the Balla v Regional game, pity to see that poor refereeing is still dominating the Junior game. Stone wall penalty to Regional not given, Balla player is subsequently fouled 10 yards from his own box, ball rolls 15 yards forward from the incident and Balla take the freekick from there with a rolling ball referee puts the whistle in his mouth to call them back and then decides to let play go, Balla go up and score from an obvious offside position, 3 terrible decisions in the space of 20 seconds. Draw would have been a fair result, 2 decent teams, good game.
Who got the goals in this one
Second
19/08/2011, 7:14 AM
Good team.. Cheers
prawnsandwich2
19/08/2011, 7:19 AM
harmless 1 to 11
not a nice comment...i'm sure those young lads did their best.
don't think you would have been happy if someone posted that about yere under 19's who suffered a similar defeat
prawnsandwich2
19/08/2011, 7:29 AM
Star 1-4 Fairview
In fairness Star were slow out of the blocks and were totally outplayed in the first half, which saw the View lead 3-0 at HT.
The second half though was a different story, Star hit the woodword 3 times, and missed 2 1 on 1's and Bennis in goal for the View made 3 great saves to deny Star.
Star did pull one back and dominated the 2nd half, only for Fairview to score late on, to leave the scoreline 1-4.
spoke to a fairview chap who was at the match,and your summation of the match is more or less what he said.
heard christy doyles goal was a cracker....did chucka play???
tedd11
19/08/2011, 7:35 AM
Who got the goals in this one
think declan nash scored for regional and jossy got 1 of the goals for balla.dont know who got the second for balla
gaidin
19/08/2011, 7:43 AM
Why do you think they pulled it??,go to the athlone town fc website and their spokesperson gave the reasons why Conor returned to pike,so can you tell me as you feel they shouldn't have pulled why they did.
No cant tell you why it was pulled. I DON'T KNOW why it was pulled. I was hoping you could tell me.
I just said I cant see why it was pulled. I didnt see anything in the report towarrant it being pulled.
theboywonder8
19/08/2011, 8:19 AM
No cant tell you why it was pulled. I DON'T KNOW why it was pulled. I was hoping you could tell me.
I just said I cant see why it was pulled. I didnt see anything in the report towarrant it being pulled.
Well they obviously taught differently to pull it,as the report was incorrect,,did you check athlone towns website?
Balanced bias
19/08/2011, 8:20 AM
i played in it and i dont know it.it was the first time we played together so hopefully it can only improve
Hopefully for yer sake ye do improve otherwise it will be hard to keep the young lads heads up. Did ye keep on to any of last years players?
An early 6 pointer for ye on Sunday already...
The Pike starting 11 looked seriously strong again in fairness.
Boro looked to has assembled a very good team this year also.
I still fancy them to finish 2nd, 15+ points behind the Pike galacticos
Hopefully for yer sake ye do improve otherwise it will be hard to keep the young lads heads up. Did ye keep on to any of last years players?
An early 6 pointer for ye on Sunday already...
The Pike starting 11 looked seriously strong again in fairness.
Boro looked to has assembled a very good team this year also.
I still fancy them to finish 2nd, 15+ points behind the Pike galacticos
we kept maybe 5 or 6 from last years squad.will hopefully get a few experienced lads in soon.
massive game on sunday.
WizardOnTheWing
19/08/2011, 9:25 AM
Well beaten but i think we played some good football and made a lot of chances for ourselves but couldnt finish them off.
The 2 penalties were a farce, we were told before the match to watch Shane clarke, he gets more penalties that any other player and we know why..great player, very clever..The second penalty decision was a disgrace but thats football. The boro have a very good squad at moment and will be right up there at the end of season.Best of luck to them
leather
19/08/2011, 9:45 AM
missed boro v wembley due to clash with b-team fixture but the word from the boro lads was positive about wembley's performance and attitude...wembley should be ok this season.
Boroman
19/08/2011, 10:45 AM
Well beaten but i think we played some good football and made a lot of chances for ourselves but couldnt finish them off.
The 2 penalties were a farce, we were told before the match to watch Shane clarke, he gets more penalties that any other player and we know why..great player, very clever..The second penalty decision was a disgrace but thats football. The boro have a very good squad at moment and will be right up there at the end of season.Best of luck to them
Haha come on pat sheehan was all over shane when he was in on goal and he eventually brought him to the ground and the second pen shane waters tore the left full apart and he threw out his leg and brought shane waters down..Ye made a game of it when ye made it 3-1 that goal before half time knocked the stuffing out of the us but we done well and conor lynch with a great header to wrap it up..Best of luck for the season ye will have no probs staying up
WizardOnTheWing
19/08/2011, 11:50 AM
Haha come on pat sheehan was all over shane when he was in on goal and he eventually brought him to the ground and the second pen shane waters tore the left full apart and he threw out his leg and brought shane waters down..Ye made a game of it when ye made it 3-1 that goal before half time knocked the stuffing out of the us but we done well and conor lynch with a great header to wrap it up..Best of luck for the season ye will have no probs staying up
Thanks but we will have to agree to disagree on the second penalty for sure, waters dive was supurb.. 10 out of 10.
Conor lynchs header was very good alright, not bad for an old man.
Kuafc_4_life
19/08/2011, 1:08 PM
kilmallock 3-1 corbally. corbally went 1 up after 5mins with a great header from barry hartnett.went in 1 up at half time.kilmallock equalised on 50mins with a header and went 2-1 up 5mins later thru a paul doona lob after a mix up in corbally defence. kilmallock went 3-1 up after 70mins after scoring on the break with corbally trying to equalise.all in all a good game.at 1-1 we were denied what i thought was a stonewall penalty.a decision that swung the game.both teams battled until the end but in fairness to killmallock they had 4 chances and scored 3 goals.we had about 8 chances and scored 1. Rob egan had an excellent game in goal for kilmallock.will get them alot of points this season. in fairness to kilmallock they played some excellent football and worked extremely hard and took there chances.best of luck to them for rest of season.a young team that are defo improving year on year. also would just like to say fairplay on the condition of kilmallock pitch this evening.it was in magnificant nick.up there with the best fields in town.
Good result for kilmallock last nite, 3 brilliant goals infairness, 2 from mark heffernan and a superb lob from tommy heffernan. Kilmallock started bad but done well to recover and get the 3 points and thats the 1st time in there 4 years premier that they've started with 3 points, hopefully now the lads can keep this goin and get as high up the table as possible. And also 1st time they've beat corbally..
Balbec77
19/08/2011, 2:43 PM
Good result for kilmallock last nite, 3 brilliant goals infairness, 2 from mark heffernan and a superb lob from tommy heffernan. Kilmallock started bad but done well to recover and get the 3 points and thats the 1st time in there 4 years premier that they've started with 3 points, hopefully now the lads can keep this goin and get as high up the table as possible. And also 1st time they've beat corbally..
ya good result and start lad.the old reliable terrier chiped in with 2 good goals i heard.
he might be top scorer this year lad,
3alldraw
19/08/2011, 3:23 PM
Any prices up for this weekends game lads? was at boro - wembley last nite, impressed with boro but took the the foot off the gas though in the 2nd half...seemed to win without getting out of third gear, cred to wembley who never gave up despite being 3 nil down, boro have made some very good signings ...had a flyer on the wing not sure who he was n the younger goggins in midfield from aa is a gr8 signing.....don't think it ll be enough to stop pike judging by 10-0
passandmove
19/08/2011, 6:41 PM
On the boro wembley game,on the general run of play their was nothing between the sides,we were very naive though for the two penalties and the third boro goal was a cross which sailed into the net,we missed a couple of great chances to make it 3 2 when it would have been game on,have to say that shane waters is a superb player and along with clarke they are a constant threat,as for us it was a quick reminder of how ruthless the premier is,hopefully it wont takes us too long to adapt.Best of luck to the boro for the season.
southern kid
19/08/2011, 6:58 PM
Who is the annacotty manager this year? I think they could hand over the league trophy to pike at there next game which is an awful pity for the league, why dont pike just head to the munster senior league if they want a squad like that. my question is where is the enjoyment gone in junior/ameatur league in limerick city?i dont believe der will be a scoreline like that in any other premier division in the country.
squirmy
19/08/2011, 7:16 PM
think declan nash scored for regional and jossy got 1 of the goals for balla.dont know who got the second for balla
Tony Fahy got the winner
theboywonder8
19/08/2011, 8:19 PM
Who is the annacotty manager this year? I think they could hand over the league trophy to pike at there next game which is an awful pity for the league, why dont pike just head to the munster senior league if they want a squad like that. my question is where is the enjoyment gone in junior/ameatur league in limerick city?i dont believe der will be a scoreline like that in any other premier division in the country.
Why should they go into msl,that is weaker than prem in town,pike hammered Avondale in fai senior cup last year,and Avondale went on to win fai intermediate cup,which is the senior equlivant of fai junior cup,so if you think that standard is better then you are wrong mate,
theboywonder8
19/08/2011, 8:40 PM
Declan Hyde is AA manager.
safe hands
19/08/2011, 9:24 PM
Declan Hyde is AA manager.i remember 3 year ago balla played douglas hall senior team and they beat us 1 nil with 4 b players on the pitch and scored on 86 minute. think our league is as strong bunch of show ponies.. we beat avondale & killarney celtic the year before beaten in the semi's by cork its not as good as the lenster senior league..
thomas72
20/08/2011, 10:44 AM
predictions
Regional Utd V Pike Rvs, away
Summerville Rvs V Aisling Annacotty, home
Wembley Rvs V Ballynanty Rvs, away
Fairview Rgs V Janesboro, draw
Star Rvs V Kilmallock, draw
Kuafc_4_life
20/08/2011, 11:20 AM
Predictions
Regional Utd V Pike Rvs, away
Summerville Rvs V Aisling Annacotty, home
Wembley Rvs V Ballynanty Rvs, away Fairview Rgs V Janesboro, home
Star Rvs V Kilmallock, away
southern kid
20/08/2011, 4:04 PM
Ok maybe the munster senior league is not that strong but if pike are a serious club like they think they are and in fairness to them the results suggest that they are but wat enjoyment do any club get from hammering another team at junior level.Why dont they do what tralee dynomeos do and enter the 'A' championship? that would give them real competition and progress them as a club,the other side is maybe there happy out doin wat their doing but its wrecking the league for most other teams,
thegreatone
20/08/2011, 7:27 PM
Ok maybe the munster senior league is not that strong but if pike are a serious club like they think they are and in fairness to them the results suggest that they are but wat enjoyment do any club get from hammering another team at junior level.Why dont they do what tralee dynomeos do and enter the 'A' championship? that would give them real competition and progress them as a club,the other side is maybe there happy out doin wat their doing but its wrecking the league for most other teams,
They gave a poor team a hammering, they were all young fellas they played against theyl need time to adjust to the league. I wouldnt judge them on 1 game if they were hammering the likes of balla,regional, fairview then yeah then they should move league but they will **** the league again no doubt about it but maybe its up to other teams to reach their standard.