View Full Version : Macedonia V Republic of Ireland - Saturday, 4th June 2011 - Euro 2012 Qualifier
Pages :
[
3]
French Toasht
31/05/2011, 5:25 PM
We have to assume home wins in both games, anything else will be a bonus
Yes I agree.
Armenia have posed a threat thus far in the group, but do not forget they have only played one game away and that was a 2-2 draw against Macedonia. Can't see them staying up with the pace setters considering they have to play us, Russia and Slovakia away.
They have been more than helpful as far as our campaign is concerned thus far but I doubt they'll take any points in Russia or Slovakia. This may not be a bad thing as they should be out of the running come their visit to Dublin and with nothing to play for come that game, we could be facing an experimental Armenian side.
31/05/2011, 5:50 PM
can't view the video is that from the claddagh a couple of months back?
31/05/2011, 7:10 PM
That's not a bad effort by Robbie. I never would have thought he could sing a note based on his AnbF rendition.
31/05/2011, 9:01 PM
Yes I agree.
Armenia have posed a threat thus far in the group, but do not forget they have only played one game away and that was a 2-2 draw against Macedonia. Can't see them staying up with the pace setters considering they have to play us, Russia and Slovakia away.
They have been more than helpful as far as our campaign is concerned thus far but I doubt they'll take any points in Russia or Slovakia. This may not be a bad thing as they should be out of the running come their visit to Dublin and with nothing to play for come that game, we could be facing an experimental Armenian side.
Not for one minute am I suggesting that any miracle is going to happen and Armenia will qualify, but this group has been all over the shop so far, and nearly every campaign a few of the lower seeded, unexpected teams do well. Finland for god sake were in with a massive shout going into the last day of the WC10 campaign. Latvia in 2004.
31/05/2011, 9:16 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aF1qqT9i_40
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K0hsEi3cVpQ&feature=related
theworm2345
31/05/2011, 9:28 PM
That's not a bad effort by Robbie. I never would have thought he could sing a note based on his AnbF rendition.
Haven't seen this (unless you mean him singing before the match), do you have a link?
Only caught the end of some nordie journo on OTB on newstalk this evening, seemed to indicating what the team was going to be. Anyone hear it?
Ken early was expressing surprise that Coleman wasnt in the team but was happy that Hunt was in ahead of Lawrence. Didnt hear who they were saying/predicting was gonna be in the back 4.
On EPL form Coleman deserves to start, but in his (few) performances for us so far he has been a bit erratic so think its right that he wouldnt start. Also probably would agree with Hunt ahead of Lawro. Lawro would provide better balance but has not in great form for us in recent times. Needs to get back to the form he showed around the Italian and French games in the last campaign.
31/05/2011, 9:49 PM
I'm posting almost exclusively on the Ireland forum the past couple of years and my admiration of McGeady would be obvious. I try to balance what I witness first hand (live) by repeated viewing so not to cloud my judgement too much.
On many occasions in this campaign, I've either read posters on here not having McGeady in the First XI or barely so, or I've seen journalists do the same, judging by elroys' post above ^^^^^, Mr Early is suggesting that it should be Hunt and Coleman on the wings.
I'm astounded by this seemingly common held opinion. I'll ask this: How many of ye believe McGeady should be a first choice winger? I think it's a non-issue myself with everyone fit.
Noelys Guitar
31/05/2011, 9:56 PM
Robbie, Given, O'Shea, Whelan and McGeady are the 100% shoe ins of those available and fit.
tommy_c12000
31/05/2011, 10:04 PM
I'm astounded by this seemingly common held opinion. I'll ask this: How many of ye believe McGeady should be a first choice winger? I think it's a non-issue myself with everyone fit.
It is a non-issue. McGeady is 1st choice winger period.
31/05/2011, 10:27 PM
Haven't seen this (unless you mean him singing before the match), do you have a link?
Yeah, when they are lined up before the match, as he is about the only one belting out the anthem, the camera focuses on him and the mike picks up a few bars of his rendition.
tommy_c12000
31/05/2011, 10:31 PM
Interesting to see St Ledger back in full training today. Am I right in saying that his last game was on 19th March against Coventry? That will be 11 wks come this saturday. That is a long time to be out in football but he has 34 starts for PNE this season. Because of his experience and his familiarity with playing with O'Shea (vast majority of time it was with O'Shea at RB I know) I would start him on sat night. Having said all that he has had a poor season by his standards. However, I would think starting Sledge is less of a risk than starting O'Dea who is inexperienced and is a player I don't rate anyways. Kelly or Delaney don't come into my reckoning. That's my opinion anyways, but it's the classic risk/benefit ratio
Sullivinho
31/05/2011, 10:32 PM
Ken early was expressing surprise that Coleman wasnt in the team but was happy that Hunt was in ahead of Lawrence. Didnt hear who they were saying/predicting was gonna be in the back 4.
On EPL form Coleman deserves to start, but in his (few) performances for us so far he has been a bit erratic so think its right that he wouldnt start. Also probably would agree with Hunt ahead of Lawro. Lawro would provide better balance but has not in great form for us in recent times. Needs to get back to the form he showed around the Italian and French games in the last campaign.
Coleman is still finding his feet at international level. I'm not sure why anyone would find surprise in him not starting a competitive game at this stage but the lure of the contrary opinion shouldn't be underestimated when it comes to journos. Lawrence seems to have lost some of his edge unfortunately and Hunt....well, he's edgier than ever. :D Hunt and McGeady for me too. Which should give the Maccas plenty to worry about.
I'll ask this: How many of ye believe McGeady should be a first choice winger? I think it's a non-issue myself with everyone fit.
Robbie, Given, O'Shea, Whelan and McGeady are the 100% shoe ins of those available and fit.
It is a non-issue. McGeady is 1st choice winger period.
Agree 100% with that lads. But sure there's probably people out there who think Robbie shouldn't be first choice.
31/05/2011, 10:34 PM
I'm posting almost exclusively on the Ireland forum the past couple of years and my admiration of McGeady would be obvious. I try to balance what I witness first hand (live) by repeated viewing so not to cloud my judgement too much.
On many occasions in this campaign, I've either read posters on here not having McGeady in the First XI or barely so, or I've seen journalists do the same, judging by elroys' post above ^^^^^, Mr Early is suggesting that it should be Hunt and Coleman on the wings.
I heard him on Newstalk go on about the exclusion of Coleman. But I didn't listen closely enough to hear if he wanted Coleman at RM and McGeady at LM.
I didn't listen closely as I switched off, he was just asking a question without the slightest bit of introspection, as in birdbrained.
Sullivinho
31/05/2011, 10:36 PM
Interesting to see St Ledger back in full training today. Am I right in saying that his last game was on 19th March against Coventry? That will be 11 wks come this saturday. That is a long time to be out in football but he has 34 starts for PNE this season. Because of his experience and his familiarity with playing with O'Shea (vast majority of time it was with O'Shea at RB I know) I would start him on sat night. Having said all that he has had a poor season by his standards. However, I would think starting Sledge is less of a risk than starting O'Dea who is inexperienced and is a player I don't rate anyways. Kelly or Delaney don't come into my reckoning. That's my opinion anyways, but it's the classic risk/benefit ratio
That'd be my worry with St. Ledger, rustiness. But on ability, I'd rate him over O'Dea. And as poor a season as he's had with Preston, he's never had a shocker for us. That'l have earned him a few loyalty points with Trap.
tommy_c12000
31/05/2011, 11:07 PM
Another point I'd like to make:
Kelly was definitely ahead of McShane in "Trap's pecking order" for the RB position before the NI game going on the evidence of the last couple of yrs. Because of the dire shortage of centre backs Kelly had to fill in here for the two games instead of his more customary role at FB in an Irish shirt. How is McShane suddenly ahead of him now never mind Foley in "Trap's pecking order"? Would seem a tad harsh on Kelly
Crosby87
31/05/2011, 11:23 PM
Anyone else thinking in the back of yer head that this gritty-type version of us with players wanting to be here is going to possibly be the perfect thing for a hot night against a team like Macedonia? Eeek out 3 points? I dunno. I find myself more confident with every day we get closer. Usually I am the opposite. Won't be easy, and yet...we may have the team for that. Right, it won't be easy and this may just be the group. Grinders.
Fixer82
31/05/2011, 11:52 PM
So far in the campaign Aiden has been a shining light for us so he's definitely a starter for me when fit at the moment
Fixer82
31/05/2011, 11:53 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g6iUAfT3pSE
Noelys Guitar
01/06/2011, 12:17 AM
Another point I'd like to make:
Kelly was definitely ahead of McShane in "Trap's pecking order" for the RB position before the NI game going on the evidence of the last couple of yrs. Because of the dire shortage of centre backs Kelly had to fill in here for the two games instead of his more customary role at FB in an Irish shirt. How is McShane suddenly ahead of him now never mind Foley in "Trap's pecking order"? Would seem a tad harsh on Kelly
Kelly did well in the air against Scotland. He made one vital clearance. His positioning is a bit suspect though. But it would not be a huge surprise if Trap picked him at right back or at center half ahead of Foley, McShane or even O'Dea (if Sledge is not considered fit enough). It wouldn't be the first time T and T brought back/promoted someone on the back of a good performance.
DannyInvincible
01/06/2011, 5:53 AM
GreenScene have compiled a match history of Saturday's fixture: http://greenscene.me/2011/05/ireland-v-macedonia-match-history-2/
DannyInvincible
01/06/2011, 5:56 AM
Meanwhile, Goran Pandev provided an assist after coming off the bench for Inter in their Coppa Italia win over Palermo on Sunday (http://www.macedonianfootball.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=2938:macedonian-internationals-performances&catid=13:international&Itemid=64).
Pandev started on the bench for Inter before he entered the game in the 61st minute replacing Giampaolo Pazzini. Pandev provided the assist on the third goal for Inter in the 90th minute when he showed good fighting spirit by winning the ball against his marker Mattia Cassani before he made a good pass to his teammate Diego Milito who scored an easy goal from close range. Before that, Pandev spent most of his time tracking back and helping out on defense as Palermo put Inter under a lot of pressure but they couldn't capitalize on their chances and Inter won the Coppa Italia trophy.
There was talk of him signing for Napoli, but it's looking unlikely now with Napoli unable to afford him (http://www.macedonianfootball.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=2942:napoli-cant-afford-pandev&catid=33:international&Itemid=223).
That site also contains reports on performances of other Macedonian internationals for their clubs recently. Not all are in their current squad (http://www.macedonianfootball.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=2913:jonuz-announced-the-squad-for-the-ireland-game&catid=13:international&Itemid=64), however. I've stuck an asterisk after the ones who were in their original squad for Saturday.
Russia, Perviy Divizion, Sibir - Shinnik 1:0
Velice Sumulikoski* started for Sibir and played until the 68th minute when he was replaced by Tomáš Cížek. Sumulikoski also picked up a yellow card in the 48th minute which was his fourth yellow card of the season. That means he will be suspended for the next game because of a yellow cards suspension but he would have missed that game regardless of the suspension because the next match for Sibir in on June 4th and Sumulikoski will be with the Macedonian national team at that time for the important qualifier against Ireland.
Russia, Perviy Divizion, SKA-Energiya - Torpedo Moskva 0:1
Artim Polozani was an unused substitute for Torpedo Moskva.
Denmark, Superliga, Lyngby - Odense 2:0
Bajram Fetai* started for Lyngby and played until the 33rd minute when he picked up an injury and had to be substituted by Uffe Manich Bech. The severity of the injury is still not known but Fetai might have to withdraw from the Macedonian national team which would be a big blow because he has been in good form this month. This was a big win for Lyngby as they were able to avoid relegation in the Danish top division.
Serbia, Jelen SuperLiga, Sevojno - Partizan 1:2
Aleksandar Lazevski* remains out with an injury for Partizan while Gjorgi Tanusev started on the bench for Sevojno before he entered the game in the 57th minute replacing Đuro Stevančević. Tanusev had a good chance in the 68th minute when he tried to score on a sliding effort after a cross from the right but he couldn't quite reach the ball and then Partizan defender Stefan Savić cleared the ball for a corner.
Serbia, Jelen SuperLiga, Vojvodina - Crvena Zvezda 0:2
Daniel Mojsov* played the entire game for Vojvodina as this game was a battle for second place on the table but Crvena Zvezda came out on top so Vojvodina will have to settle for a third place finish. Mojsov was supposed to serve his third and final game of his suspension during this game but he appealed the suspension and the disciplinary committee ruled in his favor so he was allowed to play in this game.
Serbia, Jelen SuperLiga, Borac Čačak - BSK Borča 1:3
Stefan Spirovski started for Borac and played until the 75th minute when he was replaced by Semir Sadović.
Serbia, Jelen SuperLiga, Spartak Zlatibor Voda - Jagodina 3:2
Dragan Stojkov played all 90 minutes for Jagodina.
Serbia, Jelen SuperLiga, Rad - Javor 0:0
Aleksandar Todorovski continues to be left out by Rad for refusing to sign a contract extension while Filip Petrov was not called up by Javor.
Bulgaria, A PFG, Levski - Montana 3:0
Darko Tasevski started for Levski and played until the 71st minute when he was replaced by Radoslav Tsonev. Tasevski provided the assist on the second goal for Levski in the 65th minute when he passed the ball to Garra Dembélé who then spun out to create some space from his markers before he scored with a right footed shot past the opposing keeper.
Bulgaria, A PFG, Chernomorets - Lokomotiv Plovdiv 1:2
Dragi Kocev started on the bench for Lokomotiv Plovdiv before he entered the game in the 62nd minute replacing Gábor Eros. Kocev played a big part in the come from behind win by Lokomotiv Povdiv as he assisted both goals for his team in the 64th and 74th minute.
Bulgaria, A PFG, Sliven - Minyor Pernik 0:3
Vanco Trajanov did not play for Minyor Pernik.
Czech Republic, 1. Gambrinus liga, Mladá Boleslav - Ústí nad Labem 2:0
Vladimir Dimitrovski was not among the 18 players called up by Mladá Boleslav.
Czech Republic, 1. Gambrinus liga, Teplice - Slovácko 1:1
Ilija Nestorovski started for Slovácko and played the first 45 minutes before he was substituted at the start of the 2nd half by Radek Szmek.
Czech Republic, 1. Gambrinus liga, Baník Ostrava - Príbram 0:2
Gligor Gligorov was an unused substitute for Baník Ostrava.
Czech Republic, 1. Gambrinus liga, Zbrojovka Brno - Baumit Jablonec 3:4
Vladica Brdarovski was not called up by Zbrojovka Brno who will be relegated to the Czech second division. Brdarovski failed to make much impact for Zbrojovka Brno after joining the team from Macedonian club Pelister earlier in the year.
Poland, Ekstraklasa, Slask Wroclaw - Arka Gdynia 5:0
Mirko Ivanovski played the entire game for Arka Gdynia who suffered a heavy defeat which means his team was not able to avoid relegation as Arka and Polonia Bytom will be the two relegated teams in Poland.
Poland, Ekstraklasa, GKS Belchatów - Cracovia 1:0
Zlatko Tanevski was an unused substitute for GKS Belchatów.
Slovenia, 1. SNL, Nafta - Koper 2:1
Agim Ibraimi started for Nafta and played the 1st half before he was substituted at the start of the 2nd half by Rade Jovanovič while Filip Timov did not play for Koper. Ibraimi had a disappointing stint with Nafta as he did not find the back of the net in 16 appearances and his team struggled mightily in the second half of the season and finished second from bottom on the table in Slovenia.
Slovenia, 1. SNL, Gorica - Rudar Velenje 0:0
Dragan Cadikovski started for Rudar and played until the 76th minute when he was replaced by Denis Klinar. Cadikovski had a good chance in the 58th minute but his effort was saved nicely by the opposing keeper.
Bosnia and Herzegovina, Premijer Liga, Rudar Prijedor - Željeznicar 3:2
Perica Stanceski started for Željeznicar and played until the 67th minute when he was replaced by Omar Baljić.
Bosnia and Herzegovina, Premijer Liga, Sarajevo - Velež 1:0
Goran Gancev played all 90 minutes for Velež in the final round of games in Bosnia.
Turkey, Bank Asya 1. Lig Promotion Play-off, Gaziantep - Orduspor 0:1
Jovan Kostovski started for Orduspor and played the first 45 minutes before he was substituted at the start of the 2nd half by Abdullah Cetin while his teammate Muarem Muarem was not called up. With the win, Orduspor was promoted to the top Turkish division as Ahmet Kuru scored the only goal of the game in the 87th minute.
2 of the 4 I've starred now remain in the team, if I'm not mistaken.
For anyone interested in somewhat superfluous Jimmy Magee-style Macedonian footballing stats - I worked these out before realising 24 the above players weren't even in the current squad :o - 13 of the 26 mentioned started games for their clubs last weekend although 9 of them, including Velice Sumulikoski and Bajram Fetai, were substituted at some point. The other current international squad member along with Sumulikoski, Daniel Mojsov, played the full 90 minutes for Vojvodina as they finished third in the Serbian league. Of the 13 above who didn't start their respective club's games, two came on as substitutes whilst the other 11 were either unused or didn't make the match squad, including the injured Lazevski. Quite a few of the teams appear to have been flirting with or suffered relegation from leagues that certainly wouldn't be considered the strongest in Europe by any stretch of the imagination. The Stojkov mentioned above is also a different Stojkov from pacey forward Aco Stojkov who is part of the current Macedonia squad and plays with Aarau in Switzerland.
Lazevski who was already injured going into the weekend's games has been replaced by 19-year-old Stefan Ristovski of Parma (http://www.macedonianfootball.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=2918:stefan-ristovski-replaces-aleksandar-lazevski&catid=13:international&Itemid=64). If he plays against us, it will be his senior international debut. As far as I can make out, he's yet to play in Serie A and still plays in Parma's youth set-up.
Bajram Fetai has since been replaced by 25-year-old Dušan Savić of Pakhtakor in Uzbekistan (http://www.macedonianfootball.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=2940:savi-instead-of-fetai-on-the-national-team&catid=33:international&Itemid=223). I'm happy to also see that the same goalkeeper as played in Dublin will line out for them on Saturday, assuming he won't be dropped for his understudy.
01/06/2011, 7:06 AM
Paul McShane in today's Examiner (http://www.examiner.ie/sport/soccer/mcshane-on-road-to-recovery-156461.html)
"I’d always turn up no matter what. I’m just a diehard, I think. I’ve grown up here, moved away at 16 and I feel like I’m representing the people — whether you (in the media) like it or not sometimes.
"I’m representing you lot, the people I’ve grown up with and my family too so I’ll always turn up and put on that green jersey with a lot of pride.
"I know I’m saying a lot of clichés now but that’s just the way I feel."
Duggie
01/06/2011, 8:31 AM
Paul McShane in today's Examiner (http://www.examiner.ie/sport/soccer/mcshane-on-road-to-recovery-156461.html)
"I’d always turn up no matter what. I’m just a diehard, I think. I’ve grown up here, moved away at 16 and I feel like I’m representing the people — whether you (in the media) like it or not sometimes.
"I’m representing you lot, the people I’ve grown up with and my family too so I’ll always turn up and put on that green jersey with a lot of pride.
cant question his committment fair play to him. i think hes just said what i would feel if i was a professional footballer in england.
01/06/2011, 9:26 AM
from today's Independent: http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/ireland-facing-tough-choice-for-rightback-slot-in-skopje-says-tardelli-2662571.html
Third-choice 'keeper Darren Randolph has suffered a minor injury and misses Macedonia, with Brian Murphy called up in his place.
Hard luck on Randolph, after a good season with Motherwell and played himself into the setup, could have made an appearance against Italy IMO,
01/06/2011, 9:30 AM
assuming Fahey is even fit. Foley may end up in the middle at some stage. I'm beginning to think that going 1 down in this match might suit us. It'll put us on the front foot and hopefully we'll be good enough to recover.
I have never heard someone thinking falling behind would do a team good :O
Trap's teams at home have been average at best. Away from home they have been better than average. I am expecting a draw at worst. A defeat would be catastrophic for our qualification chances.
Wouldn't be happy with Foley and Ward in the defence, particularly the latter. Not exactly from a solid defensive background at Wolves. Mind you, I am not exactly excited at the thought of "turn my back to the play" McShane and Kilbane. Holding possession will be a major problem, especially should we take the lead.
I seldom predict an Irish win but I'll go for 2-1. Coasting at 2-0. Macedonia score late on and then it's frantic stuff for the last 5 minutes with some hair raising moments and I scream terrible abuse at McShane.
French Toasht
01/06/2011, 9:40 AM
In case anyone needs reminding that Skopje is the graveyard of Irish football:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B3X8XnIRkBE
01/06/2011, 9:43 AM
We didn't need reminding. I think everyone here is well versed in our previous well.
Sure even this morning Morning Ireland replayed the Team 33 comments from Blatter and I nearly welled up.
French Toasht
01/06/2011, 9:58 AM
Don't think I have ever been as gutted about a football match as I was after the last minute equaliser that denied us entry to the Euros. Henrygate doesn't even come close. Remember how the group was so tight at the top, that that goal meant that from being on the verge on automatic qualification, there was now a real possibility we would not even get a playoff. The Yugoslavia v Croatia match was a later kick off so we had to sit through an agonising half hour of that match, praying that Croatia wouldn't score.
I also remember despite the fact that the Macedonians had nothing to play for, they took particular joy in our misery in light of the "I've had a Macedonia" T-shirt for the worst trainer episode. They took great joy in taunting our players after the match, even if it did mean they had just put their bitter rivals Yugoslavia automatically into Euro 2000.
01/06/2011, 10:00 AM
Mr T, if you ever, in the nicest way possible, ever put a crux on us like that in the run up to a crucial game, then I'l be forced to seek you out and
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=znVy2hQlBs8
01/06/2011, 10:36 AM
I have never heard someone thinking falling behind would do a team good :OI said the same when England needed to beat Croatia in Euro 2004. They were usually cagey and inhibited under Sven, but when they needed to play with the shackles off they went on and scored 4.
I actually think this game will be the litmus test of Trap's reign so far. If we can repeat Armenia away, or do better, it'll show that we have a bit of bottle and street-wiseness about us. If we draw or lose then we're no better than where we were 3 years ago.
I agree with you wrt the outcome. The weak defence notwithstanding I think the last fortnight has instilled a real sense of purpose and mission. The lads are up for it and are not going through the motions one jot.
01/06/2011, 10:44 AM
You know ive mentionded before on here how I would like to see mcshane in a DM/M role in one of these friendlies, he has proven he actually has good control even though we always take the **** out of him. If he misses a tackle or mis-times a tackle there should be another line behind him and his mistakes wont be so costly. I definitely think he is worth a look there.
Great words all the same.
01/06/2011, 10:56 AM
Interesting idea. Is his distribution / awareness good enough though? I reckon Sledge could be better equipped to do the Lawrenson / McGrath type role if we ever used it.
Noelys Guitar
01/06/2011, 11:01 AM
Are we getting dangerously close to Less Skill more Passion? Pandev can and probably will cause us a few problems and will have to be carefully ushered away from entering our penalty area. For us McGeady is going to be the key player. He played well in the home game and hopefully will continue his good run of form for us on Saturday night. Create the 3 0r 4 really good chances we might need to win the game. Better still score one himself.
Yard of Pace
01/06/2011, 11:05 AM
Nah, lads come on. I love McShane as a person but he gives the wall away far too much to be considered in midfield. He has many good qualities and he's improved on the ball but check the first few minutes of the N Ireland game and you'll see him continually give the ball away needlessly and put us under pressure.
01/06/2011, 12:31 PM
Don't think I have ever been as gutted about a football match as I was after the last minute equaliser that denied us entry to the Euros. Henrygate doesn't even come close. Remember how the group was so tight at the top, that that goal meant that from being on the verge on automatic qualification, there was now a real possibility we would not even get a playoff. The Yugoslavia v Croatia match was a later kick off so we had to sit through an agonising half hour of that match, praying that Croatia wouldn't score.
With you on that one. I was in bits after that game. I'll never forget that equalizer as long as I live. It's up there with Ray Cosgrove's free against Armagh in 02 hitting the post.
What horrible memories.
01/06/2011, 12:33 PM
With you on that one. I was in bits after that game. I'll beverages forget that equalizer as long as I live. It's up there with Ray Cosgrove's free against Armagh in 02 hitting the post.
What horrible memoies.
quite the Freudian slip there!
Wolfie
01/06/2011, 12:39 PM
You know ive mentionded before on here how I would like to see mcshane in a DM/M role in one of these friendlies, he has proven he actually has good control even though we always take the **** out of him. If he misses a tackle or mis-times a tackle there should be another line behind him and his mistakes wont be so costly. I definitely think he is worth a look there.
Great words all the same.
Interesting idea. Is his distribution / awareness good enough though? I reckon Sledge could be better equipped to do the Lawrenson / McGrath type role if we ever used it.
McShane is the footballing definition of an accident waiting to happen. He had a decent showing against Scotland but that doesn't gloss over various matches where he's just not been up to standard.
Commitment, honesty of effort and integrity are all admirable traits that McShane has.
Unfortunately these are off set by a terrible first touch, wayward passing ability and the positional awareness of Stevie Wonder.
Maybe I'm being bit harsh, McShane is a likeable sort - but its a consistent argument formed over a number of years.
McShane would concede far too many free kicks from midfield, his passing isn't good enough even by our midfields standards and he can't read the game. Apart from that he'd be great.
Wolfie
01/06/2011, 12:43 PM
I also remember despite the fact that the Macedonians had nothing to play for, they took particular joy in our misery in light of the "I've had a Macedonia" T-shirt for the worst trainer episode. They took great joy in taunting our players after the match, even if it did mean they had just put their bitter rivals Yugoslavia automatically into Euro 2000.
What amazed me was that they'd had a goal disallowed about 20 seconds earlier. Very rare to get caught cold twice in the space of a minute but that's what happened to us.
The signs were there all second half - we dropped off them to a ridiculous degree and repented at our leisure.
01/06/2011, 12:45 PM
quite the Freudian slip there!
It was more of an Androidian slip.
01/06/2011, 12:47 PM
O'Shea struggles as a DM and he's composed on the ball. McShane would drown in the middle of the park.
He's a better CB than FB. Maybe the Trap and other managers feel he'll cause less havoc for his own team if he isn't playing CB? He can tackle, head but lacks football intelligence to truly prosper.
French Toasht
01/06/2011, 1:28 PM
What amazed me was that they'd had a goal disallowed about 20 seconds earlier. Very rare to get caught cold twice in the space of a minute but that's what happened to us.
The signs were there all second half - we dropped off them to a ridiculous degree and repented at our leisure.
We did the very same thing against Croatia away. For the whole of the second half we sat back and Davor Suker scored the inevitable goal in the last minute.
In fact things really unravelled in the second half of that campaign. After starting so well with home wins against Croatia and Yugoslavia (which is probably the best attacking performance by an Irish team I've seen in the last 15 years) and then we had horror shows away to Croatia, Malta and Macedonia.
01/06/2011, 1:33 PM
After starting so well with home wins against Croatia and Yugoslavia (which is probably the best attacking performance by an Irish team I've seen in the last 15 years).
That was a stunning game. One of my all time favourites. Capped by the stunning goal from Mark Kennedy.
Crosby87
01/06/2011, 1:47 PM
Whatever happened to Kennedy? Or Ger Crosley?
French Toasht
01/06/2011, 2:04 PM
Whatever happened to Kennedy? Or Ger Crosley?
I think this really was the death knell for Kennedy's international career. Never really featured after this.
http://www.independent.co.uk/sport/football/premier-league/shamed-babb-and-kennedy-sent-home-696455.html
01/06/2011, 2:17 PM
Thats what we do in all games under Trap. And you're point is?
And thats against what was a very similar defence but better midfield!!
Yard of Pace
01/06/2011, 2:19 PM
I think this really was the death knell for Kennedy's international career. Never really featured after this.
http://www.independent.co.uk/sport/football/premier-league/shamed-babb-and-kennedy-sent-home-696455.html
I'm sure it was a big factor but I remember reading an interview on the back of the IT sports section on a Saturday with Babb where he was giving out that Kennedy had been forgiven for this incident but he hadn't. In the same interview he was saying how he was so much quicker than any of the other Irish defenders at the time.
SwanVsDalton
01/06/2011, 2:22 PM
Thats what we do in all games under Trap. And you're point is?
And thats against what was a very similar defence but better midfield!!
Key word in Wolfie's statement is 'degree' - we don't drop off teams to the same extent or regularity we did under McCarthy.
French Toasht
01/06/2011, 2:38 PM
I'm sure it was a big factor but I remember reading an interview on the back of the IT sports section on a Saturday with Babb where he was giving out that Kennedy had been forgiven for this incident but he hadn't. In the same interview he was saying how he was so much quicker than any of the other Irish defenders at the time.
Well he only played 4 games for Ireland after that incident as opposed to Babb's one game (Russia away). And it was a year after that incident before he got 1 of his last four caps for Ireland. Considering his international career ended age 25, I think his demise can only really be attributed to that incident, whereas Babb moving away to Portugal, would not have done a lot to help his international prospects, and thus the reasoning for his absence may not be as clear cut.
EastTerracer
01/06/2011, 3:00 PM
Well he only played 4 games for Ireland after that incident as opposed to Babb's one game (Russia away). And it was a year after that incident before he got 1 of his last four caps for Ireland. Considering his international career ended age 25, I think his demise can only really be attributed to that incident, whereas Babb moving away to Portugal, would not have done a lot to help his international prospects, and thus the reasoning for his absence may not be as clear cut.
Kennedy's attitude was pretty terrible at that stage of his career. I think he only realised in his Cardiff days that his career was coming to an end and he had never lived up to his potential. For a player with great ability he could have produced so much more at club and International level.
The great goal against Yugoslavia was actually a great summary of his career. He didn't play particularly well in that game and then pulled a goal out of nowhere late in the game. I remember Joe Kinnear and Dunphy sitting in the RTE studio on the South Terrace and both agreed that Kennedy should have been substituted long before he scored the goal.
He was asked in an interview a number of years ago if he felt that his career had been disappointing and he responded with something along the lines of no, he'd had a great career, played for Liverpool and made a load of money. He's looked a much more professional player in the last few years (at Palace, Cardiff and briefly at Ipswich) but unfortunately it came too late for his international career.