View Full Version : FAI Junior Cup 2010/11

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 [22] 23 24 25

dochara
26/04/2011, 3:54 PM
Photos of Cup game between Athenry (2) and Pike Rovers (3)
http://eirefoto.com/2011a/11_soccer_pike_home.htm

Damo
26/04/2011, 4:39 PM
The past is history as they say - two very good teams in the final and may the best team will win. For once, let both sides avoid the bull****, biased predictions and let's just look forward to a final befitting the biggest cup competition in Europe.

theballboy
26/04/2011, 5:23 PM
Just want to say no genuine St. Michaels supporters will be coming on here saying comments like that. Same for MJF next weekend. This FAI final is a huge game for both teams and anybody coming on here saying things like above are not proper St. Micks fans or Pike fans. Enough talk was done before MJ semi final and that did neither team no good. virtual paper never refused ink as they say! what a day 22nd May in Cork is going to be for both sets of fans.

Very true two very good clubs and at least the winner will be a munster team the munster junior was played in a sporting manner and im sure the final will be the same well said saintsfan.

nononsense
26/04/2011, 9:27 PM
The bookies in no doubt who the likely winners will be. Paddy Power has Pike at 4/7, St.Michaels at 5/4. Boylesports have Pike at 4/6, St.Michaels at 11/10. That is quite emphatic in Pike Rovers favour.

booster 03
26/04/2011, 11:01 PM
The bookies in no doubt who the likely winners will be. Paddy Power has Pike at 4/7, St.Michaels at 5/4. Boylesports have Pike at 4/6, St.Michaels at 11/10. That is quite emphatic in Pike Rovers favour.

I would say myself the bookies have huge liabilities on Pike already and that is why they are favourites

theballboy
27/04/2011, 5:16 AM
I would say myself the bookies have huge liabilities on Pike already and that is why they are favourites

Yes i agree no way could pike be favourites after the munster junior but i would say alot of money gone on pike.

Damo
27/04/2011, 8:00 AM
Paddy Powers had Saints at 3/1 the day of the MJC semi.

nononsense
27/04/2011, 10:05 AM

Yes, would agree. Pike have been short priced favourites since round one. When it went to the open draw stage last January Pike were 11/8 and St.Michaels were 22/1. Would say little money on St.Michaels. Even when they were 3/1 in game against Pike, (a two horse race), nobody backed St.Michaels. This is St.Michaels fourth time in the final, 1974, 2000, 2002 and 2010, and they were always outsiders. When they won it in 1974 against Tolka Rovers they were given no chance at all.

hoops38
27/04/2011, 11:27 PM
has skyguy19 left the building,on another note last sunday was the proudest day for pike rovers that i have been involved in,cant wait for the final it should be a cracker

theballboy
28/04/2011, 10:21 AM
has skyguy19 left the building,on another note last sunday was the proudest day for pike rovers that i have been involved in,cant wait for the final it should be a cracker

I am sure he will be back when pike lose but the site has had great opinions and a lot of soccer talk so can we keep it constructive.

skyguy19
28/04/2011, 10:41 AM

no Im still around my friend, thanks for the concern, weldone to Pike, a good win for them, the final should be a good one unfortunally wont be able to make so keep me updated please. again thanks for the concern lol

wanderer
28/04/2011, 8:09 PM
pikes midfield will have to play a lot better defensiely to have any chance in the final.Seen them play a lot lately and when they lose the ball it seems like kavanagh the only one helping out the defense.

hoops38
28/04/2011, 9:44 PM
i am sure he will be back when pike lose but the site has had great opinions and a lot of soccer talk so can we keep it constructive.

when pike lose

hoops38
28/04/2011, 9:45 PM
no Im still around my friend, thanks for the concern, weldone to Pike, a good win for them, the final should be a good one unfortunally wont be able to make so keep me updated please. again thanks for the concern lol

No problem,if we lose i hope your as polite with your posts

xpskid
29/04/2011, 7:32 AM
No problem,if we lose i hope your as polite with your posts
If ye win try not to be so arrogant. In fairness though ye have come a long way to get to the final with some tough games - Best of luck.

Tipp Top
30/04/2011, 8:24 PM
Another clean sheet for Saints even without their inspirational leader, its a phenomenal record, its like a league of ireland defence, incredibly well drilled and the rock that this team is built on

blinkx
01/05/2011, 1:24 AM
Another clean sheet for Saints even without their inspirational leader, its a phenomenal record, its like a league of ireland defence, incredibly well drilled and the rock that this team is built on

Wrong Thread...

Did St.Mick's play a 2nd Semi Final for the craic that only you know about and kept a clean sheet or are you trolling for a reply?? And inspirational leader...Bit OTT for Junior football no?? And from All reports, St.Micks poxed that it stayed 1-0...

hooper74
01/05/2011, 8:33 AM
Wrong Thread...

Did St.Mick's play a 2nd Semi Final for the craic that only you know about and kept a clean sheet or are you trolling for a reply?? And inspirational leader...Bit OTT for Junior football no?? And from All reports, St.Micks poxed that it stayed 1-0...

Wont be anybody underestimating Pike especially after Saints poor performance last night but it is a valid point that they concede very few goals but Pike score a lot of goals which could make it very interesting

Balbec77
16/05/2011, 10:54 AM
best of luck to pike sunday

theboywonder8
16/05/2011, 1:40 PM
You couldn't possibly be involved with any of the clubs anyway.You are just trying to stir it up. Cop on.

You'd be very very surprised,ha

xpskid
16/05/2011, 1:47 PM
You'd be very very surprised,ha
I stand corrected.Just checked his posts and I am not surprised that he's involved with/supports Pike.I was right about the stirring part tho

footiefanatic
16/05/2011, 2:01 PM
The final getting ever nearer, anyone have prices for the match. Assume that Pike will be favourites despite the defeat in the Munster Junior. Will Saints be affected by their league defeat to clonmel, or is the FAI No. 1 objective this year. Hopefully another cracking game will be played. As a neutral, don't mind who wins so best of luck to both and may the best team win!!

allab
16/05/2011, 2:10 PM
The final getting ever nearer, anyone have prices for the match. Assume that Pike will be favourites despite the defeat in the Munster Junior. Will Saints be affected by their league defeat to clonmel, or is the FAI No. 1 objective this year. Hopefully another cracking game will be played. As a neutral, don't mind who wins so best of luck to both and may the best team win!!

paddy powers have pike at 4/7 and st micks at 5/4

theboywonder8
16/05/2011, 2:11 PM
Pike are slight favourites,they have been favs from the start,don't think St michaels will ever play as well as they did in the mj,heard pike are bringing a huge crowd on Sunday to support them,

Balbec77
16/05/2011, 2:18 PM
Pike are slight favourites,they have been favs from the start,don't think St michaels will ever play as well as they did in the mj,heard pike are bringing a huge crowd on Sunday to support them,

see you there.

xpskid
16/05/2011, 2:25 PM
Really looking forward to this one,very very difficult one to call. Dare I say it could go all the way to pens.

leather
16/05/2011, 2:44 PM
pike to win by the odd goal 3-2

OneTwo
16/05/2011, 2:50 PM
Walsh and Harnett at photocall ahead of Final.
http://www.sportsfile.com/more-images/1105096/

pearse4t3
16/05/2011, 3:26 PM
Best of luck to both clubs on Sunday, i think it'll be a great final, and let the best team win.

theboywonder8
16/05/2011, 4:10 PM
All the makings of a thriller,good pitch,good stadium and huge crowd,won't be for the faint hearted,

theballboy
16/05/2011, 4:54 PM
It think it will be very close pike rovers defense is a big worry conceded 2 v avondale, 2 v corbally, 2 v carew park.

True Supporter
16/05/2011, 5:09 PM
But scored 11 goals in the 3 games. Attack is the best form of defence.

abbeyvale
16/05/2011, 6:20 PM
But scored 11 goals in the 3 games. Attack is the best form of defence.

Pike really need to score first in this game, because if they go behind (as they have done in their last 2 local games) I really can't see them coming back against a very strong St.Michaels defence........

2-1 Pike

stelling
16/05/2011, 6:52 PM
Has all the makings of a classic,would definitely agree Pike will need the first goal,once Saints fell behind to Town last Wednesday night it gave Town the impetous to go on and win the game,i would expect Pike to adopt similar tactics and get bin the faces of Saints,hopefully the game lives up to the hype and hopefully the cup is in Lowrts Sunday night,best of luck to all involved

theboywonder8
16/05/2011, 7:43 PM
Pike will hardly go to lowrys Sunday night,abbey pike went 2 down in athenry as well,don't think they'll be too bothered if they go a goal behind,if pike do score first they'll take some beating,St michaels keeper remember stopped dobbers in mj,

theballboy
16/05/2011, 8:02 PM
Pike will hardly go to lowrys Sunday night,abbey pike went 2 down in athenry as well,don't think they'll be too bothered if they go a goal behind,if pike do score first they'll take some beating,St michaels keeper remember stopped dobbers in mj,

Athenry are not as good as st michaels, pike can not give st michaels a two goal advantage.

nosebleds
17/05/2011, 1:21 AM
can anyone see pike ORIENT EXPRESS been derailed can,t see it myself.Best of luck to both teams gonna be a cracker.:cool:

magicman
17/05/2011, 1:57 AM
Anybody know if there is somebody recording the game? I heard both clubs were interested in doing it. And since i'm away from home it'd be great to try get a copy of it!

Athenryboy
17/05/2011, 8:38 AM
ballboy, what makes you think theres such a gap between St Micks and Athenry. Athenry have won 4 connacht cups & 4 Premier leagues in the last 5 years and could win their 5th this thursday, Lost the FAI Junior final in 06 with the majority of this side.

I know St micks are a fine outfit too,and have done very well this year.

Anyway best of luck to both sides in the final, and enjoy it , as we know how hard it is to lose one..

theboywonder8
17/05/2011, 8:44 AM
Well said athenry boy,ye are a very good side,didn't ye go to clonmel and knock town out of fai this year,and town have won 6 out of the last 7 tsdl titles,while St micks haven't won 1 since 2003,pike rovers earned their result up in Galway,best of luck on thurs night.

theballboy
17/05/2011, 11:16 AM
St michaels lost just once this year

hooper74
17/05/2011, 11:30 AM
St michaels lost just once this year

They have lost their last 2 league games

passandmove
17/05/2011, 11:35 AM
Best of luck to pike on sunday it would be great to see the fai remain in limerick,Michaels are an excellent team but i think the fact that pike will have colbert and tierney back in the team may just swing it for them.

theboywonder8
17/05/2011, 11:40 AM
And also lost to crumlin,but the big one was town in league,can't be good for them going into a cup final,might be a bit of a confidence blow losing another league title.

republican
17/05/2011, 11:56 AM
its great to see all the lads commenting again in favour of pike, where hav ye all been since that night in jackman park ??? i sense ye were told to stay off this by the hierachy as i havent heard ( orient express ) mentioned in ages. on a serious note i cant seperate the teams on sun it wil probably go all the way to pens, but whoever does win will be deserving winners as both are excellent teams. best of luck to saints and pike. should be a cracker.

juniorballer
17/05/2011, 12:06 PM
I heard a rumour that Pike lost the toss and have to wear a sky blue kit? Sounds weird to me. I know the sponsors provide kit, but surely they would do this in the recommended colours of the clubs?

Innishvilla
17/05/2011, 12:33 PM
I heard a rumour that Pike lost the toss and have to wear a sky blue kit? Sounds weird to me. I know the sponsors provide kit, but surely they would do this in the recommended colours of the clubs?

How do you mean recommended club colours? Is it the specific Pike away kit colours - what are pike's away colours? From local soccer experience most clubs away kit colours vary quite a lot as they are typically a set of gear that's been floating around for quite a while...

leather
17/05/2011, 12:43 PM
pike's usual 2 nd kit this season has been an all white kit...maybe that clash with the green and white....dont know. officials would have the last say i would imagine.

theboywonder8
17/05/2011, 1:51 PM
I don't think the colour of the jerseys will bother either team lads,would be nice to wear your own club colours but if you lose the toss that's the joys of it,by the way when was this toss held and where?.do umbro make the toss or the fai,and were both clubs represented at it?

Tipp Top
17/05/2011, 2:41 PM
anyone know the betting on this? draw half time pike 90 mins is the way to go as well as pike minus 1 (as it will end 2 nil)

Pike minus 1 are you having a laugh,were you not there for the 5-1 hammering,granted its a new game and i think it will be tight but this minus 1 craic is laughable as is Pike keeping a clean sheet