View Full Version : Irish Abroad 2011/2012

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9

14/08/2011, 1:40 PM
Fahey's goal was after an assist by Adam Rooney.

Quite a difference a year makes. Not an Irish player in sight in the first few weeks of last season. This year our Championship players, bar St. Ledger maybe, all seem to have got off to good starts. Stokes (cough) is off to a good start at Celtic, and in the EPL we had a fair few featuring yesterday with outstanding performances from Shay and Hoolahan by all accounts, and a great goal from Ward. C'mon lads, keep the form up and stay fit.

CraftyToePoke
14/08/2011, 3:10 PM
This year our Championship players, bar St. Ledger maybe, all seem to have got off to good starts. Stokes (cough) is off to a good start at Celtic, and in the EPL we had a fair few featuring yesterday with outstanding performances from Shay and Hoolahan by all accounts, and a great goal from Ward. C'mon lads, keep the form up and stay fit.

O'Brien starting both for Derby and Mason featuring in both Cardiff games is very encouraging, seems Mason really did well off the bench today.

14/08/2011, 5:09 PM
I think it's great that the 3 lads(plus a few in the Champ) who scored in the premier league all have their roots in the League of Ireland.
It'll show young lads that their is a career for them, playing back here which can only help the league improve,
and it shows the clubs in England that their are good players to be got over here, and God knows, we
need the money that those transfers will bring. Long may it continue

14/08/2011, 7:31 PM
Yes, I texted my mates earlier that 5 ex-LOI players scored in the EPL & C'ship this w/e. Were there more?

What did Derry get for McClean - £350k? That's a lot of wedge.

Does anyone know if Anthony Stokes was ever in Terenure College, my old school? I've heard it said but never substantiated.

14/08/2011, 7:33 PM
Yeah, he was.

TrapAPony
14/08/2011, 8:39 PM
Does anyone know if Anthony Stokes was ever in Terenure College, my old school? I've heard it said but never substantiated.

''Anthony left Terenure in 2003 to pursue a football career with Arsenal. Whilst on loan to Falkirk, Anthony was the leading goalscorer in all of Scotland. Sunderland’s Roy Keane recently swooped to move him to The stadium of light for an initial fee of €3 million. He is reported to be on a pay packet of €25,000 per week.''
http://www.nure.ie/Newsletter%20Febuary%202007.pdf - Last point of the ''Past pupils in the news'' headline

theworm2345
16/08/2011, 1:17 AM
Joe Lapira scored in Nybergsund's 3-5 loss to Hodd on Sunday :o

16/08/2011, 8:07 PM
Jutkiewicz scored for Coventry again tonight.

Lukas Jutkiewicz fires in a goal from close in to the top left corner of the goal. Crystal Palace 0-1 Coventry.

17/08/2011, 6:49 PM
Jeff Hendrick to make his first start tonight for Derby: http://www.dcfc.co.uk/page/NewsDetail/0,,10270~2420074,00.html

17/08/2011, 7:09 PM
Aiden O'Brien - Millwall has signed a new contract
http://www.millwallfc.co.uk/page/NewsDetail/0,,10367~2423802,00.html?

Billy Mehmet is on trial in New Zealan - Wellington Phoenix
http://www.wellingtonphoenix.com/default.aspx?s=newsdisplay&id=40600

18/08/2011, 8:18 AM
This was covered in other threads :rolleyes:

Eunan O'Kane switches allegiance.
http://www.thisissouthdevon.co.uk/story-13156394-detail/story.html

21/08/2011, 12:10 PM
Keep an eye out for Anthony Pilkington(or Pilks as I affectionately call him) starting for Norwich today. Have only ever seen him once, playing for the U21s but looks a prospect.

His wiki is a bit ominous

He qualifies through his paternal grandmother from Dublin but has not yet declared his national side, so may still play for the English national team despite playing for the Republic of Ireland under-21s.
I wouldn't go down the token cap route though. A phone call from Tardelli or someone letting him know that the Irish setup are keeping an eye on him might keep his toes pointing the right direction.

Up Mayo....

TrapAPony
21/08/2011, 12:22 PM
Keep an eye out for Anthony Pilkington(or Pilks as I affectionately call him) starting for Norwich today. Have only ever seen him once, playing for the U21s but looks a prospect.

His wiki is a bit ominous

I wouldn't go down the token cap route though. A phone call from Tardelli or someone letting him know that the Irish setup are keeping an eye on him might keep his toes pointing the right direction.

Up Mayo....

Marc Tierney too

OMTY
24/08/2011, 11:12 AM
Darren Potter and Stephen Gleeson had assists in MK Dons win over Norwich last night. Jay O'Shea came off the bench and former Sporting Fingal player Shaun Williams played the full match.

26/08/2011, 9:11 AM
Accrington Stanley are waiting on clearance to play Padraig Amond tomorrow.

http://www.lancashiretelegraph.co.uk/sport/football/accrington_stanley/news/9217564.Coleman_waits_on_Amond_clearance/

Stanley have agreed a season-long loan deal for the 23-year-old with his Portuguese club Pacos de Ferreira, but are waiting for international clearance.

theworm2345
26/08/2011, 5:47 PM
Just thought I point out that Birmingham's Nathan Redmond is half Irish. Though he seems to be committed to England, maybe Hughton can push him in the right direction.

27/08/2011, 4:39 PM
Congratulations to Michael Harriman (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Michael_Harriman) making his Premier League debut for QPR today.

Hall's time on the field came to a premature end as Michael Harriman came on for his Premier League bow. The young full-back slotted in on the right with The useful Gabbidon slotting in alongside Perone.

AlaskaFox
27/08/2011, 6:19 PM
Barry Maguire started for VVV, they're currently 3-1 down heading for half-time. Just noticed that Northern Irish-Japanese Robert Cullen is playing for them too. Maybe Barry will have a word in his ear.

the bear
27/08/2011, 11:29 PM
great start of the season from an irish players point of view, great to see lads getting games and playing really well. brilliant in comparison to the beginning of last season, especially with the 2 big games just around the corner

28/08/2011, 11:23 AM
No D Duff in Fulhams squad.......

28/08/2011, 11:31 AM
Huh? He's in the starting xi

AlaskaFox
28/08/2011, 11:35 AM

Just about the post the same thing. Duffer is starting.

28/08/2011, 11:54 AM

my bad. In my defence, from bbc.

Fulham: Schwarzer, Briggs, Hughes,
Hangeland, Baird, Dempsey, Murphy,
Sidwell, Donegan, Dembele, Kasami.
Subs: Etheridge, Kelly, Johnson,
Senderos, Gecov, Etuhu, Frei.

theworm2345
30/08/2011, 8:48 PM
Not good in the penalty shootouts today in the Johnstones Paint Trophy, Patrick Cregg, Darren Potter, Stephen Gleeson, and the Clint all missed theirs. Jonathan Douglas did make his.

Tipp Townie
31/08/2011, 10:44 AM
Has William Buckley of Brighton any Irish roots?
Certainly has good name for an Irish forward. Makes me feel nostalgic for Liam Buckley in his prime.

No roots that i know of, but i'll do some digging and let you know.

Speaking of Brighton, Gary Dicker has started 6 out of 7 matches so far - the only absence being the Carling Cup tie v Sunderland where he was an unused sub. IMHO he's taking a bit of time to adapt to the faster pace, less time on the ball etc, but thats only natural and he is starting to settle now anyway. Apparently had a couple of very good games in the away wins at Portsmouth and Cardiff (which i didnt go to).

Top of the league, so must be doing something right!

irishfan86
01/09/2011, 8:49 PM
John Dunleavy is on trial with the Vancouver Whitecaps (MLS). Was with Wolves but says repeated injuries meant they didn't want to keep him on.

Second Irish trialist the Whitecaps have had - Cian Hughton was on trial earlier in the year but failed to impress.

05/09/2011, 10:10 PM
http://www.mlssoccer.com/news/article/2011/09/02/caps-trialist-dunleavy-looking-fresh-start-mls

How did it go for him? He is a nice lad would like to see him do well, as is the other donegal lad acting as his agent.

gastric
06/09/2011, 3:06 AM
Clinton comes off the bench and scores an equaliser for Wednesday. There is life in the old man yet!

http://www.sportinglife.com/football/news/story_get.cgi?STORY_NAME=soccer/11/09/05/manual_180230.html&BID=165

theworm2345
06/09/2011, 3:49 AM
Clinton comes off the bench and scores an equaliser for Wednesday. There is life in the old man yet!

http://www.sportinglife.com/football/news/story_get.cgi?STORY_NAME=soccer/11/09/05/manual_180230.html&BID=165
Plenty of life indeed, I watched the match (which was complete ****e) and he put in an animated performance to say the least.

irishfan86
07/09/2011, 3:22 AM
http://www.mlssoccer.com/news/article/2011/09/02/caps-trialist-dunleavy-looking-fresh-start-mls

How did it go for him? He is a nice lad would like to see him do well, as is the other donegal lad acting as his agent.

Haha, that's actually my article Paul.

He played in an MLS Reserve League match earlier today, coming on as a substitute. His return flight is booked for tomorrow and I'd guess he'll be on the plane, unfortunately.

He was only given a half hour or so as a right midfielder, which didn't seem to suit him at all (his preferred positions are right back or defensive mid).

Maybe I'm reading the situation wrong but I don't think the Whitecaps will be keeping him on.

theworm2345
08/09/2011, 6:24 PM
Shane Robinson scored for Haka in Finland...done alright for himself there.

10/09/2011, 2:13 PM
Mehmet and Miller star in oz
www.melbourneheartfc.com.au/default.aspx?s=newsdisplay&id=40901

Philly
10/09/2011, 2:23 PM
Walters just won and scored a penalty for Stoke v Wigan. Nearly broke the net with his shot too.

theworm2345
11/09/2011, 5:02 PM
Shane Robinson scored for Haka in Finland...done alright for himself there.
Scored again today

15/09/2011, 6:56 PM
Paul George on the bench for Celtic tonight

theworm2345
15/09/2011, 7:12 PM
Adam Rooney just inches away from opening his Europa League account following a nice shot off a Marlon King cross.

TrapAPony
15/09/2011, 7:39 PM
Anyone know anything about Tom Carroll of Tottenham? Started midfield for Spurs tonight in the Europa League. Harry Kane also started up front.

CraftyToePoke
15/09/2011, 10:58 PM
Adam Rooney just inches away from opening his Europa League account following a nice shot off a Marlon King cross.

I dont know Worm, I thought his run was all wrong, at first he was going down the line which was silly as they were two on one clean through, albeit near half way, it opened up suddenly, when he did run into the box for the square ball, he stopped to receive, still well outside the near post on a bad angle to the goal percentage wise when shooting, when he could have dragged across another six yards and had a really clear sight of goal, a much easier chance and most likely scored.

I thought his movement was naive and that he panicked, he also had a header in the first half where he should have worked the keeper, not necessarily scored, but hit the target. But it was his first European outing also and great to see him playing that standard

15/09/2011, 11:01 PM
Paul George on the bench for Celtic tonight

Can never read about him without sniggering, "John Ringo" to myself.

Olé Olé
16/09/2011, 12:17 AM
Mehmet and Miller star in oz
www.melbourneheartfc.com.au/default.aspx?s=newsdisplay&id=40901

The Irish involvement doesn't end there. Ryan Lowry managed to find himself on the scoresheet courtesy of an own goal. He's the younger brother of former Ireland under 21 international, Shane.

bwagner
16/09/2011, 8:37 AM
Harry Kane is an England under 19 but yea I taught he was linked to us before. if we qualify for the Euros i can see a lot of newly discovered irish men

16/09/2011, 2:03 PM
Was pretty depressed when I realised that Darron Gibson might be the only Irish player in the Champions League this season.
However, examining the squads from Man Utd, Man City, Arsenal and Chelseas on uefa.com show the following:
Man United squad: http://www.uefa.com/uefachampionsleague/season=2012/clubs/club=52682/squad/index.html
Darron Gibson
Sean McGinty

Arsenal squad: http://www.uefa.com/uefachampionsleague/season=2012/clubs/club=52280/squad/index.html
Sean McDermott
Rhys Murphy - unlikely to play after being told he can leave the club
Conor Henderson - injured for the season

Chelsea: http://www.uefa.com/uefachampionsleague/season=2012/clubs/club=52914/squad/index.html
Conor Clifford

Man City: http://www.uefa.com/uefachampionsleague/season=2012/clubs/club=52919/squad/index.html
Greg Cunningham
Sean Tse - not sure about him, no mentions of him on fai.ie since 2009 and he didn't play in any competitive games, which he would have needed to produce a passport to play in.

Grasping at straws, but with any luck at least one of them, other than Gibson, will feature

irishfan86
16/09/2011, 2:41 PM
Dunleavy no longer with the Whitecaps.

17/09/2011, 2:12 PM
Jeff Hendrick off the mark for Derby tonight

Apologies for the continued lack of updates on the Irish Abroad site, I've just moved house and the broadband supplier in the new gaff are taking their sweet time getting it all connected up

17/09/2011, 2:25 PM
Jeff Hendrick off the mark for Derby tonight

Apologies for the continued lack of updates on the Irish Abroad site, I've just moved house and the broadband supplier in the new gaff are taking their sweet time getting it all connected up

Excuses, excuses. It's just not good enough Joe. I'm considering going elsewhere for my Irish football fix :as if smileyface:

17/09/2011, 2:30 PM
Hendrick had earlier missed a header from 2 yards according to BBC. Andy Reid scored a penalty within 5 minutes as the Derby goalkeeper was sent off.

TrapAPony
17/09/2011, 4:11 PM
Anthony Pilkington scored for Norwich

theworm2345
17/09/2011, 4:52 PM
Anthony Pilkington scored for Norwich
Originally given as a Tuncay own goal, haven't seen it myself

liamoo11
17/09/2011, 6:03 PM
[QUOTE=tetsujin1979;1533863]Was pretty depressed when I realised that Darron Gibson might be the only Irish player in the Champions League this season.
However, examining the squads from Man Utd, Man City, Arsenal and Chelseas on uefa.com show the following:
Man United squad: http://www.uefa.com/uefachampionsleague/season=2012/clubs/club=52682/squad/index.html
Darron Gibson
Sean McGinty

That is good work from McGinty when you see all the other defenders are what you would call first team regulars. Only him and Keane(who might be irish yet!) included from fa youth winning side - no pogba or morrison. Well done sean and stillunder 19 this year if Doolin picks him

AlaskaFox
17/09/2011, 6:45 PM
Originally given as a Tuncay own goal, haven't seen it myself

Put it up here:
http://greenscene.me/2011/09/irish-goalscorers-17-september-2011/