View Full Version : Barstoolers Love-In
marinobohs
01/06/2011, 10:10 AM
Of course I dont care what you think of me I got the feeling from reading several of the posts that many had an almost snobby notion about their support of their local team and no affiliation twoards an english one, and that they felt that to watch english football on tv was taboo. I was trying to understand the mentality here. Your explanation was good but I was curious as to why you felt the need to say "why i care" and now Im wondering would you not class me as a LOI fan because I live here and support an english team as well . Again Im just curious to understand mindset thats all . I contribute about 5-800 euro to Sligo rovers each year , not alot I appreciate but all helps so does my non attendance disqualify me (I dont go to Elland road either)? Still I am only curious as I said to understand more the thought process of the younger fans . Thanks again.
From those that I know/came across, most LOI fans have some Gra for clubs outside Ireland - usually England or Scotland and increasingly Spain (rarer examples of support for other leagues also about).I think the problem is those "fans" that never visit any game, talk about "their" teamas we and tend to slagoff/belittle the LOI at every oppurtunity.
Persoanlly think the LOI slagging is primarily a defence thing to justify why a (so called) football fan does not bother going to, em, football. Again its a personal opinion but have no problem with fans having an interest in EPL, La Liga etc but just dont get how a football fan can have no interest in their own national League:confused:
See when people use the term 'bogball' or 'stick fighting' all the while moaning about showing disrespect to our national league, you really make yourself look silly and a bit of a hypocrite.
And just to say maybe why it gets coverage is because it's actually popular, the LOI isn't - so lose the chip on your shoulder. I find the LOI is usually a turn-off for a lot of people. The attitude stinks.
I prefer "glass spreaders" myself.
marinobohs
01/06/2011, 11:07 AM
See when people use the term 'bogball' or 'stick fighting' all the while moaning about showing disrespect to our national league, you really make yourself look silly and a bit of a hypocrite.
And just to say maybe why it gets coverage is because it's actually popular, the LOI isn't - so lose the chip on your shoulder. I find the LOI is usually a turn-off for a lot of people. The attitude stinks.
Presuming the above is not a wind up ( a pretty big presumption) when LOI "bans" another sport, opposes grants for other sport(s), threatens young people wishing to participate in other sports and sends officials around public parks to"check" on people playing other sports, bans other sports from LOI grounds, legally challenges a club getting Govt funding just because it is not "their" code (despite general good of the community) then, and only then should we accept that our "attitude stinks".
Feel free to get back to me when that happens :rolleyes:
bullit
03/06/2011, 3:56 AM
See,best thing about this site is that we can look at your previous posts,and i hereby hang you as a Caltic fan LOL that has a hang-up with the Ireland/plastic set-up. Long time running this pic but i think we finally have our man :
http://bp0.blogger.com/_ewG4dtKAYgw/R0arRkTKYAI/AAAAAAAAADw/bbRnrYWypeg/s400/4052200018a4340739978b204797820l.jpg
Chucky our law
03/06/2011, 10:53 AM
Was asked today down by the copier by the now infamous teuwl (see Annoying Monday morning conversations) what will I do with myself now that the league season is over...
Grr...
He also said "ah sure you have that Ireland match on Saturday"
Lord oh lord.
The barstoolers seem to be attracted to you Bonnie!:D
Straightstory
03/06/2011, 4:45 PM
Presuming the above is not a wind up ( a pretty big presumption) when LOI "bans" another sport, opposes grants for other sport(s), threatens young people wishing to participate in other sports and sends officials around public parks to"check" on people playing other sports, bans other sports from LOI grounds, legally challenges a club getting Govt funding just because it is not "their" code (despite general good of the community) then, and only then should we accept that our "attitude stinks".
Feel free to get back to me when that happens :rolleyes:
Excellent post. I think I love you!
04/06/2011, 9:17 PM
The barstoolers seem to be attracted to you Bonnie!:D
Just think it bothers me more than most.
04/06/2011, 11:05 PM
My favourite wind-up to use in real life is when wearing my French jersey to a pub when theres a game like Man Utd vs Liverpool on
twice now I have been asked why the hell I would wear that jersey when I'm Irish. I say its because I support France for my National team, when asked why i would do that I say that its because they play better football than Ireland. Queue a round of guffaws until I ask why they are supporting United/Liverpool over Bohs/Pats etc. to which the intelligent ones realise where I'm going with this, the dumb ones press on regardless
my all time favourite encounter with a barstooler saw the conversation go like this:
him: who do you support?
me: Limerick
him: who do you really support though?
him *becoming more animated*: who do you support in england though?!
me: sheffield wednesday i suppose
him *getting agitated*: but who do you support in the premier league????!
me: I don't know
him: you must follow someone!
me: I guess it'd be Arsenal I'd look out for most so
him *looking delighted*: Arsenal! Ha you haven't won anything in ages! united are well better than them!
I genuinely facepalmed whilst he did his dance of United vs Arsenal joy
TiocfaidhArmani
10/06/2011, 6:52 PM
Wrong forum buddy. I think Hoganstand is thataway ---> http://www.hoganstand.com/forum/forumpage.aspx
I'm on that forum also, you see you can like different sports. I just choose not to have the ignorance of some on here. The GAA rule about foreign sports went exactly 40 years ago. Get with the times people - the GAA, thankfully, has.
TiocfaidhArmani
10/06/2011, 6:56 PM
By the way my initial post had an error. I meant to write I find LOI fans a turn off, not the LOI itself. I support Shels, but I find the attitudes of LOI fans a severe turn-off. If someone wants to support them - let them. Why not concentrate on getting the league in order and stop giving people an excuse to ridicule us? I get it in the next from people who say you should only support a LOI team. It's so small minded, I'll support whom my heart tells me to.
BTW, to whomever called me a barstooler. I approx €650 for my Celtic season ticket. I'd imagine that' a lot more than you pay for yours. :)
10/06/2011, 7:47 PM
Really... have we resorted to jibes of "My season ticket is more expensive than your season ticket"? Jaysus!
10/06/2011, 8:16 PM
Keep your overpriced ******** so. I'll stick with my 100 quid season ticket with Harps and spend the extra 550 quid on something worthwhile.
11/06/2011, 1:41 AM
I support Shels, but I find the attitudes of LOI fans a severe turn-off.
Where have you encountered this attitude?
bullit
11/06/2011, 2:36 AM
BTW, to whomever called me a barstooler. I approx €650 for my Celtic season ticket. I'd imagine that' a lot more than you pay for yours. :)
T'was me !!
Fcukin BARSTOLLER!!
SHELS fan me HOLE !!:tv:
11/06/2011, 11:11 AM
By the way my initial post had an error. I meant to write I find LOI fans a turn off, not the LOI itself. I support Shels, but I find the attitudes of LOI fans a severe turn-off. If someone wants to support them - let them. Why not concentrate on getting the league in order and stop giving people an excuse to ridicule us? I get it in the next from people who say you should only support a LOI team. It's so small minded, I'll support whom my heart tells me to.
Nothing wrong with the league at all. Live football - what more does a football fan need?
11/06/2011, 11:35 AM
my all time favourite encounter with a barstooler saw the conversation go like this:
him: who do you support?
him: who do you really support though?
him *becoming more animated*: who do you support in england though?!
me: sheffield wednesday i suppose
him *getting agitated*: but who do you support in the premier league????!
me: I don't know
him: you must follow someone!
me: I guess it'd be Arsenal I'd look out for most so
him *looking delighted*: Arsenal! Ha you haven't won anything in ages! united are well better than them!
You should have stuck with Limerick.
I've always said that to understand them, you have to see it from their point of view. They see the LOI, how LOI club fans see domestic grass-roots football, featuring the likes of Cherry Orchard/Rockmount/Letterkenny Rovers, etc. Important yes, but generally, really not worth bothering with.
11/06/2011, 11:37 AM
You should have stuck with Limerick.
I've always said that to understand them, you have to see it from their point of view. They see the LOI, how LOI club fans see domestic grass-roots football, featuring the likes of Cherry Orchard/Rockmount/Letterkenny Rovers, etc. Important yes, but generally, really not worth bothering with.
I don't even think they do that.
I think that we appreciate grass roots more than you think we do.
peadar1987
11/06/2011, 11:49 AM
Nothing wrong with the league at all. Live football - what more does a football fan need?
What if our distant ancestors had said "There's nothing wrong with hunter-gathering at all. Nuts and berries - what more does a caveman need?". We'd never be living in this fine age of superinjunctions, recreational drugs and internet porn!
11/06/2011, 12:45 PM
Easily humankind's finest creations...
I can't believe he used the word Shels in vain like that.
You can't be a fan of Shelbourne.
You support, love and hate them in equal measure. You cry when we miss out on promotion. You are always trepiditious in the last minute. You have a hatred for Limerick that doesn't need explaining.
None of these things are experiences of a fan. They are the experiences of lunatics who if they were "fans" could easily just walk into Tallaght stadium and be a fan of Rovers.[nothing against Shams just if you wanted to be a fan of any LOI club in Dublin Ye would be the obvious choice.]
I'm a fan of The National, The Foo Fighters, Nirvana, Daft Punk...
I'm a supporter of Shelbourne.
11/06/2011, 12:46 PM
What if our distant ancestors had said "There's nothing wrong with hunter-gathering at all. Nuts and berries - what more does a caveman need?". We'd never be living in this fine age of superinjunctions, recreational drugs and internet porn!
Have you ever visited Mullinbeggar (Mullingar)?
11/06/2011, 12:50 PM
650 for a season ticket!! says it all really....
11/06/2011, 1:12 PM
BTW, I approx €650 for my Celtic season ticket. :)
Proud of that, yes?
650 quid to watch St. Mirren, St. Johnstone, Kilmarnock, and Inverness twice a year. Lucky you.
peadar1987
11/06/2011, 1:36 PM
Have you ever visited Mullinbeggar (Mullingar)?
Yup, and it's not somewhere I'd like to spend much time without copious amounts of recreational drugs and internet porn! ;)
11/06/2011, 2:08 PM
Don't you just hate it when your heartfelt angst is missed by the page turn. Bennocelt you're dead to me! :P
DannyInvincible
11/06/2011, 2:40 PM
Just came across this and thought it might be relevant: http://judecollinsjournalist.blogspot.com/2011/05/still-cringeing-after-all-these-years.html
It's a blog run by former Irish News columnist, Jude Collins. He also happens to be a second cousin of mine, although I can't say I've met him in recent memory.
“So what Irish football club do you support?” The questioner was the guide at Camp Nou, home of FC Barcelona, last summer. Questions like that make you think. Or they do me.
What Irish football club (soccer, that is) do I support? Um, none. I support Arsenal, I told the Camp Nou man, and I could see he was looking at me as if I was a bit unbalanced. After all, I’d just been impressing on him that I was IRISH not ENGLISH, that there was a serious difference.
Did it, does it make sense for an Irishman to support an English soccer team like Arsenal? I suppose you could argue that Pat Rice, an Irishman, has been a prominent figure at Arsenal for years, or that Liam Brady works with the youth team – but so what? Isn’t there something a bit...colonial about my gazing past local clubs and supporting an English team? In my defence you could say that Irish club football north and south is crap, and you’d be right. But it still doesn't let me off the hook.
My fear is that it’s rooted in cultural cringe. Anything native has to be second-best /primitive, things from the seat of power, the imperial centre, are bound to be better.
If you could untease this cultural cringe without referring to me as “an evil old ****” (the thoughtful estimate of one comment-poster a few blogs back), I’d be in your debt.
In light of his epiphany, whether or not he'll be attending Omagh Town games from the beginning of the new Irish League season remains to be seen.
11/06/2011, 2:42 PM
Yup, and it's not somewhere I'd like to spend much time without copious amounts of recreational drugs and internet porn! ;)
On the contrary there is a little late bar in Mullingar called 'Bed', which actually has a bed, and a stripper pole strangely enough. I like it for this little act of randomness.
Oh..and the statue of Joe Dolan.
peadar1987
11/06/2011, 3:13 PM
On the contrary there is a little late bar in Mullingar called 'Bed', which actually has a bed, and a stripper pole strangely enough. I like it for this little act of randomness.
Oh..and the statue of Joe Dolan.
It also has the distinction of being the town in which I saw one girl heel-stomp another in the stomach while wearing 3-inch stilettos! For all its dodgy spots, it's not the worst really though.
Fivesilver
11/06/2011, 3:33 PM
I approx €650 for my Celtic season ticket. I'd imagine that' a lot more than you pay for yours. :)
http://t0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQMYf9kbVUvrVJjq0sZUBqJsroLhYw4Z GnsdIoviq3XUvPPizy0&t=1
Another cracker on boards..
http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056295453
GalwayRed
11/06/2011, 5:32 PM
The nasty league of ireland fans have already ruined that thread by suggesting people actually go to a football match :rolleyes:.
peadar1987
11/06/2011, 5:34 PM
I think we should start a campaign to get the LOI fundamentalist their own forum, they constantly ruin threads here trying to convince us to support your local team.
When the only previous LOI-related remarks were: "League of Ireland all the way through the summer.http://b-static.net/vbulletin/images/smilies/biggrin.gif", and a passing mention in a post that also talked about the Norwegian league and MNS. There is seriously something wrong with these people!
Also this gem:
What's annoying is for a lot of people, the nearest LOI team isn't even local.
Your location is listed as Galway, mate. :good:
11/06/2011, 6:02 PM
There is no League of Ireland club within ten minutes of me so I'll have to just watch the Norwegian league on an expensive PPV channel instead. Likewise, the butchers is a bit of a hike away so I'll just buy the dearer, lesser quality meat from Tesco.
PartySaint
11/06/2011, 8:07 PM
There is no League of Ireland club within ten minutes of me so I'll have to just watch the Norwegian league on an expensive PPV channel instead. Likewise, the butchers is a bit of a hike away so I'll just buy the dearer, lesser quality meat from Tesco.
One guy actually has to get a bus if he wants to go to a game:shock:
bullit
11/06/2011, 8:26 PM
I trebled face palmed @ that thread and near broke down,half in tears,half PMSL but didnt read anymore than the first page !!:excruciating::pill:
peadar1987
11/06/2011, 8:35 PM
And a bus back! And he'll miss his dinner.
11/06/2011, 8:39 PM
Maybe his ma will tape Come Dine With Me for him. Just like making a real meal!
Guinney
11/06/2011, 8:52 PM
That utter rubbish on boards.ie is cringeworthy. The excuses for not even having a remote interest in their local sides is ridiculous.
These people just don't know what it actually means to support your team and are the ultimate barstoolers.
ped_ped
11/06/2011, 8:54 PM
In fairness there's another thread there about foreign teams with Irish roots, with the OP referring to Irish teams in a kind of 'obviously I'm not talking about them, I'm just curious about what foreign teams have Irish roots' kinda way . . . and a bunch of LOI lads stormed the place and started preaching . . .
I'm as mad about LOI as most here, but we hardly cover ourselves in glory if some guys wanna make every thread about LOI.
Back to the main point . . . 'I need my football fix for the summer, when's the Norwegian Ladies U-17 League starting?' = facepalm
bullit
11/06/2011, 11:05 PM
In fairness there's another thread there about foreign teams with Irish roots, with the OP referring to Irish teams in a kind of 'obviously I'm not talking about them, I'm just curious about what foreign teams have Irish roots' kinda way . . . and a bunch of LOI lads stormed the place and started preaching . . .
I'm as mad about LOI as most here, but we hardly cover ourselves in glory if some guys wanna make every thread about LOI.
Back to the main point . . . 'I need my football fix for the summer, when's the Norwegian Ladies U-17 League starting?' = facepalm
Your right.Ramming the LOI down peoples throats is not to the way to go.But i must admit that i have lost my cool at times(on boards and some others) and especialy in threads like the one that was posted above.
11/06/2011, 11:36 PM
It's easy to lose it with these guys though, blatantly disregarding the LOI. They are the ones losing out so fcuk em.
direct? The lucky bugger! :D
12/06/2011, 3:11 AM
One guy actually has to get a bus if he wants to go to a game
His "dinner" is a Mars Bar.
12/06/2011, 10:23 AM
His "dinner" is a Mars Bar.
I read that as some convoluted admission that you were a Droghedian.
12/06/2011, 10:24 AM
It's easy to lose it with these guys though, blatantly disregarding the LOI. They are the ones losing out so fcuk em.
Calm toi.
Ease yourself into your week.
ger121
12/06/2011, 3:07 PM
Dion Fanning at it now in the Sunday Independent. Dreadful article
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/withdrawal-symptoms-kick-in-but-at-least-we-have-jim-white-2672635.html
poster
12/06/2011, 3:20 PM
I thought he was a LoI fan?
12/06/2011, 8:34 PM
What was actually the point of that article? Oh poor Dion is bored? Gimme a break.
peadar1987
12/06/2011, 9:06 PM
What was actually the point of that article? Oh poor Dion is bored? Gimme a break.
"If you ever get bored of your life, give me a call and I'll come 'round and kill you! Woof!"
http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_ylRgLDA3p-M/TJcrKAJAP9I/AAAAAAAAAV0/RBAmgwu66-8/s1600/lord+flasheart.jpg
El-Pietro
13/06/2011, 8:12 AM
On a bus to work this morning heard one half of a conversation between a passenger and the driver
We were passing Turners Cross and I assume the driver had asked the passenger if he went out to City games
“I haven’t been out there in years, I’d say the last time I was there my brother was in goal for Rockmount against City that’s how long its been”
“Its very expensive anyway, I mean I assume its very expensive. I’d rather save for my season ticket for United anyway”
He then went on to talk about how he and his brothers had season tickets and would go to two or three games a season and sell the rest off to their friends and basically get to go to games for free.
So not only is he a barstooler, hes a tout on top of that.