View Full Version : Irish Abroad 2011/2012

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9

Irwin3
16/10/2011, 8:57 AM
Jamie O’Hara has turned down the chance to join Ireland’s Euro 2012 adventure.

The Wolves ace has not given up hope of playing for England and is sticking to his guns – even though boss Mick McCarthy has told him to make himself available for the Republic.

O’Hara, 25, insisted: “I’ve played for England at every level except the senior side.

“It’s always been my ambition to win a full cap and that hasn’t changed. I have a massive Irish family on dad’s side – I’m probably more Irish than English. But it would be unfair on the Irish players if I changed countries and it would raise a few eyebrows. I wouldn’t want that sort of attention.”

http://www.mirrorfootball.co.uk/news/Wolverhampton-Wanderers-midfielder-Jamie-O-Hara-vows-to-play-for-England-not-Republic-of-Ireland-article812922.html

Yeah fair play for saying it like it is. Don't think that'll go down well with some English folk.

theworm2345
16/10/2011, 7:29 PM
Poor old Joe Lapira...his team Nybergsund are now mathematically relegated from the Adeccoligaen to the Norwegian Third Tier.

Olé Olé
17/10/2011, 1:15 PM
Fair play to O'Hara. It's unlikely he'll get an English cap because he's not at the level required currently and I don't think he'll develop to that level. But he's put the matter to bed and he's holding out for England even though he has enough credentials to line out for Ireland.
Perhaps a bit of this sort of clarity from a few other choice individuals would be nice. But as with the the Northern Ireland debacle, the public isn't entirely sure of what's going on behind close doors.

18/10/2011, 9:09 AM
Paul George scored twice as Celtic came from behind to defeat Man City 4-2 in the NextGen series (Champions League for Academy sides)
Man City review: http://www.mcfc.co.uk/News/Match-reports/2011/October/City-U19-v-Celtic-U19
Celtic review: http://www.celticfc.net/newsstory?item=1657

theworm2345
18/10/2011, 7:16 PM
O'Dea scores for Leeds, I believe his first goal in England.

theworm2345
20/10/2011, 5:10 PM
Fahey, Rooney, Duff, and Kelly all start in the early matches of the Europa League, just turned it on and Brum already down.

EDIT: David Murphy (Irish great-grandparent) scores for Birmingham

EDIT2: Rooney withdrawn after 73 minutes, was largely ineffective, had one decent chance which he blazed high and wide.

20/10/2011, 9:57 PM
Good to see Kelly, Duff, Fahey and St Ledger getting game time this week. Might need them all next month.

gastric
24/10/2011, 10:13 AM
It's good to see 23 year old Stephen Henderson getting a game at Portsmouth. Can anyone tell me how he is going and if he could get a game for Ireland at some stage?

24/10/2011, 4:14 PM
Henderson has played in the last 4 games and is keeping the regular keeper Ashdown out. New manager coming into Portsmouth so a lot will depend on his judgements.

theworm2345
24/10/2011, 6:40 PM
Gary Dicker's Brighton vs Joey O'Brien's West Ham about to start, should be a good battle of two of The Championship's promotion contenders...both Dicker and O'Brien are starting as is Marcos Painter for Brighton (not to mention West Ham's "faux Irish" central midfield of Nolan and Noble). Not much has been said about Painter but he regularly plays the 90 for the Seagulls.

24/10/2011, 11:23 PM
Game held up for bad injury to Dicker.

theworm2345
25/10/2011, 6:36 PM
Both Keane twins (including the turncoat, whichever one that is) on the bench for Manchester United against Aldershot.

25/10/2011, 6:48 PM
Turncoat! Hands off our kids!

theworm2345
25/10/2011, 7:31 PM
Joe Mason scored in the Carling Cup, two in two for him.

25/10/2011, 7:44 PM
Cardiff goal: Cardiff make the breakthrough as Joe Mason scores a sublime goal. His movement again catches the Burnley defence napping and this time the striker delivers a composed finish as he curls a left-foot effort into the bottom corner.

25/10/2011, 8:54 PM
FULL-TIME Cardiff 1-0 Burnley
Dewi Hughes reports: "Joe Mason's moment of brilliance sends Cardiff City into the quarter-final of the Carling Cup for the first time since 1965. The young striker's movement unsettled the Burnley defence throughout, and his curling left-foot effort after 40 minutes shows he also has a finisher's touch. Burnley's best moments came in the first half when they twice tested Cardiff keeper Tom Heaton."

Paddy Garcia
29/10/2011, 3:24 PM
Westwood gets a chance to impress!

29/10/2011, 4:05 PM
goals for Stephen Hunt (pen) against Man City, Lee Frecklington for Peterbro v Watford.

tommy_c12000
29/10/2011, 8:43 PM
Bit busy getting ready to play Jack the Lad around town at mo so don't have the time to look into Mark O'Brien's 29th minute substitution today (for Kilbane if I remember correctly). Presume it was an injury? Hope it's not too serious. Would appreciate if anyone can check it out . . . .

theworm2345
29/10/2011, 8:56 PM
Bit busy getting ready to play Jack the Lad around town at mo so don't have the time to look into Mark O'Brien's 29th minute substitution today (for Kilbane if I remember correctly). Presume it was an injury? Hope it's not too serious. Would appreciate if anyone can check it out . . . .
Shoulder injury, they are concerned over whether or not he'll be able to play this coming Wednesday which would suggest its not serious.

tommy_c12000
29/10/2011, 9:22 PM
Shoulder injury, they are concerned over whether or not he'll be able to play this coming Wednesday which would suggest its not serious.

There he is, the main goy! Mr Dependable knew you'd come through for me! Good to hear, if it's touch and go for wed, it's nothing serious. Gotta go taxi beeping the horn. Cheers

gastric
30/10/2011, 9:39 AM
O'Driscoll to Portsmouth as manager would be a good move for him. Was impressed with the work he did at Doncaster.

http://www.people.co.uk/sport/football/news/2011/10/30/portsmouth-ready-to-name-sean-o-driscoll-as-new-boss-102039-23524274/

31/10/2011, 2:35 PM
did we ever get to the bottom of Adam Maher's eligibility? Scored a peach of a goal at the weekend for AZ ALkmaar - cant find the vid.

Nagger
31/10/2011, 3:17 PM
did we ever get to the bottom of Adam Maher's eligibility? Scored a peach of a goal at the weekend for AZ ALkmaar - cant find the vid.

100% commited to the Dutch at the moment. And there's no Irish blood in him anyway. He's Maroccan ;)

Here's the goal: http://eredivisielive.nl/video/29702-89-doelpunt-adam-maher-heracles-almelo---az-0-1.html

31/10/2011, 4:23 PM
stupid Morrocan names being similar to Irish names... tsk! ;)

gastric
04/11/2011, 12:13 AM
Kieron Cadogan at Crystal Palace, a winger with Irish roots has been linked with a move to Bournemouth.

Tipp Townie
08/11/2011, 9:30 AM
Gary Dicker's Brighton vs Joey O'Brien's West Ham about to start, should be a good battle of two of The Championship's promotion contenders...both Dicker and O'Brien are starting as is Marcos Painter for Brighton (not to mention West Ham's "faux Irish" central midfield of Nolan and Noble). Not much has been said about Painter but he regularly plays the 90 for the Seagulls.

Game held up for bad injury to Dicker.

Yeah, Dicker has a fractured fibula and is out for 12 to 14 weeks. Was due to have an op last week. Havent heard any more since.
A real shame for him for obvious reasons, but also because he's been gradually adjusting to life at the higher level. I still had my doubts about him ever being international standard, but it would have been interesting for him to get a full season under his belt and then see how he started next year (assuming we stay up!).

Marcos Painter was great for us last year. Very very solid and organised. At Championship level his complete lack of pace is potentially the major problem - considered a major issue at his previous clubs too - and i'd have to agree that it's been noticeable so far this season. Again, not sure he's got the ability to go much higher. Picked up an injury (not sure how bad) a week ago and didnt play on Sunday.

TrapAPony
11/11/2011, 3:41 PM
Southend midfielder Kane Ferdinand targeted by Allardyce
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-2060246/Kane-Ferdinand-targeted-West-Ham-United.html (http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-2060246/Kane-Ferdinand-targeted-West-Ham-United.html)

11/11/2011, 3:47 PM
Finally got the majority of my broadband issues sorted out and I did a massive update of the Irish Abroad site last night - http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/
Think all the appearance stats are up to date, and next up is to collate the monthly stats for September and October

11/11/2011, 4:52 PM
Southend midfielder Kane Ferdinand targeted by Allardyce
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-2060246/Kane-Ferdinand-targeted-West-Ham-United.html (http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-2060246/Kane-Ferdinand-targeted-West-Ham-United.html)
It must be some kind of Ferdinand family tradition to sign for West Ham.

TrapAPony
11/11/2011, 10:18 PM
DavidMeyler (http://twitter.com/#!/DavidMeyler) David Meyler
Tweeps did you know @FraizerCampbell (http://twitter.com/#!/FraizerCampbell) can play for Ireland, who thinks he should join the Boys in Green?

Irwin3
11/11/2011, 10:48 PM
@FraizerCampbell (http://twitter.com/#%21/FraizerCampbell) Fraizer Campbell
@DavidMeyler (http://twitter.com/#%21/DavidMeyler) I knew you would be dying to go for it! Ireland will batter these about 4 nil! You at the game

Some prediction. Shame about Campbell's injuries. Could have been useful...

TrapAPony
12/11/2011, 1:17 PM
Well what do we have here.

mrjamieohara (http://twitter.com/#!/mrjamieohara) Jamie o'hara
Great result for ireland buzzing for the lads they deserve it well done boys

liamoo11
12/11/2011, 10:31 PM
In fairness o hara is a top man. he was very open in saying he feels English and only wants to play for them but he has lots of irish family and obviously loads of Irish lads at wolves. Well said Mr o Hara

12/11/2011, 10:37 PM
I'd have thought by "the lads" he meant all his Wolves mates, plus he's half-Irish so it obviously means something to him. The English are generally quite supportive of us anyway. We just don't repay the favour :D

13/11/2011, 12:37 PM
Article on Ireland U17 striker Sam Byrne at Manchester United: http://www.independent.ie/lifestyle/the-dream-job-at-16-2933040.html

13/11/2011, 1:19 PM
As promised, the monthly stats for August, September and October have been collated and published: http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/MonthlyStats

19/11/2011, 2:27 PM
Live blog up and running on Irish Abroad: http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/Live
Hope to have it going for every day there's games across the water now
tell your friends!

19/11/2011, 3:17 PM
Cheers Tets.

Brian Murphy(QPR), John Egan(Sunderland) and Darren O'Dea(Leeds) are missing from the live feed and a judgement call on Eunan O'Kane who just scored two for Torquay.

19/11/2011, 3:40 PM
cool, thanks. I've added Egan in. The Leeds game is over, but O'Dea will appear in future.
You sure about Brian Murphy? Sky Sports don't have him on the bench for QPR on the scorecentre

19/11/2011, 3:44 PM
Strange. BBC have 6 subs named (Murphy, Orr, Derry, Buzsaky, Smith, Hewitt) and Sky only have 5. Maybe he failed a fitness test or something.

:eek:What's happening with PropAgandhi2 (https://twitter.com/#!/PropAgandhi2)

19/11/2011, 4:17 PM
Watched the Burnley v Leeds game. McCann and Treacy played for Burnley. Keogh, O'Dea and White for Leeds. Keogh was quiet enough, taken off after. O'Dea done well but went off in last ten with head injury again. White very steady, looks promising.

Treacy had some great touches and passages, could have scored a hattrick, keeper McCarthy made 3 great saves from him. Treacy looks a little lazy, but looks great on the ball.

McCann was the best Irish player on view, a great box to box display, had one brilliant effort just wide, wasted at this level.

19/11/2011, 5:00 PM
Strange. BBC have 6 subs named (Murphy, Orr, Derry, Buzsaky, Smith, Hewitt) and Sky only have 5. Maybe he failed a fitness test or something.

:eek:What's happening with PropAgandhi2 (https://twitter.com/#%21/PropAgandhi2)He's on the YBIG board, and usually gives everyone some form of abuse there. Been banned repeatedly and keeps coming back with a new login, for whatever reason, and starts posting the same drivel over and over again. I'd imagine theworm would be familiar with him too.

For whatever reason, he's taken to abusing me on twitter today. To make it clear, I've never posted anything about him on twitter, left him a message on twitter, or any of the football forums I'm involved with. Until today, I didn't even know he had an account on twitter, nor have I ever checked to see if he had one.

for anyone who doesn't know what I'm talking about, this is what's been going on this afternoon
from https://twitter.com/#!/PropAgandhi2/status/137922868423036928 (https://twitter.com/#%21/PropAgandhi2/status/137922868423036928)

@tetsujin1979 (https://twitter.com/#%21/tetsujin1979) I'll knock you out, you *****.
from https://twitter.com/#!/PropAgandhi2/status/137928559170830336 (https://twitter.com/#%21/PropAgandhi2/status/137928559170830336)

@tetsujin1979 (https://twitter.com/#%21/tetsujin1979) Yeah retweet it you sad *******. I'll take one of your gay missing flags and shove it up your arse.
One of the recommended methods of dealing with abuse on twitter is not to reply, to retweet the message to your followers, and let your followers deal with it, which is what I did.

from https://twitter.com/#!/PropAgandhi2/status/137935748182708224 (https://twitter.com/#%21/PropAgandhi2/status/137935748182708224)

@tetsujin1979 (https://twitter.com/#%21/tetsujin1979) My stats bring all the girls to the yard and they say they're better than yours! #35yearoldstaleloser (https://twitter.com/#%21/search?q=%2335yearoldstaleloser)He started a stats thread last season on YBIG, and got ****ed off when I posted links to my site in it, and corrected his stats, or others he'd missed. For the record I'm 32, not 35.

from https://twitter.com/#!/PropAgandhi2/status/137939916557529088 (https://twitter.com/#%21/PropAgandhi2/status/137939916557529088)

@tetsujin1979 (https://twitter.com/#%21/tetsujin1979) Rory Delap scared a small girl in the 26th minute and Paddy Kenny picked his nose in the 53rd minute.
The twitter updates for the Irish Abroad site take the form "Player was booked/scored/was sent off in the Xth minute" so I'd imagine this is a dig at those updates

(apologies for the completely off topic nature of this)

TrapAPony
19/11/2011, 5:10 PM
That Propaghandi chap seems to be a bit of a weirdo.

theworm2345
19/11/2011, 5:14 PM
That Propaghandi chap seems to be a bit of a weirdo.
Can I guess that he is a YBIG member?

19/11/2011, 5:17 PM
Can I guess that he is a YBIG member?yep, also posts as The Joker, jokerman, propaghandi and propaghandi2 on the board
And probably several other alternative logins.

theworm2345
19/11/2011, 5:24 PM
yep, also posts as The Joker, jokerman, propaghandi and propaghandi2 on the board
None ring any bells, must've joined long after I left but I'm sure he fits in quite well there now. Figured he must be a member here or there and doesn't remind me of any posters here.

20/11/2011, 3:42 AM
yep, also posts as The Joker, jokerman, propaghandi and propaghandi2 on the board
Seems like a particularly sound individual. I would very much like to be best friends with him.

gastric
20/11/2011, 9:34 AM
Seems like a particularly sound individual. I would very much like to be best friends with him.

Hard to understand why people act this way - makes no sense to me.

gastric
24/11/2011, 12:04 AM
Colin Healy's contract terminated by Ipswich.