View Full Version : Weekend Latest (w/e 30 April)

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5

02/05/2011, 9:14 PM
Good win for Pats tonight. Always on top but behind thanks to couple of errors. First was an OG (clearly) and 2nd a penalty. Gave handball when shot lashed at from 3 yards away

After that we created tons of chances and deserved at least the 5 goals we got. Daryl Kavanagh superb for 3rd game running. Nice league debut for left back Jake Carroll too

oriel
02/05/2011, 9:18 PM
Probably a fair result tonight in Dundalk, actually a stronger Dundalk in the second half could have won it.

dfx, we`ll reserve our (bi) annual beating for you until the Setanta Cup Final.

monkey9
02/05/2011, 10:00 PM
Daryl Kavanagh is a super player!!

02/05/2011, 10:02 PM
am I correct in sayin that Alan Murphy is Galways all time scorer after scoring tonight.. he was very close to passing paul mcgees all time record goalscorer??

Candystripe
02/05/2011, 10:34 PM
Mad game in Sligo!

Both teams didn't play well at all and when Sligo went down to 10 while we were down to 9 Derry actually had more of the ball!

All the decisions were correct in my eyes so best to move on and look forward to three home games V UCD,Drogheda and Bray!

placid casual
02/05/2011, 10:43 PM
Probably a fair result tonight in Dundalk, actually a stronger Dundalk in the second half could have won it.

dfx, we`ll reserve our (bi) annual beating for you until the Setanta Cup Final.

Me hole.

Only farcical officiating by tomney & his cohorts, and that sandpit of a surface which reduces games to student league kick and rush rubbish , prevented the Champions from recording another victory on the road.
I can only asume your fans are saving up for their Big Day Out in Tallaght in a few weeks time as there was sweet FA there today.

PartySaint
02/05/2011, 10:46 PM
Me hole.

Only farcical officiating by tomney & his cohorts, and that sandpit of a surface which reduces games to student league kick and rush rubbish , prevented the Champions from recording another victory on the road.
I can only asume your fans are saving up for their Big Day Out in Tallaght in a few weeks time as there was sweet FA there today.

Do Rovers not play like that every week??

bullit
02/05/2011, 11:01 PM
Me hole.

When Shams dont win-Blame anything bar your ability:rolleyes:
Refs,the pitch,the intimidating home crowd !! Turnstyles with nails in them and the bad stewards are just a few excuses that shams fans have thrown out today.Do you wont to add MichealO'Neills period pains to the list:confused:

02/05/2011, 11:07 PM
We should put "Our Big Day out against the mighty Sham Rovers in the magnificent Tallaght Stadium" on our promotional posters...:D

placid casual
02/05/2011, 11:07 PM
there was no intimidating crowd. its was a sunny bank holiday afternoon kick off in a run down kip of a stadium.

as for the junkie piping up . content yourself with midtable little fellah , and know your place.

bullit
02/05/2011, 11:13 PM
there was no intimidating crowd. its was a sunny bank holiday afternoon kick off in a run down kip of a stadium.

as for the junkie piping up . content yourself with midtable little fellah , and know your place.

K !!!
http://t0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcT8ZUWmmFxFN647saqiv8HPe2dJ28DKj RMDQONaLoJD1W4ILSb0ag&t=1

02/05/2011, 11:16 PM

Have a decent ground for a few years and you think you can call other clubs places a kip. Not long ago Shams didn't even have a ground. Chill out, ye drew and you decide to give out that the ground is a kip and blaming the pitch and ref :rolleyes: .... just get on with it I say.

02/05/2011, 11:19 PM
blaming the pitch

Blamed it so much they decided to burn it..

PartySaint
02/05/2011, 11:32 PM

This guy is awesome, will chat later i'm off to shoot up

Ezeikial
03/05/2011, 12:38 AM

Please accept our sincere apologies if we upset you, or Mr O'Neill or any of your excellent footballers today.

We really appreciate the fact the aristocratics of the Airtricity League allowed our players to share the same pitch today, and remain bowled over by the graciousness and modesty of all attached to the Great and Mighty Rovers.

We promise that we will keep our heads bowed low when we visit the Cathedral of Footballing Excellence in a couple of weeks time.

pauliek
03/05/2011, 12:39 AM
Id love to see Dan Murray trying to pass,run and tackle on Dundalks pitch. Easily the worst professional footballer ive ever seen play LOI football

03/05/2011, 12:41 AM
Mad game in Sligo!

when Sligo went down to 10 while we were down to 9!

Wasn't there, and may just be chancing me arm at this one, but erm.....

...any chance Alan Kelly was there??

poster
03/05/2011, 12:48 AM
Read on the Shams forum their fans weren't happy with Dundalk's bin facilities. :struggle:

03/05/2011, 1:44 AM
Id love to see Dan Murray trying to pass,run and tackle on Dundalks pitch. Easily the worst professional footballer ive ever seen play LOI football
He's won the odd title in his career. Must be the most decorated con artist in the history of Irish football in that case.

bullit
03/05/2011, 5:25 AM
We're good aren't we!! We've got a playoff no matter what happens anyway. Plan is for Mick to get some of his own players in in the window and try and improve from then on. or just wait for bohs to go bust...
Is this to way to build the game up in Drogheda though ?? Living on the bones of others.
If yee have no plan for your future other than"ahh sure we will be grand" and "sure isnt the play off great" then move over and give other,more forward looking sides a chance. Yee are running down the name off Drogheda United for the sake of a few of you that are still involved with the club.

Hurt Locker
03/05/2011, 6:01 AM
Have a decent ground for a few years and you think you can call other clubs places a kip. Not long ago Shams didn't even have a ground. Chill out, ye drew and you decide to give out that the ground is a kip and blaming the pitch and ref :rolleyes: .... just get on with it I say.

3/4 of the ground is a kip, but still dosent stop me paying in. From what i hearing Bohs won't have a ground next year either!

Hibs4Ever
03/05/2011, 6:19 AM
Interesting reading Shams fans having a pop at other clubs about grounds and supporter numbers. Considering they are still homeless, averaged a few hundred supporters when in Tolka, and up til only around 4/5 years ago played in the lower leagues of Irish football it's quite hillarious tbh.

03/05/2011, 8:12 AM
Pfft. I give you - Victor Ekanem. Brutal last night. Three wins on the trot for us, and Derry after shooting themselves in the foot ahead of Friday. :)

03/05/2011, 8:32 AM
Interesting reading Shams fans having a pop at other clubs about grounds and supporter numbers. Considering they are still homeless, averaged a few hundred supporters when in Tolka, and up til only around 4/5 years ago played in the lower leagues of Irish football it's quite hillarious tbh.

Interesting reading, as the post is quite hilarious. :D

Red Army
03/05/2011, 9:01 AM
Can any Derry fans here who was in the Showgrounds tell me which Rovers player the chant "Your Ma's a gypsy, your dads a Jew" was directed at?

03/05/2011, 9:09 AM
Can we not have this descend into the same rubbish as every week? Crap binned.

WoodquayBoy
03/05/2011, 9:16 AM
am I correct in sayin that Alan Murphy is Galways all time scorer after scoring tonight.. he was very close to passing paul mcgees all time record goalscorer??
You're not, but not far off - he is now on 67 league goals, seven behind Ski's record of 74

hoopy
03/05/2011, 11:12 AM
Me hole.

Bar the decision at the end not to give us a peno I wouldn't be letting anything Dundalk did/didn't do bother me if I was you. If Dundalk fans are happy that their manager seems to only be concerned at their results v us compared to other sides and celebrates a draw with us at home like a win then that's their business and not ours I say. Each to their own.

El-Pietro
03/05/2011, 11:31 AM
rovers thought that for a while last year - missed him when he was out injured though - immense against Juventus as well I believe?

Dans a strange guy, took him a while to settle with us and again with rovers, didn't do well on trial with Leeds but once he settles hes one of the best defenders in Ireland, and is dadly from corners.

One of the very best players in the league IMO

El-Pietro
03/05/2011, 11:35 AM
He's won the odd title in his career. Must be the most decorated con artist in the history of Irish football in that case.

LOI runners up 2004
LOI champions 2005
FAI Cup runners up 2005
Setanta Cup runners up 2006
FAI Cup Winner 2007
Setanta Cup winner 2008
LOI Champions 2010
FAI Cup Runners up 2010 - not sure if he was captain for this one, but he was for all the rest

Pat Dolan, Damien Richardson, Alan Mathews, Paul Doolin and Michael O'Neill all had him as captain.

poster
03/05/2011, 12:15 PM
Don't know how Murray has won so much and how he gets away with it.

Biggest donkey in the league.

03/05/2011, 12:40 PM
Can any Derry fans here who was in the Showgrounds tell me which Rovers player the chant "Your Ma's a gypsy, your dads a Jew" was directed at?

Aye, we were all confused by that ourselves? It was just one fella singing it apparently. Bizarre stuff, though no more bizarre than the match itself. Can't ever remember a game like it. Our match against Bohs on Friday was a far more bad tempered game.

alltogethernow
03/05/2011, 12:43 PM
Bar the decision at the end not to give us a peno I wouldn't be letting anything Dundalk did/didn't do bother me if I was you. If Dundalk fans are happy that their manager seems to only be concerned at their results v us compared to other sides and celebrates a draw with us at home like a win then that's their business and not ours I say. Each to their own.

Did you see your fans, players and manager after getting a draw against us?

Swear you won the Champions League....Each to their own though

oriel
03/05/2011, 12:44 PM

Damn right we celebrated as we were without Maher, Bolger, Bennett, Gutherie and Osbourne all are first choices and have been injured for 6 weeks now, and some will be out longer.

These 5 would be a huge gap for most other PD sides to fill, so a point was def a good result.

bluewhitearmy
03/05/2011, 1:00 PM
Winning things doesnt make you a good player .....Brazillian defender Rocque Junior won a Champs League and a World Cup and was easily one of the worst players ive ever seen.

03/05/2011, 1:14 PM
Worse than, say, anyone on the Limerick team?

Red Army
03/05/2011, 1:44 PM
You were only going on about rubbish been posted here pineapple a few posts back then you come up with that gem. Good man.

bluewhitearmy
03/05/2011, 1:45 PM
Worse than, say, anyone on the Limerick team?

Well maybe not Sean Kelly last year.

03/05/2011, 1:49 PM
You were only going on about rubbish been posted here pineapple a few posts back then you come up with that gem. Good man.
It's hardly an attack on the Limerick squad to suggest they're not all better than World Cup winner Rocque Junior.

Red Army
03/05/2011, 1:52 PM
I know but just a pointless post if your going to be giving out about the standard of other posts. That's all.

03/05/2011, 2:25 PM
Don't know how Murray has won so much and how he gets away with it.

Biggest donkey in the league.A man of many talents.
He's in the new Crystal Swing video here. (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5XSkstqN2T0&feature=player_embedded)
1:35 in getting a haymaker from Derek.

03/05/2011, 3:25 PM

Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?

03/05/2011, 3:45 PM
3/4 of the ground is a kip, but still dosent stop me paying in. From what i hearing Bohs won't have a ground next year either!

ah jaysis. There we were keeping nice and quiet on a thread for once and someone has to have a dig!! ;)

Pfft. I give you - Victor Ekanem. Brutal last night.

you just reminded me of Victor Kiam. "I liked it so much, I bought the company". :)

Cuyahoga
03/05/2011, 4:17 PM
What a load of Rubbish!!

Fivesilver
03/05/2011, 5:30 PM
Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?

Thought I warned you about trying to type with your mittens on.

pauliek
03/05/2011, 7:32 PM
LOI runners up 2004
LOI champions 2005
FAI Cup runners up 2005
Setanta Cup runners up 2006
FAI Cup Winner 2007
Setanta Cup winner 2008
LOI Champions 2010
FAI Cup Runners up 2010 - not sure if he was captain for this one, but he was for all the rest

Pat Dolan, Damien Richardson, Alan Mathews, Paul Doolin and Michael O'Neill all had him as captain.
I noticed a few years back that he unable to do anything apart from let a long ball land on his head. He cant run,pass or tackle

03/05/2011, 7:56 PM
I noticed a few years back that he unable to do anything apart from let a long ball land on his head. He cant run,pass or tackle

tailor made for success in our league then!

03/05/2011, 8:14 PM
What a load of Rubbish!!

It's pretty true though in fairness. I recall a fight against relegation in 2004, first division soon after, no home for a long time, small enough support for a long time, and a lovely bunch of Rovers fans in Finn Park a few years ago roaring abuse when they were 4-1 down about how we 'have no history'. Confusing.

El-Pietro
03/05/2011, 10:58 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f2X1mByHe6k
first 30 seconds of that video.

the guy is a quality footballer and anyone who thinks differently hasnt been watching him week in week out. I'm sure the Rovers fans agree, and if not we'll gladly take him back

03/05/2011, 11:05 PM
Dan Murray can only do two things: let long balls land on his head and win professional football trophies.