View Full Version : Are you glad that Roy Keane is back? and all about him being back

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6

4tothefloor
13/04/2004, 6:56 PM
A resounding YES!

13/04/2004, 7:00 PM
Oh someone who's walked out on his country and lied about his health but decides to come back should be allowed back without an apology, but you want everyone to conform to your gnat's ar*e narrow minded view or else they get a life long ban. Go f*ck yourself, tw*t!

Walk out? WRONG.
He was sent home.

Lied about health? WRONG.
He clearly had an injury which needed surgury.

Apology? WRONG
McCarthy is no longer manager and is unlikely to apologiise for sending Roy
home.

The rest of your post is also wrong and abusive, isn't it a little early
for you to be ****ed out of your brain? Probably not :rolleyes:
I assume you have drank your breakfast. :D

deadman
13/04/2004, 7:06 PM
unfortunately, its a yes

Beavis
13/04/2004, 7:07 PM
I won't boo Roy but could understand those who choose to do so.This will bitterly divide fans and team alike.....

And for the Romania game,oh jesus 'the homecoming' :rolleyes: ,the Man Ures will be in their element..Keano Keano Keano...There's only one Keano..... la,la,la,la,la,la,la,la,la Kean-no :(

Kenny C MUST remain captain

As for his surgery, would this have been between missing the World Cup qualifer in Tehran and playing 90 mins in a CL game for Manchester United 5 days later? The 5 day surgery? Up there with the miracle back injury cure...

Don't forget his 90mins of the critical tie with Leceister City just 36 hours later?Irelands biggest game in recent history or a run of the mill home league game against a side United would beat with their third team...Does this not spell out his dedication to international football!??!

deadman
13/04/2004, 7:17 PM
i have to say i've major mixed emotions about his return and i certainly don't welcome him back with open arms ... but anyone who boos a member of an Irish Squad does not deserve to call themselves a true supporter of our national team.

any negative response is hardly going to help matters on the pitch (where things really matter)

the irish team is not about any one individual

if only Roy could have remembered this in the first place

Jon'o
13/04/2004, 7:24 PM
Evey team evolves ... roy has had his time, the team has moved on.

He 'may' have been sent home but he didnt need to retire, surely if hes all seeing then he would have seen mccarthy being f**ked out the door in his crystal ball (or his hip replacement, im sure they do see through ones).

so if he comes back into the team and we make it to germany would roy be able to last until the world cup starts, if he decides that he is past it then are we going to see another argument and quotes of 'you used me to get to the world cup' ??

Plus didnt that sir alex at man ure have some say as to if roy should retire or not? he wont be too impressed with roy being taken away for friendlys when man ure could be challanging for chuff all.

13/04/2004, 7:40 PM
unfortunately, its a yes

Couldn't do it, I'm afraid. I stand by my principles, inasmuch as however "RMK" (thanks Davros for the neutral-sounding epithet) enhances the team, and I've no doubt he will, I'd rather eleven one-footed Kevin Kilbanes played for Ireland. At least you'd always know that, however limited the talent, you had eleven men ready to sweat blood for their country.

:( PP

13/04/2004, 7:42 PM
i have to say i've major mixed emotions about his return and i certainly don't welcome him back with open arms ... but anyone who boos a member of an Irish Squad does not deserve to call themselves a true supporter of our national team.

any negative response is hardly going to help matters on the pitch (where things really matter)

the irish team is not about any one individual - if only Roy could have remembered this in the first place

I couldn't put it better myself on all counts. That said, he's still a scumbag, but unfortunately for those of us with principles, the most talented player we possess.

I'll never boo him, but from this point on, as long as he's on the field for Ireland, I'll only be cheering for ten players. It's just a shame Brian Kerr didn't tell him to go **** himself after the Scotland incident.

13/04/2004, 7:44 PM
isn't it a little early
for you to be ****ed out of your brain?I'm going to let that slide because it was posted in response to lopez, who posted before my warning. Do it again and you're dust.

13/04/2004, 7:47 PM
no wonder the trains are quiet and I haven't got Plastic Paddy's old mates wrecking the place :confused:

Oi you, leave me outta this! ;)

Other than that Lopez, you pretty much have my full backing. And as for those who would call us "begrudgers" for being bitter about RMK's prevous treatment of us, well lads, it's a shame ye have goldfish memories. (And that's not meant to be in any way personal to anyone, dahamsta, it's just wry commentary on the way yerman continues to split this board. A shame.)

13/04/2004, 7:53 PM
yes
welcome back keano

13/04/2004, 7:57 PM
Whats RMK?????

Oh, and NO by the way (well, not really)

carnstien
13/04/2004, 8:00 PM
I cant believe all this negativity.

Our best player, the man who carried us to the 2002 WC and is still without a doubt one of the best midfield players in the world will be playing for us again.

I am overjoyed, this will make our weak midfield infinatly stronger and will be great news for young players like Miller and Andy Reid.

carnstien
13/04/2004, 8:05 PM
Couldn't do it, I'm afraid. I stand by my principles, inasmuch as however "RMK" (thanks Davros for the neutral-sounding epithet) enhances the team, and I've no doubt he will, I'd rather eleven one-footed Kevin Kilbanes played for Ireland. At least you'd always know that, however limited the talent, you had eleven men ready to sweat blood for their country.

Have you ever even watched an Ireland match in which Keane has played? In competitive matches when it really counts, no player has EVER given more for his country than Roy Keane, questioning the mans commitment is a joke and if you would rather have eleven Kevin Kilbanes you neither know anything about football, nor do you actually care if the team wins, and in football all that matters is winning, Kevin Kilbane might try hard but at the end of the day he is a looser, Keane is a winner!

13/04/2004, 8:08 PM
I cant believe all this negativity.

Our best player, the man who carried us to the 2002 WC and is still without a doubt one of the best midfield players in the world will be playing for us again.

I am overjoyed, this will make our weak midfield infinatly stronger and will be great news for young players like Miller and Andy Reid.

It's not negativity, it's anger at the way we're constantly subjugated by what RMK wants. Don't you feel even slightly aggrieved about the way that, in spite of his efforts in the shirt, he's treated the management and the fans? Tehran? Saipan? Scotland? Remember them?

I don't take issue with the footballing points you make, but how you expect people not to react with anger, well, that's another story altogether...

lopez
13/04/2004, 8:14 PM
Walk out? WRONG.
He was sent home.
He was itching to get home two days prior. To the dog I believe but that's enough about Ferguson

Lied about health? WRONG.
He clearly had an injury which needed surgury.
Oh yes the greatest medical comeback since that c*nt from Guinness got cured of Alzheimers. :rolleyes:

Apology? WRONG
McCarthy is no longer manager and is unlikely to apologiise for sending Roy
home.
His hip (flask) and the cojones he gave Kerr were post McCarthy.
The rest of your post is also wrong and abusive...
It was abusive because you started threatening to punch people who might boo Judas. I'm not going to boo him, but what do you expect. All of us to give him a hero's welcome. He's a washed up pr*ck of a player, not Adolf f*cking Hitler.

...isn't it a little early for you to be ****ed out of your brain? Probably not :rolleyes: I assume you have drank your breakfast.
F*ck me, this bloke knows a lot about me. Is he in MI5? :eek:

carnstien
13/04/2004, 8:16 PM
It's not negativity, it's anger at the way we're constantly subjugated by what RMK wants. Don't you feel even slightly aggrieved about the way that, in spite of his efforts in the shirt, he's treated the management and the fans? Tehran? Saipan? Scotland? Remember them?

I don't take issue with the footballing points you make, but how you expect people not to react with anger, well, that's another story altogether...

Well some people would consider what he did in Saipan to be right, I'm not exactly sure what you are getting at with scotland though.

13/04/2004, 8:21 PM
Well some people would consider what he did in Saipan to be right

And screwing up our World Cup into the bargain? I'm assuming these people you refer to would be from Germany. Or Cork. :rolleyes:

I'm not exactly sure what you are getting at with scotland though.

Despite an earlier agreement to release the statement confirming his "retirement" until after Kerr had named the side for his first fixture in charge (against Scotland, hence my comment), RMK wisely decided to trump Kerr and the Ireland team and tell the world, thereby casting a long shadow over Irish team affairs. Again.

:mad: PP

13/04/2004, 8:26 PM
Have you ever even watched an Ireland match in which Keane has played? In competitive matches when it really counts, no player has EVER given more for his country than Roy Keane, questioning the mans commitment is a joke and if you would rather have eleven Kevin Kilbanes you neither know anything about football, nor do you actually care if the team wins, and in football all that matters is winning, Kevin Kilbane might try hard but at the end of the day he is a looser, Keane is a winner!

1. "Loser" has but one "o".

2. I've been watching Ireland since 1980-odd. So yes, I have. And I'd say Paul McGrath, for one, has given more for the cause.

3. I have a FA preliminary coaching badge, gained in 1989. So I'm actually qualified to talk football. Unlike your good self, I'm guessing.

4. As I've said elsewhere, "principles" appears before "prostitution" in the dictionary. And I've learned enough over the years in playing and coaching to know that the manner in which one takes part is always, always more important than whether the victory is won. As in life. Maybe when you're older, you'll find this out for yourself.

:mad: PP

lopez
13/04/2004, 8:27 PM
Well some people would consider what he did in Saipan to be right.If you mean that by bringing to a head a form of industrial action in order to get proper training facilities, hotels, etc., etc., then yes. But as Conor74 says this was not the case. It was a cop out.

I'm going to let that slide because it was posted in response to lopez, who posted before my warning. Do it again and you're dust.With respect DH, this subject makes a lot of people who normally post sense lose the plot, be it me or someone like tricky. I'd personally hate to see someone booted off this site over this subject. Unlike Celtic, it DOES have to do with the Ireland national team. As I posted on another thread about the same thing, all this sh*t has done is set people at each others' throats on here. :mad: :(

Jon'o
13/04/2004, 8:29 PM
prehaps it was roy's turn at being ventriloquist today, wonder what alex will say when he finds roy had his hand up his @rse pulling the strings :)

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/internationals/republic_of_ireland/3623867.stm

'I would say it is a very good decision for Roy - and I support it 100%."

well done roy his lips moved in time with what he was saying :D

dean kileys veiw

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/internationals/republic_of_ireland/3623649.stm

and to quote a classic lopez line

ITV News (22:30) tonight. STOP. R** K**** wants to be back in the team. STOP. Kerr must call him first though. STOP My two cents? STOP F*ck Off yer Judas l*nger! STOP.:mad:

amen :D

13/04/2004, 8:58 PM
No. There's 2 and three quarter million other men more deserving of a place on the Irish team than him.

Footie_Fan
13/04/2004, 8:59 PM
Who saw primetime? Funniest one ever!

There was Dunphy, some scruff from the "Irish Supporters Association" and Peter Byrne (washed up journalist) who looked like he was attending a funeral.

The scruffy guy said that we should have a referendum on the issue and that it was dangerous situation and that civil war was ready to break out (said this at least three times)

Byrne just waffled on about playing for the shirt or something.

Eventually after listening to the rubbish Dunphy snapped and asked the question that as on everyones lips "Where did you get these two guys from?"

Then the scruffy guy started clenching his fist and punching his hand at which point they cut it.

I'm still laughing!

Footie_Fan
13/04/2004, 9:02 PM
No. There's 2 and three quarter million other men more deserving of a place on the Irish team than him.

Can you quote a source on that piece of information.

13/04/2004, 9:12 PM
If the players are happy about it and it doesn't upset team spirit then he should enhance the team then yeah, I'm happy about it.

ccfc till i die
13/04/2004, 9:16 PM
Yes, dear god almighty yes

13/04/2004, 9:24 PM
Can you quote a source on that piece of information.

It's the population of Ireland, halved. ;)

If ye want me to be pedantic about it:

1,946,164 in the south (2002) + 821,449 in the north (2001) = 2,767,613 men more deserving of a place on the Irish team than Roy Keane.

http://www.cso.ie/principalstats/pristat2.html
http://www.nisra.gov.uk/census/start.html

Footie_Fan
13/04/2004, 9:31 PM
It's the population of Ireland, halved. ;)

If ye want me to be pedantic about it:

1,946,164 in the south (2002) + 821,449 in the north (2001) = 2,767,613 men more deserving of a place on the Irish team than Roy Keane.

http://www.cso.ie/principalstats/pristat2.html
http://www.nisra.gov.uk/census/start.html

Well by your logic shouldn't it be 2,767,612.

13/04/2004, 9:35 PM
With respect DH, this subject makes a lot of people who normally post sense lose the plot, be it me or someone like tricky. I'd personally hate to see someone booted off this site over this subject.Someone tried that excuse on Boards.ie earlier today and they were laughed at by the admins. I didn't think someone'd try and use it twice in the one day.

Football is a game. If anyone makes more of it and starts in with the personal attacks again, like I said, they'll be banned.

No appeals. No comebacks. Banned. Permanantly.

13/04/2004, 9:37 PM
Well by your logic shouldn't it be 2,767,612.

No, the traitor is in England now, don't ye know.

Footie_Fan
13/04/2004, 9:40 PM
No, the traitor is in England now, don't ye know.

:rolleyes: your edited post makes less sense then your first one about him being a Brit?

coyney
13/04/2004, 9:40 PM
Never mind him coming back, has he apologised for walking out on his country?! I'm sick to the pit of my stomach that that scum is going to wear an Ireland jersey again. I hope he is booed jeered and hassled until he shows his true colours and walks again. We don't want you Roy. You're not the player you were and you're not an Irishman

He’s the greatest player ever to turn out in the green and to call him “scum” is sacrilege… he’s been central to the teams greatest performances since right back to the ’94 WC… go boil your head you sh*tehawk

Bring Back Mick
13/04/2004, 9:46 PM
If my memory serves me correct RK was out injured for the early part of 2002, coming back in April to lead the mighty reds to the title and european glory....................opps they won F*"K all

The rest of the squad had competed a full season in the Premier league and div1 and the idea of Saipan was to recharge............RK's season started again in April and cause the Mancs won nothing he was carrying that into the world cup as long as all the other baggage (Andy Cole ???)

Just cause the skips were late RK got the hump about the whole set up but did he complain over the previous years...........

Saw Fran the man on sky earlier "the FAI moved onto a new level" does he not realise if Mick hadn't taken the job back in 96 we would be competing with the likes of Scotland now.........................................

Looking forward to the fun and games ahead...........happy days

13/04/2004, 9:47 PM
:rolleyes: your edited post makes less sense then your first one about him being a Brit?

:D Slip of the tongue (..or hand?). Should have left it as it was come to think of it. :p
He might as well be a Brit. Lives in England, plays for an English team, gets paid by English people, panders to the wishes of a Scot, etc, etc.

NigeSausagepump
13/04/2004, 9:53 PM
Yes.
Think he was wrong over Saipan, but him playing improves our chances of qualifying for WC 2006 and that's good enough for me.

13/04/2004, 9:56 PM
Yes.
Think he was wrong over Saipan, but him playing improves our chances of qualifying for WC 2006 and that's good enough for me.

We shouldn't sell ourselves short just because Roy Keane is a decent player. He might be one of the best 'Irish' players around at present, but that doesn't mean he has a god-given right to walk all over us.

(PS
...there's only 1 Ciarán Martyn! :D)

13/04/2004, 10:05 PM
On balance No
He let the country down in 2002. Should have played in the World Cup. And then on his return should have bitched about the preparation when he got back in a 6 piece expose in the News Of The World, or Irish Times they are both equally valid rags...

A bit of a Judas I'm afraid to say, cause in many other ways he is admirable.

P.S. Ciaran Martyn... now from where I am standing he is another Judas ******* :D

cookie
13/04/2004, 10:06 PM
:D Slip of the tongue (..or hand?). Should have left it as it was come to think of it. :p
He might as well be a Brit. Lives in England, plays for an English team, gets paid by English people, panders to the wishes of a Scot, etc, etc.

fcuk off back to england you!!!!!

are you tellin me if you were as good a player as he is you'd be playin for Derry or anyone else in the league???

wat if he was playin for real madrid??? i suppose you'd be callin him spanish then!!!

your some ****** boy!!!! :mad: :mad: :mad:

13/04/2004, 10:16 PM

Brendy... out of order, son. Whatever your thoughts on Keane, there's plenty on here that live in England, work in England, etc., etc. And we're still of solid stock. Don't dilute your argument with nonsense. And rise above the personal insults.

:) PP

13/04/2004, 10:16 PM
P.S. Ciaran Martyn... now from where I am standing he is another Judas ******* :D

Ah sure he was only at UCD to get his accountancy degree. :p

fcuk off back to england you!!!!!

are you tellin me if you were as good a player as he is you'd be playin for Derry or anyone else in the league???

I would hope so, aye. We need to stop the flow of our best players to England, and retain them in the eL.

13/04/2004, 10:18 PM
Brendy... out of order, son. Whatever your thoughts on Keane, there's plenty on here that live in England, work in England, etc., etc. And we're still of solid stock.

I'm well aware of that, PP. Plenty of my family living in England. Difference is they haven't turned their back on their country.

cookie
13/04/2004, 10:23 PM
I'm well aware of that, PP. Plenty of my family living in England. Difference is they haven't turned their back on their country.

neither did roy... he was forced out!!

mccarty said if you cant respect me you can't play for me... how can you play for a ******** lik that and his schoolboy set-up!!!!!

he had no support from the 3 experieced players in the team!

13/04/2004, 10:26 PM
neither did roy... he was forced out!!

mccarty said if you cant respect me you can't play for me... how can you play for a ******** lik that and his schoolboy set-up!!!!!

Source? Quotes?

Whatever the semantics, he not only walked out on McCarthy and his teammates, he walked out on every Ireland supporter. And that's something i) many people here are falling over themselves to forget, and ii) I for one will never forgive him for.

He doesn't deserve to wear the green shirt again. Ever. It's that simple.

cookie
13/04/2004, 10:28 PM
didn't walk d1ckhead was forced!!

Footie_Fan
13/04/2004, 10:33 PM

Thats rubbish. Plently of Irish people reside and work in England but they are Irish to the core.

lopez
13/04/2004, 10:34 PM
Who saw primetime? Funniest one ever!

There was Dunphy, some scruff from the "Irish Supporters Association" and Peter Byrne (washed up journalist) who looked like he was attending a funeral.

The scruffy guy said that we should have a referendum on the issue and that it was dangerous situation and that civil war was ready to break out (said this at least three times)

Byrne just waffled on about playing for the shirt or something.

Eventually after listening to the rubbish Dunphy snapped and asked the question that as on everyones lips "Where did you get these two guys from?"

Then the scruffy guy started clenching his fist and punching his hand at which point they cut it.

I'm still laughing!
This sounds like that bloke, Alan Hunter, that people on here go on about occasionally. He claimed to be in charge of an Irish supporters club with a membership of 10K. :eek: I only heard him once ringing in on Sky after the tans hit Lansdowne, claiming that England should forfeit the following years European Championships and that the finals should go to Ireland instead. :rolleyes: He got a good reception from the Sky interviewer all the same even though he sounded like some t'ik paddy from a 70's British comedian show. Your description sounds like him. Fair play to Dunph for asking whether he had just stumbled into teach mor. :D

Footie_Fan
13/04/2004, 10:36 PM
This sounds like that bloke, Alan Hunter, that people on here go on about occasionally. He claimed to be in charge of an Irish supporters club with a membership of 10K. :eek: I only heard him once ringing in on Sky after the tans hit Lansdowne, claiming that England should forfeit the following years European Championships and that the finals should go to Ireland instead. :rolleyes: He got a good reception from the Sky interviewer all the same even though he sounded like some t'ik paddy from a 70's British comedian show. Your description sounds like him. Fair play to Dunph for asking whether he had just stumbled into teach mor. :D

Alan Hunter that was his name. He was wearing an ancient wool top with an orange shirt and his tie was half way down his chest, the man was a mess!

13/04/2004, 10:37 PM
didn't walk d1ckhead was forced!!

Sine you've not punctuated your sentence, I'll presume you're calling Keane the ********.

Now, back to my earlier question. Source? Quotes?

:confused: PP

lopez
13/04/2004, 10:42 PM
Wonder why? :rolleyes:

lopez
13/04/2004, 10:46 PM
Alan Hunter that was his name. He was wearing an ancient wool top with an orange shirt and his tie was half way down his chest, the man was a mess!
RTE is a f*cking joke. They wheel this eejit on like some circus act. It's like Borak and Kazahk TV with the dancing dog on a hot plate that looks like Princess Margaret. Big up for his chancer qualities, though. :D