View Full Version : First Division 2010

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9

14/09/2010, 10:24 AM
Mons have: Salthill (A), Waterford (H), Cork (A), Limerick (H), Mervue (A), Derry City (H).

Derry have: Longford (A), Mervue (H), Wexford (A), Shels (H), Salthill (A), Harps (H), Monaghan (A).

Waterford have: Mervue (A), Limerick (H), Mongahan (A), Harps (H), Longford (A), Athlone (H), Shelbourne (A).

Limerick have: Cork (H), Waterford (A), Salthill (A), Wexford (H), Monaghan (A), Shelbourne (H), Athlone (A).

Shelbourne have: Harps (H), Athlone (A), Cork (H), Derry (A), Mervue (H), Limerick (A), Waterford (H).

shep
14/09/2010, 10:37 AM
Mons have: Salthill (A), Waterford (H), Cork (A), Limerick (H), Mervue (A), Derry City (H).

Derry have: Longford (A), Mervue (H), Wexford (A), Shels (H), Salthill (A), Harps (H), Monaghan (A).

Waterford have: Mervue (A), Limerick (H), Mongahan (A), Harps (H), Longford (A), Athlone (H), Shelbourne (A).

Limerick have: Cork (H), Waterford (A), Salthill (A), Wexford (H), Monaghan (A), Shelbourne (H), Athlone (A).

Shelbourne have: Harps (H), Athlone (A), Cork (H), Derry (A), Mervue (H), Limerick (A), Waterford (H).

Derry look to have by far the easiest run in on paper...but there is no way you can write Monaghan off with the run they are on.Very similar to the run Cobh put together in thier promotion year

14/09/2010, 10:46 AM
Derry have the easiest run in so i think they will still go on to win the league. The rest is totally up for grabs. There is going to be a lot of changing between the top 5 or 6 teams over the rest of the season. A little bit of luck is going to be needed by the two teams that get those promotion playoff places.

Cork Run in:
Limerick
Longford Town
Shelbourne
Monaghan Utd
Finn Harps
Salthill Devon
Wexford Youths

With that run in you never know about Cork. They could be there or there abouts waiting for any slip up from the other teams. Especially if they win on Friday.

legendz
14/09/2010, 11:17 AM
Cork need to close the gap on 3rd place down to less than 3 points soon if the are to have any chance. They definitely can't be discounted.
The Premier Division Play-Off should be:
9th Premier vs 4th Div 1
2nd Div 1 vs 3rd Div 1
It worked well the one season it was run like this.

14/09/2010, 11:18 AM
In such a close race there is no such thing as an easy game, especially if you're having a bit of a stumble like Derry are. Nobody would have expected Athlone to get anything at the Brandywell but Derry are in a bad patch and every match becomes difficult. Monaghan could find the same happening to them, for all their exceptional form recent. Derry's run in does look better but Monaghan have the harder teams at home and have the momentum.

Meanwhile you would also have expected Limerick and especially Waterford to win at the weekend yet they slipped up too.

There are a lot of twists left in this race yet, and the teams in the bottom half will have a big say in the outcome. Our seasons may be over, but it's always nice to screw over one of the top teams :)

14/09/2010, 11:28 AM
In such a close race there is no such thing as an easy game, especially if you're having a bit of a stumble like Derry are. Nobody would have expected Athlone to get anything at the Brandywell but Derry are in a bad patch and every match becomes difficult. Monaghan could find the same happening to them, for all their exceptional form recent. Derry's run in does look better but Monaghan have the harder teams at home and have the momentum.

Meanwhile you would also have expected Limerick and especially Waterford to win at the weekend yet they slipped up too.

There are a lot of twists left in this race yet, and the teams in the bottom half will have a big say in the outcome. Our seasons may be over, but it's always nice to screw over one of the top teams :)

Phew! Thank god we are not a top team so.

cestlavie
14/09/2010, 2:12 PM
Com on the Mons

17/09/2010, 10:52 AM
Limerick-Cork City Foras Co-op
Mervue United-Waterford United
Wexford Youths-Salthill Devon
Shelbourne-Finn Harps
Longford Town-Derry City

Another big night tonight. A lot of pressure on Limerick as i expect Shelbourne and Waterford to pick up 3pts. Finn Harps could be sticky for Shes but i expect them to still win. Hopefully Longford can get something from Derry as they have proven to be tough for the top teams but i think Derry will still come through with the three points. Limerick will be missing Rogers and Purcell which are two big blows but have some good players to fill in. Cork will be without Shane Duggan which might level up Limerick missing Purcell and Rogers as Duggan ran the show in Jackman Park when they visited the last time. If Cork can get the three points they are right back in it and will keep the pressure up on the top 4 teams.

17/09/2010, 9:00 PM
It's really getting interesting now.

6 games to go and 9 points between first and 6th.

Monaghan, Derry and Waterford in automatic playoff contention. Monaghan with the momentum, Waterford not far off and Derry in freefall.

Monaghan, Waterford, Derry and Shels (Limerick and ourselves technically still in the mix) in contention for playoff spot. 5 points between the playoff spot and 6th.

Personally I think Waterford, Derry and Monaghan are too far ahead and the 3 of them will take 1st to 3rd, but Shels have good form and all 3 of them, us and Limerick will have a say in who goes up automatically.

We've won 8 of our last 9 so while we have a tough run in we can have a big hand in deciding other teams faiths, with an outside chance of a playoff if Derry somehow continue their staggering freefall. Even they should find it tough to drop 9 points on us in 6 games though.

17/09/2010, 9:03 PM
To be honest after tonight i can only see us slipping more. Probably a sixth place finish.

Monaghan
Derry
Waterford
Shels
Cork
Limerick

17/09/2010, 9:05 PM
To be honest after tonight i can only see us slipping more. Probably a sixth place finish.

Monaghan
Derry
Waterford
Shels
Cork
Limerick

Hard to call at the top but Monaghan have a very tough run in, ye us and waterford one after the other. IF they take 7 of those 9 the league is theres imo.

17/09/2010, 9:10 PM
Hard to call at the top but Monaghan have a very tough run in, ye us and waterford one after the other. IF they take 7 of those 9 the league is theres imo.

Ya your probably right. They have great momentum though so i'd like to see them hold on. I think Derry and Waterford would probably be best suited to win the play offs against the second from bottom premier team. The first division is just getting harder and harder to get out of.

Next season you could be looking at Limerick, Cork, Shels, Waterford/Derry/Monaghan, Galway/Drogheda/Bray in the first division.

17/09/2010, 9:20 PM
Mons stay top on goal difference, you would fancy Derry to go back top again next week with Mervue at home next week and Mons playing Sligo in Cup final next weekend.
Mons would have Salthill only for the cup game so their next game is at home to Waterford, very tough game. Limerick dropping 5 points in the past 2 weeks isn't looking healthy for them.

CSFShels
17/09/2010, 10:20 PM
Personally I think Waterford, Derry and Monaghan are too far ahead
You know there are only 2 points behind us and Waterford yeah? 6 points off the top? Waterford only 4 off the top? Nothing even close to concluded yet.

GalwayRed
17/09/2010, 10:29 PM
We are right back in it now. Couldn't have asked for much better in terms of the last 2 weeks results. Some very tricky ties now though. We need to get out of Athlone with all 3 points.

bullit
17/09/2010, 10:34 PM
Very interesting days ahead in Div 1,tight as a nuns crack;)
Will defnitly head over to Gortakeegan for the Derry game even though i hate that awful,terrible dump of a ground(memories still raw from when it was our "home ground":mad: and also our record there)

17/09/2010, 10:59 PM
Very interesting days ahead in Div 1,tight as a nuns crack;)
Will defnitly head over to Gortakeegan for the Derry game even though i hate that awful,terrible dump of a ground(memories still raw from when it was our "home ground":mad: and also our record there)

Candystripe shirt on? :D

bullit
17/09/2010, 11:08 PM
Candystripe shirt on? :D
;)Absolutly Dunny,just like you right now,ya cheeky fecker:cool:

SwanVsDalton
18/09/2010, 12:53 AM
In our current form I'm can't see us winning many games. Easy run-in or not...

18/09/2010, 6:06 AM
Yeah, fair point. Tbh was looking at us/Limerick in comparison to Waterford rather than ourselves.

Do ye still play Waterford?

trevy
18/09/2010, 8:35 AM
Waterford play Shelbourne away on last game of the season. It'll go right to the wire with Monaghan playing Derry the same day. Limerick seem to be losing form at the wrong time and while Cork are on a great run they still have to make up 5 points on us.

The Lilywhites
18/09/2010, 10:04 AM
Looking at the run-in, it's probably still Derry's to lose. Cork could get third yet.

MONAGHAN UNITED
(A) Salthill Devon
(H) Waterford United
(A) Cork City
(H) Limerick
(A) Mervue United
(H) Derry City

DERRY CITY
(H) Mervue United
(A) Wexford Youths
(H) Shelbourne
(A) Salthill Devon
(H) Finn Harps
(A) Monaghan United

WATERFORD UNITED
(H) Limerick
(A) Monaghan United
(H) Finn Harps
(A) Longford Town
(H) Athlone Town
(A) Shelbourne

SHELBOURNE
(A) Athlone Town
(H) Cork City
(A) Derry City
(H) Mervue United
(A) Limerick
(H) Waterford United

LIMERICK
(A) Waterford United
(A) Salthill Devon
(H) Wexford Youths
(A) Monaghan United
(H) Shelbourne
(A) Athlone Town

CORK CITY
(H) Longford Town
(A) Shelbourne
(H) Monaghan United
(A) Finn Harps
(H) Salthill Devon
(A) Wexford Youths

18/09/2010, 10:11 AM
Win all our games and we'l get third imo, but that's highly unlikely. while we're in excellend for (won 8 out of the last 9) we still have the little problem of the inability to get enough points off the teams above us, with the exception of Limerick.

We've to play Shels away and Monaghan at home and would have to win both to have any chance.

Great to still have something to play for though.

Fixtures wise its definitely Derry's to lose, but they can't seem to buy a win atm.

The Lilywhites
18/09/2010, 10:14 AM
Whatever the outcome, Stephen Kenny can expect to get sacked even if he does win it now.

shep
18/09/2010, 10:35 AM
Whatever the outcome, Stephen Kenny can expect to get sacked even if he does win it now.

Unless Gerry Matthews is Derrys new owner,there is no chance Kenny will be sacked if Derry win the league

18/09/2010, 10:45 AM
I think he's safe once they get promoted. If they're in division 1 next year, he should be hung drawn and quartered never mind sacked.

Aaron
18/09/2010, 10:52 AM

Why's that?

18/09/2010, 11:21 AM
Waterford play Shelbourne away on last game of the season. It'll go right to the wire with Monaghan playing Derry the same day. Limerick seem to be losing form at the wrong time and while Cork are on a great run they still have to make up 5 points on us.

Yeah pretty much how i see it. Reckon it will go to the last game where Mons will beat Derry to take top spot via a penalty in the last few minutes (maybe!!!)
Also think Cork city might sneak the third spot and beat Derry in the playoffs

http://foot.ie/threads/131872-IST-Division-Outright-Prices
Interesting to see only myself and Pinapple Stu really talked about Mons at the start of the season, but alas i didnt take the 16/1!

The Lilywhites
18/09/2010, 12:05 PM
Why's that?

Is that not the norm for throwing away a lead?

SwanVsDalton
18/09/2010, 2:11 PM
His team selection at the moment is a bit eye-brow raising. And apparently we were dire last night, totally shorn of confidence. But I think out excellent start masked the fact that this is by and large a very young and inexperienced side with some very obvious flaws. I really didn't expect us to do as well as we have.

18/09/2010, 2:59 PM
His team selection at the moment is a bit eye-brow raising. And apparently we were dire last night, totally shorn of confidence. But I think out excellent start masked the fact that this is by and large a very young and inexperienced side with some very obvious flaws. I really didn't expect us to do as well as we have.

Ye would have to be excellent against us a few weeks ago though wouldn't ye.

18/09/2010, 5:48 PM
. I really didn't expect us to do as well as we have.

Why not?

With the biggest budget in the Division (by a long long way) and with the experienced Premier Division players ye have in the ranks it was always Derrys League to lose from day one, only Waterford had a squad that could even come close to Derry's.

Monaghan are by no means easy on the eye but they are a tough side to play against and even at 22 stone, Philly Hughes is banging in the goals for them for fun. I reckon they will go up this season.

SwanVsDalton
18/09/2010, 7:40 PM
Why not?

With the biggest budget in the Division (by a long long way) and with the experienced Premier Division players ye have in the ranks it was always Derrys League to lose from day one, only Waterford had a squad that could even come close to Derry's.

Budget's irrelevant unless we went out and signed a ton of proven players. Parkhouse, Sweeney, Scoltock, Friars et al have done well in the Irish League but, even if it is the First Division, they haven't been consistently effective. Meanwhile we retained five or six 'experienced Premier League players' which made the team competitive, but one of them (Deery) hasn't been fit all season and another (Farren) has come off the back of cancer recovery. No surprise they are the two experienced performers who could help provide the cutting edge we've sorely lacked in recent weeks...

On top of that we've had to blend together a pile of unproven young players, with little senior experience at any level. Decent players sure, but I can't see how anyone in their right mind would've backed Derry to cart the league off at a canter. Even if we did threaten to do so for a couple of months....

The league was always going to be tight. It would be nice, though, if we started punching our weight, as opposed to above or below it.

20/09/2010, 6:22 PM
Just looking at the results for the equivalent games in the first series. Derry won all six, while Monaghan dropped 4 points. Obviously that includes their first meeting at Gortakeegan. Waterford dropped seven points in the same matches.

Obviously the dynamics have changed completely since, but interesting anyway I think.

20/09/2010, 7:44 PM
On the other hand, the scary statistic for Derry is that in the last seven games Monaghan have taken 18 points while Derry have only taken a mere 6.

Candystripe
22/09/2010, 1:36 PM
Just looking at the results for the equivalent games in the first series. Derry won all six, while Monaghan dropped 4 points. Obviously that includes their first meeting at Gortakeegan. Waterford dropped seven points in the same matches.

Obviously the dynamics have changed completely since, but interesting anyway I think.

Going by those stats that would leave us 2 points ahead going into the final game away to the Mons...............OMG where have I seen that scenario before!

shep
22/09/2010, 1:43 PM
Going by those stats that would leave us 2 points ahead going into the final game away to the Mons...............OMG where have I seen that scenario before!

you referring to Cork or Athlone years ago to hand us title???

Flexy
23/09/2010, 11:37 AM
you referring to Cork or Athlone years ago to hand us title???
Thanks for the reminder worst footballing moment every that day in Athlone. Conceding a goal after 26 seconds then Coylers wonder goal, and Stuart Gauld missing his first peno ever with 5 minutes remaining bus home was like a water bus with tears flowing

prince20
23/09/2010, 12:38 PM
Thanks for the reminder worst footballing moment every that day in Athlone. Conceding a goal after 26 seconds then Coylers wonder goal, and Stuart Gauld missing his first peno ever with 5 minutes remaining bus home was like a water bus with tears flowing

Two words why ye didnt win the title that year.

Felix Healy

Battery Rover
23/09/2010, 1:58 PM
Two words why ye didnt win the title that year. Felix Healy

And may they always remember there's only one Shane Curran.

dortie
23/09/2010, 8:03 PM

Its a total balls up, there is no one to blame but the manager when your results go tits up like ours have. I really dont get this fluffy mentality amongst Derry fans. I really didnt expect us to do so well.....? Molloy, Deery and Doherty didnt stay for 200 a week, Kenny got a decent budget for the first division. Our attendance is also double that of most other clubs (which will drop dramatically if we dont go up this year). So literally 'King Kenny' will leave us bust again if we dont go straight up this season.

dortie
23/09/2010, 8:06 PM
On the other hand, the scary statistic for Derry is that in the last seven games Monaghan have taken 18 points while Derry have only taken a mere 6.

And Kenny is still blamless amongst a good % of our support. Blinkered. A win tomorrow night is his lifeline as far as im concerned.

SwanVsDalton
23/09/2010, 9:51 PM
Its a total balls up, there is no one to blame but the manager when your results go tits up like ours have. I really dont get this fluffy mentality amongst Derry fans. I really didnt expect us to do so well.....? Molloy, Deery and Doherty didnt stay for 200 a week, Kenny got a decent budget for the first division. Our attendance is also double that of most other clubs (which will drop dramatically if we dont go up this year). So literally 'King Kenny' will leave us bust again if we dont go straight up this season.

Who could he have got with this brilliant budget? Doesn't matter if Kenny was driving a dumptruck full of transfer cash, we bought local and we bought unproven. You really thought we were going to go straight up with Parky, Scoltock, Friars, Sweeney and a bunch of young lads with no experience or pedigree? Come off it....and what fans have you been talking to? Kenny has shipped loads of stick, except it's been generally been measured with the view we've been playing above ourselves.

Talk about blinkered. I really can't believe anyone thought we'd just saunter through the first division.

bullit
24/09/2010, 12:34 AM
Goal diffrence might be all that seperates the top two come season end and theres not a titter of diffrence in that either!!:confused:

24/09/2010, 1:36 AM
Goal diffrence might be all that seperates the top two come season end and theres not a titter of diffrence in that either!!:confused:

Quit that talk would ya, its making me nervous.

dortie
24/09/2010, 8:56 AM
Who could he have got with this brilliant budget? Doesn't matter if Kenny was driving a dumptruck full of transfer cash, we bought local and we bought unproven. You really thought we were going to go straight up with Parky, Scoltock, Friars, Sweeney and a bunch of young lads with no experience or pedigree? Come off it....and what fans have you been talking to? Kenny has shipped loads of stick, except it's been generally been measured with the view we've been playing above ourselves.

Talk about blinkered. I really can't believe anyone thought we'd just saunter through the first division.

You only mention the players we brought in this season and fail to recognise theres quite a few in our squad who Kenny believed was capable of winning the Premier league last season (most likely still on twice the average wage in Derry).
I talk to alot of fans, and if you think beating Salthill and Mervue is playing above ourselves then i dont know what games your watching week in week out ?

Flexy
24/09/2010, 9:22 AM
You only mention the players we brought in this season and fail to recognise theres quite a few in our squad who Kenny believed was capable of winning the Premier league last season (most likely still on twice the average wage in Derry).
I talk to alot of fans, and if you think beating Salthill and Mervue is playing above ourselves then i dont know what games your watching week in week out ?
Guys we are a young team and have been playing really well. The break for the World Cup affected the Club. We have had some of our best players injured ie Deery, Harkin, and Molloy, Farrens just come back from Illness. This season will stand alot of our younger players better for next yr, how many of our younger players would have gotten a game if we were in the Premier. They will become stronger and better players. Some of our fans think we have a right to win every match and are too blinded. I went to watch Liverpool Northampton town with my son wed nite and I can tell you id rather watch Derry anyday of the week than watching that rubbish. So get behind the team guys

KevB76
24/09/2010, 12:23 PM
I still fancy ourselves (Limerick) to make the play-offs. We've to play Waterford and Shels, so its mostly in our own hands. We've Monaghan as well, but so have Waterford and Shels ...and Cork. Tonights fixture is the most important for us, and our chances of the play offs will really be decided here.

**FrOsTy**
24/09/2010, 12:30 PM
Just took this from our forum! Not typing the same thing again

Just looked at the league table and am ****ting myself for tonight game! A loss leaves a shels win to go level with us and puts Limerick within a point! A draw still leaves us in a tight spot with mons next week! Where as a win leaves us 1 point behind mons with that game next week and 4 behind Derry who reLly should mop up against mervue! If ever there was a season defining game this is it! For the first time this year we've started to be creative in midfield and not just engines! We have a good balance of passing and tackling with Rub and the bombing on off JK along with some goals! if we can play to that level and not make any stupid mistakes in the back ala Shammy Long v Mervue then I'd fancy us to notch up a decent win! Were 5/2 -1 with Paddy Power a decent bet me thinks

24/09/2010, 1:15 PM
Good post, sums up what every fan of every club in the top 6 is feeling, even though our chances are far more remote.

The fun of being a football fan, not really giving up even though you know how unrealistic it is.

Huge night altogether, bring it on.