View Full Version : Weekend Latest 22-24 Oct
Galway certainly Bohs boggy team.
and all the rest of the clubs this season have been ours !
beat bohs 3 times and drew once this season in the league, unreal !
Jicked
22/10/2010, 9:44 PM
Have to say very well done (and a massive, massive thank you) to Galway, an incredible performance from such a young team missing so many players. Such a shame more Galwegians don't go out to watch them, they missed a hell of a game it seems. A few more nights like that and hopefully the crowds pick up somewhat.
gufc2000
22/10/2010, 9:44 PM
Unreal game tonight in Terryland. Great advert for League of Ireland football. We still have to face this play-off, but tonight was a huge boost to confidence and morale. Add in O'Donnell, Sheppard, Foley and Walsh, and we should be well equipped to face Bray.
Hopefully now the pundits on the MNS couch give us some praise. They always seem to find an excuse for the bigger teams when we beat them
sligo23
22/10/2010, 9:46 PM
There won't be a bottle left in Dublin after the last few weeks, and with all the cups down in Sligo its gona be a thirsty time in the capital... ;)
Jicked
22/10/2010, 9:57 PM
Question for Bray fans, what the feck is going to happen at the Carlisle Grounds next week?
I'm flying home for the game, but am starting to worry how all Rovers members/ST would get tickets? Capacity of around 3,000 and Rovers could well bring a couple of thousand, any idea how things are going to work?
(any Bray fans/ST holders able to pick me up tickets will be gratefully accepted/rewarded! ;) )
bullit
22/10/2010, 10:01 PM
There won't be a bottle left in Dublin after the last few weeks, and with all the cups down in Sligo its gona be a thirsty time in the capital... ;)
Dont count your trophies until they"ve.......EERMM.... hatched :D
Hibs4Ever
22/10/2010, 10:02 PM
Shams should be home and dry now. Bray will play there reserve I reckon with the relegation play off a few days later
total hoofball
22/10/2010, 10:06 PM
I'd guess Bray want to carry their form into the playoff by getting a good result against Rovers. It's far from over as the past two rounds have proven very clearly.
I can't see Bray going all guns blazing. First their form as you mentioned is now at 0 wins out the last 5 and their lineup tonight included a number of players like Richie Baker who haven't seen any action in months on end. It will be interesting to see what type of lineup they have out next Friday, if they do play their strongest availble XI they'll be damned if they do and damned if they don't I suppose.
Also big congratulations to Salthill Devon on their first proper win in the First Division outside of Mervue and Wexford Youths illegal Starting XI's, they could still overtake Mervue in their own relegation battle with a win over Longford next week
seand
22/10/2010, 10:09 PM
In fairness Bray have to look after Bray, if that means resting players etc so be it. Some season this!
blue til i die
22/10/2010, 10:09 PM
Still in shock! Tonight is the reason i love this league :eek:
Hibs4Ever
22/10/2010, 10:12 PM
tonight included a number of players like Richie Baker who haven't seen any action in months on end.
Baker was on the bench tonight for Bray
sligo23
22/10/2010, 10:12 PM
I count one already ;) Bohs should be alright, there are plenty of mugs around Dalymount!!
Jicked
22/10/2010, 10:20 PM
The way the last month has worked out for Rovers, I still can't begin to relax!
I count one already ;) Bohs should be alright, there are plenty of mugs around Dalymount!!
http://transitionculture.org/wp-content/uploads/basil-brush.jpg
Dillonman
Theres going to be some night in Monaghan next saturday night, gutted I cant make it, fecking DKIT graduations and Im not even graduating, been there done that. ANyways best o luck to the Mons, cant wait to be gettign revenge on ye next season up here in the big time!
Flexy
22/10/2010, 10:28 PM
Oh I know but that was really helpful tonight. I think we can win tomorrow nite so it makes the final game even more exciting!
great end to the season and next sat nite promises to be something special, but Salthills win tonite means Mervue have still something to play for tomorrow night
Spudulika
22/10/2010, 10:29 PM
2-1 to Sligo tonight, 2 attacks, 2 goals, Ndo pulling the strings and always in the right place, if Sligo keep this team together and add 2 frontline strikers and a good keeper......however, Rogers needs to go down into the Saturday league, he made horrendous calls through the night, especially near the end when he didn't award a nailed down free kick for a hand ball, though I blame the linesman for not insisting on giving it. Well done Sligo fans, you proved again tonight the right way to support your team!
Plus the goal for UCD was a gem, and will go down great on MNS. Great shout from a UCD fan - Give it to Kilduff's ar@e! The only decent contribution he made on the night.
22/10/2010, 10:34 PM
great end to the season and next sat nite promises to be something special, but Salthills win tonite means Mervue have still something to play for tomorrow night
Yikes didn't think of that. Poop.
22/10/2010, 10:36 PM
We gifted Derry 2 goals tonight, 2 super strikes from Matty Crossan, massive crowd in the Brandywell and cracking atmosphere. Phew that was fun and my throat is f**ked.
Over to you Mons.
22/10/2010, 10:42 PM
Thanks Mr A for the updates and the final whistle phone call, much appreciated!
athloneman
22/10/2010, 10:54 PM
this season has more twists and turns than a country road, this is why we love the loi!!!
bullit
22/10/2010, 10:57 PM
Fingal were worth the 3 points tonight in Oriel tonight,Dundalk good in 1st half but without reward.Fingal scored with probaly their only chance of that half but both sides tried to play the ball on the deck although fingal seemed to be content sometmes to hoof it up to the big centre forward. Both sendings off were a joke! Gaynors more than O"briens.Finn finished us off with a well taken 2nd and despite the huffing & puffing from Dundalk in the later stages the result was never realy in question.
I forget who we play next:confused::) another low key game i think???
blue til i die
22/10/2010, 11:01 PM
Possible referee of the year Phil Caschera made us wear our white away jerseys tonight, because our bright blue jerseys clashed with the all black athlone kit :confused:
White Horse
22/10/2010, 11:04 PM
Both sendings off were a joke! Gaynors more than O"briens.
I thought O'Briens was just as bad. No way a red card.
Fingal could have had Williams sent off though. Two fouls each meritting a yellow after he was already booked.
Fourth game in a row that refs have destroyed a game with unnecessary red cards.
Fingal deserved the points as they could finish whereas Dundalk created lots of chances but were incapable of scoring.
22/10/2010, 11:25 PM
2-2 or 3-2 makes little difference except maybe for Waterfords confidence. Just delighted to be goin into the last day with things in our hands. Matthews deserves a lot of praise for the way he has turned things around.
My phone died after the game and just got to charge it now. Well balls to them blas.
It's on next week.
Though I think I echo the sentiments of most of us here, but for all its' faults all that's wrong this has been an incredible season.
22/10/2010, 11:32 PM
Shades of 1995 all over again for us.....
I'm just out of therapy for that one. Going to be a long week!
Rovers may still lose the league thanks to their shocking record at Bray for years and Dundalk "not being interested", but Galway have gone above and beyond what anyone could ask of them. Heroism unrivalled throughout the season.
Good to see Drogs celebrating Bohs equaliser at 0-0 and then joining in the celebrations at 2-0 when they realised Bohs going bust would be good..:party:
I'd say that's one hell of a dull long bus journey back from Galway.. :)
TommyT
23/10/2010, 1:17 AM
Just logged in for the first time in ages to reply to this(largely because of your username)...
YES IT IS, what a great league.
My Great Grandfather was Athlone Town's club secretary when they won the cup in 1924 but since my Grandad moved o Dublin we've always been Rovers' fans, gener\tion after generation deriving entertainment from this looney bin of a competition.
TommyT
23/10/2010, 1:18 AM
Above post was adressed to athloneman...
Lamper.sffc
23/10/2010, 1:19 AM
Fingal were worth the 3 points tonight in Oriel tonight,Dundalk good in 1st half but without reward.Fingal scored with probaly their only chance of that half but both sides tried to play the ball on the deck although fingal seemed to be content sometmes to hoof it up to the big centre forward. Both sendings off were a joke! Gaynors more than O"briens.Finn finished us off with a well taken 2nd and despite the huffing & puffing from Dundalk in the later stages the result was never realy in question.
I forget who we play next:confused::) another low key game i think???
I thought O'Briens was just as bad. No way a red card.
Fingal could have had Williams sent off though. Two fouls each meritting a yellow after he was already booked.
Fourth game in a row that refs have destroyed a game with unnecessary red cards.
Fingal deserved the points as they could finish whereas Dundalk created lots of chances but were incapable of scoring.
First off. What a joke the two sendings off where. We where right where the dundalk sending off was and it was never a red card. Gers was a yellow no doubt but never a red. I gues the ref felt the need to even things up.
As for the game, I felt we where the more professional/clinical team. While dundalk caused us a lot of problems at times they couldnt finish. Our defense for once was great and Clarke in goal did brilliantly.
On a more negative note. Your player Maher pretending that conan tried to headbutt him after the Dundalk red card was a complete disgrace, plus the fact that two scumbags came into the away section squaring up to fingal fans looking for a fight while stewards looked on, was not a good thing
After all that, what a finish we are going to have to the season. I love this league. League title still up for grabs, Europe still up for grabs, Pats and Sligo to play each other on the last day. The first division still wide open. Feels good to be part of the LOI. What football is all about.
bullit
23/10/2010, 2:01 AM
On a more negative note. Your player Maher pretending that conan tried to headbutt him after the Dundalk red card was a complete disgrace, plus the fact that two scumbags came into the away section squaring up to fingal fans looking for a fight while stewards looked on, was not a good thing
TBH i didnt see the incident with Maher properly as it was on the op****ite side off the pitch from where i was standing but it did seem to go on a good while, so i will wait for MNS or our own video to judge that one.
On the scumbag issue: it seems like these DICKS had an issue tonight,nobody has figured out yet who with?(some knacker ran on from the shedside,we know him and he is banned) but these guys will be named and shamed.The stewards involved shouldnt be let near a football ground again and i hope yous got loads of pics of them so that we can i.d these slackers??
23/10/2010, 2:19 AM
They were probably Shamrock Rovers fans still rioting from the other night.
bullit
23/10/2010, 2:22 AM
They were probably Shamrock Rovers fans still rioting from the other night.
Negatory charlie,there wasnt an umbrella in sight and it was pishing rain for most of the night.
Lamper.sffc
23/10/2010, 2:32 AM
TBH i didnt see the incident with Maher properly as it was on the op****ite side off the pitch from where i was standing but it did seem to go on a good while, so i will wait for MNS or our own video to judge that one.
On the scumbag issue: it seems like these DICKS had an issue tonight,nobody has figured out yet who with?(some knacker ran on from the shedside,we know him and he is banned) but these guys will be named and shamed.The stewards involved shouldnt be let near a football ground again and i hope yous got loads of pics of them so that we can i.d these slackers??
Fair play lad. Nice to have a none biased honest opinion. When it comes to the maher incident we where 3 to 4 feet away from it and he pretended conan byrne head butted him (just for a second I might add). Now anybody who knows Conan (ucd fans) would know that conan would never be this kind of player. Its just not in his make up.
As for the DICKS ;) as you so rightly put it. They entered the away section no problem. They had a bottle of beer (Glass) and where squaring up to our fans looking for a fight. They where allowed to do this for a while and nothing was done. Its not like there was a lot of us and they couldnt been seen. Eventually we had them removed but when it was mentioned to the stewards that they sould be banned, they said why?, sure in the end they did nothing. Now Im not one of those fans who like to sling mud at other clubs but that was not exceptable. This is the first time in 3 years since watching fingal iv experienced this type of fan and Iv been to most away grounds this year.
23/10/2010, 2:46 AM
Negatory charlie,there wasnt an umbrella in sight and it was pishing rain for most of the night.
Ah Jaysus, bullit, do you not know anything? Man without umbrella = Shamrock Rovers hooligan in disguise.
23/10/2010, 3:06 AM
I'd be fairly confident in saying that at least 6 first team players will miss our game against Rovers next week. I'd expect a bit of bad press when that happens but we have a much bigger game a few days later and it's not as though the eventual runners up (whoever that may be) will be able to lay blame at our door, seeing as both clubs have had one hand on the trophy in recent weeks.
Here's hoping we can get a good number of fans going to Galway :)
The Lep
23/10/2010, 4:16 AM
Fair play lad. Nice to have a none biased honest opinion. When it comes to the maher incident we where 3 to 4 feet away from it and he pretended conan byrne head butted him (just for a second I might add). Now anybody who knows Conan (ucd fans) would know that conan would never be this kind of player. Its just not in his make up.
As for the DICKS ;) as you so rightly put it. They entered the away section no problem. They had a bottle of beer (Glass) and where squaring up to our fans looking for a fight. They where allowed to do this for a while and nothing was done. Its not like there was a lot of us and they couldnt been seen. Eventually we had them removed but when it was mentioned to the stewards that they sould be banned, they said why?, sure in the end they did nothing. Now Im not one of those fans who like to sling mud at other clubs but that was not exceptable. This is the first time in 3 years since watching fingal iv experienced this type of fan and Iv been to most away grounds this year.
The answer the steward gave me was " Why should they be banned as they havent done anything" I then told him that he was too busy watching the match to notice anything, which he then said that he would throw me out. What was worse was that instead of throwing the 2 lads out, a female steward escorted them back round the far side with their glass bottles in hand.
bullit
23/10/2010, 4:47 AM
Numbers on coats lads,the steward i.d is on the coats. Mail the club with them and any photos.
lads with agendas where in tonight,last home match of the season, and their mates barred etc.. and they will rot now with their buddies.
mail :dlkfc@eircom.net
WoodquayBoy
23/10/2010, 8:25 AM
Classy as ever from Sean Connor
What did he do?? That was some performance from our kids, don't know what it is about Bohs that seems to get them up for a game, pity they didn't show that desire in the last 5 weeks, if they had it would be UCD, and not us, facing Bray on Tuesday week. Bohs the better team, but couldn;t match us for desire or passion, which is a terrible thing for a team chasing the league title.
A word too for Bohs, fair play, ye brought a massive crowd (shamefully for us, more than half of the attendance were Bohs fans) and created a great atmosphere, I can only dream of when my club will have a similar sized passionate support - hell, ye brought more fans last night than we had for our 2 cup games or one of the games with Sligo, which is shocking
Dillonman
23/10/2010, 8:27 AM
First off. What a joke the two sendings off where. We where right where the dundalk sending off was and it was never a red card. Gers was a yellow no doubt but never a red. I gues the ref felt the need to even things up.
As for the game, I felt we where the more professional/clinical team. While dundalk caused us a lot of problems at times they couldnt finish. Our defense for once was great and Clarke in goal did brilliantly.
After all that, what a finish we are going to have to the season. I love this league. League title still up for grabs, Europe still up for grabs, Pats and Sligo to play each other on the last day. The first division still wide open. Feels good to be part of the LOI. What football is all about.
Clarke was dodgey as hell, he flapped at eveything and even his kicking was atrocious. He even went as far as buckling himself off his own man near the end when there was absolutely no danger whatsoever.
Rasputin
23/10/2010, 9:15 AM
What are Bohs at?? Shower of useless mercenarys, no heart or appetite to win the league.
Shams are as good as home and dry now, on the performances last night they deserve to win the League instead of Bohs.
Delighted with the 3 points in UCD, leaving the race for Europe right down to the wire.
But correct me if im wrong but with Shams winning last night and Bohs losing and it looking very likely that Shams will win the league does that not mean we are now as good as in Europe??
As for the First Division looks like its going to be a massive night in Monaghan for the end of the season?
As posters have said before me, what a league, the Barstoolers loss.
Also any word on what Seanie Connor did?
Nah Nah Nah Nah
23/10/2010, 9:24 AM
What are Bohs at?? Shower of useless mercenarys, no heart or appetite to win the league.
Shams are as good as home and dry now, on the performances last night they deserve to win the League instead of Bohs.
Delighted with the 3 points in UCD, leaving the race for Europe right down to the wire.
But correct me if im wrong but with Shams winning last night and Bohs losing and it looking very likely that Shams will win the league does that not mean we are now as good as in Europe??
As for the First Division looks like its going to be a massive night in Monaghan for the end of the season?
As posters have said before me, what a league, the Barstoolers loss.
Also any word on what Seanie Connor did?
The way the league has been going this season I wouldn't be crowning Shams yet. If we get a draw at home to Pats we'll be in Europe no matter what happens elsewhere although hopefully we can win and finish third.
It's been a great season it has to be said. Drogheda v Galway is the only meaningless game on the last day of the season
Good win for us last night. We weren't great it has to be said. Very poor in the first half. UCD should have been 1 up at half time when they went clean through but hit it straight at Kelly. A lot better in the second half. 2 good goals but still hanging on in the end after Kelly (who was dodgy with his kicking all night) kicked a clearance against Kilduff. UCD hit the post just after we got the second and Kelly made another good save from a Kilduff (I think) header. Certainly a come down from the performance of last weekend but a win is a win. Nice crowd up for it.
There was 2 kick outs given to us in the second half and I think the only 2 people in the ground who thought they were kick outs were the ref and the linesman. Baffling. One of them Foran handled the ball and and another one Kelly tipped over the bar. I fully expect any dodgy decisions we got last night or next Friday to be made up for in the cup final.
Jicked
23/10/2010, 9:44 AM
As far as I know the Sean Connor thing was just at full time he walked up understandably beaming to Pat Fenlon to shake hands, it looks like wee Fenlon decided to do some intimidating tough grip handshake thing because neither let go and Connor turned laughing/smiling in surprise that Fenlon hadn't let go, before a Galway coach lightly pushed Fenlon out of the way
Straightstory
23/10/2010, 10:12 AM
Drogheda were the better team last night up until Rovers scored. Rovers are the kind of team who play well when things are going well for them, but look very jittery when they are up against it. Didn't look like champions last night. I wouldn't be too confident for them if they were playing a Bray team who were 'up for it'. However, as someone here has said, the Wanderers will have their minds on the play-offs and won't be fielding a strong side. So congratulations in order to Shams (almost).
23/10/2010, 10:57 AM
What a night in the LOI. We despair at times, but what a league.Despair is the only word to describe being beaten at home by Salthill Devon.
Well deserved as well, our players obviously didn't want to be there, shameful.
23/10/2010, 12:15 PM
If Rovers win the league (which they will), then Sligo are definitely in europe. I hope you bear thta in mind next week. No point in risking players before the cup final ;)
Lamper.sffc
23/10/2010, 12:26 PM
If Rovers win the league (which they will), then Sligo are definitely in europe. I hope you bear thta in mind next week. No point in risking players before the cup final ;)
Nothing guaranteed in this league. Sligo should definitely put out their stongest side to make sure. ;)
WoodquayBoy
23/10/2010, 1:06 PM
As far as I know the Sean Connor thing was just at full time he walked up understandably beaming to Pat Fenlon to shake hands, it looks like wee Fenlon decided to do some intimidating tough grip handshake thing because neither let go and Connor turned laughing/smiling in surprise that Fenlon hadn't let go, before a Galway coach lightly pushed Fenlon out of the way
I might be wrong, and my lip-reading skills may not what they should be, but I think Fenlon said something of the lines of "I'm sick of the sight of ye!" and Connor laughed, was all good natured, and fair play to Fenlon for going around the the United players after the game and shaking their hand. Nothing in it
PartySaint
23/10/2010, 1:29 PM
Going to be a crazy week next week,Bray and Monaghan to have their biggest crowds in years, Hopefully the Saints to bring a big following to Sligo (i think we will) I wont be able to concentrate to much on the game because I will have an eye on my phone checking how Fingal are getting on (Come on UCD, If you win I will let you into my 16 team Premier) and then on Saturday night I think I will make the trip across the Liffey to watch the Shels game, This is what it is all about
**FrOsTy**
23/10/2010, 1:31 PM
Fantastic scences of joy but more so relief in the RSC last night! Athlone almost threw the cat amoung the piegons last night and to be fair to them the tried to play last night which totally suprised everyone including out players! Both goals were early christmas gifts from Sheamus Long who was terrible all night!
It was fantastic to see the heart and passion that a lot of our fans have questioned someof our players on last night in particular Liam Keaney whose desire was immense trying to rise the fans!
With the game delayed for 10 minutes Shels fans would of seen Waterford 1-2 Athlone at thier final whistle so I could only imagine the feelings when they found out thee was 10 minutes left and we won it!
What a showdown next weekend is and if Mervue can do us a favour tonight (More of a reason to with Salthills suprise win v Cork last night) then everything is to play for! Even the very very very very unlikely scenario of winning the league but goal difference would need a jesus like miracle for that to happen!
Gladly take a draw next week and Derry to win the league! We owe Mons a beating and I fancy us home or away in that!!