View Full Version : Barstoolers Love-In
Verdebianco
10/05/2011, 11:41 PM
No your looking at it all wrong, If they start following my club they are real fans but if they start following a different club they are only glory hunting b*stards
I suppose they're mutually exclusive for youse, supporting Pats and winning trophies.
11/05/2011, 11:59 AM
Whoosh!!!
Brusher
11/05/2011, 12:39 PM
Travelling on the train the other day, I had the misfortune to turn on that God awful Today Fm around 5 pm on Saturday, and was "treated" to the rubbish from the presenter (who sounds like he has 2 golf balls in his gob), who was taking calls from braindeads all over Ireland, arguing the days games in the English Premier League. Jeez, is it any wonder this country is in the state it is ?! Laugh or cry, no neither, I just switched off !
http://sportsfile.com/id/510899/http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/watermarked-b/Library/SF713/510899.jpg
http://sportsfile.com/id/510899/
11/05/2011, 4:36 PM
I almost puked... that's a load of me b****x!
I went on lunch with my Man city and Liverpool supporting mates earlier. Jesus save us. " I'm not going to that league of Ireland b****x or that Celtic game in July"
OneForTheFuture
11/05/2011, 4:42 PM
http://sportsfile.com/id/510899/http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/watermarked-b/Library/SF713/510899.jpg
http://sportsfile.com/id/510899/
Gerrard is losing his hair!
Which player is that in the middle?
peadar1987
11/05/2011, 5:08 PM
Gerrard is losing his hair!
Which player is that in the middle?
12 May 2011; adidas home away from home : adidas are bringing Liverpool stars to Dublin today, Thursday 12th May, to launch the new Liverpool 2011/12 away kit. Pictured in the new adidas Liverpool away jersey are Liverpool fans, Kerry footballer Colm Cooper, Munster and Ireland out half Ronan O’Gara and Tipperary hurler Eoin Kelly. A number of high profile Liverpool FC players will be in Dublin as adidas transform the streets of Dublin into Anfield for the day as part of the home away from home campaign. Picture credit: Brendan Moran / SPORTSFILE
Graah!
OneForTheFuture
11/05/2011, 5:17 PM
Oh so they are not Liverpool footballers then?
poster
11/05/2011, 5:57 PM
Again, the absolute state of everyone in this country.
Colm Cooper said in an interview a few years ago that he hoped one day he'd visit Anfield. What a ginger ****.
poster
11/05/2011, 7:10 PM
John Lithgow (3rd Rock From The Sun) is trending on Twitter's 'Dublin map' right now because he said he's a Liverpool fan and "hopes to see them someday". Jesus H. How embarrassing for everyone.
11/05/2011, 7:21 PM
O sweet mother of god that photo is a joke in fairness. I usually don't care who people support but for those players to be launching the jersey is ridiculous. They more than most are supposed to represent our own.
Would love to see Damien Duff, Robbie Keane or Shay Given launching the new England rugby kit for the world cup or something. I guarantee it would cause up roar.
DannyInvincible
11/05/2011, 7:30 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O_FgPNiYn2U
Even Rosana Davison getting in on it for Ireland... Jesus wept.
DannyInvincible
11/05/2011, 7:33 PM
And "The Fields of Athenry" is most certainly not the (or even a) Liverpool anthem.
DannyInvincible
11/05/2011, 8:58 PM
A further and more in-depth look at nonsense:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HXghVVJsI2c
Davison: "I'm just really proud to love the game.... I wouldn't be that mad now about watching any old team play; it would have to be Liverpool." :rolleyes:
11/05/2011, 9:03 PM
Please make it stop. For the love of god make it stop.
Two Gah heads launching a Liverpool jersey, you couldnt make it up.
http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_OvD7y01oznw/SclohCBrE8I/AAAAAAAAD6Y/fb2XDc_7loA/s400/No+to+Foreign+Games+RSF+style.jpg
ped_ped
11/05/2011, 9:21 PM
I would not be beyond forming a breakaway state, separate from the Republic of Ireland, at this moment in time . . . absolute disgrace of a country.
11/05/2011, 10:26 PM
To make it worse O Gara is the same fella that kept his hands in his pockets and wouldn't shake the queens hand and now he loves Liverpool. expect nothing less.
cornflakes
11/05/2011, 10:29 PM
To make it worse O Gara is the same fella that kept his hands in his pockets and wouldn't shake the queens hand and now he loves Liverpool. expect nothing less.
Yep, what a tool
Hurt Locker
11/05/2011, 10:44 PM
Imo they are all doing it for the cash. If O Gara got the same money from Cork FC or Limerick FC for that matter he'd prostitue himself aswell.
11/05/2011, 10:53 PM
Imo they are all doing it for the cash. If O Gara got the same money Cork FC or Limerick for that matter he'd prostitue he self aswell.
I've no doubt money is driving it but the guy is known to be a clown off the pitch down these parts anyway and this further proves it. Sports stars like O Gara in my opinion should be helping out Irish clubs and not English ones that don't need the exposure no matter what he is getting paid. Ah well he ain't on his own in this country.
DannyInvincible
11/05/2011, 11:17 PM
Imo they are all doing it for the cash. If O Gara got the same money from Cork FC or Limerick 37 for that matter he'd prostitue himself aswell.
Not the sturdiest of vindications, that.
11/05/2011, 11:27 PM
Imo they are all doing it for the cash. If O Gara got the same money from Cork FC or Limerick 37 for that matter he'd prostitue himself aswell.
Pedantic but:
FC, our third season back as FC.
Hurt Locker
11/05/2011, 11:43 PM
Not the sturdiest of vindications, that.
IMO he/she didn't do it because he/she doesn't want anything to do with Irish soccer. More liverpool/addidas doing a much better job than FAI/loi clubs.
DannyInvincible
12/05/2011, 12:16 AM
But as Jofspring points out, Robbie Keane, say, promoting an England rugby jersey or something would be pretty bizarre no matter how much he was being given. This campaign, however, doesn't even warrant the batting of an eyelid within general Irish sporting circles. In fact, I'm pretty sure I came across comments on YouTube lauding the video ads as fantastic. It's embarrassing, is what it is.
Hurt Locker
12/05/2011, 5:08 AM
But as Jofspring points out, Robbie Keane, say, promoting an England rugby jersey or something would be pretty bizarre no matter how much he was being given. This campaign, however, doesn't even warrant the batting of an eyelid within general Irish sporting circles. In fact, I'm pretty sure I came across comments on YouTube lauding the video ads as fantastic. It's embarrassing, is what it is.
Slight problem is that they are not promoting an England rugby jersey!
culloty82
12/05/2011, 7:52 AM
And "The Fields of Athenry" is most certainly not the (or even a) Liverpool anthem.
Considering a Liverpool man wrote it, they've more claim to it than we do. Some helpful advice (http://mcfc.co.uk/News/FA-Cup-countdown/2011/May/Bluffers-guide-to-City) for the barstoolers (and this really isn't a United wind-up):
MagicMon
12/05/2011, 9:04 AM
Considering a Liverpool man wrote it, they've more claim to it than we do. Some helpful advice (http://mcfc.co.uk/News/FA-Cup-countdown/2011/May/Bluffers-guide-to-City) for the barstoolers (and this really isn't a United wind-up):
Must be a Man City wind-up? Must be? Then again if you told me the Liverpool thing (getting people from totally different sports and teams to advertise for you) was a wind up I'd believe you.
Some helpful advice (http://mcfc.co.uk/News/FA-Cup-countdown/2011/May/Bluffers-guide-to-City) for the barstoolers (and this really isn't a United wind-up):
Has to be a wind up - all city fans come from Manchester.
About the only defence of O'Gara is that he's sponsored by adidas, don't know about the Gah anti foreign game muppets.
btw whilst we're talking barstoolers, since when was the "Soccer" forum on boards require additional rights to post? Paranoid gimps.
12/05/2011, 9:38 AM
btw whilst we're talking barstoolers, since when was the "Soccer" forum on boards require additional rights to post? Paranoid gimps.
Noticed this too. It's not really an open discussion board if they pick and chose who posts where. I stay well away form it usually myself.
Well I wouldn't visit the football forum often - I was only going to comment on a thread about the Bradford Fire.
12/05/2011, 3:46 PM
That's one of the main reasons I ended up here. Couldn't be bothered with those Go Ahead Eagles supporting shower anyway!
DannyInvincible
12/05/2011, 4:01 PM
Slight problem is that they are not promoting an England rugby jersey!
No, Jofspring was drawing a possible parallel that would be roundly considered bizarre in the extreme. I was seconding that.
DannyInvincible
12/05/2011, 4:10 PM
Considering a Liverpool man wrote it, they've more claim to it than we do.
Wasn't Pete St. John a Dubliner? Besides, it's still an Irish and not a Liverpudlian folk song. And isn't 'You'll Never Walk Alone' the Liverpool anthem anyway? Did Liverpool fans always sing a variation of the wording of the former or is it a relatively recent reincarnation they probably reworded after hearing Celtic fans singing it?
Some helpful advice (http://mcfc.co.uk/News/FA-Cup-countdown/2011/May/Bluffers-guide-to-City) for the barstoolers (and this really isn't a United wind-up):
Reminds me of this travesty: http://bleacherreport.com/articles/413305-a-beginners-guide-to-picking-an-epl-team
This being a particular highlight:
Arsenal
Buyer Beware : Big time bandwagon and a lot of "pseudo" fans.
Has to be a wind up - all city fans come from Manchester.
About the only defence of O'Gara is that he's sponsored by adidas, don't know about the Gah anti foreign game muppets.
Typical bogstoolers.
12/05/2011, 6:41 PM
Imo they are all doing it for the cash. If O Gara got the same money from Cork FC or Limerick FC for that matter he'd prostitue himself aswell.
Must need it, probably had a bad Cheltenham like a lot of us!:p
That prxxx waving his tricolour as the teams come out at white hart lane (with the cringo spurs crest in the white section) is possibly the most annoying of the lot of them. He must be based in London as he's there anytime I am interested enough to go past 2 games on either motd or rte's show and if spurs are featured.
What must the locals think of us ?
Sportingly challenged probably
13/05/2011, 12:39 AM
Was in the pub with herself and her friend tonight and on in the background was sky sports. Now it turns out there's apparently this programme called "Premier League World". Never heard nor saw it before.
Tonight's episode profiled some poxy French Arsenal fans. Now, admittedly I couldn't hear a lot of what they were saying but I didn't need to. At one stage they were filming the Arsenal fans in their local watching Arsenal v Man U. At one stage the camera panned around the bar to some United fan leaving in disgust. He was followed by a friend who was wearing a jacket.
The friend turned to the Arsenal fans and started taunting them, zipped down his jacket, and started kissing the badge of his Chelsea shirt.
I felt sick. Sometimes I feel like some sort of delusional pr1ck who's trying to tell people about ways for them locally for them to be involved in LOI. But then I see these teuwls in France and I realise that unfortunately we just have to accept that we have to deal with these cnuts indefinitely.
And I'll be okay with that once you don't start giving out yards to me that my team are sh1t or that the levels of skill aren't like the "Prem"... I DON'T CARE, they're my team! And I will rise and fall with them. You'll rise and fall with whatever Sky decide to show you.
DannyInvincible
13/05/2011, 1:48 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=--CdA8IhE6Q
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZQYob9E0q-Y
*Language warning
bullit
13/05/2011, 3:29 AM
That's one of the main reasons I ended up here. Couldn't be bothered with those Go Ahead Eagles supporting shower anyway!
You got to LOL over them 2 guys on that Go Ahead Eagles page on Boards.
I reckon the Go ahed Eagles guy is geniune enough but the other guy-Picarooney- should be hunted down and brought naked to a Mervue game. Let eagles pick off him.
13/05/2011, 7:23 AM
Was in the pub with herself and her friend tonight and on in the background was sky sports. Now it turns out there's apparently this programme called "Premier League World". Never heard nor saw it before.
Tonight's episode profiled some poxy French Arsenal fans. Now, admittedly I couldn't hear a lot of what they were saying but I didn't need to. At one stage they were filming the Arsenal fans in their local watching Arsenal v Man U. At one stage the camera panned around the bar to some United fan leaving in disgust. He was followed by a friend who was wearing a jacket.
The friend turned to the Arsenal fans and started taunting them, zipped down his jacket, and started kissing the badge of his Chelsea shirt.
I felt sick. Sometimes I feel like some sort of delusional pr1ck who's trying to tell people about ways for them locally for them to be involved in LOI. But then I see these teuwls in France and I realise that unfortunately we just have to accept that we have to deal with these cnuts indefinitely.
And I'll be okay with that once you don't start giving out yards to me that my team are sh1t or that the levels of skill aren't like the "Prem"... I DON'T CARE, they're my team! And I will rise and fall with them. You'll rise and fall with whatever Sky decide to show you.
Spot on. When are we getting the t-shirts printed up :D
Did Liverpool fans always sing a variation of the wording of the former or is it a relatively recent reincarnation they probably reworded after hearing Celtic fans singing it?
It's a 2000's invention.
13/05/2011, 8:07 AM
Spot on. When are we getting the t-shirts printed up :D
Soon. Very soon.
13/05/2011, 8:29 AM
I managed to mention this last night to the 2 girls and even they couldn't understand it. There's hope for is yet lads.
2 girls in cant-understand-sports-issues shocker! ;) ;)
http://www.tvscoop.tv/father-ted-careful-now.jpg
13/05/2011, 2:40 PM
Ah Stu... you misunderstood the post. The girls thought that it was odd that the Gooch and Rog were launching a Liverpool shirt.
yeah, i know - i was only joking... i thought the two smilies might have been a clue!
The Boards soccer forum went dead yesterday as these guys were in town..
http://sportsfile.com/more-images/1105085/