View Full Version : Macedonia V Republic of Ireland - Saturday, 4th June 2011 - Euro 2012 Qualifier
Pages :
[
4]
Colbert Report
01/06/2011, 4:21 PM
Tough to keep track of all the injuries/withdrawals, so what's the likely starting line-up for Saturday's match? Thanks.
01/06/2011, 4:23 PM
Jay O'Shea has been called up to replace Keane :)
My guesss is it'll be, based on media murmurs and training etc:
-----------Given------------
McShane--O'Shea--Sledge (if fit, or else O'Dea)--Kilbane
McGeady--Whelan--Andrews--Hunt
-----Keane---Long---
TrapAPony
01/06/2011, 4:24 PM
Tough to keep track of all the injuries/withdrawals, so what's the likely starting line-up for Saturday's match? Thanks.
Trapattoni's likely lineup is :
Given
McShane
O'Shea
St.Ledger/O'Dea
Kilbane
McGeady
Whelan
Andrews
Hunt
Long
Keane
Would much prefer if Foley and Ward were right & left back myself though.
Crosby87
01/06/2011, 5:04 PM
Some of the Macedonian Players were in Germany and could have possibly been exposed to E Coli (And bad music) and may then I suppose have to be quarantined.
We would need a doctor to order that. I recommend Dr Peepee at times like this.
SwanVsDalton
01/06/2011, 5:10 PM
I recommend Dr Peepee at times like this.
Sounds like a TV ad for over-the-counter STD relief.
01/06/2011, 7:45 PM
Some of the Macedonian Players were in Germany and could have possibly been exposed to E Coli (And bad music) and may then I suppose have to be quarantined.
We would need a doctor to order that. I recommend Dr Peepee at times like this.
Some Macedonian players were meant to meet the wrath of elroy but that didn't happen.
I can't picture a Macedonian with a Spanish cucumber in Germany. It just doesn't sit right.
legendz
01/06/2011, 8:46 PM
Wasn't Ward playing a more advanced role for Wolves over the last few weeks. I have doubts defensively on Foley and Ward.
01/06/2011, 8:49 PM
He was playing behind Fletcher in Doyle's absence. Seems to have been preferred to Ebanks-Blake there. Elokobi has never convinced me but McCarthy seems to like stronger, faster full backs.
ArdeeBhoy
02/06/2011, 12:16 AM
Don't think I have ever been as gutted about a football match as I was after the last minute equaliser that denied us entry to the Euros. Henrygate doesn't even come close. Remember how the group was so tight at the top, that that goal meant that from being on the verge on automatic qualification, there was now a real possibility we would not even get a playoff. The Yugoslavia v Croatia match was a later kick off so we had to sit through an agonising half hour of that match, praying that Croatia wouldn't score.
I also remember despite the fact that the Macedonians had nothing to play for, they took particular joy in our misery in light of the "I've had a Macedonia" T-shirt for the worst trainer episode. They took great joy in taunting our players after the match, even if it did mean they had just put their bitter rivals Yugoslavia automatically into Euro 2000.
T'was there. Yes it was gutting, but the crowd were all pro-Serb and kept calling us 'NATO', as we were English-speaking.
Plus the literal scrum to get out of that dump had to be seen to be believed.
So no fond memories of this.
And the combination of a depleted team and Trap's tactics means we should expect a draw at best. And the fecking play-offs, at best, once again.
If it's the latter, really don't care after last time....
ArdeeBhoy
02/06/2011, 12:22 AM
Velice Sumulikoski* started for Sibir and played until the 68th minute when he was replaced by Tomáš Cížek. Sumulikoski also picked up a yellow card in the 48th minute which was his fourth yellow card of the season. That means he will be suspended for the next game because of a yellow cards suspension but he would have missed that game regardless of the suspension because the next match for Sibir in on June 4th and Sumulikoski will be with the Macedonian national team at that time for the important qualifier against Ireland.
This lad would know our players best as he spent a season with Preston, the season before last, as a squad player.
Was the Macedonia captain, though don't know about now.
DannyInvincible
02/06/2011, 3:40 AM
This lad would know our players best as he spent a season with Preston, the season before last, as a squad player.
Was the Macedonia captain, though don't know about now.
He played in the same Ipswich team as Walters (and Alan Lee) the season before:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uPcjr4hfoz4
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WiX3SOsR0l8&feature=related
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DBwj4odNXrY&feature=related
He's a mainstay in their team with over 70 caps - the Balkan Gerrard, apparently - and has had spells with Zenit and Bursaspor in the past. Played against us in Dublin, although Pandev is the current team captain. It's likely they'll field a similar team to that night as ten of the starting eleven from the game have kept their squad places with only Darko Tasevski missing out. The starting line-up that night was: Nuredinovski, Sikov, Noveski, Grncarov, Popov, Sumulikoski, Trickovski, Demiri, Tasevski, Pandev, Naumoski.
Of the bench from that game (Bogatinov, Mitreski, Georgievski, Ristić, Despotovski, Lazevski, Gjurovski), Slavco Georgievski, Igor Mitreski and Stevica Ristić miss out with Lazevski having been pulled out due to injury. The other three, including the wonderfully-named Filip Despotovski, remain in the squad.
Actually, Wikipedia lists their updated squad to face us and has a bit of info on each of their players: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Macedonia_national_football_team#Current_squad
DannyInvincible
02/06/2011, 3:42 AM
I mentioned it already elsewhere, but the Macedonian coach hasn't called a right-back into their squad, so it's looking like Vanče Šikov will fill that role and come up against Hunt presumably, unless McGeady starts on the left for us. Šikov plays with Ethnikos Achna in Cyprus - the same club as Edin Nuredinoski, the keeper who made a mess of McGeady's shot in Dublin for our first goal and Whelan's free-kick for Robbie's goal - and although he was with Olympiakos a few years ago, I don't think he ever played for them as he was sent out on loan to less-illustrious Greek sides.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2fesBDx0s-o
Judging by the video, however, he has a bit of experience at right-back, although I believe central defence to be his "natural" position. I think he played at right-back in the game in Dublin where McGeady did well against him.
I'd be quite happy to see Nuredinoski line out in goals for them again on Saturday, although they also have 25-year-old Martin Bogatinov as back-up. Bogatinov has 3 caps to Nuredinoski's 11 and has spent his career playing in Macedonia bar his current spell at Karpaty Lviv in the Ukrainian Premier League; "one of the perennial mid-table clubs" who finished 5th last season, according to Wikipedia.
Fixer82
02/06/2011, 4:55 AM
Well he only played 4 games for Ireland after that incident as opposed to Babb's one game (Russia away). And it was a year after that incident before he got 1 of his last four caps for Ireland. Considering his international career ended age 25, I think his demise can only really be attributed to that incident, whereas Babb moving away to Portugal, would not have done a lot to help his international prospects, and thus the reasoning for his absence may not be as clear cut.
He was in the 2002 World Cup squad but pulled out injured after Quinn's testimonial in Sunderland. Apparently he broke down in tears he was so devestated to miss out. And if I remember correctly he actually scored in that testimonial game.
Fixer82
02/06/2011, 4:56 AM
That was a stunning game. One of my all time favourites. Capped by the stunning goal from Mark Kennedy.
One of the greatest Irish goals of all time. Anyone got a link??
gastric
02/06/2011, 5:02 AM
Motivation here for many of our players to shine on Saturday.
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/23m-worth-of-irish-talent-in-the-shop-window-2662574.html
02/06/2011, 7:49 AM
One of the greatest Irish goals of all time. Anyone got a link??
Can't find anything right now... but judging from a quick search of the archive a certain Mr Worm might have what we want...
http://foot.ie/archive/index.php/t-64749.html
02/06/2011, 7:57 AM
I'm sure it was a big factor but I remember reading an interview on the back of the IT sports section on a Saturday with Babb where he was giving out that Kennedy had been forgiven for this incident but he hadn't. In the same interview he was saying how he was so much quicker than any of the other Irish defenders at the time.
True but he couldn't outrun a ban garda.
DannyInvincible
02/06/2011, 7:58 AM
Trap's selection headache: http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/traps-selection-headache-2663922.html
AFTER a two-week headache caused by absent players, Giovanni Trapattoni has a positive problem for Saturday's Euro 2012 qualifier with Macedonia because of a man who refused to give up hope of involvement.
Preston defender Sean St Ledger -- who was initially ruled out last week with a knee problem that has kept him out of action since March -- took a full part in training in Malahide yesterday and says he is ready to figure.
The Irish squad flies to the Macedonian capital Skopje this afternoon and Trapattoni will be mulling over the identity of his back four. He had been planning without St Ledger, and declared that Darren O'Dea would partner John O'Shea in the heart of the defence.
However, the 72-year-old will now make a decision between St Ledger and O'Dea, both of whom are on the comeback trail from injuries which ended their club seasons prematurely.
"Sean (St Ledger) is a lot better, but I don't know if I will take a risk with him," said Trapattoni. "But the other players are fit and that is important.
"We have another (friendly) game with Italy (next Tuesday), so I will decide after training tomorrow.
"O'Dea played well against Macedonia in March. This will be a very tough game. We may need to make changes after one hour maybe. That is important."
Trapattoni has indicated that veteran Kevin Kilbane will come in for Stephen Ward at left-back. Paul McShane, Kevin Foley and Stephen Kelly are competing for the right-back slot.
"It's an away game and we need experience," said Trapattoni. "They look for corners and free-kicks and are dangerous in that situation. We must pay attention to these details."
Shane Long returned to training with the Irish squad yesterday after the disappointment of missing out on promotion with Reading on Monday.
You have to hand it to Trap; he certainly has no time for sentiment, the mincing of words or letting poor Darren O'Dea down gently over the clearly obvious superiority of St. Ledger.
Anyway, the Irish team arrive in Skopje today and it looks like O'Shea and Kilbane are confirmed starters at the back anyway. McShane, Foley and Kelly are still competing for the right-back slot, according to McDonnell, although I don't know if his chosen order of mention is any indication as to what he feels might be Trap's preference.
DannyInvincible
02/06/2011, 8:07 AM
Some more on the St. Ledger situation from McDonnell: http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/passion-play-nothing-will-stop-st-ledger-going-to-macedonia-2663815.html
SEAN ST LEDGER really shouldn't be flying to Macedonia today. He has ample reason to be resting up at home, or on holiday. Everyone would have understood.
The Preston defender picked up a knee injury 10 weeks ago that was diagnosed at the time as being serious enough to justify a 12-week lay-off. His manager, Phil Brown, told Giovanni Trapattoni that he wouldn't be ready. The medics at Preston said it was a risk. St Ledger said he'd come over to Dublin anyway and give it a bash.
So he arrived last week when others didn't. He turned up for training and struggled, and Trapattoni promptly ruled him out. No chance. His Preston team-mate Keith Treacy seemed to confirm it.
"His knee is knackered, isn't it?" said Treacy last Thursday, before quipping, "at least he came over and showed his face."
Others had failed to do the same. Some were too tired to face it, others relied on their club to send unconvincing emails. St Ledger had his pass to leave.
But he came back for more. For that, the 26-year-old Birmingham-born centre-half -- once saddled with a 'bad boy' image -- will never have his commitment doubted by Trapattoni.
After wandering gingerly around Malahide last week, he was on the training ground at Gannon Park yesterday crunching into tackles. This was, after all, where his injuries started -- an accidental clash with Ciaran Clark back in March which ended his club season early. It was a campaign to forget anyway -- it ended with relegation from the Championship for Preston.
He will move on this summer and acknowledges that international football could put him in the shop window. Yet by the same token he risks aggravating an injury that could scare potential employers away. So, there's nothing cynical about his presence. Why go through the hassle? A simple answer.
"Because it's an honour to play for your country," he stressed. "I haven't played for 10 weeks and I love playing football, whether it's playing in the park, or for Ireland, or watching games on TV.
"I was disappointed not to play in the Carling Nations Cup but I wasn't ready to play until now. I see this as a chance to play in games. It's what I do."
Was he surprised that others had stayed away?
"I suppose so, I think it's up to each individual and how they feel," he responded diplomatically, before tellingly adding, "I am completely the opposite and I will play for as long as I can
And from Emmet Malone: http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2011/0602/1224298257876.html
Seán St Ledger is flying in training, but his lack of match fitness may cost him a place in the line-up on Saturday
SEÁN ST Ledger looks to be training his way back into contention for Saturday’s game against FYR Macedonia in Skopje.
The 26-year-old, who had all but written off the game a few weeks ago after sustaining a knee injury in a tangle with Ciarán Clark in the build-up to the last Macedonia game, insisted yesterday he is ready for competitive action again.
The central defender hasn’t played for either his club or country since picking up that knock in March, but reckons he has done enough over the past few weeks to declare himself fit for the European Championship tie.
However, all that is certain is that he will be on the team plane this afternoon. Whether he makes the pitch on Saturday evening is something Giovanni Trapattoni will make a final call on over the next 24 hours.
Was feeling pretty good about this game.
Then I had a series of nightmares about conceding last minute goals last night.
Feck it anyway.
02/06/2011, 8:50 AM
You have to hand it to Trap; he certainly has no time for sentiment, the mincing of words or letting poor Darren O'Dea down gently over the clearly obvious superiority of St. Ledger.
I think when he said that SSL is much better, he was referring to his injury!
Trap says he is wary of Macedonia looking for frees. That would augur against McShane.
DannyInvincible
02/06/2011, 9:04 AM
I think when he said that SSL is much better, he was referring to his injury!
You're probably right actually, although you wouldn't know with Trap sometimes. :p
02/06/2011, 9:17 AM
Why not pair up St Ledger and O'Dea at CB and keep O'Shea at RB?
02/06/2011, 9:32 AM
Why not pair up St Ledger and O'Dea at CB and keep O'Shea at RB?
Whilst that makes perfect sense in theory the lack of match fitness goes against that pairing.
In other news I'm starting to get butterflies in my stomach about this game. absolutely cacking it. Good to see the old feelings returning.
Nyiaow!!!
God I love Ireland games! Saturday won't come soon enough.
French Toasht
02/06/2011, 9:39 AM
In an ideal world I would prefer Sledge myself, but I think if he plays this has just got a 5th minute injury scenario written all over it. O'Dea has to be preferred purely due to getting games under his belt.
Danny, thanks for the links, the boy Sikov looks technically adept, but at the same time I always think there is a risk of talking up the opposition too much. What you must always remember is that a huge amount of these players play for diddy teams in diddy leagues and there is a reason why they are playing at that standard.
That said we'll lose the game.*
*Superstition of mine. Always bet against us and 9 out of 10 times we get a positive result, so not going to stop now!
SwanVsDalton
02/06/2011, 9:44 AM
Same here. Total masochism, but I totally love these games. Kind of annoyed I didn't take the trip over now, but saving up for Russia and fingers crossed we get the right result to set us up to have a go.
Sledge has never let us down. Now some may say that is because he usually has Richie beside him. But I remember in the friendlies last summer, Dunne was out injured and Sledge was very impressive in centre defence. I think it might actually have been O'Dea alongside him. Plus he is good for the odd goal. Problem is with such little match fitness you would have to worry, case in point Dunne V Macedonia at home. But the commitment the last few weeks from Sledge has elevated him to legend staus in my eyes, he is the type of lad we need round and certain others could take heed from him. I hope he gets the good move he deserves this summer.
As for Macedonia, I hope they have the same keeper as in Dublin for starters. Otherwise with the exception of their number 7 that night and the obvious danger of Pandev I didnt feel there was a huge amount to be worried of. Of course away from home is always going to be trickier but we should be mildly confident in our ability to take the three points there.
Win this game, beat Slovakia at home and then by jesus it will be some lead up to the game in Russia!!!
02/06/2011, 9:58 AM
Sledge's value as the occasional goal-getter is important alright. I think O'Shea is best served in the centre for this game, a solid spine and all that. Let them play around us if we have to.
The Fly
02/06/2011, 11:39 AM
Then I had a series of nightmares about conceding last minute goals last night.
That's alright, the match is on Saturday.
DannyInvincible
02/06/2011, 11:44 AM
Danny, thanks for the links, the boy Sikov looks technically adept, but at the same time I always think there is a risk of talking up the opposition too much. What you must always remember is that a huge amount of these players play for diddy teams in diddy leagues and there is a reason why they are playing at that standard.
I suppose those highlights reels could make anyone look heroic.
Here's one featuring footage of Edin Nuredinoski, or Butterfingers in English:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XP8GCJaSOFE
He was abysmal in Dublin, and it didn't just look like he was having a bad day at the office; he just looked like a really dodgy goalkeeper, full stop.
I'm not so sure I'd dismiss so hastily they're entire squad, or even the vast majority of their squad, as being made up of players playing with diddy teams in diddy leagues though. To give a quick run-through of the actual squad for the game on Saturday and give an idea of where each of their players are currently based, four of the squad are playing in the Cypriot top tier; two with APOEL, who finished first this season, and two with the team that finished ninth out of 14 teams. Of course, APOEL have also appeared in the Champions League group stages in recent years and didn't exactly shame themselves against world-class opposition by any stretch of the imagination (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2009%E2%80%9310_UEFA_Champions_League#Group_D). They've three players playing in the Ukrainian Premier Division; one at the world-famous Dynamo Kiev with the other two at mid-table sides there. Two play in Italy; Goran Pandev with Inter, of course, and one of the younger uncapped players who plays with Parma's youth team. Two more play in the pretty-weak Macedonian top division (ranked 39th in Europe by UEFA; the League of Ireland is ranked 31st in comparison), although they are unlikely to feature this weekend, unless from the bench; they have one cap between them to date. Another plays with Mainz in Germany, who, for some reason, I thought played in the 2nd Bundesliga but actually play in the top tier and finished an impressive fifth this season; the Bundesliga is ranked the third-best league in Europe by UEFA. Mojsov plays with the team that finished third in the Serbian top tier (ranked the 27th-best league in Europe), Sumulikoski's team were relegated from the Russian Premier League after finishing last whilst another member of the squad plays with mid-table Thun in the Swiss top division. The remaining three in the squad play with: Mattersburg, a lower-table team from the Austrian Bundesliga; Pakhtakor of the Uzbek top division; and, Inter Baku, one of the stronger sides in the Azerbaijan Premier League in recent years. To give an indication of the standard there, in 2009, Joe Kendrick, formerly of Drogheda United and Sligo Rovers, played with Neftchi Baku, who won the Azerbaijan Premier League this season. The league overall is ranked 37th in Europe. The Swiss, Austrian and Cypriot leagues, however, are all ranked between the 20th and 16th positions. The Scottish Premier League is ranked 15th just to provide a comparison. I think that's everyone accounted for.
Certainly, they're not exactly scattered throughout the top teams in Europe, but it's not as if they're all playing in total dud leagues either. We have to remember that just because most of our squad are English Premier League-based, it's not necessarily going to be a cake-walk for us. Most of our players may be with English Premier League teams and Sky Sports might have us convinced it's the Best League in the World™ but most are at mid and lower table teams with little or no European experience. Outside of the top four or five clubs in England, the overall standard dips quite significantly and, I would argue, is very much on a par with the general standard around Europe. Even those players we have at the bigger clubs in England, you couldn't even describe them as regulars really. Many also play at Championship level. Without wanting to sound like I'm forecasting doom - I'm relatively confident that we have enough to beat them - arguably, quite a few of them play at a level equal to, if not superior to, the level at which some of our players are currently playing.
02/06/2011, 11:47 AM
Interesting Comments from Dan McDonnell on twitter (https://twitter.com/#%21/McDonnellDan)
In 'bibs' this morning: Murphy, Kelly, O'Shea, O'Dea, Kilbane, Hunt, Whelan, Andrews, McGeady, Keane, Cox. Given in other team nets.
So, Simon Cox to start ahead of Shane Long, and Robbie Keane an injury doubt. Plenty to talk about on flight to Macedonia this afternoon.
I think Cox choice is interesting: Means Ireland won't have target man. Long got no change from Macedonians in March. Suggests new approach.Also reports that Robbie pulled up in training and Tardelli saying (https://twitter.com/#%21/tommymartin77) that if the match was tomorrow he wouldn't be fit.
cufc champions
02/06/2011, 11:50 AM
Fair play to Sledge, I really like his commitment and heart a true irish man never gives up. I hope he gets decent club in the summer.
Hon Ireland
DannyInvincible
02/06/2011, 11:51 AM
Also reports that Robbie pulled up in training and Tardelli saying (https://twitter.com/#%21/tommymartin77) that if the match was tomorrow he wouldn't be fit.
Does that mean Robbie will be OK for Saturday?
http://1.bp.blogspot.com/_mfhwQnmLl94/SP5CGDh8F_I/AAAAAAAAAsY/vcKGhMGrAjU/s400/Rosary+Man+Praying.jpg
SwanVsDalton
02/06/2011, 11:58 AM
Wow didn't see that one coming. What's the thinking? Cox appears to play a little deeper, so do they want him to link play and have Keane striking forward. Saw another tweet where Tardelli dismissed a question about Long being tired, just said he liked Cox (snicker). Think it's the wrong call.
Also Kelly at right back, he'd probably have been the least fancied of the three in contention round these parts though I'm happy enough - maybe his experience saw him through.
02/06/2011, 12:08 PM
I think Kelly is the right choice for full back. Foley's positioning and concentration has been an issue every time he has played there for us, and McShane is just a bit too primitive. Kelly is a good, natural full back and his nightmare against Georgia is a long time ago now. That's a well balanced XI.
Keane injured is a worry.
Cox ahead of Long is a surprise, but if Long can come of the bench with the same effect has he had against Russia then that's OK. Cox over Long (no jokes please) would seem to indicate that they're looking to keep it on the ground. Either way, we have 3 mobile and clever forwards, any two of whom together should be good.
Sullivinho
02/06/2011, 12:11 PM
I like Cox (shhhh) but with Long in the mix I can't help feeling it's too rapid a promotion. Kelly ahead of McShane at RB. Well he's a full back and I'd rate him a slightly higher than McShane there. Assuming that lineup is a true indication of course.
Keane of all people to pull up. Fffffuuu... Hopefully that's not too serious but if it is I guess we're looking at Long Cox. (teehee)
02/06/2011, 12:14 PM
"Groin. Why is it always the groin?"
My tactics would be to play big balls to Long & Cox. Otherwise Trap is for the sac.
Duggie
02/06/2011, 12:23 PM
fcukkkkkkkkkkkkkkk not robbie, hopefully he will be fit for the game. seems cox is going to get the nod from reports which is disappointing. i wanted long to be in there so we will have to see. the sooner sat comes the better before someone else pulls out!!!!!!!
Sullivinho
02/06/2011, 12:26 PM
"Groin. Why is it always the groin?"
My tactics would be to play big balls to Long & Cox. Otherwise Trap is for the sac.
If Cox performs, it could be a masterstroke..
02/06/2011, 12:26 PM
Tardelli reckons Keane will be OK (http://www.irishtimes.com/sports/soccer/2011/0602/1224298292668.html)
Fixer82
02/06/2011, 12:29 PM
I think we need to slip a couple of balls into the box for Cox so he can shoot at will and not dick around with it outside the box. Or even let him get a head on it
Cuyahoga
02/06/2011, 12:33 PM
Robbie Keane has a calf strain,pulled up in training this morning which is a worry for saturdays match.
Duggie
02/06/2011, 12:34 PM
cox dosent look like he has any real pace, long has bags of it. i was hoping long could trouble them and hes good in the air. im getting a bit worried.....
02/06/2011, 12:37 PM
Think Kelly is a more defensive full back and can see the reasoning for his selection, given his decent performances over the last week. I watched Long against Swansea and he didn't perform as well as he has done all season, perhaps tiredness. Cox on the other hand has only played a handful of games and is fresh. Hopefully Robbie will be ok, said on the news it was a clash with Damien Delaney. What is it with Irish defenders!
DannyInvincible
02/06/2011, 12:49 PM
I'm content with that line-up. Just hope that Robbie will be fit, and it seems he should be. I'd certainly rather Kelly at right-back over McShane and I wouldn't be too fussed at Foley missing out due to his international inexperience, even if he has just played a full season in Wolves' first-team, more or less.
Cox is an interesting one, especially given Long's recent form for Reading, but he did do well in the Nations Cup games and has obviously impressed Trap and Tardelli in training enough to get the nod. If it's not working up front, we can always change it and rely on Long to come on and provide a burst of energy. Ward also impressed in the Nations Cup games, but they've obviously decided to stick with the experience of Kilbane at the back in what is a crucial game. It's vital that we keep it tight at the back from the off and it's no place to be taking chances. I'd be disappointed with anything less than a win as I fear it could deal our qualification hopes a major blow.
I'm guessing St. Ledger won't be risked then? Probably a sensible decision given the length of time he's been out of action.
tommy_c12000
02/06/2011, 12:56 PM
Long has just joined the squad on tues after match on monday. People reading was too much into this practice game IMO. He will start sat unless Trap has totally lost the run of himself (not beyond the bounds of possibility). Cox could be an option from the bench but thats about it at the present time. Come on lads we are talking about a player who has started 8 premier league games and has scored a solitary goal (i.e. Cox) to a player who has played 47 championship games this season scoring 23 league goals (i.e. Long). Yes Cox looked to be adequate against the worst team ever to play at the Aviva and looked ok against the Scots without their 1st choice central back pairings, but come lads Cox cannot and will not start in Macedonia. If he does it would make absolutely no sense
02/06/2011, 12:58 PM
If he does decide to go with Kelly at RB, then why was Kelly not played there at some stage during either the NI or Scotland game??
I would think the reason for going with Cox would be testament to how well he linked with Robbie in the two games. Also the view that a fresh Long off the bench in the last 20 mins could be a useful option to have. Long more likely to cause trouble coming on than Cox would.
Duggie
02/06/2011, 12:59 PM
Long has just joined the squad on tues after match on monday. People reading was too much into this practice game IMO. He will start sat unless Trap has totally lost the run of himself (not beyond the bounds of possibility). Cox could be an option from the bench but thats about it at the present time. Come on lads we are talking about a player who has started 8 premier league games and has scored a solitary goal (i.e. Cox) to a player who has played 47 championship games this season scoring 23 league goals (i.e. Long). Yes Cox looked to be adequate against the worst team ever to play at the Aviva and looked ok against the Scots without their 1st choice central back pairings, but come lads Cox cannot and will not start in Macedonia. If he does it would make absolutely no sense
it seems cox is starting..
SwanVsDalton
02/06/2011, 12:59 PM
We're not plucking this out of thin air. Media and management team (Tardelli) are talking about Cox like he is starting the game.
tommy_c12000
02/06/2011, 1:13 PM
Oh jesus I honestly can't take anymore of this. After operation yesterday which has had me in severe pain since, now this to boot. I will be back 2moro to check in. What is Trap playing at? All he wants to do is to be able to gloat through Manuela after the game that it was their extensive networking system that plucked Cox out of thin air. Dont get me on I've nothing against Cox, he is a reasonable option but to start him in front a red hot Long who has international experience is inexplicable. See u 2moro lads, just reaching for my sleeping pills. Thanks Trap. . . .