View Full Version : FAI Junior Cup 2010/11
nosebleds
02/03/2011, 1:43 AM
Carrick may have a sticky one this sunday v North End United two unbeaten teams going he ad to head they have the same league record this season as carrick 7 wins 3 draws no losses, Anbody have any insight on how they play???? Will Shane Dempsey be a major loss to them???
At this stage evey game is importent carrick could be the surrprise package,time will tell
Fairkop
02/03/2011, 1:32 PM
expensive journey that orient pike express.
Bobby D
02/03/2011, 2:02 PM
Round 7 FAI Umbro Junior Cup
Clonmel Town v Athenry,
Ballinasloe Town v St. Peters,
Carrick Rvs v New Ross Celtic,
Cavan Town v Galway Hibs,
St. Michaels FC v Wicklow Rvs,
Pike Rovers v Bellurgan Utd,
Carrick Utd v North End Utd,
Sheriff v Ballynanty Rvs or Springfield
Anyone care to predict the 8 teams to progress, heres my 8 teams.
Athenry, St Peters, New Ross Celtic, Cavan town, St Michaels, Pike rovers, Carrick utd and Ballynanty. I could be way off but sure we will just wait and see.
nosebleds
02/03/2011, 3:58 PM
expensive journey that orient pike express.
The only to travel .FREE TRAVEL pass .:ball:
footiefanatic
03/03/2011, 2:07 PM
Round 7 FAI Umbro Junior Cup
Clonmel Town v Athenry,
Ballinasloe Town v St. Peters,
Carrick Rvs v New Ross Celtic,
Cavan Town v Galway Hibs,
St. Michaels FC v Wicklow Rvs,
Pike Rovers v Bellurgan Utd,
Carrick Utd v North End Utd,
Sheriff v Ballynanty Rvs or Springfield
My predictions would be
1.Clonmel Town
2.St.Peters
3.New Ross celtic
4.Galway Hibs
5.St.Michaels
6.Pike
7.Carrick
8.Sheriff
Longshanks
03/03/2011, 3:34 PM
I'll have a stab at:
Athenry
Ballinasloe
Carrick Rvrs
Galway Hibs
St Michaels
Pike
Carrick
Sherriff
AlwaysAHoop
03/03/2011, 4:23 PM
I will go
1 clonmel town 2 vs 0 athenry
2 ballinasloe 1 vs 2 st peters
3 carrick rovers 2 vs 1 new ross celtic
4 cavan town 0 vs 1 galway hibs
5 st micheals 3 vs 0 wicklow rovers
6 pike 2 vs 0 bellurgan
7 carrick utd 2 vs 1 north end
8 sheriff Utd
Ham and Cheesy
03/03/2011, 9:26 PM
Being a bit genorous to St. Michaels there "Alwaysahoop"...3-0 against Wicklow Rovers?? Id say if you asked their captain and gaffer (who were watching us the other night when we spanked Tolka Rovers intermediate team 4-1 away), they wouldnt be so cocky! Id say they`re dreading the rovers coming down and stomping all over them!
I hear they are very cocky going into this match, and the bookies aint giving us a chance, they`re in for a major shock!
abbeyvale
03/03/2011, 11:25 PM
My last 8 would be:
Clonmel Town
St.Peters
Carrick Rvs
Galway Hibs
St.Michaels
Pike Rvs
Carrick Utd
Ballynanty Rvs
I'll stick with original last 8 from 3 weeks ago
Tipp Top
04/03/2011, 8:28 AM
Being a bit genorous to St. Michaels there "Alwaysahoop"...3-0 against Wicklow Rovers?? Id say if you asked their captain and gaffer (who were watching us the other night when we spanked Tolka Rovers intermediate team 4-1 away), they wouldnt be so cocky! Id say they`re dreading the rovers coming down and stomping all over them!
I hear they are very cocky going into this match, and the bookies aint giving us a chance, they`re in for a major shock!
I can guarantee you their captain and the rest of the squad have been around long enough not to underestimate anyone,they will expect a serious battle as always at this stage of the tournament,best of luck to Town and Saints i hope the entire league rallies around both sides Saturday and Sunday and we have 2 teams in the quarter finals after the weekend
Buzzer
04/03/2011, 8:29 AM
Will the Wicklow team playing against St. Michaels be the same as the one that beat Tolka?
Ham and Cheesy
04/03/2011, 10:54 AM
I can guarantee you their captain and the rest of the squad have been around long enough not to underestimate anyone,they will expect a serious battle as always at this stage of the tournament,best of luck to Town and Saints i hope the entire league rallies around both sides Saturday and Sunday and we have 2 teams in the quarter finals after the weekend
Ye I hear their captain is gettin on in years alrite, very slow and is living off playing for the amateur side...We`ll see what he`s made of come sunday
No Buzzer, that was Wicklows 2nd team who beat Tolka the other night...Their 1st team will be down to play yous
Athenryboy
04/03/2011, 10:56 AM
looking forward to a good game tomorrow, by all accounts clonmel are a good side with a nice setup down there. Should be a cracker.
some good sides left in the competition, any latest odds before the weekend lads?
squirmy
04/03/2011, 11:00 AM
MatchHomeDrawAway05 Mar 14:00Clonmel Town v Athenry (http://www.boylesports.com/UK/1/SportsHome#)
4/5 9/4 11/4
06 Mar 14:00Ballinasloe Town v St Pe.. (http://www.boylesports.com/UK/1/SportsHome#)
21/10 11/5 EVS
06 Mar 14:00Carrick Utd v North End .. (http://www.boylesports.com/UK/1/SportsHome#)
3/10 3/1 8/1
06 Mar 14:00Cavan Town v Galway Hibs (http://www.boylesports.com/UK/1/SportsHome#)
19/10 11/5 11/10
06 Mar 14:00Pike Rovers v Bellurgan (http://www.boylesports.com/UK/1/SportsHome#)
1/4 7/2 8/1
06 Mar 15:00St Michaels v Wicklow Ro.. (http://www.boylesports.com/UK/1/SportsHome#)
1/4 7/2 8/1
Longshanks
04/03/2011, 11:11 AM
Athenry, Ballinasloe, Carrick, Hibs , Pike, St Micks accum at almost 50/1......get on!!!
count cambi
04/03/2011, 11:37 AM
the wicklow team that will be playing down in st michaels will be the same as the one that beat tolka away on tuesday night, this is wicklow's 1st team and we are looking forward to a great game with st michaels.
slating james walsh will come back to haunt ya ham and cheesy, pace was never a major part of his game at center half so age dont matter. a yard up stairs is better than ten on the ground. best of luck to ye sunday hope its a cracker and be sure to be on this monday with ur match report win lose or draw, as i wont be at game and would like to hear report.
cufc champions
04/03/2011, 2:20 PM
Athenry, Ballinasloe, Carrick, Hibs , Pike, St Micks accum at almost 50/1......get on!!!
Athenry @11/4 looks tasty esp with whats being reported on the tsdl thread re Ian Barnes it can't be good for the clonmel camp's morale
beezerblackpool
04/03/2011, 2:41 PM
lads athenry 3/1 in paddy powers.are they worth a bet at that?
Inswinger
04/03/2011, 3:59 PM
MatchHomeDrawAway05 Mar 14:00Clonmel Town v Athenry (http://www.boylesports.com/UK/1/SportsHome#)
4/5 9/4 11/4
06 Mar 14:00Ballinasloe Town v St Pe.. (http://www.boylesports.com/UK/1/SportsHome#)
21/10 11/5 EVS
06 Mar 14:00Carrick Utd v North End .. (http://www.boylesports.com/UK/1/SportsHome#)
3/10 3/1 8/1
06 Mar 14:00Cavan Town v Galway Hibs (http://www.boylesports.com/UK/1/SportsHome#)
19/10 11/5 11/10
06 Mar 14:00Pike Rovers v Bellurgan (http://www.boylesports.com/UK/1/SportsHome#)
1/4 7/2 8/1
06 Mar 15:00St Michaels v Wicklow Ro.. (http://www.boylesports.com/UK/1/SportsHome#)
1/4 7/2 8/1
Christ 8/1 on Wicklow are big odds, do nt know if they ll beat them but thats a good bet. But they re better than 8/1.
I ll go for Athenry, St. Peters, Carrick, Cavan, Pike to win in 90 mins and Wicklow after full time.
AlwaysAHoop
04/03/2011, 4:50 PM
Ham and chessy i hope your right but wicklow rovers are the only team i have not seen play in last year or 2.but i have seen micheals play a couple of times a very solid team..which im sure wicklow are to get this far 3 nil is only a guess but best of luck...
Athenryboy
05/03/2011, 3:02 PM
Clonmel Town 0-1 Athenry FC
Benny lawless the scorer in the first half, good game by all accounts. report to follow..
mundener
05/03/2011, 7:31 PM
was watching the athenry vs clonmel not many chances in a tense game athenry looked very comfortable at the back and the only way i could see clonmel scoring was from a set piece. athenry took the lead midway through first half from a mix up from the keeper who let a ball spill out of his hands for the athenry forward to pounce and set it up on a plate for one of the midfielders with a well controlled shot. clonmel started bright in the 2nd half but athenry defended well and were very dangerous on the break and nearly wrapped up the tie when there lively centre forward hit a well struck shot off the inside of the post.... clonmel pushed on for the equaliser with a string of corners... there chance came with 10 mins left when a scramble in the box led to smashed shot against the bar. clonmel pressed hard in the last 10 but the keeper and back four were faultless. congrats to athenry best of luck in the next round.
faces
05/03/2011, 10:25 PM
best of luck to pike tomorrow.
doushe
06/03/2011, 2:25 PM
carrick on the way out lads.getting tore asunder here
KUFCMan
06/03/2011, 3:03 PM
Hearing Pike are 8 nil up v Bellurgan
Hatchet Harry
06/03/2011, 3:13 PM
must be thinkin why we bother one the worst teams to play up in the pike field in many a year
footballfanatic
06/03/2011, 3:15 PM
How did they get that far. they must have been on the beer lastnight in limerick citaaaay.
EAFC_rdfl
06/03/2011, 4:04 PM
st peters beat ballinasloe 1-0
nononsense
06/03/2011, 4:06 PM
St.Michaels Tipperary 4, Wicklow Rovers 0.
nononsense
06/03/2011, 4:16 PM
Heard quarter-final draw made. Will have to be confirmed but heard Athenry v Pike Rovers and St.Michaels v North End Wexford. Didn't hear the other two ties.
True Supporter
06/03/2011, 4:32 PM
Pike 8 Bellurgan 0
Scorers: Harnett (4), Moloney (2), Ryan and Hanrahan
Team
Neville,
Colbert, Mullins, Enright, Cleary,
W O'Donovan, Harnett, Kavanagh, Hanrahan,
Moloney, Tierney.
Subs
O'Grady for Kavanagh
Ryan for O'Donovan
Aherne for Colbert
Not used
E O'Donovan, Stewart(Res GK)
Longshanks
06/03/2011, 5:01 PM
must be thinkin why we bother one the worst teams to play up in the pike field in many a year
worse than Ballygawley?? surely not!!!
Cavan Town 3-2 Galway Hibs aet
KUFCMan
06/03/2011, 5:20 PM
What is your name?
LIVESCORE
Please enter your comments?
FAI JUNIOR CUP RESULTS
PIKE ROVERS 8-0 BELLURGAN
ST MICHAELS 4-0 WICKLOW ROVERS
BALLINASLOE 0-1 ST PETERS
CLONMEL TOWN 0-1 ATHENRY
CARRICK UTD2-3 NORTH END
CAVAN TOWN 3-2 GALWAY HIBS(AET)
carrick going out probably biggest shock, every thing else really went as predicted. great wins for pike rovers and saint michaels
Fairkop
06/03/2011, 7:20 PM
while i believe its pikes FAI to lose given their powerful squad ,a last 16 match finishing 8 nil is a poor reflection on the standard in this years cup.
True Supporter
06/03/2011, 7:26 PM
while i believe its pikes FAI to lose given their powerful squad ,a last 16 match finishing 8 nil is a poor reflection on the standard in this years cup.
A lot of ball to be played yet, to their credit Bellurgan tried but Pike were just unstoppable
True Supporter
06/03/2011, 7:27 PM
worse than Ballygawley?? surely not!!!
That was an away match :)
irisheagle
06/03/2011, 10:01 PM
Carrick beaten by a very average North End outfit. Poor first half saw them 3-0 behind at the interval. They re grouped in the second half scoring twice could and really should have taken the game to extra time. Mac Sherry a huge loss on the day with Sconny Walsh, now in Aussie, also missing badly at number 5. James Walsh was also missing from a defence that was all over the shop in the opening half. North End scored a cracking opening goal, the second a questionable peno, the third while well finished resulted from poor defending. North End defended on a wing and a pray at times in the second half, they had one sent off late on. Carrick scored twice, hit the metal work twice and missed some other good oppertunities. North End always looked dangerious on break aways, a big physical team with pace up front and some good ball players. Can't see them going any further. Some poor refereeing also quite a few heavy challanges going un punished. Carrick should have had a peno in the opening half also. Great excitment but no junior cup winner on show here.
buddygeary23
07/03/2011, 12:14 AM
Who do ye think is probably the vest player so far this year?
nosebleds
07/03/2011, 2:01 AM
[QUOTE=buddygeary23;1461411]Who do ye think is probably the vest player so far thisar?[/QUO to hard to call.
nosebleds
07/03/2011, 2:16 AM
I think myself the PIKE ROVERS oieient exprss is unstoppable time will tell .ITwill be a very good team to stop them.
nosebleds
07/03/2011, 2:27 AM
be en looking at all the clubs of limerick everyone puts inthier 100 presnt ,that speaks mulitudes
cufc champions
07/03/2011, 6:57 AM
Bitterly disapointed after yesterday going down to a gallant North End United in the end we gave ourselves too much to do, 3 nil at half time was not a fair reflection of preceedings, NE had 3 forrays into the carrick half and scored 3 times the 2nd was one of the worst decisions I have seen in Junior football in a long time, Carrick piled on the attack for much of the game as said in an other posts a combination of good defending and pure luck saw NE through, they were out on their feet for the last 15 mins but to no avail we couldn't findf that elusive equalliser. Best of Luck to North End in the quarters but to be honest St Michaels should progress.
st peters beat ballinasloe 1-0
Peters are away in the 1/4 finals to either Ballynanty or Sheriff Utd
Longshanks
07/03/2011, 9:23 AM
Is this the quarter final draw?
Athenry v Pike
St Michaels v North End
Ballynanty/Sherriff v St. Peters
Carrick Rvrs/New Ross v Cavan Town
Pike will have to be on their game up in Athenry, Athenry are a strong side who have won the Connacht Cup 3 of the last 4 seasons.
St Michaels should have too much for North End, but I suppose we all thought Carrick would have too much for them too
Ballynanty/Sherriff is a tough one to call, even tougher when the winners have to play St. Peters
Cant imagine anybody would've predicted that one of Carrick Rovers, New Ross Celtic or Cavan Town would be a FAI semi finalist
best of luck to all teams
gaidin
07/03/2011, 9:27 AM
Is this the quarter final draw?
Athenry v Pike
St Michaels v North End
Ballynanty/Sherriff v St. Peters
Carrick Rvrs/New Ross v Cavan Town
Pike will have to be on their game up in Athenry, Athenry are a strong side who have won the Connacht Cup 3 of the last 4 seasons.
St Michaels should have too much for North End, but I suppose we all thought Carrick would have too much for them too
Ballynanty/Sherriff is a tough one to call, even tougher when the winners have to play St. Peters
Cant imagine anybody would've predicted that one of Carrick Rovers, New Ross Celtic or Cavan Town would be a FAI semi finalist
best of luck to all teams
The winners of ballynanty and Springfield will play Sherriff.
footiefanatic
07/03/2011, 10:29 AM
Some results for pike and St.Michaels. really showing why they are two of the tournament favourites with very impressive wins.
reckon pike will have their work cut out against what looks a very good Athenry side, but as usual looks like Pike could be steamrolling their way to more and more finals this year.
By the sounds of it, St.michaels should also progress, heard North End looked very average in beating a poor Carrick side on the day.Sheriff and New Ross Celtic to complete my semi-final line up.
Damnunited
07/03/2011, 10:40 AM
Well done Pike, great result yesterday.