View Full Version : FAI Junior Cup 2010/11
theboywonder8
17/05/2011, 2:48 PM
Were you there,if you were you would agree that pike should have scored a few goals,pike could easily have been a couple of goals to the good at ht,and breen made numurous very good saves in the second half,so St michaels defence is not as invincible as you might think,minus a goal might be a bit ott,but goals can be scored against them.
republican
17/05/2011, 3:14 PM
red and white that is the craziest bet iv ever seen. what your sayin is its gonna be level at half time and pike are gonna score 2 in the 2nd half. just wait till half time to do your bet altogether :)
booster 03
17/05/2011, 4:54 PM
red and white that is the craziest bet iv ever seen. what your sayin is its gonna be level at half time and pike are gonna score 2 in the 2nd half. just wait till half time to do your bet altogether :)
should be a cracker... both teams under savage pressure to win it, but i can just see the weight of expectation hurting pike more... michaels to win for me 2-1
theboywonder8
17/05/2011, 5:01 PM
Pike have a lot of big game players and I don't think pressure will get to them,all the pressure on saints after beating them in mj,in my opinion.if pike click on the day they're only be one winner and the fai will be staying in the treaty city,
Tipp Top
17/05/2011, 5:05 PM
Is Alan Barry out injured for the game?
booster 03
17/05/2011, 5:09 PM
Pike have a lot of big game players and I don't think pressure will get to them,all the pressure on saints after beating them in mj,in my opinion.if pike click on the day they're only be one winner and the fai will be staying in the treaty city,
so have st micks
hooper74
17/05/2011, 5:22 PM
Is Alan Barry out injured for the game?
He was injured with the Limerick Oscar Traynors and hasnt played since,cant see him playing Sunday,massive loss
theboywonder8
17/05/2011, 5:31 PM
Don't know where you're getting those stories from hooper,he played 90 mins plus et on Sunday,and he didn't get injured playing ot,because he wasn't playing,there's someone telling you porkies I'm afraid.booster put you're money on saints if you're that confident,I know I would
wanderer
17/05/2011, 6:22 PM
i was at the game and pike were lucky to get away with 5-1 and if they dont tighten upp there midfield it could happen again. pike are conceding an average of 2 goals per game against sides not nearly as good as st. micks
abbeyvale
17/05/2011, 10:11 PM
Pike will wear blue in the final
theballboy
18/05/2011, 8:31 AM
Pike will wear blue in the final
Black and green strips
mastermind1
18/05/2011, 10:45 AM
Saints 2-1 pike I d say. Should be a great game, one of my mates had Saints at 40/1 for the munster and Fai when they were in the last 32 of both. Nice payout if saints win
Pearoso27
18/05/2011, 11:15 AM
Where exactly is this pressure coming from that your talking about, i dont see any of the teams been under "pressure" to win on Sunday. There is more expectations than anything else.
theboywonder8
18/05/2011, 12:19 PM
A previous post said there's a lot of pressure on both sides to win it,and I just think personally there's more on saints especially after hammering them already and also losing last years final,that's just my opinion,saints have also lost 3 games in the last couple of weeks.
Pearoso27
18/05/2011, 12:56 PM
A previous post said there's a lot of pressure on both sides to win it,and I just think personally there's more on saints especially after hammering them already and also losing last years final,that's just my opinion,saints have also lost 3 games in the last couple of weeks.
PRESSURE IS FOR TYRES!
I don't agree i dont think there is any "pressure" on Saints. Those results you speak of are what you learn from including the 5-1 victory. If the bookies have Pike installed as fav's then that naturally makes Saints the underdogs and we all know that carrying the mantle of fav's is what brings on the "pressure".
abbeyvale
18/05/2011, 1:12 PM
Black and green strips
I obviously heard different from you.............3 different Pike members told me they would wear blue in the final (that was a couple of weeks ago mind you, unless they got it changed).
theboywonder8
18/05/2011, 1:16 PM
Sky blue I believe,
theboywonder8
18/05/2011, 1:19 PM
PRESSURE IS FOR TYRES!
I don't agree i dont think there is any "pressure" on Saints. Those results you speak of are what you learn from including the 5-1 victory. If the bookies have Pike installed as fav's then that naturally makes Saints the underdogs and we all know that carrying the mantle of fav's is what brings on the "pressure".
We'll agree to disagree,
booster 03
18/05/2011, 1:35 PM
Don't know where you're getting those stories from hooper,he played 90 mins plus et on Sunday,and he didn't get injured playing ot,because he wasn't playing,there's someone telling you porkies I'm afraid.booster put you're money on saints if you're that confident,I know I would
not a gambling man bud!!
The very best of luck to Pike on Sunday, would love to see them win it. It's about time another Limerick club won it, alongside Fairview and Cals
The very best of luck to Pike Rovers on Sunday. Every true football fan in Limerick is behind you lads. Bring it home.
nosebleds
19/05/2011, 10:45 PM
best of luck to both teams on sunday,i think we are in for one cracker of a game.
nononsense
19/05/2011, 11:02 PM
In 1947 the then secretary of Pike Rovers wrote to a friend in Tipperary seeking a challenge game. there was no club in Tipperary at the time but the friend gathered a few more friends together and they took up the challenge. The local parish priest gave them a field at the back of the church. They decided to give the team the parish name, St.Michaels. Pike Rovers came out from Limerick and were the first team to play St.Michaels. There is an unconfirmed report that Pike Rovers brought out a set of green and white jerseys for the new club and that is why Pike Rovers and St.Michaels wear the same colours. Just thought I would mention that little bit of history.
Balbec77
20/05/2011, 7:44 AM
best of luck to connie and the lads and all involved with pike rovers.love them or hate them they are representing limerick so lets get behind them.
theboywonder8
20/05/2011, 8:34 AM
They will be well supported down there balbec,heard there isint a bus to be got in limerick,
lfc at heart
20/05/2011, 8:44 AM
best of luck to Pike from Prospect/Priory, we have a bus going to support ye, heard a load of clubs/pubs have buses going , bring back the cup to Limerick were it belongs.
sounds like Pike are going to have great support down there,amazing what a bus with booze will do:)
best of luck pike
champs09
20/05/2011, 2:39 PM
best of look to pike on sunday
Super Rovers
20/05/2011, 3:36 PM
fantastic story nononsense. just goes to show that the hatred between the clubs at the minute wasn't always there and hopefully there will be none after the match this weekend. may the best team win but being a limerick man would like to see it back in limerick
theboywonder8
20/05/2011, 4:43 PM
What hatred would that be super?there didn't seem to be any in the mj semi,
Super Rovers
20/05/2011, 4:48 PM
just over the last couple of years with the fai last year and so on. wasnt at the semi so cant comment on that, but you have to admit the clubs havent been on the friendliest of terms since that incident. not trying to stir anything here just mentioning that it would be nice to see the two clubs back on friendly terms.
theboywonder8
20/05/2011, 5:33 PM
What happened happened,don't think that will be in the back of pikes mind on Sunday,they will only interested in one thing Sunday and that is winning the fai,
nosebleds
20/05/2011, 10:10 PM
Does anyone know where everyone might be meeting before the match for a pint,as some of us may be down earlier than others.:ball:
abbeyvale
20/05/2011, 10:35 PM
Does anyone know where everyone might be meeting before the match for a pint,as some of us may be down earlier than others.:ball:
Best of luck to Pike Rvs on Sunday.........I'll go with Pike 2-1, Alan Barry & Conor Kavanagh (Pen).
Nice boozer just down the road from The Box, Nosebleds. Can't understand people talking about 'hatred' between the clubs. Connie showed the man he is after MJC semi final with what he said in dressing room after the game - he was a class player and he's a class act. There's a definite healthy rivalry but what's wrong with that? Why trudge up old arguments over the ifs and buts of the qtr final last year? This is THE final that any person, worth their salt, involved in junior football wanted to see; to befit the amazing football competition that is the FAI Junior Cup. It's going to be a great day for all concerned and may the best team win.
balls
20/05/2011, 11:00 PM
loads of pubs around turners cross lads. the horseshoe is literally 5 yards from the ground. turners cross tavern and few others then just around the corner
Fairkop
20/05/2011, 11:25 PM
best of luck to both teams,lets hope we have a good game, and hopefully expect the cup to be coming to limerick,go on the hoops.
nosebleds
20/05/2011, 11:30 PM
loads of pubs around turners cross lads. the horseshoe is literally 5 yards from the ground. turners cross tavern and few others then just around the corner
thanks ,see you,s down there.
Sorry, BoyWonder, but this is the finest example of warped logic that I have ever come across in all my puff; bar Brian Lenihan saying 18 months ago that the country had turned the corner to recovery this is without question the most ridiculous statement I have ever read. "Big game" players?, "all pressure on Saints"???? (what happened a few weeks ago in Jackman Park?????) "If Pike click on the day" ???? Jesus, don't overstate the obvious - just say you want Pike to win; it's quicker.
limkdesmond
21/05/2011, 12:58 AM
Best of luck to both sides on Sunday.. Shud be a cracking game and as I'm from limerick but not from the city league,I wish pike the best of luck and hopefully they can bring home the trophy
Respect has to go to other clubs from Limerick League for getting behind Pike on Sunday. Good on ye, lads, fair play, I can't think of many other counties where this would happen. Should be a huge crowd on Sunday - which would be brilliant for junior football.
theboywonder8
21/05/2011, 7:25 AM
Sorry, BoyWonder, but this is the finest example of warped logic that I have ever come across in all my puff; bar Brian Lenihan saying 18 months ago that the country had turned the corner to recovery this is without question the most ridiculous statement I have ever read. "Big game" players?, "all pressure on Saints"???? (what happened a few weeks ago in Jackman Park?????) "If Pike click on the day" ???? Jesus, don't overstate the obvious - just say you want Pike to win; it's quicker.
You get the jist of it anyway don't you,
theboywonder8
21/05/2011, 7:30 AM
Best of luck to Pike Rvs on Sunday.........I'll go with Pike 2-1, Alan Barry & Conor Kavanagh (Pen).
I'll go 2 1 too to pike,Alan Barry and Pa mullins with the winner,
maninthemiddle
21/05/2011, 10:51 AM
should be a healthy local crowd in cork go to this as well lads as there is no big games down here clashing with it so should bring a few in. best of luck to both teams and enjoy the day in the cross. ill be there but ill be neutral.
theballboy
21/05/2011, 5:05 PM
Nice boozer just down the road from The Box, Nosebleds. Can't understand people talking about 'hatred' between the clubs. Connie showed the man he is after MJC semi final with what he said in dressing room after the game - he was a class player and he's a class act. There's a definite healthy rivalry but what's wrong with that? Why trudge up old arguments over the ifs and buts of the qtr final last year? This is THE final that any person, worth their salt, involved in junior football wanted to see; to befit the amazing football competition that is the FAI Junior Cup. It's going to be a great day for all concerned and may the best team win.
Rivalry is good for sport i think two big clubs come head to head, great to see two munster teams getting to the final, connie has been great for us puts a lot of hes time into the club anyone know how long is he with pike.
gameon
21/05/2011, 5:38 PM
the very best of luck pike in the final,hope you win it,from all at redcastle utd.
xpskid
21/05/2011, 10:42 PM
Good luck to both teams tomorrow.The panels are a credit to each club for all the hard work over the last 10 months or so. May the best team win.
footballfanatic
22/05/2011, 5:16 AM
i will second this from the above, i honestly dont car who wins, it has nothin to do with me.
I would like to congraduelate tipp north U12 and my clubman james scott who has done terrific work for them, it may be a great year for tipp soccer, north or south who gives a ****** :) i watched the game yesterday and couldnt belive how good some of them were at u12. The no. 7 i dont know the name but we will see in the premiership in the future, everyone was talkim about him after the game. he was fantastic, some of the stuff you actually you wouldnt see at junior level.