View Full Version : Are you glad that Roy Keane is back? and all about him being back
And, furthermore, you will have some like NeilMcD and Rolo whose main arguments will be 'you're a knacker' and 'burn in hell'. How can you argue with that brilliance?
thats the problem. most people who support keane are just as reasonable as he is, so trying to discuss it is quite difficult
adamcarr
13/04/2004, 5:17 PM
Lads the fact is that he is still one of the best players in the world and he is Irish so Ill defo welcome him back!!!!!!!!!!!
Just a mesaage to all the fans that have criticised Roy Keane for the last two years i have a small message for you all....UP YOURS!!!!!! :p
Welcome back Roy..probably the best players(with Paul Mc Grath of course)to ever play for Rep of Ireland..i cant wait for the day i see you wearing the green jersey again..Our National team will be all the better for it... :)
Apart from everything else, he is not one of the best players in the world anymore. There was a time when he was the best midfielder and the most influential player in europe (and probably the world). His performance for Man Utd away to Juventus in the semis of the champions league is one of the greatest displays of sheer determination and classI've ever seen. But he's a shadow of that player now.
adamcarr
13/04/2004, 5:21 PM
Did Fran pay Roy the 30,OOO Euro poor Roy had to shell out for his family to travel to the World Cup finals, before he had his strop and "WALKED OUT" on Ireland...............made a big thing of it in his book not giving a toss about what us fans had spent
Don't forget !!!
Fu*ck Off! Roy is back and we are going to the World Cup!! :)
Footie_Fan
13/04/2004, 5:25 PM
Boo him. Everyone should boo the **** for lying to us.
Let's just see how fickle people are when they welcome him back.
Anyone who intends on booing Roy Keane or any Irish player should be removed from the ground. I personally will be giving Roy Keane a standing ovation when he comes out at Lansdowne and will telling anyone I see booing where to go in no uncertain terms.
I'd say he will play against Romania at home but not Poland away because the FA Cup final is a couple of days after that so Kerr will probably excuse all Man Utd players from the fixture.
May 27th Ireland v Romania - The Homecoming.
Just a mesaage to all the fans that have criticised Roy Keane for the last two years i have a small message for you all....UP YOURS!!!!!! :p
One of the reasons the whole subject bugs me so much is the childish name-calling and pathetic immaturity of the Keane fans. Even people like you RedX who normally talk sense seem to go soft in the head and talk out of their holes the minute the guys name crops up. The argument is always "you don't like Roy- you're a ******."
I'll tell ya what- come up with a well thought out argument as to:
1. why I should be glad Roy Keane is back.
2. why he shouldn't have to apologise.
3. why he was right to do what he did and all the other players were wrong.
if you can provide a sane, intelligent and reasonable answer to each of those questions, I might think about it. Otherwise grow up and stop gloating like a 2 year old
Footie_Fan
13/04/2004, 5:28 PM
Er,what language is this?
This is coming from you! You would require a decoding system to read most of your posts.
if he returns as captain, Kerr, Rooney and even the tea lady at the FAI should hang their heads and quit
first of all conor stop putting words in my mouth, and/or putting a different slant on my posts than i myself did.
i think eanna and brendy are wrong questioning his nationality. that is wrong and it is not done. his national pride has never been in question and its ridiculous to think ye feel ye are entitled to.
i didnt call brendy a knacker. i likened him to one. if was to call him a knacker it would take 4 words -" you are a knacker". i dont know brendy, i am not entitled to call him a knacker so read my posts before you go all high and mighty by taking an evident "moral highground" holier than thou attitude.
i feel to question his loyalty is unjust.
i feel to attempt to boo him is to boo the whole team. do it and dont call yourself a true irish fan in my opinion.
it doesnt matter whether you boo one of all, they all hear a boo. and thats a great motivation for a team isnt it? a timely reminder at the start of a game that there are people here without any interest in seeing the team perform ,but only to satisfy a personal agenda against a team member. putting themselves before their country.
that isnt what any rightminded irish fan would do if they truly supported the irish qualification cause.
but maybe colm and eanna know better. it'd be the first time i knew of a team who liked to draw friendly support from boo's....
The Legend
13/04/2004, 5:35 PM
Obviously he wont be coming back as captain... and is unlikely to ever hold that position again. My guess is he'll come as a sub for 20 mins for a few matches to get all the booing over with!
Footie_Fan
13/04/2004, 5:36 PM
Whew, sounds like a few strongly worded letters of protest will be winging their way from Footie_Fans house... ;)
:D Damn straight!
his national pride has never been in question and its ridiculous to think ye feel ye are entitled to.
why did he walk out on his country if he was so proud of it?!
last time i looked, he was sent home by mick mccarthy.
Footie_Fan
13/04/2004, 5:41 PM
Or do you actually have your finger on the pulse of 'the real Ireland'?
Looks like I do if the poll on a2zsoccer.com is anything go by:
Poll: Are you happy Roy Keane is returning to the Irish team?
Yes: 89%
No: 11%
adamcarr
13/04/2004, 5:43 PM
hE STOOD UP TO THAT ***** MCcARTHY CAUSE THERE WAS NO TRAINING
FACILITIES AND HE WAS SENT HOME
First of all...Conor74..i decided to start a new thread simply because i wanted to..sorry i did not ring you and ask for permission.. ;)
2nd..Eanna..i am sure no matter what answers i leave here to your questions you will just disagree with your usual know-all attitude..but anyway here goes..
1.Because he is still one of the best midfielders in the world..
2.An apology??..did you ever here the wrod pride?..why should any person in this world apoligise for something he thinks was right?..you disagree but i and many more do not...
3.He stood up for what he beleived in and our National teams set-up has gradually improved since..someone has to voice there opinions..he had more bottle than the others..
And about me acting a two year old??..jaysus lad grow up will you..you were outside the ground last night selling the fanzine..what age are you 18?19?..you are to much of a know all ;)
Yeah, I understand that seafood causes him to throw up. The unfortunate incident in a Boston bar was not drink related, the model pro. had a bit of scampi you see...
Yeah, I've had a few problems that way with seafood myself...Sometimes after not even having had any seafood. :D
Anyone who intends on booing Roy Keane or any Irish player should be removed from the ground. I personally will be giving Roy Keane a standing ovation when he comes out at Lansdowne and will telling anyone I see booing where to go in no uncertain terms.
I'm sh*tting myself already. :rolleyes:
Footie_Fan
13/04/2004, 5:48 PM
I'm sh*tting myself already. :rolleyes:
Good.
F**K the begrudgers Roy!
No. Just f*ck Roy will do for me!
Exactly what I expected. Instead if just answering the questions, you had a go. Just like the man himself. I offered you a chance to convince me of the validity of your point of view (hardly the actions of a know it all) and you had a swipe instead. At least you accepted that I disagree, for most Keane fans having another point of view is being " a ******" or being "an idiot." My age has very little to with anything (I'm 21 by the way, just seeing as you care so much) I couldn't give a monkeys- if I was 3 years old, I'd still tell you you were behavinh like a 2 year old. Its that obvious :rolleyes:
as i said already, in the way i have worded it i have tried not to blankly say he is a member of the travelling community.
i hoped people would understand this is a personal meaning from his own posts that he looks to degrade a person only because of some clouding beliefs he shares with a minority of posters that the player is disloyal, uninterested, and that he walked out. all of which are untrue.
as i said, if i truly wanted to advertise my final belief of brendy's form of living i would have bluntly used 4 words.
i'm sorry if i offended or you misunderstood. but you are wrong reading into my post what i didnt really say, but roughly thought... to myself.
obviously it is time all and i finished personally debating the subject before we are pulled up on an interjection again, and kept it straight and anonymous on a footballing level. would that be ok?
You offered me a chance to convince you...you are as good..thanks :D
Eanna...i think this is the best news in years...you do not like the idea of the guy returning...we disagree with each other..i am not on this forum to prove to you or any other person why i should support anyone or anything..you really should lighten up a bit..us City fans have a lot more to worry about ;)
Fu*ck Off! Roy is back and we are going to the World Cup!! :)
F*ck off yourself you little squirt. :mad: Haven't you homework to do...oh forgot it's f*cking school holidays (no wonder the trains are quiet and I haven't got Plastic Paddy's old mates wrecking the place). :confused:
last time i looked, he was sent home by mick mccarthy.
In a nutshell, thats why this debate will never end. You belive that, I believe he walked out. There's not exactly a middle ground. I guess we're just destined to keep this tired debate going on forever. Another reason I wish he'd just gone away
13/04/2004, 6:00 PM
The people who come on this board and complain about Roy Keane
returning make me puke. :(
I don't care about the past and even if I felt Roy was wrong in
what happened in Siapan I would still welcome his return.
His willingness to return proves that all those who said he was a traitor etc..
were wrong.
Anyone who boos him on his return deserves a punch on the nose.
Anyone who boos a player in an Irish shirt is a true traitor who should
be kicked out of the ground and banned for life.
The people who would even consider doing that really make me angry :mad:
Roy felt he could not play for his country for personal reasons, now he
feels he can. :)
If you are not happy about that then you must be pretty screwed up
youselves :p
In a nutshell, thats why this debate will never end. You belive that, I believe he walked out. There's not exactly a middle ground. I guess we're just destined to keep this tired debate going on forever. Another reason I wish he'd just gone away
yet you persist to believe your opinion of what happened when you know it isnt true?
ROY THREADS MERGED. ITS ALL ABOUT THE SAME THING ANYWAY
yet you persist to believe your opinion of what happened when you know it isnt true?
Are you talking to me or to yourself? You've just proved my point. Again
Rolo is a girls name :p ;)
Um, as far as i am concerned saipan was 2 yrs ago. Its over its done. Who cares anymore.
Im just interested to see whose terms Keane is coming back on - his or Kerrs?
Is he above playing in friendlies? (i see him picking up a lot of mystery injuries)
Does he deserve the captaincy? (I cant stress my NO, big enough to that)
Time will tell on this one.
just to settle the bloody thing, I'm gonna post a poll on this. then everyone can say yay or nay and be done with it
adamcarr
13/04/2004, 6:06 PM
F*ck off yourself you little squirt. :mad: Haven't you homework to do...oh forgot it's f*cking school holidays (no wonder the trains are quiet and I haven't got Plastic Paddy's old mates wrecking the place). :confused:
The greatest player to ever play in the Irish shirt and your man is trying to make a fault in that!
...I don't care about the past and even if I felt Roy was wrong in what happened in Siapan I would still welcome his return.
His willingness to return proves that all those who said he was a traitor etc..
were wrong. Anyone who boos him on his return deserves a punch on the nose.
Anyone who boos a player in an Irish shirt is a true traitor who should
be kicked out of the ground and banned for life...
Oh someone who's walked out on his country and lied about his health but decides to come back should be allowed back without an apology, but you want everyone to conform to your gnat's ar*e narrow minded view or else they get a life long ban. Go f*ck yourself, tw*t!
No maybe's, no "only if he apologises" no "wait and see's" just yes or no.
Are you talking to me or to yourself? You've just proved my point. Again
i just thought that when mick mccarthy said "i've sent him home" it was pretty clear that roy didn't leave of his own accord...
maybe thats just me.
adamcarr
13/04/2004, 6:09 PM
How can yu be Pi*sed off with the return of Keano. Or do you want Ireland to fail ya LANG*ER!!!!!!!!!!! :mad:
i call your NO , eanna, and raise you a "YES!" :p :D
How can yu be Pi*sed off with the return of Keano. Or do you want Ireland to fail ya LANG*ER!!!!!!!!!!! :mad:
its called having a different opinion. democracies allow that. grow up
i just thought that when mick mccarthy said "i've sent him home" it was pretty clear that roy didn't leave of his own accord...
maybe thats just me.
He was already talking about leaving two days before. Then he did an interview slagging off his teammates. Then we had all this ******** about 'me hip.' Revisionism may work on planet rolo and the disneyland theme park you and your fellow travellers (no pun intended) inhabit but it isn't going to work here.
Footie_Fan
13/04/2004, 6:11 PM
YES!YES!YES!
maybe thats just me.
ok, just supposing you're right. what I was really referring to was when Brian Kerr met him and offered him the chance to return. He walked out of that room saying he'd come back and then phoned Kerr to say he'd changed his mind. In what way is that NOT walking out on your country. You tell me
Earth to L*nger land! No I don't want Ireland to fail you pre-dropped cojones f*ckwit. I'm scared that bringing him back we will fail. He's past his best, he's caused too much damage, and he's a walking bottle of Nitroglycerine. No, I'm not going to boo him. In 23 years of watching Ireland I've never booed an Irish player and I'm not going to start now, but just when you think (with the Czech result especially) that Kerr is getting to grips and forming a team with potential he has to bring up this sh*t. In two years time I hope you can come back and enlarge that big smilie with the tongue and tell me 'I told you so'.
13/04/2004, 6:18 PM
WELCOME BACK ROY
Duncan Gardner
13/04/2004, 6:24 PM
Damn. I thought this a thread about the Fermanagh Fumbler. He can stay away warming his arse on the ManU bench, actually :mad:
oh yeah. just meant to say. can we leave the insults and the debate about what he did or didn't do for the other thread please. we can just vote and look at the results here, and debate our opinions there.
Ouch! :D
Got to give this kid some respect (check out his dob). Man he's got huevos, even if they haven't dropped yet. :cool:
13/04/2004, 6:26 PM
Any more personal attacks will result in bans. Nasty, instant bans with no appeals, no dupe accounts, no nothing. This applies to n00bs and old-timers alike. Don't annoy dahamsta, he's not taking it today.
Damn. I thought this a thread about the Fermanagh Fumbler. He can stay away warming his arse on the ManU bench, actually :mad:
Duncan...please...stay out....you don't want to get involved in any of this...just be glad that Craig and Carson did their bit and that civil war has passed you by. :D
Hm, is this the fastest thread ever on foot.ie. I think this is post 176 since lunchtime. Only a w@nker like Roy could provoke so much debate :p
Duncan Gardner
13/04/2004, 6:35 PM
Duncan...please...stay out....you don't want to get involved in any of this...just be glad that Craig and Carson did their bit and that civil war has passed you by. :D
I'm hoping he comes to Eason's in Belfast for the 2002-postponed book launch. The Linfield boys want a word, but I don't think most of your fans up North are too impressed with ould Roy either...