15/08/2010, 4:53 PM
League Cup Semi Finals
Tuesday 17/08/2010
19:45

Sligo Rovers V Shamrock Rovers
Monaghan United V Dundalk

redobit
15/08/2010, 4:56 PM
This cup may classed as a mickey mouse cup but the last 4 teams left havent won a trophy for a while so would no doubt like to win it. Both games are hard to call i think, with us and Shams in good form and monaghan on the up and Dundalk on the slide lately. Should be an interesting evening.

Rasputin
15/08/2010, 5:19 PM
Id tip Monaghan to beat Dundalk because they are just on a downward spiral and Mons are on the up and seem more competitive.
As for us and Shams, its so hard to call, id say we have the slimmest of advantages since we are at home.
Should be a big crowd out for our semi final, wouldnt be surprised if there was 3000 at it since we got 3000 at the first home game of the season against Shams.

15/08/2010, 5:44 PM
Jaysus don't be tipping us, that kinda talk scares me. Any nuterals making the spin over to cheer us on? I know of 3 drog coming wearing mons colours! :-D

15/08/2010, 6:17 PM
Jaysus don't be tipping us, that kinda talk scares me. Any nuterals making the spin over to cheer us on? I know of 3 drog coming wearing mons colours! :-D

sorry magicme the sligo lads win everytime!!:p easier to drive after work! still the best of luck to ye anyway! it will be nice to get a sligo monaghan final which hopefully I will go to!

15/08/2010, 7:21 PM
I have to be in Dublin on Tuesday evening unfortunately. I was hoping to make it down to Sligo for the game but it's not to be. Hopefully Sligo kick the crap out of Shams anyway.

Ciaran W
15/08/2010, 7:30 PM
Where will the final be held ?

15/08/2010, 7:48 PM
Where will the final be held ?
One of the finalists will be at home.

Ciaran W
15/08/2010, 7:58 PM
More then likely rovers will be at home if there in the final.

15/08/2010, 8:11 PM
That's what Derry said when they played us. It's a coin toss to decide, as far as I know. If, say, Monaghan get to host Rovers, that's just the way of it (unless Monaghan elect to change)

Ciaran W
15/08/2010, 8:14 PM
It doesnt really make a difference to me anyway coz i wont be here for it :( if it was in tallaght it would be a brilliant crowd.

15/08/2010, 8:17 PM
But if it were in Monaghan, it could do more for that club. The crowd isn't always an important factor.

Ciaran W
15/08/2010, 8:25 PM
Ye that is true, sure they had in the rsc last year even though bohs were in it.

Dundalkjames
15/08/2010, 8:31 PM
If monaghan get to the final I doubt the game would be played in Monaghan sure what is the capacity of the ground 500?

15/08/2010, 8:32 PM
More then likely rovers will be at home if there in the final.

It depends on the toss of a coin, there's no 'more than likely' about it.

15/08/2010, 9:12 PM
It doesnt really make a difference to me anyway coz i wont be here for it :( if it was in tallaght it would be a brilliant crowd.

As opposed to the tumbleweed that would be blowing around the ground if it was at Monaghan or Dundalk?

Ciaran W
15/08/2010, 9:26 PM
I know you would get a big crowd out in the other 3 stadiums but the fact that it would be rovers first cup final since moving to tallaght would bring out a huge crowd.

16/08/2010, 8:16 AM
Bring back the two-legged final!!

16/08/2010, 8:40 AM
I know you would get a big crowd out in the other 3 stadiums but the fact that it would be rovers first cup final since moving to tallaght would bring out a huge crowd.
Rather arrogant to expect special treatment cos of that though. It'd be a Cup Final for the other team too, and it'd bring out a big crowd for them as well.

Rasputin
16/08/2010, 9:07 AM
If we got to the final expect 4000-5000.
Also id suspect if Dundalk got through to the final they would also have a bumper crowd.
So can you please pack in the "tallaght is special" nonsense.

16/08/2010, 11:57 AM
Some info for those coming to the Mons game:

1. Parking is available at the Monaghan Retail Park on the right just past the turn off for Gortakeegan, (KFC sign visible from the road) and we would ask all fans to park there if possible and make the short walk across the road to the stadium.

2. The turnstiles will be open at 6.30pm as will the bar and as usual all fans are welcome in the bar. No alcohol is allowed to be consumed outside of the bar.

3. Prices: Adults €10, children under 16 €5. There will be no student or senior citizen rates available. If you are under 16 and look older, you will be requested to produce ID or pay full price.

4. All fans are requested to comply fully with the stewards.

HulaHoop
16/08/2010, 12:08 PM
Must say it's the first time going up to Sligo in quite a while not expecting to get anything from the game. Hopefully I'm wrong but I don't trust our players to be quite as up for it as the Sligo lads will be tomorrow night.

passerrby
16/08/2010, 1:28 PM
If monaghan get to the final I doubt the game would be played in Monaghan sure what is the capacity of the ground 500?

our capcity is 3000 i believe in line with our premier licence

16/08/2010, 2:09 PM
Whats the capacity of that stand?

passerrby
16/08/2010, 2:43 PM
just checked 560

passerrby
16/08/2010, 2:57 PM
has anyone ever seen an fai toss of a coin.

eL Bettor
16/08/2010, 3:14 PM
There is also the chance of the coin landing on it's edge. In which case the final does not get played and the team with the heaviest defeat in the whole competition get awarded the cup.
Or there could be the imaginary coin toss like last year where Bohs knew a bigger crowd would turn up in the RSC so sacrificed home advantage for a bigger gate receipt.

Fivesilver
16/08/2010, 4:32 PM
I don't trust our players to be quite as up for it as the Sligo lads will be tomorrow night.

Naturally - it's our "cup final", isn't it? :p

16/08/2010, 5:12 PM
you would be surprised dundalkjames dont forget its not that long ago since the league cup final was held at wexford youths ground two years ago I believe??

redobit
16/08/2010, 9:24 PM
According to QI there is a slight weighting in favour of heads because there is a tiny imbalance 50.01 - 49.99 that the coin will land where it started from and people are slightly more likely to start from heads.
Taxi for maseanjo!

coins dont have a memory

Dillonman
17/08/2010, 7:55 AM
you would be surprised dundalkjames dont forget its not that long ago since the league cup final was held at wexford youths ground two years ago I believe??

Wexford put in temporary stands to cater for the the Derry contingent.

Enruoblehs
17/08/2010, 8:21 AM
One thing is certain - if Monaghan go into the game with Dundalk with the same mindset as they had going into the Shels game on Friday, there will not be 22 players on the pitch at the end of the game!!

shep
17/08/2010, 12:46 PM
I reckon Dundalk will win 4or5 nil tonight

Darkglasses
17/08/2010, 12:56 PM
Wexford put in temporary stands to cater for the the Derry contingent.

Yeah, 3 extra stands if I remember correctly!

oriel
17/08/2010, 1:00 PM
Also remember if Mons do make it, this will be their first ever senior final.

However, I just have a feeling it will be us v Rovers in Oriel Pk, 2 visits in a row for them within 2 weeks next month.

Which would be nice..............

17/08/2010, 1:07 PM
Can we at least have one thread that doesn't descend into Rovers v Rovers nonsense?

17/08/2010, 1:11 PM

Would take a 1-0! Don't think it will be that easy, they will be well up for this. And remember the "bogey ground" etc

For anyone interested thie game will be on Dundalk FM

17/08/2010, 2:03 PM
Can we at least have one thread that doesn't descend into Rovers v Rovers nonsense?

Is the ref from Dublin? This will most likely determine the answer to your question...

Sligo will be flying out of the traps I'd say, I'd be surprised if it's a full strength Rovers side.

17/08/2010, 2:05 PM
Come on Mons...remember the spirit of late 2006...

17/08/2010, 2:09 PM
has anyone ever seen an fai toss of a coin.
No, but I have faith that they are experienced tossers.

Olander
17/08/2010, 3:26 PM

Highly unlikely. Monaghan are flying high in the 1st Division and Dundalk cant buy a win at the moment.

Im going to put a cheeky bet on Mons to go through!!:)

17/08/2010, 3:47 PM
What's cheeky about it? Are you going to moon the bookie as you place it?

That would be class.

17/08/2010, 3:52 PM
19:45 Sligo Rovers v Shamrock Rovers

6/4 9/4 13/8

20:00 Monaghan United v Dundalk

13/8 9/4 6/4

17/08/2010, 4:08 PM
That would make Dundalk slight favourites

shep
17/08/2010, 5:01 PM
Highly unlikely. Monaghan are flying high in the 1st Division and Dundalk cant buy a win at the moment.

Im going to put a cheeky bet on Mons to go through!!:)

hope u lose your balls!!!

**FrOsTy**
17/08/2010, 5:55 PM
Mons and Shams for me!
5er Double for interest.

17/08/2010, 6:07 PM
My predictions

Shamrock Rovers win 3-1 aet
Monaghan win 3-1

Huges will probably score 1 or 2 for mons with bermo likely to bag the other

17/08/2010, 6:11 PM
Are you sure it's Philly Hughes? Not another mistaken identity?

:clap:

bullit
17/08/2010, 6:14 PM
19:45 Sligo Rovers v Shamrock Rovers

6/4 9/4 13/8

20:00 Monaghan United v Dundalk

13/8 9/4 6/4

Anybody having a bet on Mons should note that Ladbrokes are going 11/5.

Edit: just checked again and they have shortened the odds on Mons to 9/5

17/08/2010, 6:19 PM
I think 11/5 is the draw price