View Full Version : First Division 2010
Pages :
[
8]
hedderman
12/10/2010, 9:44 AM
In fairness to Kenny, ye looked beaten before the kick off let alone when ye were 1 down. Ye're players just didnt turn up at all and couldn't handle the pressure of the 8k fans and crazy atmosphere.
Home advantage in that game won that for us.
That said Monaghan is a different story, ther'll probably be more Derry fans than Mons and if they get behind the team it could feel like a home game.
It'l be interesting either way!
That's true. If we can keep our first 11 fit for the next couple of weeks I'd fancy our chances in the run in. Barry Molloy appears to have found his form of 2005 and 2006 so that can only be good news for us.
legendz
12/10/2010, 9:57 AM
Are Derry and Cork the only clubs most likely to bring big support with them to the Premier?
12/10/2010, 10:09 AM
Are Derry and Cork the only clubs most likely to bring big support with them to the Premier?
Hard to know. If Limerick by some miracle got promoted then there is a good chance all the bandwagoners would be out and we would get pretty big crowds. Same could be said for Shels. Not sure about Waterford or Monaghan.
legendz
12/10/2010, 11:00 AM
Limerick badly need a new home, I hope something can still get worked out for the markets field.
Candystripe
14/10/2010, 1:05 PM
That's true. If we can keep our first 11 fit for the next couple of weeks I'd fancy our chances in the run in. Barry Molloy appears to have found his form of 2005 and 2006 so that can only be good news for us.
Hopefully we can keep the same team that played against Shels on Sat fit, we had 8 players in that team under 21 so hopefully if we do go up we can keep them.
It's still looking like going down to the last game,Derry fans are already worried more about getting hold of a ticket for this as I predict well over 2,000 of us will be travelling down for it.
legendz
17/10/2010, 10:45 PM
As Waterford are the only Munster side left in the hunt for promotion I wish them well. Shel's are ominously by there shoulder waiting for any slip, I hope they can keep it together. It was a good weekend for Derry and promotion plus the title should be there's. Despite the good season they have, I could only see Monaghan gaining promotion by winning the Division. I think either Waterford or Shel's will beat them to earn a showdown with Galway.
18/10/2010, 2:12 AM
Hopefully!
18/10/2010, 9:35 AM
Big weekend ahead, Derry could all but win the league with Victory over us in the Randywell.
Mons you would think will beat Mervue with ease so if we were to even get a draw it will set up a massive game in Monaghan and probably the biggest crowd the ground will ever see.
If Waterford beat Athlone and Shels fail to beat Limerick then the play-off places will sorted.
Also, rumours on muckerchat that Setanta want to show the northwest derby game and want to move it to the Saturday. Any truth in this?
**FrOsTy**
18/10/2010, 10:21 AM
Please god let Limerick take something from shels! Last minute goal anyone? :P
passerrby
18/10/2010, 11:06 AM
sam please ive never asked a favour before please please ill have your offspring
18/10/2010, 11:18 AM
We played well in Monaghan. If all the wide-open goal chances had been taken instead of missed, we'd have won 2-1.
According to my hasty check of extratime.ie, when scoring the first goal, Limerick have only failed to win twice. We really are a side that needs to believe in ourselves to play well. Early goals conceded to both Cork and Waterford destroyed our confidence, but when we matched Monaghan for the (poor enough) first half, we gained the confidence to improve in the second half.
As long as we don't concede early, I'm confident we can get something from the Shels game.
**FrOsTy**
18/10/2010, 11:20 AM
And I shall be very grateful if ye do so :)
18/10/2010, 12:31 PM
sam please ive never asked a favour before please please ill have your offspring
Jeesh, I'll settle for a pint
18/10/2010, 12:38 PM
Jeesh, I'll settle for a pint
Most enthusiastic sperm donor in history.
passerrby
18/10/2010, 12:48 PM
what do you think i am a sperm whale
scoops85
18/10/2010, 1:09 PM
Also, rumours on muckerchat that Setanta want to show the northwest derby game and want to move it to the Saturday. Any truth in this?
AFAIK FAI need 14 days notice for fixture changes so setanta are too late on the ball
yeese be bringing many up for the game at the weekend?
18/10/2010, 1:15 PM
Lightening couldn't strike twice?
I love the rivalry and all but I really do hope that this is the last game against lims til at last 2012.
bluemovie
18/10/2010, 1:36 PM
Is Colin Scanlon available?
18/10/2010, 2:08 PM
Most enthusiastic sperm donor in history.
That's a question for my wife to answer and but give it a half hour or so as she is away picking up one of the kids from school :)
18/10/2010, 2:11 PM
AFAIK FAI need 14 days notice for fixture changes so setanta are too late on the ball
yeese be bringing many up for the game at the weekend?
Aye, heard there is no fixture change.
I would doubt if there will be much more than a couple of hundred up, if even that. Section A will not exactly be rocking im afraid but we'll make an effort.
bluemovie
18/10/2010, 2:56 PM
Big weekend ahead, Derry could all but win the league with Victory over us in the Randywell.
Mons you would think will beat Mervue with ease so if we were to even get a draw it will set up a massive game in Monaghan and probably the biggest crowd the ground will ever see.
If Waterford beat Athlone and Shels fail to beat Limerick then the play-off places will sorted.
Derry should win out at this stage, but it could still be really tasty on the last night. If Derry narrowly beat Harps and Monaghan put a good few past Mervue, it could end up with Mons needing to beat Derry by 2 (maybe 3) to win the division. You'd still expect Derry to finish first, but if Monaghan went a goal up it'd be game on.
As for us, we'll be cheering for Limerick this week and Derry next. If we win our two (we hadn't beaten Shels away in 12 years until we won in May), a Derry win in Monaghan would see us finish second. Home advantage would be massive - can't see us winning in Gortakeagan. I'd fancy Limerick to do us a favour on Friday. Otherwise, we'll be in the precarious position of going to Tolka needing a draw or a win.
A nation squeaks it's bums.
passerrby
18/10/2010, 4:06 PM
if limerick play the way they played againist us they will be hard to beat... very tough team
TenaciousDee
18/10/2010, 6:21 PM
if limerick play the way they played againist us they will be hard to beat... very tough team
I'll will be honest with you, as a Derry man, I felt are biggest challenge for the season would come from Waterford and Limerick as Waterford possessed a very impressive team and Limerick in the second fixture of the season outplayed City and were unfortunate to lose. Very well organised team that made three great signings in July with Bobby Ryan, Stevo and Dave "You played wonderful tonight" Rogers.
I'd hate to be in the playoffs as there are great teams in the first division vying for the spot and the idea of going to Galway or Bray (again) in the middle of the week doesn't exactly inspire excitment.
18/10/2010, 9:48 PM
With it being the last game of the season at home i would think Scully and the lads would like to finish with a result. Shels will find it tough but I've a feeling they will come away with the three points. Our record at home against the top teams is awful.
18/10/2010, 10:48 PM
A nation squeaks it's bums.
If only George had said that in Italy...
Fermoy Blue
19/10/2010, 7:52 AM
Gerraway...Ya honestly think Pat Scully is gonna dump on Shels!
19/10/2010, 10:42 AM
Do you honestly think Scully is just going to let Shels beat us?
**FrOsTy**
19/10/2010, 11:32 AM
There's no way Limerick will be lying down! Infact if they win then have a chance of playoff If we severly slip up against athlone and with our recent history that's a possibility
CSFShels
19/10/2010, 12:07 PM
There's no way Limerick will be lying down! Infact if they win then have a chance of playoff If we severly slip up against athlone and with our recent history that's a possibility
As far as I know they don't have a chance even if they beat us, because even if yous get no points against Athlone or us on the last day, that means we'll have gotten 3 on the last day. Which puts us ahead of them.
KevB76
19/10/2010, 12:17 PM
No, we are out of it - even if ye lose your last two, and we beat Shels this week, Shels would have to beat ye for you to lose your last two, therby maintaining their advantage over us, so we have no possibility of making the playoffs. That said, I have no doubt we will give it everything v Shels and Athlone.
Candystripe
21/10/2010, 3:14 PM
This has to be the quote of the season........
Finn Harps manager James Gallagher
"I was always hoping that the league would go down to the wire and that we would find ourselves involved in the battle".
Idiot!
22/10/2010, 9:33 AM
I can only think that James worded that wrongly.
It would have been nice to be going into this still challenging for at least promotion but unfortunately we're just going in there looking to spoil the party.
We really should have beat Derry by 3 or 4 in Finn Park earlier in the season but in the Brandywell they totally dominated the game so I'm heading in tonight without any real optimism but on the same note, there should be a good Harps following in there and the atmosphere is going to be top notch.
Derry claim that this is not a Derby, that this is just a game against neighbours and that the game is a foregone conclusion. That doesn't stop them having an unhealthy obsession about us and sheep though.
Looking forward to the game and hearing the usual "sheep shagging b*st*rds", can't wait.
legendz
22/10/2010, 9:37 AM
My prediction for the weekend is for Limerick to do Waterford a favour and Finn Harps to do Monaghan a favour.
22/10/2010, 9:45 AM
My prediction for the weekend is for Limerick to do Waterford a favour and Finn Harps to do Monaghan a favour.
You obviously haven't seen us this season.
22/10/2010, 10:24 AM
Derry claim that this is not a Derby, that this is just a game against neighbours and that the game is a foregone conclusion. That doesn't stop them having an unhealthy obsession about us and sheep though.
Er, we all class it as a derby. I'd say the most predominate phrase to describe the game is "derby day". We just don't consider it a rivalry :)
legendz
22/10/2010, 10:25 AM
You obviously haven't seen us this season.
Ye're not visiting Tralee yet!
Rocketman
22/10/2010, 5:48 PM
Song for the Brandywell tonight
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QwERn3HAva0
corkharps
22/10/2010, 6:11 PM
I always prefared "Whats it like to have a Queen?":-)
Fermoy Blue
22/10/2010, 9:19 PM
Once a red always a red etc...word from one of u20s during week was that Pat and scouse Dave didn't want a very hi tempo prep for the Shels game;)
22/10/2010, 10:25 PM
Derry are muck in defence, Monaghan can win the league next week if they get the right ball to Hughes and Bermingham.
22/10/2010, 10:26 PM
Er, we all class it as a derby. I'd say the most predominate phrase to describe the game is "derby day". We just don't consider it a rivalry :)
Sorry for spoiling the party :D
cheifo
22/10/2010, 10:37 PM
Was disapointed not to hear this on the way out of the BW after tonights Game. Heard a pin drop at one stage though.
cestlavie
22/10/2010, 11:22 PM
Cum on the Mons, nice to see some of them Derry feckers sweat for another week/not the genuine good loyal fans but the loud mouthed muckers. Up da Harps:p
22/10/2010, 11:35 PM
Derry are muck in defence, Monaghan can win the league next week if they get the right ball to Hughes and Bermingham.
Yeah, we've been saying that for weeks. Kenny has obviously had a row with Friars and won't play him. He persists with Lafferty, who is good on the ball but can't defend(he gave away the free that led to the first).
GalwayRed
23/10/2010, 12:08 AM
Saturday is shaping up very nicely now. I would prefer Derry won the league because if we do win next week I dont fancy having to go to the Brandywell again. I think we might actually be better off needing a win next saturday rather than trying to sit back and defend a 0-0. Thats not to say I wasn't disappointed to hear Waterford had turned things around. Anyway I reckon we will do it next weekend. Can't wait:)
corkharps
23/10/2010, 12:16 AM
This has to be the quote of the season........
Finn Harps manager James Gallagher
"I was always hoping that the league would go down to the wire and that we would find ourselves involved in the battle".
Idiot!
Idiot!!!!!!
passerrby
23/10/2010, 2:02 AM
sam I know i offered to sire your offspring if you got a result but as I am barren may i buy you a pint instead.. well done to all in the harps.. we now owe you.
mrtndvn
23/10/2010, 3:21 AM
Yeah, we've been saying that for weeks. Kenny has obviously had a row with Friars and won't play him. He persists with Lafferty, who is good on the ball but can't defend(he gave away the free that led to the first).
I thought he was anything but good on the ball tonight btw, shocked at how bad he was with the ball at this feet.
23/10/2010, 11:13 AM
If only they still had Pizza at the back, them two lads would have a field day :D
A draw between Monaghan and Derry next week confirms Derry as champions and would give Monaghan a play off position.
A result that both teams would probably settle for at this stage.