View Full Version : Trouble outside Stadiums
horton
28/03/2011, 7:29 PM
Put May 7th down in your diary and check this mb for the awful tales of woe from the previous night's away fans.
Grand so, I'll let the Derry team know you seem convinced they won't make it out of Dublin without being attacked. Out of curiosity, have you any photos of the damage caused?
EivissaPaul
28/03/2011, 7:32 PM
Honestly, will you stop going on about Rovers fans are scum! I am fully aware that a few arseholes in Rovers colours cause trouble. Real Rovers fans, and I would imagine all the Rovers fans on here dont want them at the club. As i was entering Tallaght stadium for the Pats game 4 Gardai and 3 stewards were preventing 6 lads from going in, so there is action being taken. I wouldnt call Pats / Dundalk / Bohs fans scum despite having a bad element. But I sure would expect the Shamrock Rovers Board, The local Gardai and/or South Dublin county council to ensure whoever visits Tallaght Stadium that they can come and go from the stadium safely.
Had St Pats had there bus bricked, I wouldn't turn around all smug like some people on here and say they brought that upon themselves because my mother and 2 younger sisters had fireworks thrown at them from the Emmet road leaving a match one night. I would be disappointed that Shamrock Rovers displayed a lack of professionalism and not provided basic safety for decent human beings wanting to support their club (and support ours by paying an admission fee)
All in all, I genuinely like people who support our league and I take great pride in wearing my colours in Spain and have people ask me what team is that or getting a bit of stick from other fans of the league on holiday. What I HATE is this stupid, childish mentality shown on forums, where people cant even make valid points on a topic because god forbid they agreed with a shams fan or a sligo / pats / bohs fan. Too busy slating people or a club than reading whats been said before it.
1) were you safe in the stadium? That is all that DCFC can assure anyone - why are you ignoring this point?? If you went to a gig in the olympia and your car was attacked on Dame Street on the way home would you blame the organisers of the gig or the owners of the Olympia?
2) is there any actual evidence of the attack on the bus or some photos of the damage caused?? All we seem to be going on is internet rumour.
A N Mouse
28/03/2011, 7:59 PM
2) is there any actual evidence of the attack on the bus or some photos of the damage caused?? All we seem to be going on is internet rumour.
I'm sure there are lots of pictures of shams supporters getting stoned.
Just not sure about the evidence of an attack.
PartySaint
28/03/2011, 8:01 PM
[QUOTE=SkStu;1470598
2) is there any actual evidence of the attack on the bus or some photos of the damage caused?? All we seem to be going on is internet rumour.[/QUOTE]
Had 2 mates on one of the buses, They were texting me about it on the way home before it came up on here so I'd say its true, Unless you think they all came up with a plan to go on the internet and text their mates and make up a lie so Rovers fans can look like the victims for once............. well it is a long trip home from Derry
its usually the first question asked and the first thing you have to provide once you make accusations on this forum (we were ordered to provide evidence of the racist chants at Ndo - Bohs fans didnt decide to make it up). I dont not believe it, what may be at doubt is how serious the attack was.
My first point was my main point and actually i think its the only point that really matters.
Ezeikial
28/03/2011, 8:09 PM
How can Rovers not expect this type of reaction when their board do nothing to stop it?? They don't bother banning people, more interested in their €€€€€
if Rovers are scum/ how much security a football club should provide to visiting fans. . .
I know that Dundalk officials were scathing in their private comments about the lack of co-operation from Shamrock Rovers for their visits to Oriel Park last season. There was plenty of posturing from the Rovers chairman after the infamous events in their first visit to Oriel, but little co-operation with advance ticket sales or stewarding.
Attacks on fans inside or outside a stadium are unacceptable, but it is beyond time that the Shamrock Rovers board got serious and genuine about the issues and stopped paying lip service
EivissaPaul
28/03/2011, 11:50 PM
Ezeikia (http://foot.ie/members/13065-Ezeikial)l, so if you are aware of the Rovers board not helping Dundalk in their efforts to provide security then this is exactly what I want to hear.. it is far more helpful than some sligo fan making the same statement for the 100th time that all shamrock rovers fans are scum! I am slightly annoyed if thats true because i am aware of several cases of people being banned from tallaght and away trips too. A very valid point might be for Derry City to turn around and say well we will give you 200 tickets on the condition you provide or pay for 50 steward to seperate your fans or something of that nature. The Rovers board have an obligation too.
and SKSTU, had the people attending the event at the Olympia been attacked on a frequent basis the Gardai would cancel the event after the 4th or 5th time. Or take other action.
shantykelly
29/03/2011, 2:00 AM
Paul, as I gather it there was no issue with the Rovers fans inside the ground. The attacks occurred outside the ground, essentially outside the remit of DCFC. They are still totally unacceptable. However, it is still a bit of a balancing act in Derry at the minute with regards the police, and I've seen their presence in the city centre at closing time start riots. Calls for a police presence outside the ground would unfortunately cause more problems than they would solve at this time. And calls for Derry to be made to play their matches elsewhere? Anyone who has an inkling of our club's history knows that idea is a complete non-runner. Maybe a better idea would be segregated parking for Rovers/opposition support inside the Showgrounds, with the provision of alternative exit routes for buses and cars.
Out of interest, do you know where the attacks occurred? I'm not **** stirring, just would like to know the area, whether it was still the Brandywell area or further afield?
and SKSTU, had the people attending the event at the Olympia been attacked on a frequent basis the Gardai would cancel the event after the 4th or 5th time. Or take other action.
i would hope that they would attempt to police Dame Street better and that cancelling an event would therefore be needless - again the resolution you have proposed to the hypothetical situation doesnt involve the Olympia or gig organisers so i think youre being a bit disingenuous laying the blame at the door of DCFC. The bottom line is that there is very little that DCFC can do to ensure your safety Paul. Maybe you'd just be better off not travelling to Derry if it scares you that much?
alltogethernow
29/03/2011, 9:24 AM
Honestly, will you stop going on about Rovers fans are scum! I am fully aware that a few arseholes in Rovers colours cause trouble. Real Rovers fans, and I would imagine all the Rovers fans on here dont want them at the club. As i was entering Tallaght stadium for the Pats game 4 Gardai and 3 stewards were preventing 6 lads from going in, so there is action being taken. I wouldnt call Pats / Dundalk / Bohs fans scum despite having a bad element. But I sure would expect the Shamrock Rovers Board, The local Gardai and/or South Dublin county council to ensure whoever visits Tallaght Stadium that they can come and go from the stadium safely.
There is nothing being done. How many were barred after Dundalk? None. Your own fans admit that the board don't ban them because they are more interested in money.
sundance kid
29/03/2011, 9:33 AM
there havent been too many incidents in tallaght though has there, hoopy? Not having a go but most of the stupid incidents mentioned here have happened in the stadium? The only thing i can think of is when the cops waded into the Bohs fans on the Luas for no apparent reason... im struggling to think of another major incident which occured outside the ground that was mentioned here...
Maybe thats because Rovers and the local Police have regular meetings about how best to police the event, and ensure peoples safe passage, to and from the ground. Even with the bull$hit that goes with every rovers/bohs game there hasn't been any real incidents, and any that have occured are learned from and not repeated.
I just think that if a club can't/won't do anything to ensure the away Team bus safe entry and exit from their ground, there has to be something fundamentally wrong.
marinobohs
29/03/2011, 9:49 AM
Maybe thats because Rovers and the local Police have regular meetings about how best to police the event, and ensure peoples safe passage, to and from the ground. Even with the bull$hit that goes with every rovers/bohs game there hasn't been any real incidents, and any that have occured are learned from and not repeated.
I just think that if a club can't/won't do anything to ensure the away Team bus safe entry and exit from their ground, there has to be something fundamentally wrong.
Are you even remotely serious SK ? there have been more incidents INCIDE SDCC stadium than anywhere in the entire League (presume I dont need to list them again :rolleyes: ). furhtermore a Director at shams continued serving on the board AFTER conviction for football hooliganism, what message does that send out to the troglydyte element ?
None of this justifies the incidents in Derry or anywhere else but please spare us the "everywhere should be like Tallaght" nonsense because it doesnt stack up.
horton
29/03/2011, 10:44 AM
Sundance Kid, does that mean that if a visiting teams car/bus gets damaged, that SRFC will pay for the damages?
If not, then your agreeing DCFC isn't liable for what happens outside the ground. Take it up with the PSNI/local council instead.
If so, Mr A your lot owe me the price of a wing mirror!
EivissaPaul
29/03/2011, 12:08 PM
SKSTU 'i would hope that they would attempt to police Dame Street better and that cancelling an event would therefore be needless' this is exactly what my point is.. The policing should be better.. ok It seems a completely different scenario in Derry and dealing with the PSNI so i wont continue using that as an example, but if for example pats fans were attacked outside dalymount, I believe Bohs should have enough contact with the Gardai to ensure there is enough police.. I am not laying the blame at the clubs door, but if i was on the board of a club i would want the garda presence sufficient for the fixture taking place and if the gardai failed to do so i would be asking serious questions as to why.. its the same with any big event.. concerts, protests etc.. mass volume of people = sufficient garda presence.
alltogethernow (http://foot.ie/members/10327-alltogethernow) A fella i occasionally speak to, his brother was identified by shamrock rovers after being filmed causing trouble.. am failry sure he ended up in court in dundalk a couple weeks later.. Maybe Shamrock Rovers do need to get the arse in gear and be more proactive..
hoopy
29/03/2011, 12:14 PM
Grand so, I'll let the Derry team know you seem convinced they won't make it out of Dublin without being attacked.
Check your fixture list. The cry babies'll be on here in force as they usually are the next day.
alltogethernow
29/03/2011, 12:28 PM
A fella i occasionally speak to, his brother was identified by shamrock rovers after being filmed causing trouble.. am failry sure he ended up in court in dundalk a couple weeks later.. Maybe Shamrock Rovers do need to get the arse in gear and be more proactive..
He did appear in court but he still isn't banned.
EivissaPaul
29/03/2011, 12:58 PM
possibly not the same fella we are talking about then alltogethernow, this fella was a bit of an animal and has been banned as far as i know! but if Shamrock Rovers have identified people and not banned them themselves, that is disgraceful. I hope its not the case.
superjohnny
29/03/2011, 1:13 PM
I think pineapple stu is going to have to come more active in these threads.
Every thread ends up in the same drivel, Rovers post something then sligo jump in and then bohs jump in. Turns into a serious Nadal Versus Federer
with posts bouncing all over the place.
I say we settle it with a full on 90 minute riot at the next Ireland home game.
alltogethernow
29/03/2011, 1:33 PM
possibly not the same fella we are talking about then alltogethernow, this fella was a bit of an animal and has been banned as far as i know! but if Shamrock Rovers have identified people and not banned them themselves, that is disgraceful. I hope its not the case.
It is the same fella and he isn't banned...Could list off a number of similar cases with Rovers.
HulaHoop
29/03/2011, 4:48 PM
I know that Dundalk officials were scathing in their private comments about the lack of co-operation from Shamrock Rovers for their visits to Oriel Park last season. There was plenty of posturing from the Rovers chairman after the infamous events in their first visit to Oriel, but little co-operation with advance ticket sales or stewarding.
Attacks on fans inside or outside a stadium are unacceptable, but it is beyond time that the Shamrock Rovers board got serious and genuine about the issues and stopped paying lip service
Rovers sold the away tickets from Tallaght stadium for our second match up in Oriel last season saving your club time and money. If that's us showing little cooperation then I'd love to know what other clubs do to cooperate with Dundalk?
HulaHoop
29/03/2011, 4:50 PM
It is the same fella and he isn't banned...Could list off a number of similar cases with Rovers.
The Derry six are still attending matches in Dalymount so sort that out before criticising others.
what a waste of time this thread is, from the very first post.
29/03/2011, 6:14 PM
what a waste of time this thread is, from the very first post.
TV3 are currently compiling a documentary from the thread.
I heard there is an organised riot tonight in Dayler at 7.31pm under the black X.
I think pineapple stu is going to have to come more active in these threads.
Every thread ends up in the same drivel, Rovers post something then sligo jump in and then bohs jump in. Turns into a serious Nadal Versus Federer
with posts bouncing all over the place.
You forgot the bit where every negative comment made about Rovers by a poster gets that posters 'thanks' button clicked by the same people :o
Well, I will say this, on Rovers first visit to Oriel Pk last May, the trouble was caused by no more than 10, 15 max of their fans, I made a point of looking into the away section when it kicked off and the vast majority there didnt want anything to do with it, and never moved.
A lot of clubs have a certain scum element, but its not right tarring the good decent fans of the many clubs who spend good money travelling the country to watch their team, with the minority that want to cause trouble.
marinobohs
30/03/2011, 10:53 AM
The Derry six are still attending matches in Dalymount so sort that out before criticising others.
Much the same as the few banned at SDCC stadium - ban expired I believe. Of course bans at Dalymount should never expire unlike those for fans that invade the pitch or slag off players about deceased realitives
At tallaght the Derry 4 (thought there was only 4 charged) would merit a place on the board :rolleyes:.
sundance kid
30/03/2011, 11:29 AM
Of course bans at Dalymount should never expire unlike those for fans that invade the pitch or slag off players about deceased realitives
I think Tony O'Dowd might say that bohs were doing a lot more slagging players about dead realtives than rovers ever have. How many were ever banned for that after those games?????
marinobohs
30/03/2011, 12:17 PM
I think Tony O'Dowd might say that bohs were doing a lot more slagging players about dead realtives than rovers ever have. How many were ever banned for that after those games?????
Only ever recall one fan making such comments (at Tolka park -same game O'Dowd was booked for giving Bohs fans two fingers) and some of us around him told him to stop which he did. Horrible thing to do, but dont recall Bohs ever claiming he was banned ? shams did claim one person was banned for abusing a then Drogheda player (Simon Webb) despite ban lasting about two weeks.
sundance kid
30/03/2011, 1:09 PM
Only ever recall one fan making such comments (at Tolka park -same game O'Dowd was booked for giving Bohs fans two fingers) and some of us around him told him to stop which he did. Horrible thing to do, but dont recall Bohs ever claiming he was banned ? shams did claim one person was banned for abusing a then Drogheda player (Simon Webb) despite ban lasting about two weeks.
Absolute nonsense, dozens of your lot used to sing "where's your brother gone" at him all the time, and you know it. But it was all justified back then, because he used to wind your fans up.
As a Pats fan who knew Conor O'Dowd quite well, I can tell you dozens of Bohs sang about his death when Tony O'Dowd played against them (as I watched the game as a nuetral I witnessed it myself)
alltogethernow
30/03/2011, 1:40 PM
derry six?
There is a difference between a ban being overturned(Wheter you agree with it or not) and not bother banning people at all.
Don't forget about the abuse Webb got over his wife before you come out with the O'Dowd stuff that has been widely condemned.
sundance kid
30/03/2011, 1:45 PM
You mean the O'Dowd stuff that Marino says didn't happen?
marinobohs
30/03/2011, 2:01 PM
As a Pats fan who knew Conor O'Dowd quite well, I can tell you dozens of Bohs sang about his death when Tony O'Dowd played against them (as I watched the game as a nuetral I witnessed it myself)
Never sought to justify anyone "singing" about it. horrible and wrong whether it was one or dozens despite the provocation O'Dowd consistently indulged in versus Bohs. not smething to be ever sung about at football matches Personally can only recall one person singing it, as I said at the Tolka game (Ballybough end). My point was I dont remember the club saying anyone was banned over it (whether they should have or not) and this is how it differs from the Webb case where shams issued a statement saying an individual was banned (incidentially there was a lot more than one slagging Webb as well)
HulaHoop
30/03/2011, 2:02 PM
Don't forget about the abuse Webb got over his wife before you come out with the O'Dowd stuff that has been widely condemned.
That really was only one person and he got and served a two year ban for it. Nobody was ever banned for the O'Dowd abuse and that happened on more than one occasion by dozens of your fans.
HulaHoop
30/03/2011, 2:05 PM
incidentially there was a lot more than one slagging Webb as well)
Wrong as usual. I was 10 feet behind the person that shouted at Webb. Were you there?
marinobohs
30/03/2011, 2:06 PM
That really was only one person and he got and served a two year ban for it. Nobody was ever banned for the O'Dowd abuse and that happened on more than one occasion by dozens of your fans.
Realy want to get into another "your fans are worse than our fans" debate ? Shams history probobly the only one worse than Bohs so lets leave it there. Not fair on those fans with no hooligans to defend :o and been done to death (no slagging intended) previously.
despite the provocation O'Dowd consistently indulged in versus Bohs.
Why mention this at all if you're not condoning it...
alltogethernow
30/03/2011, 2:16 PM
1 is enough and if he was banned good but a 2 and a half year ban expires, just like the Derry lads. Have already said on here plenty of times about the abuse O'Dowd got about his brother being wrong. I would argue with 'dozens' though.
Anyway, not getting into you did this, we did this rubbish.
marinobohs
30/03/2011, 2:19 PM
Why mention this at all if you're not condoning it...
How many times ? slagging O'Dowd over his brother was wrong. End of. It is a fact that he had a history of winding up Bohs fans and dont see why that should be ignored although never suggested it justified the particular abuse under discussion. Clear enough ? Persoanlly thought he was a complete £$%^%, does not mean i would indulge in the abuse talked about here.
[QUOTE=marinobohs;1471455]How many times ? slagging O'Dowd over his brother was wrong. End of.QUOTE]
Except you continued to offer mitigating factors....
Can't understand fans who dish out abuse and then seem shocked or appauled if players give them abuse
Never sought to justify anyone "singing" about it. horrible and wrong whether it was one or dozens despite the provocation O'Dowd consistently indulged in versus Bohs. not smething to be ever sung about at football matches Personally can only recall one person singing it, as I said at the Tolka game (Ballybough end). My point was I dont remember the club saying anyone was banned over it (whether they should have or not) and this is how it differs from the Webb case where shams issued a statement saying an individual was banned (incidentially there was a lot more than one slagging Webb as well)
it was a lot more than one.
ill say again, its time to close this pointless thread.
We started off being asked if Derry should be held responsible for trouble outside the stadium. We got the answer. The answer, overwhelmingly, was no they shouldnt. We have now descended into a pis$y argument over who sang what inside the stadium. Its going nowhere.
marinobohs
30/03/2011, 3:11 PM
[QUOTE=marinobohs;1471455]How many times ? slagging O'Dowd over his brother was wrong. End of.QUOTE]
Except you continued to offer mitigating factors....
Can't understand fans who dish out abuse and then seem shocked or appauled if players give them abuse
that argument could cut both ways - O'Dowd slagged off Bohs fans, are you saying they are right to slag off him ? Just a question Dodge
Remember George O'callaghan (playing for Dundalk ?) getting and giving dogs abuse/ winding up at Dalymount. Applauded off at the end and he clapped fans. Class. dermot O'Neill making monkey gestures to shams when they slagged him. Even Jayo (in Shels days) running 80 yards to celebrate a goal in front of Bohs fans. Good fun if player has a sense of humour although abusive gestures, badge kissing and spitting at the crowd deserve a booking
30/03/2011, 3:26 PM
ill say again, its time to close this pointless thread.
Yep. Similar comment to the Pat Fenlon thread really. Locked.
http://foot.ie/threads/149248-Trouble-outside-Stadiums
Following on from this. A Pats fan was attacked witha bat/baton last night after the game in Sligo. Nasty looking head injury when we passed him while he was being seen in the ambulance.
Sligo fan confirmed the story on twitter too
forza rovers
10/04/2011, 9:39 AM
ya forget the bit where the pats fan was banging his van?
Sean South
10/04/2011, 9:44 AM
The last thing you should do is start banging a gypos van:silly:
srfc1928
10/04/2011, 9:47 AM
If i was driving along and some guy started hitting my van'
id get out and give him a slap aswell.
Picked the wrong van to hit, what a dope