View Full Version : Limerick Premier Division 2011/12
barryk
23/10/2011, 12:34 PM
Regional 6-0 Star
Regional fully deserved the win and totally outplayed Star from start to finish.
4-0 at HT, and Regional scored 2 more in the last 5minutes of the game.
Hi Abbeyvale,
Did ye make many changes from Thursday evening.
OneTwo
23/10/2011, 1:10 PM
KBO Premier P W D L F A Pts
Pike Rovers 10 9 0 1 47 9 27
Janesboro 9 9 0 0 43 10 27
Carew Park 10 7 0 3 20 17 21
Regional Utd 10 6 1 3 19 14 19
Kilmallock 10 5 0 5 19 21 15
Ballynanty Rv 9 4 2 3 27 16 14
Fairview Rgs 9 4 1 4 25 17 13
Star Rvs 10 3 1 6 14 33 10
Corbally Utd 8 2 1 5 16 21 7
Aisling A 10 2 0 8 13 40 6
Wembley Rvs 8 1 2 5 8 21 5
Summerville 9 0 0 9 7 38 0
Results
Sat 22/10/11
Aisling Annacotty 3-2 Kilmallock,
Sunday 23/10/11
Carew Park 1-6 Pike Rvs,
Ballynanty Rvs 2-3 Janesboro,
Regional Utd 6-0 Star Rvs,
Summerville Rvs P-P Fairview Rgs,
Wembley Rvs A-A Corbally Utd,
Just to confirm, Wembley v Corbally game wasn't abandoned as such. Corbally forfeited after game was restarted following that unfortunate injury. Wembley will get the 3 points.
Fairkop
23/10/2011, 2:13 PM
saw the balla v boro game,boro well in control for most of it and played more football,balla playing a lot of long ball.highlight of the game boro,s third goal waters cross, clarkes header....brilliant.
theboywonder8
23/10/2011, 2:55 PM
saw the balla v boro game,boro well in control for most of it and played more Kfootball,balla playing a lot of long ball.highlight of the game boro,s third goal waters cross, clarkes header....brilliant.
kavanaghs 30 yard half volley brilliant.for the fourth
Second
23/10/2011, 3:10 PM
Boywonder where were you last week when pike lost.. Amazing how your back when ye win..
AlanOB
23/10/2011, 3:32 PM
carew park 1 pike 6
got a lession this morning we had a man sent off on 50mins IMO very harsh pike sideline agreed yellow at best made no diff it was 4-0 at the time poor performance for us lads are very dissappointed because they know we are alot better than what we showed out there some poor defending the dissapointing thing was pike wanted it more.
Saw this one.
Despite having an extra man to contend with in midfield, Tierney and Kavanagh absolutely ran the show. An incredible display at this level. Came in expecting a close game but got nothing of the sort. Carew looked in absolute disarray and seemed incapable of grasping basic defensive responsibilities like not letting the ball bounce. Heard from a fan that they were missing a couple of key players and that a number of players were out of position, but still....
passandmove
23/10/2011, 5:42 PM
All at wembley would like to wish the young lad a very speedy recovery and hope he's back playing soon,on the game we where much the better side and deserved to win,the whole side was excellent this morning,best of luck to for ally for the season.
neverseenit
23/10/2011, 7:28 PM
Saw this one.What
Despite having an extra man to contend with in midfield, Tierney and Kavanagh absolutely ran the show. An incredible display at this level. Came in expecting a close game but got nothing of the sort. Carew looked in absolute disarray and seemed incapable of grasping basic defensive responsibilities like not letting the ball bounce. Heard from a fan that they were missing a couple of key players and that a number of players were out of position, but still....
what else would you expect with two Loi players playing in a junior league..
safe hands
24/10/2011, 4:42 AM
saw the balla v boro game,boro well in control for most of it and played more football,balla playing a lot of long ball.highlight of the game boro,s third goal waters cross, clarkes header....brilliant.was there myself boro all over us 1 st half we made it 2 1 then 2 2 wont get into it BUT frankie lee taken down in the box.. k.. ref pick's up the ball brings it outside the box and says its a free now we lost no probs with that BUT how can you explain that..if your taken down in the box its a pen..not t5he boro's fault how can a ref ****in pick it up walk 2 yards and say its a free ..we were beat but refs should not be lead by side lines..and fairkop alex purcell 18 and barry kept ballon the ground all day dermot fitz good game with clark spud did well too 2 down to come back give them a rattle boro had the 1 st half we woke up 2nd half and the can i add 99.9 per cnt of our players are home grown and the finacial reglator will tell you that xxx
WizardOnTheWing
24/10/2011, 6:48 AM
wembley 4-1 corbally.game abandoned after 67mins after corballys evan o mara got a bad break to the ankle . a terrible performance by us this morning>never got going from the start.wembley wanted it more and we conceded very soft goals.goals from wembley by alan wallace (2),paul mc cormack.not sure who got the 4th.dave morris scored before halftime to make it 2-1. . on resumption of the game corbally walked off the field and game was blown up. whatever the scoreline when a lad gets injured like today the result or 3pts on the line dont really matter.a very nasty injury by the look of it and lets hope evan has a speedy recovery.
Bryan Finnegan got the other goal Tedd...First i would like to wish young evan a speedy recovery, an awful thing to happen.We played some great football up to the injury and deserved the win.We are starting to get back on track from the terrible start we had in the league and its good to see. Best of luck to Corbally for the rest of the season but not on Wednesday night for obvious reasons.
theboywonder8
24/10/2011, 8:44 AM
Boywonder where were you last week when pike lost.. Amazing how your back when ye win..
In jail,one week outta 52,were not doing too bad are we,if you have a spare fiver drop up to crossgalla and you'll get a tour of the trophy room,.....and that's with a discount just for you by the way,
tedd11
24/10/2011, 7:26 PM
Bryan Finnegan got the other goal Tedd...First i would like to wish young evan a speedy recovery, an awful thing to happen.We played some great football up to the injury and deserved the win.We are starting to get back on track from the terrible start we had in the league and its good to see. Best of luck to Corbally for the rest of the season but not on Wednesday night for obvious reasons.
thanks wizard.a good goal.forgot who got it with all the other commotion.
abbeyvale
25/10/2011, 5:10 PM
KBO Premier P W D L F A Pts
Janesboro 9 9 0 0 43 10 27
Ballynanty Rv 9 4 2 3 27 16 14
Wembley Rvs 9 2 2 5 12 22 8
Corbally Utd 8 2 1 5 16 21 7
Aisling Anna 10 2 0 8 13 40 6
Summerville 9 0 0 9 7 38 0
Fixture
Sun 30/10/11
Corbally Utd v Janesboro, 10.30, J McNamara
old git
26/10/2011, 10:05 PM
lads quick question covers all leagues player sent off automatically misses next game ,,, what happpens if next game called of weather etc is this classed as suspension served ?, or game started and then abandoned by referee would this be classed as suspension served ?
nononsense
26/10/2011, 11:04 PM
lads quick question covers all leagues player sent off automatically misses next game ,,, what happpens if next game called of weather etc is this classed as suspension served ?, or game started and then abandoned by referee would this be classed as suspension served ?
If game is called off because of weather suspension is not served. If game is started and then abandoned by referee suspension is not served if the game is refixed. If not refixed and score at time of abandonment stands suspension is served.
tedd11
30/10/2011, 12:27 PM
Corbally 3-7 Janesboro. Scorers were Clarke 3,waters,o Gorman,lynch,don't know who got the last. We were well in the game til 35mins when waters latched onto a bad clearance and buried it.Clarke did the same on 40mins to make it 3-1 at half time.second
Half was a case of damage limitation as boro had lads bombing on from everywhere.we got 2 consolations but in the end boro were just too strong.we had alot of lads missing today and It showed in the end.a long season ahead for us.boro very strong going forward.waters is lethal and on current form has to be up there to get capped.haven't seen a winger as good in a longtime.best of luck to boro for rest of season,on the back of today's second half display they will push pike all the way
tedd11
30/10/2011, 12:28 PM
Regarding the scorers above waters actually got 2
safe hands
01/11/2011, 2:55 AM
fairview in bottom half of the table with more loses than wins, thats a bit of a shock, whats going on there ran out of steam one might say but the rest of us still playing catch up where fai's are concerned..BUT ????
abbeyvale
02/11/2011, 10:04 PM
Premier P W D L F A Pts
Janesboro 10 10 0 0 50 13 30
Ballynanty Rovers 9 4 2 3 27 16 14
Wembley Rvs 9 2 2 5 12 22 8
Corbally Utd 10 2 1 7 20 32 7
Aisling Annacotty 10 2 0 8 13 41 6
Summerville Rvs 9 0 0 9 7 38 0
Fixtures
Sun 06/11/11
Kilmallock v Ballynanty Rvs, 10.30, K Gorman
Wembley Rvs v Summerville Rvs, 10.30, R Peiper
Carew Park v Aisling Annacotty, 10.30, R Broe
Janesboro v Regional Utd, 10.30, A Keogh
Corbally Utd v Fairview Rgs, 10.30, G Clancy
passandmove
03/11/2011, 1:16 PM
Could be an interesting weekend in the premier,boro could go 6 points clear at the top and with star not playing at the other end gives 3 or 4 sides the chance to tighten things up,we face our old rivals s'ville who are going through a tough run at the moment but we expecting a real battle as usual with them,best of luck to our lads on sunday.
abbeyvale
04/11/2011, 12:11 AM
Could be an interesting weekend in the premier,boro could go 6 points clear at the top and with star not playing at the other end gives 3 or 4 sides the chance to tighten things up,we face our old rivals s'ville who are going through a tough run at the moment but we expecting a real battle as usual with them,best of luck to our lads on sunday. Ye need to be beating Summerville at home in fairness, can't see Aisling getting anything away to Carew Park, and I think Corbally would be more than happy with a point v View (but I think the View will shade it)
For what its worth my predictions are:
Kilmallock X Ballynanty Rvs,
Wembley Rvs 1 Summerville Rvs,
Carew Park 1 Aisling Annacotty,
Janesboro 1 Regional Utd,
Corbally Utd 2 Fairview Rgs,
dutchie
04/11/2011, 7:47 AM
ran out of steam one might say but the rest of us still playing catch up where fai's are concerned..BUT ????
Heard Gavin OShea is back for Fairview this weekend,might make a difference for second half of league!!
tedd11
04/11/2011, 9:47 PM
Heard Paul Quinn is heading for Oz in the next few weeks?if this is true then having o Shea back will be a big boost to the view.can anyone confirm this?
Football MaD
05/11/2011, 3:03 PM
balla,view,carew,boro and wembley to win for me.cant see any upsets tomorrow.sumerville just not up to premier soccer.kilmalock on bad run of results.boro too strong for everyone except pike i think.aisling not great this season.and view too strong for corbally with few players back.
Football MaD
05/11/2011, 3:10 PM
Heard Paul Quinn is heading for Oz in the next few weeks?if this is true then having o Shea back will be a big boost to the view.can anyone confirm this?after christmas i heard.
neverseenit
05/11/2011, 7:20 PM
after christmas i heard.
Paul off to oz next week
neverseenit
05/11/2011, 7:21 PM
Heard Carew missing loads tomorrow so aisling could surprise them and get a badly needed win
thomas72
05/11/2011, 7:43 PM
Heard Carew missing loads tomorrow so aisling could surprise them and get a badly needed win
Unreal 9 first team players missing lucky to have 11 players in the morning. THree suspended two away one working three injuried.
Fairkop
05/11/2011, 7:57 PM
Unreal 9 first team players missing lucky to have 11 players in the morning. THree suspended two away one working three injuried.could we see denis and cecil making comebacks so thom?
thomas72
05/11/2011, 8:01 PM
could we see denis and cecil making comebacks so thom?
THey have to fairkop we have nobody else LOL
deadly man
05/11/2011, 9:03 PM
THey have to fairkop we have nobody else LOL
Rumour has it your togging out yourself Thomas
thomas72
05/11/2011, 9:43 PM
Rumour has it your togging out yourself Thomas
LOL. they rather play with ten I'd say LOL
gommie06
06/11/2011, 12:14 PM
Corbally 3 - 4 Fairview
Corbally very unlucky not to get anything!
Nesta
06/11/2011, 12:24 PM
Wembley Rvs 5 - 1 Summerville
thomas72
06/11/2011, 12:30 PM
Carew park 2 AA 2, jamie Kelly, pa boyle.
VEry disappointed carew two up with 20mins to play and coasting two pieces of very poor defending cost us two points with the players we had missing I suppose Its not the worst result in the world. FAir play to pa boyle he is about 50% fit got 50mins out of him scored a cracking goal also Kevin Barry and Steven Grant both injuried but still togged out got 10mins out of Kevin and 15 from Granty
AlanOB
06/11/2011, 2:45 PM
Janesboro 4-1 Regional
Cracking game, despite the misleadingly one-sided scoreline. Regional had the better of the opening exchanges only to go one down to a controversial goal that was more than likely offside. "Muzzy" was the scorer(!!), feeding off a headed flick from Conor Lynch. "Muzzy" was to make it two soon after, as he ghosted in unmarked at the near post to convert a free-kick that keeper Power probably should have come for. Meanwhile, Declan Nash was running the channels on the right, obviously under orders to take on left-full Aled Harkin, and eventually that approach bore fruit as Harkin hacked him down and instead of taking his booking, decided to kick out at the Regional striker. Red card.
Despite having the extra man, Regional huffed and puffed in the second half. Nash faded out of the game, and their other striker missed two glorious opportunities. Really they failed to use the width of the pitch and made it easy on Janesboro. They were also concerned about Boro's pace on the counter and overruled their manager's requests to push up on a few occasions for this reason. Janesboro were to make it 3-0 from a Tom Clarke free kick, that crept past the wall and into the far corner. Once again Power has to take criticism. He really had an uncharacteristically poor game.
Regional got one back, but Janesboro wrapped it up with a penalty soon after when Power took out Shane Waters who by that point was playing upfront. Power was sent off and Tom Clarke slotted it home past an outfield player to make it 4-1.
A closer game than the scoreline would suggest. Regional are a well organised outfit that maybe lack in cutting edge. Poor goalkeeping and basic defensive errors cost them today but they were more than a match for the league leaders at times.
tedd11
06/11/2011, 3:19 PM
corbally 3-4 fairview. fairview took the lead after 25mins through a colin scanlon penalty after sherlock took down hayes in the box.corbally equalised within a minute after dave morris got on the end of a ian o donoghue cross from 4 yards out after great work from neylon and o donoghue down the right. 1-1 at half time. fairview went 2-1 up on 55mins when colin scanlon slotted home from 4 yards out after good work from hayes down the left.corbally equalised again on 60mins when morris buried a knockback from ian o donoghue after a good cross on the left from luka banja.fairview went 3-2 up on 70mins when hayes lost his marker and lathced onto a through ball from scanlon to slot home under duhig from 8 yards.corbally equalised on 75mins when o donoghue dinked a lovely ball into the back post for neylon to bury a header past ryan in fairview goal.the game was heading for a draw when hayes latched onto a mix up in corbally defence on 87mins to round duhig and slot home.a devastatating result for us today,a very level game where we deserved at least a draw .even though the pitch was heavy both teams played some good football.as with most of our games this season basic defensive errors are causing us to lose games we should be getting results out of.a massive second half needed to the season to try drag us out of relegation zone.best for fairview on the day were hayes,scanlon and o brien while morris,o neill and o donghue were best for corbally
passandmove
06/11/2011, 4:36 PM
Wembley 5 Summerville 1,poor enough game overall in fairness our lads just a bit more clinical in front of goal,fair play to the s'ville lads who kept going to the end,nobody wants to see a team losing every week so credit to them for plugging away,another good 3 points for us so we have to be pleased.
Fairkop
06/11/2011, 6:36 PM
great reports there lads,impressive win for boro playing with ten men for long period.
Begrudger
06/11/2011, 6:49 PM
Wembley 5 Summerville 1,poor enough game overall in fairness our lads just a bit more clinical in front of goal,fair play to the s'ville lads who kept going to the end,nobody wants to see a team losing every week so credit to them for plugging away,another good 3 points for us so we have to be pleased.
Summerville went one up from what I heard and had a few chances but ran outta steam and leaked 2 or 3 goals late on
passandmove
06/11/2011, 8:09 PM
Ya man they took the lead and in fairness had a good goal disallowed in the 2nd half,i suppose when your luck is out its tough,we made 5 or 6 changes so the result was a good boost for all the squad.Looks like corbally where unlucky and aisling picked up a good point so its going to be a good battle down the table,and with boro putting it up to pike looks like it will be an exciting 2nd half to the season.
HuRya
06/11/2011, 10:16 PM
Janesboro 4-1 Regional
Cracking game, despite the misleadingly one-sided scoreline. Regional had the better of the opening exchanges only to go one down to a controversial goal that was more than likely offside. "Muzzy" was the scorer(!!), feeding off a headed flick from Conor Lynch. "Muzzy" was to make it two soon after, as he ghosted in unmarked at the near post to convert a free-kick that keeper Power probably should have come for. Meanwhile, Declan Nash was running the channels on the right, obviously under orders to take on left-full Aled Harkin, and eventually that approach bore fruit as Harkin hacked him down and instead of taking his booking, decided to kick out at the Regional striker. Red card.
Despite having the extra man, Regional huffed and puffed in the second half. Nash faded out of the game, and their other striker missed two glorious opportunities. Really they failed to use the width of the pitch and made it easy on Janesboro. They were also concerned about Boro's pace on the counter and overruled their manager's requests to push up on a few occasions for this reason. Janesboro were to make it 3-0 from a Tom Clarke free kick, that crept past the wall and into the far corner. Once again Power has to take criticism. He really had an uncharacteristically poor game.
Regional got one back, but Janesboro wrapped it up with a penalty soon after when Power took out Shane Waters who by that point was playing upfront. Power was sent off and Tom Clarke slotted it home past an outfield player to make it 4-1.
A closer game than the scoreline would suggest. Regional are a well organised outfit that maybe lack in cutting edge. Poor goalkeeping and basic defensive errors cost them today but they were more than a match for the league leaders at times.
Very good assessment of the game. A few corrections however. Muzzy was definately onside for the first goal - played in by Lynch.He never got a touch to Harkin's inswinging free kick from half way and Harkin gave Nash a playful shoulder as they were having words following an aerial foul.Nash went down like he had been shot by a sniper.Regional should have had a penalty mid way through the 2nd half with the score at 3-0.A great game of ball by two good sides.
abbeyvale
06/11/2011, 11:32 PM
Premier P W D L F A Pts
Janesboro 11 11 0 0 54 14 33
Carew Park 11 7 1 3 22 19 22
Regional Utd 11 6 1 4 20 18 19
Ballynanty Rvs 10 5 2 3 30 17 17
Fairview Rgs 10 5 1 4 29 20 16
Kilmallock 11 5 0 6 20 24 15
Wembley Rvs 10 3 2 5 17 23 11
Corbally Utd 11 2 1 8 23 36 7
Aisling A 11 2 1 8 15 43 7
Summerville Rv 10 0 0 10 8 43 0
Results
06/11/11
Kilmallock 1 Ballynanty Rvs 3
Wembley Rvs 5 Summerville Rvs 1
Carew Park 2 Aisling Annacotty 2
Janesboro 4 Regional Utd 1
Corbally Utd 3 Fairview Rgs 4
Fixtures
Sat 12/11/11
AA v Star Rvs 7pm
Sun 13/11/11
Summerville Rvs v Fairview Rgs, 10.30, M Kiely
Carew Park v Corbally Utd, 10.30, T Duggan
Regional Utd v Ballynanty Rvs, 10.30, R Broe
Kilmallock v Janesboro, 10.30, K Gorman
Football MaD
07/11/2011, 7:51 AM
good result for carew with half a team out.
07/11/2011, 8:24 AM
Bit worrying for Pike that the FAI and this silly cup of champions thing are going to mean a fixture back log. I see they have no game again this weekend coming... They probably will be 9 points behind come Sunday and while there are two games in hand, it's going to be a bit of an ask. Still fancy them though.
WizardOnTheWing
07/11/2011, 10:51 AM
Ya man they took the lead and in fairness had a good goal disallowed in the 2nd half,i suppose when your luck is out its tough,we made 5 or 6 changes so the result was a good boost for all the squad.Looks like corbally where unlucky and aisling picked up a good point so its going to be a good battle down the table,and with boro putting it up to pike looks like it will be an exciting 2nd half to the season.
Good goal disallowed, there was a push on our keeper Passandmove thats why it was disallowed. The ref had a perfect view of it..On the game, summerville never really got going and are going to struggle this year with the squad they have.They have good players that dont seem to want to play for the current management and that is affecting the lads who turn up week in week out.
theboywonder8
07/11/2011, 11:45 AM
Thomas you're disappointed AA didnt win,hadn't you them backed??
Football MaD
07/11/2011, 1:13 PM
thomas you're disappointed aa didnt win,hadn't you them backed??why would he back against his own
theboywonder8
07/11/2011, 1:31 PM
Dunno,
Football MaD
07/11/2011, 1:47 PM
dunno,the com:confused:mitee wont like that now thomas will they.