View Full Version : Weekend Latest (w/e 30 April)

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5

29/04/2011, 12:07 PM
Dundalk V Bray Preview/Match Press Kit: http://www.dundalkfc.com/match-press-kit-dundalk-v-bray-wanderers

29/04/2011, 12:16 PM
http://www.ustream.tv/channel/finn-harps-radio - Harps Radio shall be coming live from Tolka, bad language is a possibility.

gufc2000
29/04/2011, 12:35 PM
Galway United Team News ahead of tonight's televised match with Shamrock Rovers:

http://www.galwayunitedfc.ie/team-news-shamrock-rovers

monsexile
29/04/2011, 12:55 PM
Mervue v Monaghan preview (http://monaghanunited.tv/?p=834)

29/04/2011, 1:12 PM
We're 4/1 on to win tonight.
What you reckon Sam?

monsexile
29/04/2011, 1:25 PM
Mervue are 9-2 at home against us, which has to be worth a punt as we've conceded 2 in every away game so far.

MagicMon
29/04/2011, 1:57 PM
I just hope the players can take free-kicks properly this time...

29/04/2011, 4:08 PM
Rovers (The Rovers) 6/4 to lead at h/t and f/t at Belfield looks good to me.

bullit
29/04/2011, 5:32 PM
Betting

PaddyPowers:
http://www.paddypower.com/football/football-matches/ireland
Boylesports:
http://www.boylesports.com/UK/1/SportsHome?navigationtypes=HOME#navigationtypes=FO OTBALL&bo-navigation=top,23.1,284.1,502.1
Ladbrokes:
http://sports.ladbrokes.com/en-gb/Navigation?dispSortId=1&context=bycountryandleague&byocList=s1901

29/04/2011, 5:52 PM
Mervue are 9-2 at home against us, which has to be worth a punt as we've conceded 2 in every away game so far.

as long as you score 3 i wont mind that as i have you as my first selection for Last Man Standing this week... In Rod I Temporarily Trust.

29/04/2011, 6:40 PM
Derry: Doherty, McCallion, Greacen, S McEleny, Deery (c), P McEleny, McClean, McGlynn, Higgins, Zayed, Lafferty
Subs: Friars, McDaid, McBride, McLaughlin, McBride, Ferry, McCrudden

Bohs: O,Connor, Heary (c), O'Brien, Chaill, Burns, Price, Buckley, Bayly, Flood, Traynor, Brennan
Subs: Burke, Dixon, Joyce, Forrester, Lodola, Feely, Sexton

Jicked
29/04/2011, 7:01 PM
Rovers (The Rovers) 6/4 to lead at h/t and f/t at Belfield looks good to me.

Hope you're enjoying the hoofball Rovers playing some lovely football on RTE.

29/04/2011, 7:43 PM
Buckley sent off for Bohs - straight red directed by the linesman for a tackle on Lafferty. A lot of play acting from Lafferty according to some reports. He picked himself up and scored from the resulting free.

Apparently Fenlon off now too according to Alkin.

29/04/2011, 7:44 PM
Harp's goal disallowed for pushing at a corner.

Game has gone from pox to práisce.

29/04/2011, 8:08 PM
1-0 Shels

29/04/2011, 8:11 PM
1-0 Shels

Indeed :)

Casso, 49min

peadar1987
29/04/2011, 8:13 PM
Hope you're enjoying the hoofball Rovers playing some lovely football on RTE.

Ah but if the hoofball Rovers are playing such nice stuff, imagine how silky total football Rovers are playing!

Jicked
29/04/2011, 8:30 PM
Galway have nothing going forward, but that Walsh (#3) is some player if tonights performance is anything to go by

29/04/2011, 8:31 PM
Harps keeper blessed with a yellow. Milled Hughes ouravit.

29/04/2011, 8:33 PM
i think tonight was the night that everyone realises that only Shams will win the league this season. The rest are not close to good enough to even make it fun despite what the league table might say.

29/04/2011, 8:54 PM
All over at Tolka...

Shelbourne 1-0 Finn Harps
Nyiaow!

29/04/2011, 8:55 PM
Go wan Mervue

harleyleeds
29/04/2011, 9:17 PM
i think tonight was the night that everyone realises that only Shams will win the league this season. The rest are not close to good enough to even make it fun despite what the league table might say.

Sligo rovers have left the building .....eh league. abselou...absolou....complete sh%$e. What a disapointment this year. 5th now seems out of the question. Surely relegation now becomes a worry? Has cook lost the plot? Are they really a division 1 team? Only Derry can challenge now. Will be curious to see how many at next Showgrounds game.

29/04/2011, 9:23 PM
Not even Derry? If they get to mid-season within touching distance I can see them strengthening and having a go. Sligo seem to have lost the ability to win matches.

I was happy with tonight's performance despite the terrible finishing. O'Neill is struggling to score (although he had one that seemed to be incorrectly ruled out) but his all-round play is fantastic. We really lacked that kind of vision and passing ability last season. Will be tough on Sheppard once Twigg comes back because his physicality is a great asset up front. Dennehy's still not playing well though so there's a shout for including him in a wide position.

Terry-Lander
29/04/2011, 9:47 PM
Galway have nothing going forward, but that Walsh (#3) is some player if tonights performance is anything to go by

He was excellent tonight. Never lacks committment. Is improving with each game.

born2bwild
29/04/2011, 10:01 PM
práisce.
What does that mean?

29/04/2011, 10:24 PM
Not even Derry? If they get to mid-season within touching distance I can see them strengthening and having a go. Sligo seem to have lost the ability to win matches..

I fear for Kenny's mental state if they are within touching distance at the business end of the season.

Honestly, no, its not some attempt at mind games or whatever, i really dont see any challengers out there.

29/04/2011, 10:24 PM
He was excellent tonight. Never lacks committment. Is improving with each game.
Is he a young lad? Impeccably timed tackle near the end on (I think) Dennehy where getting his timing a split-second off would have resulted in a penalty.

gufc2000
29/04/2011, 10:26 PM
Is he a young lad? Impeccably timed tackle near the end on (I think) Dennehy where getting his timing a split-second off would have resulted in a penalty.
Only about 20, made his debut last year against ye in July. Can play wide on the left and up front aswell.

29/04/2011, 10:26 PM
Galway has been a recent reliable source of three points and a very nice trip to a very nice city on a very nice day and it does what it says on the tin again. I've heard some teams struggle against them...

29/04/2011, 10:28 PM
Galway has been a recent reliable source of three points and a very nice trip to a very nice city on a very nice day and it does what it says on the tin again.

MONg hanging out with the wino's in Eyre Square yet i wonder? :D

Eminence Grise
29/04/2011, 10:31 PM
What does that mean?

Práisce might be another spelling for praiseach. We'd use it at home in Roscommon (he made pure praiseach of it) to describe somebody messing up, or doing something badly.

Maybe.

29/04/2011, 10:32 PM
Only about 20, made his debut last year against ye in July. Can play wide on the left and up front aswell.
On tonight's performance you should be building the defence around him.

gufc2000
29/04/2011, 10:32 PM
Galway has been a recent reliable source of three points and a very nice trip to a very nice city on a very nice day and it does what it says on the tin again. I've heard some teams struggle against them...
Its been a while since we've beaten ye alrite. The lads battled hard tonight, but up front we are struggling. The long ball is taking the likes of Karl Moore out of the game. We might enjoy a bit more success if we played a bit on the ground, but unfortunately our options are limited right now

29/04/2011, 10:38 PM
MONg hanging out with the wino's in Eyre Square yet i wonder? :D

Why not, lots to celebrate and catch up on with all Galwegians :)

I'd hate to have to face a trip back to Dublin having lost a game or a league lead there. Probably would slightly cloud my judgement of the trip, but no team would do that..would they ;)

PartySaint
29/04/2011, 10:43 PM
We won, Daryl Kavanagh motm, Drogheda suck, Thats about it really

oh and Sake Bray, I had yous in a treble with Derry and UCD :(

29/04/2011, 10:57 PM
What a horrible nite.

hoops1
30/04/2011, 12:14 AM
Nice looking league table and the main man still to come back.

Rocketman
30/04/2011, 12:22 AM
I fear for Kenny's mental state if they are within touching distance at the business end of the season.

Honestly, no, its not some attempt at mind games or whatever, i really dont see any challengers out there.

I like the fact we ( Derry) are being mentioned , when most Derry fans ( me included) just wanted to stay up this year!!! What will be, will be !!!!!!

30/04/2011, 12:59 AM
i think tonight was the night that everyone realises that only Shams will win the league this season.

I think others realised that sometime around March 4th. 20 points from 4 series = 80 points in 6 months time. More than enough.

Btw, I'm still looking around elsewhere on the net to find out which "scum" were against Galway. May take a while.....

30/04/2011, 1:03 AM

Given Frodo can't handle free kicks being given against his team these days surely his mental state is a cause for greater concern?

monkey9
30/04/2011, 1:19 AM
So anyway, Drogheda are getting relegated!!!

30/04/2011, 1:28 AM
We won, Daryl Kavanagh motm,

Kav is a great flippin player, sorely missed.

30/04/2011, 1:33 AM
I think others realised that sometime around March 4th. 20 points from 4 series = 80 points in 6 months time. More than enough.

Definitely.

Btw, I'm still looking around elsewhere on the net to find out which "scum" were against Galway. May take a while.....

You can stop looking, it was Rovers.

30/04/2011, 1:36 AM
Given Frodo can't handle free kicks being given against his team these days surely his mental state is a cause for greater concern?

Quite possibly so Kev but we were talking about Derry's potential challenge.

Dont get me wrong, given that we wont win it id love if Kenny could lead Derry to the league. I just dont see it happening and i dont think he has the mental fortitude anymore. Im not trying to insult youse.

Aaron
30/04/2011, 1:39 AM
Quite possibly so Kev but we were talking about Derry's potential challenge.

Dont get me wrong, given that we wont win it id love if Kenny could lead Derry to the league. I just dont see it happening and i dont think he has the mental fortitude anymore. Im not trying to insult youse.

You could be right but i'd loe us to challenge. We have this tag of being a team who cant go on and finish off a league campaign, the games against both Rovers this year will be vital before any talk of challenging for a title is concerned

30/04/2011, 1:43 AM

We'll not be near the title this year. Centre of defence is dodgy.

Bohs fans worry far too much about SK's mental state. He managed to have the First Division won after half the season last year, throw it all away again and still end up as Champions!

Nice touch playing White Wedding at half time this evening. I asked for Jerusalem or Land of Hope and Glory but he didn't have them....

30/04/2011, 1:47 AM
i would have tried to get a chant of "whats it like to have a duchess of cambridge" going ;)

What did you think of Buckleys red by the way? Lots of different opinions on the mb. Going by the picture, it looks like it could have been a red. McLean was an idiot by all accounts!

30/04/2011, 2:09 AM
To us, she will always be the "Baroness of Carrickfergus"......

I didn't have a great view of the red card as we were doing radio commentary and that pole was in my way. Personally I though Buckley went to tackle McEleney, mistimed it and ended up absolutely clattering Lafferty. Personally, I wasn't convinced it was a red and the other lad commentating with me thought the same.

However, no offence to some of the lads of Gypoweb but the myopia of this "Derry players surrounding the referee like Barcelona" is hilarious. What, did the Bohs defenders and midfielders who rushed to the scene of the incident teleport themselves there or what? Persumably Killer roaring at the lino less than 2 feet from his face was a figment of my imagination?

Derry had already had three players booked at that point(Flood's booking for you lot and McGlynn's for us was a complete joke) and next thing Buckley lunges in, what do fans realistically expect players to do? I'm not condoning it, I'd go with the "only the captain" type rule, but there were plenty of Bohs players involved in the "shamozzle" as well.

The full coke bottle that was launched at the referee and had to be removed from the pitch appears not to merit a mention on your forum as well.......

Your lot took umbrage to McClean as he went down under a challenge from Heary early doors in front of the Bohs "end" of the Jodi. For some reason the Bohs fans took particular upset to this, and he got far more boos than McGlynn or Higgins which was surprising. He scored an absolutely cracking goal at the start of the second half and decided to "do a Lennon" and cup his ear at the Jodi as he celebrated. Would I have done it? No. However, if I had his talent, I wouldn't be sitting on internet message boards analysing his behaviour either. However if a Bohs player had done that in Tallaght I can imagine the threads on your forum lauding him. I always think that if fans give the verbals, they can't start weeping buckets if players give a bit back.

30/04/2011, 2:37 AM
other than Bray last year that was the worst moment I have had as a mons fan. Feck ya mervue ya bogey team feckers.