View Full Version : Are you glad that Roy Keane is back? and all about him being back
macdermesser
13/04/2004, 3:43 PM
No player should be allowed to play competitive games if they don't play in friendlies.
unless he's a certain world class centre midfield player and a huge influence on one of the biggest teams in club football .. who wants to play for his country again.
We didn't need him during the World Cup.
We don't need him with a dodgy hip.
We don't need him when he realises its his last chance to play in a wc.
we don't need him at 33, 35 or 75.
Wrong on all points !
We DID need him during the WC, he would have pushed us on and given us that little bit extra to beat Germany and Spain.
He's Dodgy hip has cleared up and is as fit as ever
He has already played in a world cup, USA 94 ?!?!?!?!
Keane will be a better player @ 35/36 than any of our current squad members will ever be. Keane on the pitch is a massive addition to our team. You cannot say that Kinsella, Healy, Miller, Kilbane, Kavanagh or Holland are seriously better than Roy ? If it makes the team better then if he is available he should play.
13/04/2004, 3:46 PM
unless he's a certain world class centre midfield player and a huge influence on one of the biggest teams in club football .. who wants to play for his country again.
I don't give a flying **** who he is. Everyone should have to make themselves available for friendlies if they want to be considered for competitive matches.
13/04/2004, 3:47 PM
Have to along with similar views on the board, if it's good for Ireland that's good enough for me. Having Roy in the team strengthens it, our midfield is blessed with 2 world class players with him and Duff, and it'll help players like Reid and Miller make the step up to international level.
As for booers, I can't see it happening at the Romania game (assuming he plays) that was always going to be the game for the real fans, as opposed to the ones who bought tickets just to take pictures of Brazil.
I hope he gets booed off the park whenever he plays at Landsdowne and fcuks off back to Manchester.
liamon
13/04/2004, 3:50 PM
No player should be allowed to play competitive games if they don't play in friendlies.
Brazil may be able to get away with an attitude like that, but we can't.
Do you really think Mark Hughes will drop Giggs for missing a friendly?
We're lucky to have a player of Keane's ability. Just ask Viera how good he is.
So if you feel the need to boo him when he leads us to victory over the French, then go ahead. Ireland has never appreciated it's talented individuals and I guess we never will.
And Keano was abused by his home crowd before, so it won't be any thing new to him....fickle bunch that we are.
This is a great day for Irish football.
Declan_Michael
13/04/2004, 3:51 PM
Wrong on all points !
We DID need him during the WC, he would have pushed us on and given us that little bit extra to beat Germany and Spain. .
We did well enough and it was is fault for not being there. We a squad we gave their all whilst the other fella was happily walking his dog in england
He's Dodgy hip has cleared up and is as fit as ever
oh yeah, 'dodgy' hips tend to do that.
Keane will be a better player @ 35/36 than any of our current squad members will ever be. Keane on the pitch is a massive addition to our team. You cannot say that Kinsella, Healy, Miller, Kilbane, Kavanagh or Holland are seriously better than Roy ? If it makes the team better then if he is available he should play.[/QUOTE]
We did well enough and it was his own fault for not being there. We had a squad who gave their all whilst the other fella was happily walking his dog in england
oh yeah, 'dodgy' hips tend to do that.
I'd rather have a team of average players than one world class player who embarassed him country and picks and choses his games.
Peterc
13/04/2004, 3:52 PM
Great to see Roy back
So his performance against Patrick Viera in the FA Cup semi-final was not up to scratch was it. If he did that twice against the French in the Qualifiers I reckon we could nick a point or three
I dont know i didnt watch the match! I thought they didnt take the FA cup seriously. I said european and international football if you read my piece correctly.
Thats all im saying on it as i couldnt be arsed debating about it
13/04/2004, 3:52 PM
Great news :eek:
Ireland's next match is a friendly away to Poland in Bydgoszcz on April 28 and, with Keane available for selection with "immediate effect"'
So it looks as though he will be available for friendlies, which I think is
a good thing, rather than going straight into a competive match without
any preparation. Also a good chance to get to know the newer members
of the squad.
It will be great to have a mean looking Roy leading out the squad again
(assuming obvioulsy he is captain!) :)
I hope he gets booed off the park whenever he plays at Landsdowne and fcuks off back to Manchester.
so you're not up for going to germany in 2006 then?
13/04/2004, 3:56 PM
It will be great to have a mean looking Roy leading out the squad again
(assuming obvioulsy he is captain!) :)
If that lyin traitor is captain I'll be calling for Kerr to be sacked.
Robinski
13/04/2004, 3:57 PM
I'm thrilled, I think it's feckin' deadly news.
13/04/2004, 3:59 PM
defo time for a poll on this one.any chance??????
cullenswood
13/04/2004, 4:01 PM
Yeah, it will be interesting to see who will be captain. I'm a big Keane fan, but I would find it hard to see Kenny losing the armband. I reckon Kerr will leave it with Kenny, but Keane will still be as influnceful (how do you spell that!!) without it.
13/04/2004, 4:01 PM
All you people who are anti keane, are obviously better informed and know more about irish football than brian Kerr then. Cause he is prepared to have in his words "I am glad that one of the greatest players ever to play for Ireland has chosen this path. It cannot have been an easy decision for him but his desire to represent his country is immense.
So if brian Kerr is prepared to have him back well then you should accept brian kerrs comments, or are you saying you know more and are better judges than Mr Kerr himself
13/04/2004, 4:05 PM
So if brian Kerr is prepared to have him back well then you should accept brian kerrs comments, or are you saying you know more and are better judges than Mr Kerr himself
Who made Kerr the upmost authority on everything under the sun?
I want to see Roy Keane apologise before playing for Ireland. Maybe Kerr is a man of lesser principles than myself?
13/04/2004, 4:07 PM
who made u the authority on irish football. Who are you to ask this. He is more of an authority on irish football than you are. Fact.
13/04/2004, 4:07 PM
And to add to that from FAI.ie- "Welcoming the news FAI Chief Executive, Fran Rooney said ”We look forward to Roy Keane playing for Ireland again. It is important that we should have all our top players available for the forthcoming World Cup campaign. Roy decision to return is evidence of the new professionalism within the FAI and of Brian Kerr’s professional approach within the squad. Ireland faces tough opposition in the World Cup qualifiers and Roy’s presence will be a huge boost in our quest for qualification.”
Note the bit about "new professionalism within the FAI and of Brian Kerr’s professional approach within the squad." Keane was right, McCarthy was wrong, since Saipan we've had Genesis, Rooney, Kerr and now the return of Roy. Argument over lets get on with it. For the naysayers I'm sure Sunderland would be delighted to accept a season ticket application from you so you can watch McCarthy, Babb, Breen, McAteer and the rest of the wasters.
:mad: I thought I was finished with this f*ckwit but it is with my dishonour that I break to you the news I've just received from a mate by email.
Roy Keane says he is available for Ireland selection
16:02 Former Republic of Ireland captain Roy Keane is to make a dramatic
return to the international stage, the FAI confirmed this afternoon. The
Manchester United captain met with Republic of Ireland manager, Brian Kerr,
last week and made it clear he wanted to be considered for international
duty again.
13/04/2004, 4:10 PM
who made u the authority on irish football. Who are you to ask this. He is more of an authority on irish football than you are. Fact.
I'm not looking at this from a footballing point of view. I believe Roy Keane turned his back and his country and embarrassed the nation over a petty squable with Mick McCarthy. He then lied to us all to get out of making a return when Kerr came along. I want him to apologise for making up that injury story.
13/04/2004, 4:12 PM
well u have just said, it, Football is the only way you should be looking at it from that way only.
Never mind him coming back, has he apologised for walking out on his country?! I'm sick to the pit of my stomach that that scum is going to wear an Ireland jersey again. I hope he is booed jeered and hassled until he shows his true colours and walks again. We don't want you Roy. You're not the player you were and you're not an Irishman
13/04/2004, 4:15 PM
we do want him and ****wits like you have lost and he is back fact so go **** yourselfs cause you have lost and i hope you all rot in hell cause lets support ireland like us who think keane is a legend have without him. I have supported with or without Keane, You should do the same
I want to see Roy Keane apologise before playing for Ireland. Maybe Kerr is a man of lesser principles than myself?
i don't believe roy keane has anyone to apologise to.
for naysayers like yourself who still remain , i feel this makes it a bad move in the sense that it will leave a hollow feeling in any irish victory he participates in due to your beliefs.
one hopes it doesnt and that an irish victory will be conformation enough that it is a good thing for the country.
the matter split the country, but i think its about time we all put this behind us (on both sides of the debate) and for once in about 2 years got back to supporting ireland to the best of our abilities and not let our conviction be wained by the presence of one player.
we are lucky to have him back. i just hope people who dont like the man will support a team with him in it.
we've a good manager, a good team, and now one of our best players has returned!!! this is good news like... so why be upset about it?
13/04/2004, 4:18 PM
We don't want you Roy. You're not the player you were and you're not an Irishman
Couldn't agree more, Éanna.
**** off back to England, Roy!
13/04/2004, 4:18 PM
Quoting the FAI to support an argument? Are you deliberately trying to lose this one WAR? ;)
I did think of that but thought I might get away with it. Obviously forgot about your pesky presence here. ;)
BTW the way how's the weather in Kerry? Will be spending the weekend down there - after Rovers and Bohs of course.
finlma
13/04/2004, 4:19 PM
Great stuff, this can only be good news for Ireland. Any of the begrudgers (stand up Declan Michael, Eanna, etc) if you're not happy with the decision then don't bother coming to Landsdowne cause anyone that boo's an Irish player doesn't deserve to be there. There's no need for any apology as far as I'm concerned. Bring on the qualifiers.
finlma
13/04/2004, 4:21 PM
Couldn't agree more, Éanna.
**** off back to England, Roy!
People like you are pathetic. If you're not happy with the decision then leave the message board cause this is for supporters of the Irish team who support the team and players no matter what.
Declan_Michael
13/04/2004, 4:21 PM
What a shining example Roy Keane is to the young kids who dream of playing for Ireland. 'Kids, you can pick and chose your matches, argue with the boss in public and mess around the new gaffer' Great that.
Meanwhile, guys like Holland, McAteer, who regardless of skill, represented their country time and again are brushed aside without a care in the world.
If it all ends up like Lothar Matteaus - Euro 2000 I couldn't care less. Even a half assed football association wouldn't ask a guy who embarassed a nation back. Don't care if ya names Roy Maradonna, Roy Pele or Roy Keane. Its the principle.
13/04/2004, 4:25 PM
for naysayers like yourself who still remain , i feel this makes it a bad move in the sense that it will leave a hollow feeling in any irish victory he participates in due to your beliefs.
It will, yes. I'll still support an Irish team with him in it, but I'll never support Roy Keane until he apologises.
On that note, why do you think he doesn't need to apologise? Did he not say that he couldn't play for Ireland for medical reasons and that he wanted to prolong his career with ManUre? So howcome he's able to play now?
It's obvious that he blatently lied to us, and now has come back expected a rousing welcome and pats on the back all round, with everyone forgetting about his claims of dodgy hips, etc.
finlma
13/04/2004, 4:26 PM
What a shining example Roy Keane is to the young kids who dream of playing for Ireland. 'Kids, you can pick and chose your matches, argue with the boss in public and mess around the new gaffer' Great that.
Meanwhile, guys like Holland, McAteer, who regardless of skill, represented their country time and again are brushed aside without a care in the world.
If it all ends up like Lothar Matteaus - Euro 2000 I couldn't care less. Even a half assed football association wouldn't ask a guy who embarassed a nation back. Don't care if ya names Roy Maradonna, Roy Pele or Roy Keane. Its the principle.
Do I not remember you saying earlier that you were done with the debate????
He's said he's available for all games.
Its a game of football and its about picking the best players and not the loyal players. I couldn't care less about McAteer and Holland for their loyalty, they're not as good as Roy Keane who's now available for selection.
13/04/2004, 4:28 PM
I'm glad to have him back.
Miller and Keane in the centre of the park?
How bad!?
finlma
13/04/2004, 4:28 PM
It will, yes. I'll still support an Irish team with him in it, but I'll never support Roy Keane until he apologises.
On that note, why do you think he doesn't need to apologise? Did he not say that he couldn't play for Ireland for medical reasons and that he wanted to prolong his career with ManUre? So howcome he's able to play now?
It's obvious that he blatently lied to us, and now has come back expected a rousing welcome and pats on the back all round, with everyone forgetting about his claims of dodgy hips, etc.
Who cares about apologies, its not happy families we're playing. We want to win football matches and thats the whole point, we've a better chance with Keane back.
liamon
13/04/2004, 4:33 PM
Eanna and Co., just get over it. He's back and he can contribute to future Ireland success. Surely that's more improtant than anything else?
It's not as if he's the first player to ever fall out with a manager and refuse to play. Happens all the time - Shearer - Gullit, Anelka - every manager he's played for, including national coach, Jeffers - Moyes.
Why does this have to be such a big issue?
13/04/2004, 4:35 PM
Who cares about apologies, its not happy families we're playing. We want to win football matches and thats the whole point, we've a better chance with Keane back.
No! The Irish national team exists to represent the nation of Ireland. We shouldn't cheapen our nationality by allowing just anyone to play for Ireland and represent us.
I have a serious problem with the fact that Roy is going to take the place of a loyal Irish player in the midfield.
I'd rather have team made up of loyal players over a team of top quality, world class players who embarrass the country in front of the world.
13/04/2004, 4:38 PM
Why does this have to be such a big issue?
He let his argument with McCarty get in the way of playing for his country. He embarrassed us in front of the whole, making us the laughing stock of World Cup 2002. He turn lied about an injury because he didn't want to play. He pandered to the wishes of Alex Ferguson because a big cheque got waved in front of him.
That's not the type of person I want representing me.
liamon
13/04/2004, 4:39 PM
I'd rather have team made up of loyal players over a team of top quality, world class players who embarrass the country in front of the world.
And I'd rather have a team of players that can win matches and make us proud of our ourselves.
Hell, if teams didn't pick players coz of personality issues, then the Dutch would be really screwed - Davids, Kluivert to name just 2.
Sulk all you want, it doesn't matter. He's back. And I'm happy.
PS, is this the fastest growing thread ever?
On that note, why do you think he doesn't need to apologise? Did he not say that he couldn't play for Ireland for medical reasons and that he wanted to prolong his career with ManUre?
he's a professional footballer.
i feel that, after his disgraceful ousting from the irish camp in saipan, he was actually injured, to the extent that he also missed a number of early season matches with said injury.
this in mind, i's he thought of his career like any professional sportsperson would. it would have been nice for him to still play and hope it heals but that isnt a realistic way of looking at a career-threatening injury.
now his hip has strengthened, it is a delight to see he still has a savage desire to play for the country against his manager's and wage payer's wishes.
i think also, that the break he took while assessing the situation was good for all concerned as the sentiment of feelings amongst the divided supporters was at a feverish level, like those that led to physical threats against me in the capital on a couple of occasions just because i happen to be from cork, like roy.
i dont think he needs to apologise because people like you only choose to see what you want to see out of what happened during this whole affair. this leads you to be misinformed in my eyes and with you and eanna saying such things as "you are not an irishman" it leads me to believe that you are nothing more than a knacker yourself. though i will not entertain such idea's about someone that i dont know, like you, i dont think it's your place to question a man's nationality or pride in his country when, for 10 years it has never ever been in doubt!
that is why i dont feel he has to apologise to people like you.
i for one hopes no-one will concern themselves with the text above in this post, but think of the footballing aspect of this news.
for ireland, this is good news in every way. people with their hangups (me included) need to forget our gripes and support all players in the team.
if you think it should call for booing roy and the irish team, then i dont think you understand what it is to be a supporter.
wouldnt our opposition has some laugh to see the irish booing their own team, and it'd all be down to these fools who put themselves before their country.
The Legend
13/04/2004, 4:42 PM
It's a weird feeling to agree with both sides of a strong debate... Both the the Pro and the Anti's...
There's a Civil War in my own head... anyone else feel like that?!
liamon
13/04/2004, 4:42 PM
.. He embarrassed us in front of the whole, making us the laughing stock of World Cup 2002. .... He turn lied about an injury .....
Oh grow up. This sort of fight happens before every tournament. No one laughed over it.
He still has an injury and rarely plays 2 games in a week, but none of that matters coz he's back and I'm still happy about that. :D :D :D :p ;)
ccfc till i die
13/04/2004, 4:48 PM
He let his argument with McCarty get in the way of playing for his country. He embarrassed us in front of the whole, making us the laughing stock of World Cup 2002. He turn lied about an injury because he didn't want to play. He pandered to the wishes of Alex Ferguson because a big cheque got waved in front of him.
That's not the type of person I want representing me.
Ahem, Roy Keane didn't let the argument get in the way. He was sent home and had no choice in the matter.
I know some brain surgeon is going to say 'but he could have apologised'
Let me ask you this, if you had an argument with someone you had no respect for after he had tried to humiliate you in front of your team mates would you go crawling back begging for your place in the team?????
No I didn't think so
parnell ranger
13/04/2004, 4:48 PM
hear hear,well said
13/04/2004, 4:52 PM
if you think it should call for booing roy and the irish team, then i dont think you understand what it is to be a supporter.
wouldnt our opposition has some laugh to see the irish booing their own team, and it'd all be down to these fools who put themselves before their country.
I'm not calling for booing of the Irish team, just Roy Keane. I don't want him representing me or my country. By booing we can show that he doesn't represent us, our country or what we stand for.
Why can't he apologise? He lied in order to avoid playing. Now, for some reason, he wants to play again, and he should say sorry for lying to us.
My only consolation is that he won't be playing beyond 2006.
Bring Back Mick
13/04/2004, 4:56 PM
Did Fran pay Roy the 30,OOO Euro poor Roy had to shell out for his family to travel to the World Cup finals, before he had his strop and "WALKED OUT" on Ireland...............made a big thing of it in his book not giving a toss about what us fans had spent
Don't forget !!!
13/04/2004, 4:58 PM
I'm just glad I'm going to the match tonight, so I don't have to listen to those Keane fanboy ****s on Newstalk drooling onto their mics.
13/04/2004, 4:59 PM
I'm just glad I'm going to the match tonight
Come on the City! (Derry that is ;))
if you're not happy with the decision then don't bother coming to Landsdowne cause anyone that boo's an Irish player doesn't deserve to be there.
I'll be in Landsdowne and I'll be booing him. Does that mean I don't deserve to be there? How does the likes of your good self deserve to be there? Have you sat on a lot of barstools and cheered on Roy while he battled hard for the Manchester cause? Yes you're right the likes of myself and Eanna don't deserve to go to Landsdowne (better give the cup final a miss this season so), you and all your fellow true football fans are much more deserving.
Junior
13/04/2004, 5:01 PM
Did Fran pay Roy the 30,OOO Euro poor Roy had to shell out for his family to travel to the World Cup finals, before he had his strop and "WALKED OUT" on Ireland...............made a big thing of it in his book not giving a toss about what us fans had spent
Don't forget !!!
Hardly made a big thing about it in the book, probably about one sentence.
Just finished reading the book, and to be fair he made a number of comments surrounding the time and money that the Ireland supporters spent on following the team. In fact, I believe in his words 'we were being conned, by the amateur attitiude in preparation etc...etc... '
People like you are pathetic. If you're not happy with the decision then leave the message board cause this is for supporters of the Irish team who support the team and players no matter what.
No. the message board is for discussing the national team, not supporting it. :rolleyes:
By the way, seeing as you're such a great supporter, am I to presume you supported the other 21 players when Roy walked out on them. And that you supported Mick McCarthy when the keane fans were baying for his blood? Because thats what the real fans did.
Roy Keane was right about a lot of things. He was right that the FAI are a shower of *******. He may even have been right that Mick McCarthy is a ******- who knows. But he was not right to walk out on his country. The other players there were professionals too. I'm sure they would have loved to have had better facilities etc., but they were proud to represent their country so they knuckled down and got on with it. Roy had a tantrum. Thats why he should apologise.