View Full Version : Weekend Latest (w/e 30 April)

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5

bullit
30/04/2011, 5:20 AM
Oriel Park tonight :Nothing to report,nothing happened ok.

http://bestgamewallpapers.com/files/requiem-bloodymare/flashing-terror.jpg

IT WAS FECKIN 'ORRIBLE IT WAS,WORSE THAN THE WOYAL WEDDIN' !!!

30/04/2011, 10:30 AM
We beat Sligo at home; normal service is at last resumed. :)

Robbie Benson's going to be a good player for us. We can play a bit of ball on a pitch that isn't a tractor field. And if we win on Monday, we're going to be nowhere near the bottom spot.

Sligo offered not a lot really. Not a patch on the team last year. Richie Ryan maybe a bit lucky to stay on the pitch after the ref lost a bit of control late on and a couple of heavy tackles flew in in quick succession (from both sides)

dong
30/04/2011, 10:40 AM
We were poor. Lack of effort and honesty is the most worrying thing.
UCD were well worth the win.

harleyleeds
30/04/2011, 10:58 AM
We were poor. Lack of effort and honesty is the most worrying thing.
UCD were well worth the win.

Its not we were poor its we are poor. Since the game against Derry its all you read here,game after game, we were off tonight. Time to face it lads this Sligo Rovers team are crap without Boco and Ammond.

Cook out.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
30/04/2011, 11:03 AM
That's the thing that is more worrying then anything else. We're not putting any effort in whatsoever. Lads just standing there waiting for the ball to come to them thinking they'll be able to strut their stuff. Win the battle first and then start playing. UCD wanted to win more then we did and completely deserved the 3 points. It's happened against Shams and Bohs as well recently where a team pressed us a lot and we couldn't handle it. Last season we were pressing the opposition the whole time but now we're not doing that.

Poor enough match. Bad goal to concede from a corner. Dean Marshall should have scored a second just before half time. Raf misses an open goal and then UCD go down the pitch and score the second which was well taken. Don't remember the UCD keeper making a save in the whole match

While they were all rubbish Raf in particular was atrocious. Don't know how he lasted so long. Ndo poor again. Thought Russell was probably the pick of our lot and certainly the only one putting any effort in.

Ref was very lenient throughout the whole match. Thought Ryans tackle was a foul and the time but what in the name of God was he at afterwards going over trying to pick the player up off the ground. Don't think he deserved to be sent off all the same.

30/04/2011, 11:32 AM
Thought Ryans tackle was a foul and the time but what in the name of God was he at afterwards going over trying to pick the player up off the ground. Don't think he deserved to be sent off all the same.
Would probably have been a harsh red, but sure you can't go laying hands on players these days. Sami had taken studs to the leg in a late challenge and seemed to be genuinely hurt, and Ryan goes over and tries to pick him up? If nothing else, it was clearly going to provoke the reaction it did (angry UCD players). But as I said, if the ref had given the foul for the tackle, then Ledwith barging into your lad and then another late challenge by a Sligo lad wouldn't have happened; all kind of kicked off from the first tackle (didn't think it was Ryan actually; he just reacted. Could be wrong though). Poor refereeing I thought.

And on the subject of poor refereeing, I couldn't believe that the corner we scored from was initially given as a goal kick. The keeper clearly touched the ball over the bar - not got a touch, but pushed the ball over the bar - and the ref gave a goal kick for a few seconds before being corrected. Incredible decision.

harleyleeds
30/04/2011, 11:35 AM
That's the thing that is more worrying then anything else. We're not putting any effort in whatsoever. Lads just standing there waiting for the ball to come to them thinking they'll be able to strut their stuff. Win the battle first and then start playing. UCD wanted to win more then we did and completely deserved the 3 points. It's happened against Shams and Bohs as well recently where a team pressed us a lot and we couldn't handle it. Last season we were pressing the opposition the whole time but now we're not doing that.

Poor enough match. Bad goal to concede from a corner. Dean Marshall should have scored a second just before half time. Raf misses an open goal and then UCD go down the pitch and score the second which was well taken. Don't remember the UCD keeper making a save in the whole match

While they were all rubbish Raf in particular was atrocious. Don't know how he lasted so long. Ndo poor again. Thought Russell was probably the pick of our lot and certainly the only one putting any effort in.

Ref was very lenient throughout the whole match. Thought Ryans tackle was a foul and the time but what in the name of God was he at afterwards going over trying to pick the player up off the ground. Don't think he deserved to be sent off all the same.

After Monday Sligo rovers will quite possibly be 3 points clear of UCD,4th from bottom I would like to see the reserve team put out and you never know they might win a game. I realise this is an over reaction but this team are a bunch of wasters who need to be sorted. Ndo must be dropped at the very least.

oriel
30/04/2011, 12:05 PM
Shocking by Dundalk last night, 6 first teamers out injured, but that was a dreadful performance all the same, really only one good player on show and that was Gary Dempsey, would loved to have had him. But to be fair Bray totally deserved their point, and had more chances to win the game.

Also, on games like last night, it really makes a mockery of the PA announcement when they inform the crowd of the 'Dundalk man of the match' this unfair unsporting nonsense has been going on for over 15 years now.

Should be interesting to see the crowds other teams get this w/e or later in the year where they are at home twice in 3 or 4 days.

D.24saint
30/04/2011, 12:15 PM
Ndo must be dropped at the very least.

the chickens have finally come home to roost only last year sligo fans wouldnt listen to our experience of the player and were only interested in licking Ndos rear,

30/04/2011, 12:26 PM
What does that mean?

Brutal.

It's on the scale above pox but below gash.

PartySaint
30/04/2011, 3:28 PM
Kav is a great flippin player, sorely missed.

Top class, he must have ran riot in the First Division

hoopy
30/04/2011, 3:37 PM
i think tonight was the night that everyone realises that only Shams will win the league this season. The rest are not close to good enough to even make it fun despite what the league table might say.

Careful now, telling the truth like that will get you accused of being arrogant by fans of a certain other club :eek:

30/04/2011, 3:51 PM
its just mental preparation for myself more than anything hoopy - the more i say it, the easier it will get?

born2bwild
30/04/2011, 4:00 PM
In that case Colly James was pox last night.

WindmillWarrior
30/04/2011, 6:13 PM
So anyway, Drogheda are getting relegated!!!

We're good aren't we!! We've got a playoff no matter what happens anyway. Plan is for Mick to get some of his own players in in the window and try and improve from then on. or just wait for bohs to go bust...

L.T.F.C.
30/04/2011, 8:04 PM
Longford Town 2-0 Salthill
Cowan and Hope.
Cowan is brilliant, someone will come sniffing soon.

30/04/2011, 8:31 PM
Tee hee (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5lQ3e1bXcPs).

Hilarious seeing Bohs fans on their forum getting their knickers in a twist over McClean's celebration. If you can't take it, don't give it out, poor lambs.

Aaron
30/04/2011, 8:54 PM
I cant stop laughing at Gerard Doherty running over at Brennan and laughing at him, then big Greacen starts to laugh as well. Fantastic!!

30/04/2011, 8:58 PM
Tee hee (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5lQ3e1bXcPs).

Hilarious seeing Bohs fans on their forum getting their knickers in a twist over McClean's celebration. If you can't take it, don't give it out, poor lambs.

Is McLean the new Twigg?

Nah Nah Nah Nah
01/05/2011, 1:47 AM
the chickens have finally come home to roost only last year sligo fans wouldnt listen to our experience of the player and were only interested in licking Ndos rear,

Probably because he was brilliant most of last year including man of the match in the cup final. He's not playing well at the moment but then again none of the team are.

Next Mark Quiqley has a few bad games and Pats fans tell Dundalk fans he was never any good either.

bullit
01/05/2011, 7:02 AM
Betting for Mondays games

Boylesports:http://www.boylesports.com/UK/1/SportsHome?navigationtypes=HOME#navigationtypes=FO OTBALL&bo-navigation=top,23.1,284.1,502.1
Paddypower:http://www.paddypower.com/football/football-matches/ireland
Ladbrokes:http://sports.ladbrokes.com/en-gb/Navigation?dispSortId=1&context=bycountryandleague&byocList=s1901

Derry
01/05/2011, 9:05 AM
I doubt if there is a more ungracious manager in the LOI than Fenlon. I also wonder is there anyone on Bohs forum over the age of 15. F, C and B words are bandaged in almost every post.

harleyleeds
01/05/2011, 11:00 AM
Betting for Mondays games

Boylesports:http://www.boylesports.com/UK/1/SportsHome?navigationtypes=HOME#navigationtypes=FO OTBALL&bo-navigation=top,23.1,284.1,502.1
Paddypower:http://www.paddypower.com/football/football-matches/ireland
Ladbrokes:http://sports.ladbrokes.com/en-gb/Navigation?dispSortId=1&context=bycountryandleague&byocList=s1901

How do they work out 2-1 for Derry? I know bookies are experts Im curious what would influence that.

01/05/2011, 11:12 AM
Longford Town 2-0 Salthill
Cowan and Hope.
Cowan is brilliant, someone will come sniffing soon.

Best player we have had in a long time and probably the best cf in the league, the mans an ox

Hurt Locker
01/05/2011, 11:14 AM
On betfair Galway are 10/1 to beat Pats (not saying to back them) but good value in a two horse race.

Jicked
01/05/2011, 11:51 AM
Best player we have had in a long time and probably the best cf in the league, the mans an ox

Delighted to see he's getting on well, was always very popular around the club here at Rovers and I'd like to think he could come back one day and do a job for us. When with us he had a lot of good attributes but was quite possibly the most unrefined finisher I'd ever seen, all that about cows arses and banjos springs to mind. Hopefully he's improved his technique a good bit, he certainly has a great physique to be a good striker.

bluewhitearmy
01/05/2011, 12:53 PM

Definitely not.

01/05/2011, 1:02 PM
Yep, great to see Cowan doing well. Obviously the time spent away from Tallaght riff-raff has done him good.

01/05/2011, 2:21 PM
Definitely not.

I would disagree, he is most definitely right up there. Has pace and tricks on him and can run at a player. His only fault is the end product, doesn't seem to be much in the way of shots in him. More suited to being a winger.

bluewhitearmy
01/05/2011, 2:28 PM
I would disagree, he is most definitely right up there. Has pace and tricks on him and can run at a player. His only fault is the end product, doesn't seem to be much in the way of shots in him. More suited to being a winger.

So he is probably the best cf on the league but has no end product and is more suited to being a winger i see.

His only fault is the end product pity the end product is kinda the whole point of a cf then.

He has had s good start to the season but dont think he can be considered up there with the likes of O'Flynn,Philly Hughes and McHugh let alone better then them.

Edit: Forgot Cummins

Town Legend
01/05/2011, 3:35 PM
Well Cowan hit a screamer into the top corner last night. He'll do for us!

01/05/2011, 3:49 PM
So he is probably the best cf on the league but has no end product and is more suited to being a winger i see.

His only fault is the end product pity the end product is kinda the whole point of a cf then.

He has had s good start to the season but dont think he can be considered up there with the likes of O'Flynn,Philly Hughes and McHugh let alone better then them.

Edit: Forgot Cummins

I worded that wrong I see. He's an absolute class act and ran the show in Finn Park last week. He was lacking the finishing yeah though.

maksimir
01/05/2011, 4:25 PM
Cummins is nicely low publicity in this thread re: FD strikers - suits us fine down here! Tbf from what I've seen of him this season its the other way around with him - he strikes me as a natural finisher but can certainly improve on his hold up/first touch play. Mind you if we're lucky enough to grab a promotion spot he'll statistically have done ok by me. It is still VERY early in the season though folks.

01/05/2011, 4:31 PM
He's an absolute class act and ran the show in Finn Park last week. He was lacking the finishing yeah though.

He sounds like a poor mans Peter Hynes based on the way Peter has been playing this year. :p

01/05/2011, 5:13 PM
He sounds like a poor mans Peter Hynes based on the way Peter has been playing this year. :p

you are welcome to him if thats the case. we were glad to get rid of that rubbish..

L.T.F.C.
01/05/2011, 5:41 PM
I wouldn't say he is lacking in finishing, has everyone forgot the goals he has scored this season? He also has good awareness and able to pass.
He is very strong, very fit, and very fast and not many defenders are able to stop him. He totally did the defender against Waterford with his back to goals and created the space to take a well-placed goal. That is just one of lots of examples this season.
To say he isn't up there with that list bluewhitearmy is simply not true.

01/05/2011, 5:53 PM
you are welcome to him if thats the case. we were glad to get rid of that rubbish..

Arguably our player of the season so far.

Has worked like a dog in every game.

To say he isn't up there with that list bluewhitearmy is simply not true.

Stephen O'Flynn, despite a recent barrenish spell, has still managed 25 goals in his last 32 league games for Limerick, as well as scaring the bejaysus out of most of the defences he comes up against.
Kevin McHugh has what, 150 LoI goals??

Come back to us in a few years. ;)

01/05/2011, 6:03 PM
Dundalk Vs Sham Rovers press kit: http://www.dundalkfc.com/match-press-kit-dundalk-v-shamrock-rovers

01/05/2011, 6:14 PM
the history has little to do with how good a player is right now

L.T.F.C.
01/05/2011, 6:28 PM
Arguably our player of the season so far.

Has worked like a dog in every game.
Stephen O'Flynn, despite a recent barrenish spell, has still managed 25 goals in his last 32 league games for Limerick, as well as scaring the bejaysus out of most of the defences he comes up against.
Kevin McHugh has what, 150 LoI goals??

Come back to us in a few years. ;)

the history has little to do with how good a player is right now
Exactly. McHugh has done nothing outside of Ballybofey. And how many years are you going back for O'Flynn's goals?

01/05/2011, 7:13 PM
And how many years are you going back for O'Flynn's goals?

2 in 4 this year.

9 in 16 in the second half of last season.

14 in 13 the second half of the season before that.

:bulgy:

As for McHugh doing nothing outside of Ballybofey, Cowan has done nothing anywhere at the moment.

Gary Sheehan is another attacker who would be a different species to Don Cowan at the moment (well not at the moment his leg is broke, but you get my drift)

Added to the obvious ones like Graham Cummins, Willie John Kiely, blah blah blah.

Like I said come back to us in a few years ;)

jafrazer
01/05/2011, 7:32 PM
2011.04.29 - Shels v Finn Harps - ShelsTV.com HD Highlights

http://vimeo.com/23107849

01/05/2011, 9:32 PM
Shels crowds. :bulgy:

Top quality highlights as usual tbf.

01/05/2011, 10:17 PM
Cowan is still young 20 or 21 I think and he's improving all the time. When he first came to us on loan last season he actually was very wasteful but he's been a lot better in that respect this season. Cousins would know a thing or two about forward play to be fair and he's definitely improved Cowan. All the better if people under rate him tbh we might have a chance of holding on to him then!

01/05/2011, 10:46 PM
Cowan is still young 20 or 21 I think and he's improving all the time. When he first came to us on loan last season he actually was very wasteful but he's been a lot better in that respect this season. Cousins would know a thing or two about forward play to be fair and he's definitely improved Cowan.

More or less what this mans saying.

Cowan clearly has loads of potential to possibly be a great player, he was the only Longford player we talked about after we played ye earlier in the year but to at this moment put him on the level of an O'Flynn or a Sheehan or a Cummins (who's still only a converted centre half in my book :p) or a McHugh or a Hughes or a John Kiely is nonsense.

John Tierney was easily one of the best attacking players in the First Division last season, now he's playing with Pike Rovers.

In summary, come back to us in a few years. :p

Guinney
01/05/2011, 11:27 PM
Going to hard for us tomorrow with all our injuries. As far as I know 8 out of our 19 first team squad id injured for tomorrow and as good as ruled out. Plus one or two more carrying knocks but available for selection.

02/05/2011, 9:44 AM
Pats down to bare bones tonight. Could have Anto Murphy playing centre half (he played last 15 minutes there on Friday). Dave Mulcahy's been out for 3 weeks but he might be back, so he'll play centre half if fit. Jake Carroll will make his debut at left full

bluewhitearmy
02/05/2011, 12:34 PM
2 in 4 this year.

9 in 16 in the second half of last season.

14 in 13 the second half of the season before that.

:bulgy:

As for McHugh doing nothing outside of Ballybofey, Cowan has done nothing anywhere at the moment.

Gary Sheehan is another attacker who would be a different species to Don Cowan at the moment (well not at the moment his leg is broke, but you get my drift)

Added to the obvious ones like Graham Cummins, Willie John Kiely, blah blah blah.

Like I said come back to us in a few years ;)

Just remembered its actually 3 in 4 this year.

02/05/2011, 12:54 PM
on current form Dons as good as anyone else, thats all I was talking about, past or future has little bearing on that chaps

Fester
02/05/2011, 1:30 PM
Dundalk 0 v 1 Shamrock Rovers Sheppard 17'