View Full Version : Limerick Premier Division 2011/12

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 [28] 29 30 31 32 33

tedd11
02/04/2012, 6:49 AM
Best wishes to the 2 lads abbey vale.hope they both recover quickly

prawnsandwich2
02/04/2012, 7:02 AM
boro behind twice. a cracker of a game. well worth the 7 euro i paid in.(had my kids and their friends) worthy of a cup final athmosphere. view had a man sent off for 2 yellows. second one he made contact alright but would have been worse only that boro player saw it comming, so i agree that it was yellow. think the boro fitness got them through. as for the ref, i stopped playing cos father time caught up with me but that fella is older than me. not a pick on him but my god was he fit. left it flow and only got involved when he had to. added to it for me anyway. wish he was reffin when i played cos maybe i wouldnt have had all them injuries then. best ive seen in my time anyway.
as for the club house, thank god again cos i had some lip on me with the heat. and to top it off the wife collected the kids. happy days :p

great game alright..
massive improvement on the previous performance against wembley.
view had a glorious chance to go 3-2 up.
a draw possibly would have been a fair result.
looking forward to the game next sunday.
if fairview can replicate that performance it should make for a good game(monday off is a bonus also!!!)

Minesapint
02/04/2012, 9:36 AM
Great to see some of the fairview youths been given a chance last sunday, christy doyle was best player on the pitch grant not far behind him.

lawman
02/04/2012, 11:48 AM
lads why are so many teams short so many players at thistime of year? this is the business end of the season and surely everybody should be available. injuries or suspensions maybe? if its injuries, whats causing so many?

kalyani
02/04/2012, 1:19 PM
lads why are so many teams short so many players at thistime of year? this is the business end of the season and surely everybody should be available. injuries or suspensions maybe? if its injuries, whats causing so many?

Fairview as far as i know are currently missing 10 Aplayers from a squad of 16 or 17 through injury so they have only 6-7 A team players available last few weeks so if under 19's and Bteam are playing same day or time they stuggle to field a team, if not at least they can use 19's and B players but LDMC havent helped in that situation with fixtures recently or by looking at next weeks fixtures either.

Minesapint
02/04/2012, 1:35 PM
players are working evenings and are working around the country so they cant make midweek matches another factor the pitches are hard and couldnt be good for players after a long season lets not bash the LDMC on this one.

lawman
02/04/2012, 3:36 PM
ok... so how have Fairview so many injured? wrong foot wear, overtrained/undertrained, no training, no cooldown after training or matches? do guys not know how to look after themselves in this day and age?

Minesapint
02/04/2012, 11:22 PM
ok... so how have Fairview so many injured? wrong foot wear, overtrained/undertrained, no training, no cooldown after training or matches? do guys not know how to look after themselves in this day and age?
It happens tackles, hard surface lets not get into this because its a mans game fairview just unlucky with injuries, cooldowns give me a break:confused:.

lawman
03/04/2012, 10:47 AM
It happens tackles, hard surface lets not get into this because its a mans game fairview just unlucky with injuries, cooldowns give me a break:confused:.

YES, COOLDOWNS. thats where the difference is... Boro celebrated at the end of sundays game with fairview as if they had just won a trophy,(nearly there i know) BUT, they stayed on the pitch for a cool down.. thats being professional even at that level. Seperates serious contenders (attitute wise) to "lets have a game" lads. i have seen all through my life that attitute is most important. play is for fun. competing is to want to win... thats where trophys go at the end of a season... see my signature below. thats attitute.

prawnsandwich2
03/04/2012, 11:11 AM
YES, COOLDOWNS. thats where the difference is... Boro celebrated at the end of sundays game with fairview as if they had just won a trophy,(nearly there i know) BUT, they stayed on the pitch for a cool down.. thats being professional even at that level. Seperates serious contenders (attitute wise) to "lets have a game" lads. i have seen all through my life that attitute is most important. play is for fun. competing is to want to win... thats where trophys go at the end of a season... see my signature below. thats attitute.
fairview carry out warm downs also....
as for the this and other small but neccessary things that teams carry out,to say that if they don't do this means they are not serious contenders,is a bit much to say the least.
the reason why both the boro and pike are the only two teams competing for the league are because they have the best team/squad(opinions why this is are well documented already) and not because they jog up and down a pitch for 5 minutes after a game

lawman
03/04/2012, 11:52 AM
as for the this and other small but neccessary things that teams carry out,to say that if they don't do this means they are not serious contenders,is a bit much to say the least.
the reason why both the boro and pike are the only two teams competing for the league are because they have the best team/squad(opinions why this is are well documented already) and not because they jog up and down a pitch for 5 minutes after a game

wasnt precisely what i meant. just implying that professional attitute shines through eventually. my point about all that was "minesapint" dismissing out of hand the idea of cooldown. I didnt see fairview do a cool down and not doubting that they do. and given the circumstances where they were beaten after leading twice probably disheartened them and a cool down was last thing on their mind. I have nothing but respect for anybody who turns up to participate in any sporting event but i have always had a competitive streak in me and it upsets me when i see people going to the bother of turning up and then not giving it 100%. I know we cant have 2 winners but at least fight to the bitter end. I was reared full of these thoughts as incentives as aims, goals, ambitions. even my children are not happy losing and they take part in every possible sporting event even years outside their age group. that will stand to them in future years. show me a good loser and i will show you a loser.

theboywonder8
03/04/2012, 1:07 PM
Nearly there,??pike win all their games and they ARE there.agree with you though about the losing part,

Minesapint
03/04/2012, 3:30 PM
I agree with you prawnsandwich , i think lawman sounds like the dark destroyer ha ha ha ha ha ha

lawman
03/04/2012, 3:35 PM
I agree with you prawnsandwich , i think lawman sounds like the dark destroyer ha ha ha ha ha ha

not too many winners medals in your house i bet. and if there are i bet their not yours.:)

Minesapint
03/04/2012, 3:44 PM
not too many winners medals in your house i bet. and if there are i bet their not yours.:)
A but there is, i just dont talk that bull that you have put up.

lawman
03/04/2012, 3:50 PM
A but there is, i just dont talk that bull that you have put up.
inspirational speak. people make a living out of that. (i do :)) best managers have same ability.

Roadend
03/04/2012, 4:20 PM
Do you do a warm down after your speeches to keep you in prime condition?

nosebleds
03/04/2012, 6:08 PM

totally agree,cooldowns are part of the game there is always a good reason for everything

theboywonder8
03/04/2012, 8:31 PM
totally agree,cooldowns are part of the game there is always a good reason for everything
Sure wouldn't a few pints cool you down,always taught they were warmdowns by the way,haha

thomas72
03/04/2012, 11:44 PM
That was Buttimer! He was excellent alright. Way ahead of the usual standard.

Boro were surprisingly poor today. Missed Colbert in particular, as Aidan Hurley was very poor at centre back, allowing Christy Doyle to exploit the space in behind him time and time again.

Fairview did very well with a makeshift side. Young Conor McCormack impressed at right full, as did Fitzgerald at centre back and the goalscorer Doyle. Major credit goes to Jonathan Grant though, who was magnificent in midfield. Ran the show.

http://www.extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/7748/

THat same ref is doing the live tv game Friday night between st pats v rovers

prawnsandwich2
04/04/2012, 7:14 AM
wasnt precisely what i meant. just implying that professional attitute shines through eventually. my point about all that was "minesapint" dismissing out of hand the idea of cooldown. I didnt see fairview do a cool down and not doubting that they do. and given the circumstances where they were beaten after leading twice probably disheartened them and a cool down was last thing on their mind. I have nothing but respect for anybody who turns up to participate in any sporting event but i have always had a competitive streak in me and it upsets me when i see people going to the bother of turning up and then not giving it 100%. I know we cant have 2 winners but at least fight to the bitter end. I was reared full of these thoughts as incentives as aims, goals, ambitions. even my children are not happy losing and they take part in every possible sporting event even years outside their age group. that will stand to them in future years. show me a good loser and i will show you a loser.
any relation to the guy in full metal jacket??
"this is my rifle,this is my gun"

plan b
04/04/2012, 7:53 AM
sour grapes i,d say prawn sandwich

lawman
04/04/2012, 11:27 AM
http://www.extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/7748/

THat same ref is doing the live tv game Friday night between st pats v rovers

Fair play to him. I'l have a look at that so.

prawnsandwich2
04/04/2012, 4:23 PM
sour grapes i,d say prawn sandwich

on my behalf???

tedd11
04/04/2012, 6:10 PM
Good win for pike this morning on what must be the smallest pitch in the country,John Tierney the goalscorer,

I take it your being sarcastic with that comment about our pitch boywonder?

theboywonder8
04/04/2012, 9:36 PM
I take it your being sarcastic with that comment about our pitch boywonder?

No tedd,it is tiny,the touch line is at least 12 yards from the railing going round the pitch,don't think it suits ye one bit either by the way.

Hollywood Hogan
05/04/2012, 7:55 PM
Fairview 2-0 carew park, disappointing result for carew park. Heard boro won 6-0 n pike beat star 3-1

passandmove
05/04/2012, 8:12 PM
Should boro beat star sunday,there would be 1 point seperating 3 sides for relagation with the league surely going to a decider between pike and boro......exciting finish to the season.My only fear is that clubs already safe will have a big say in the relagation battle,i hope all clubs finish out the season strongly..........i wont hold my breath on that one though!! Best of luck to those involved

abbeyvale
05/04/2012, 9:48 PM
Premier P W D L F A Pts
Janesboro 18 17 1 0 80 19 52
Pike Rovers 17 16 0 1 71 15 48
Carew Park 19 11 1 7 35 31 34
Fairview Rgs 17 10 1 6 49 25 31
Regional Utd 19 9 2 8 37 37 29
Wembley Rvs 19 7 5 7 37 40 26
Ballynanty Rovers 19 7 4 8 39 29 25
Kilmallock 17 8 1 8 30 30 25
Corbally Utd 19 4 3 12 30 52 15
Aisling Annacotty 19 4 3 12 26 65 15
Star Rvs 18 4 2 12 24 59 14
Summerville Rvs 19 1 1 17 13 69 4 (RELEGATED)

Results
Thur 05/04/12
Star Rvs 1-3 Pike Rvs,
Janesboro 6-0 Corbally Utd,
Fairview Rgs 2-0 Carew Park,

Fixtures
Sun 08/04/12 (10am kick offs)
Pike Rvs v Fairview Rgs, 10.00, R Peiper
Star Rvs v Janesboro, 10.00, J McNamara

Thur 12/04/12
Pike Rvs v Kilmallock, 6.30, M Weldon

Relegation Run In
AA
(H) Carew & View
(A) Kilmallock

Corbally
(H) Wembley
(A) View & Regional

Star
(H) Boro & Regional
(A) Balla & Wembley

thomas72
05/04/2012, 10:14 PM
Fairview 2-0 carew park, disappointing result for carew park. Heard boro won 6-0 n pike beat star 3-1

Yep very disappointing result for carew it obvious we don't have the strength in dept as we thought we had judging by our last two games soon as we get back players the better it would be hugely disappointing from been in 3rd place all season to not finish there.

Hollywood Hogan
06/04/2012, 1:05 AM
Boro have 80 goals scored already this season, thats incredible with 4 games to go. Has any club ever reached d 100 in a premier season? How many has Clarke scored this season?

widow
06/04/2012, 7:48 AM
Some amount of goals scored. Never seen a team get as many penalties. They must get one a game.

I agree above, the teams playing the teams in the relegation run in should give it the respect it deserves otherwise it makes a joke of the league. Bit of a joke at the top with what is going on, but thats another story

lawman
06/04/2012, 8:24 AM
Some amount of goals scored. Never seen a team get as many penalties. They must get one a game.

I agree above, the teams playing the teams in the relegation run in should give it the respect it deserves otherwise it makes a joke of the league. Bit of a joke at the top with what is going on, but thats another story

what do you mean? fill me in

passandmove
06/04/2012, 8:39 AM
But sure lads without boro and pike the standard wouldnt be worth talking about,ive said it before and il say it again you just have to knuckle down and face the challenge.My biggest concern would be how afraid referees are to give decisions against the big 2,not pike or boro's fault i know,our officials need to man up a bit more in my opinion.

lawman
06/04/2012, 8:45 AM
But sure lads without boro and pike the standard wouldnt be worth talking about,ive said it before and il say it again you just have to knuckle down and face the challenge.My biggest concern would be how afraid referees are to give decisions against the big 2,not pike or boro's fault i know,our officials need to man up a bit more in my opinion.

I wouldnt let that worry you this season. leagues will put in(refs) horses for courses and sure couldnt they use that buttermore fella again if there stuck. sent a few off already so hes manned up. did he do any pike games?

lawman
06/04/2012, 8:50 AM
and that Piper fella doing pike on sunday morning is another legaue of I reland fella. Reffed in athlone last week i saw on the papers

passandmove
06/04/2012, 9:42 AM
There are some good refs lawman no doubt,but the majority of them in my opinion bottle it when it comes to making decisions against the big 2,Shane Clarke is a fabulous player but some of the pens he gets are laughable,not his fault i know and more luck to him,but refs need to ensure a level playing field for all and that doesnt happen in my opinion,when we have played the likes of balla pike boro view etc we have had some desperate decisions go against us,and im sure their are some other clubs in the league who feel the same.

lawman
06/04/2012, 9:45 AM
what club are you with passandmove? il go and have a look myself to see how crazy those decisions are. not doubting you but i can look as a neutral

passandmove
06/04/2012, 10:18 AM
Wembley Rovers lad,if you had been in the pike field last thursday night you would understand our frustrations.

Minesapint
06/04/2012, 10:28 AM
[QUOTE=passandmove;1586321]But sure lads without boro and pike the standard wouldnt be worth talking about,ive said it before and il say it again you just have to knuckle down and face the challenge.My biggest concern would be how afraid referees are to give decisions against the big 2,not pike or boro's fault i know,our officials need to man up a bit more in my opinion.[/QUOTE
Boro and pike set a good standard and thank god for that i watched corbally last night and 2nd half in lee estate, corbally and star didnt put up a fight both sides deserve to be where they are, wembley and carew have been very good this year, kilmallock done ok, fairview have been very unlucky with injuries, balla have been very poor all season i think they need to get a decent pitch.

thomas72
06/04/2012, 2:42 PM
hopefully the LDMC will use there head and fix boro v pike for the final league game of the season winner takes all 2pm kick off give everyone a chance to see a fantastic game of ball.

Minesapint
06/04/2012, 8:57 PM
they should go by the fixture list they gave out to all the prem clubs at the start of the season.why play it the last match of season when the boro may know only a draw will do them.if everyone wants to watch it just go down and watch it.it will be the third last match for pike
Fair point

prawnsandwich2
07/04/2012, 8:42 AM
they should go by the fixture list they gave out to all the prem clubs at the start of the season.why play it the last match of season when the boro may know only a draw will do them.if everyone wants to watch it just go down and watch it.it will be the third last match for pike
i take your point,but the way the results are going for both pike and the boro,i think a draw will do them anyway,whenever the match is played. think pike know they have to win,as both teams will more then likely win their remaining fixtures,barr the one between both teams(my opinion only)

lawman
07/04/2012, 9:51 AM
Fair play to him. I'l have a look at that so.

spent the night in the regional with a sick child so didnt get to see the game last night.( have it sky plused though). heard i missed a cracker. the eirtricity league finally exploding into life. and Lims beaten. whats gone wrong there? how did limericks represenetive do in the tv game? (buttemir) newcastle nice price for a win too yestreday:rolleyes:

07/04/2012, 10:00 AM
spent the night in the regional with a sick child so didnt get to see the game last night.( have it sky plused though). heard i missed a cracker. the eirtricity league finally exploding into life. and Lims beaten. whats gone wrong there? how did limericks represenetive do in the tv game? (buttemir) newcastle nice price for a win too yestreday:rolleyes:

Buttimer is from cork. From what I saw of the game he was doing well and let it flow.

lawman
07/04/2012, 10:47 AM
Buttimer is from cork. From what I saw of the game he was doing well and let it flow.

according to the indo hes from Limerick. did he move here or something? if not whys he doin Limerick league games?

07/04/2012, 11:51 AM
according to the indo hes from Limerick. did he move here or something? if not whys he doin Limerick league games?

He is Cork alright but as you say he may have moved to Limerick.

Minesapint
08/04/2012, 11:59 AM
Pike 4 fairview 1 score line not a reflection on the game pike played most of the game with 10 men fairview had one or two chances,.

lawman
08/04/2012, 12:14 PM
so Pike down to ten men. looks like the refs must be on this site too and stepped up to the plate when it was pointed out to them that they couldnt make the big decisions against the big teams. what was the red card for?

theboywonder8
08/04/2012, 12:15 PM
Pike 4 fairview 1 score line not a reflection on the game pike played most of the game with 10 men fairview had one or two chances,.

Can't recall Gary making a save,pike were well worth their win,and if Boris wasn't sent off it could have been a lot worse,view need a lot of rebuilding and I'm sure they will,Boris will be big loss for 3 games,pike played all the football even with 10 men.