View Full Version : Mid-Season Transfer Rumours

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6

DeNiro
27/08/2010, 1:27 PM
I know that Mr A, but leaving out the league's top scorer creates a bit of a disadvantage.

superjohnny
27/08/2010, 1:36 PM
Joined Rovers underage system when he was 11.

Nice few bob for Rovers of the shamrock then..

27/08/2010, 2:17 PM
It's a max of 5% for solidarity payments though isn't it? Even a 50k fee only makes them €2.5k at that.

27/08/2010, 2:30 PM
He's on the team bus to Harps...not gone yet.

27/08/2010, 2:40 PM

Oh joy.............

27/08/2010, 2:47 PM

Sure its only a coupld of houirs down the road

27/08/2010, 3:03 PM
Sure its only a coupld of houirs down the road

Hour and a half, hopefully just as a spectator, we're in for a big enough hammering as it is.

27/08/2010, 4:45 PM
David Grincell released by Waterford and Tiernan Mulvenna released by Dundalk ... only a matter of time before theres rumours of them both coming to us ;)

CSFShels
27/08/2010, 4:50 PM
Almost sure neither are eligible to play in the LOI this season now.

**FrOsTy**
27/08/2010, 5:06 PM
Grincell signed for local side Tramore

27/08/2010, 6:39 PM
Wasn't too much bargaining power. Remember he was released by Rovers and looking for a club. He obviously asked for the clause as he wanted out of Sligo asap.
Was he not offered a contract by Rovers but turned it down for first team footie?

Apparently they offered 30k originally but Cook told them to come back with a 6 figure sum and they might consider selling...
Risky strategy. If a British club matched the 20k clause then he/the club wouldn't even be able to milk that out of them.

Rumour in the other thread says they've accepted 60k with 40k additional depending on appearances.

Rasputin
28/08/2010, 10:52 AM
Was he not offered a contract by Rovers but turned it down for first team footie?
Ye he was.
Shams offered him a contract but somewhat reduced as far as I know.
We came in and offered him a reasonable contract and most of all regular first team football.

Risky strategy. If a British club matched the 20k clause then he/the club wouldn't even be able to milk that out of them.
I find it very hard to believe that there is a 20k clause in his contract because if there was a British club would have been in for him by now.
Also the fact that apparently Dundee were sniffing around him earlier in the season and allegeldy offered us 100,000 grand for him.

Rumour in the other thread says they've accepted 60k with 40k additional depending on appearances.
What ever the offer was apparently we have accepted it but apparently Amond has rejected their first contract offer.

28/08/2010, 10:06 PM
David Grincell released by Waterford and Tiernan Mulvenna released by Dundalk ... only a matter of time before theres rumours of them both coming to us ;)

Tiarnan is away up north so I hear.

bullit
29/08/2010, 4:08 AM
Tiarnan is away up north so I hear.
I think he can only go north at this point Dunny,will be interesting to see where he goes.
I wish him well and hope he comes back to Oriel a BIGGER and better player.

29/08/2010, 4:18 AM
I find it very hard to believe that there is a 20k clause in his contract because if there was a British club would have been in for him by now.
Also the fact that apparently Dundee were sniffing around him earlier in the season and allegeldy offered us 100,000 grand for him.
Ah, OK. My impression from other Sligo fans was that it was accepted wisdom the 20k clause existed.

BBC reports Bohs have turned down a 60k from Celtic for Paddy Madden

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/scotland/8951751.stm

The Lep
29/08/2010, 1:24 PM
Damien Brennan and some other chap has gone to shels until the end of the season.

poster
29/08/2010, 1:39 PM
Funny how since we've moved to our own private forum how other LoI fans are so out of the Rovers loop:bowl:

ger121
29/08/2010, 2:00 PM

Sad state of affairs when the league's top scorer goes for a reported 60k with a few add-ons. Hope they got a sell-on clause in there somewhere

29/08/2010, 6:07 PM
Damien Brennan and some other chap has gone to shels until the end of the season.

ex shels player mark o'brien is the other signing that returns from bray...

29/08/2010, 11:29 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/gossip_and_transfers/8951524.stm

Celtic have had a £60,000 offer for striker Paddy Madden rejected by Irish club Bohemians. (the Sun)

bullit
29/08/2010, 11:40 PM
BBC reports Bohs have turned down a 60k from Celtic for Paddy MaddenLazy reading of the thread Dunny,was posted waaaaay earlier.:cool:

29/08/2010, 11:44 PM
I see it now, just seen a quote from Rasputin in that post and wasnt going to read it!

redobit
30/08/2010, 9:23 AM
Sad state of affairs when the league's top scorer goes for a reported 60k with a few add-ons. Hope they got a sell-on clause in there somewhere

Ya when you consider he's the leagues top scorer then 60K + 40K does seem small. Another angle on it - 100K would be a nice percentage of the running costs for The Showgrounds next season.

30/08/2010, 9:25 AM
Can Bohs really afford to be turning down E60k?

30/08/2010, 9:47 AM
Can Bohs really afford to be turning down E60k?

Can they afford not to gamble and go for more?

30/08/2010, 9:51 AM

Sure Sligo signed him for nothing only months ago...

30/08/2010, 10:06 AM
Can they afford not to gamble and go for more?
Never tends to work out well for LoI clubs in trouble, that.

Jicked
30/08/2010, 10:10 AM
Looks like Podge is off to Portugal, his official spokeswoman, Claire Tully, announced on twitter that a decision has been made and is now going on about the stress of the passport office. Best of luck to him/them

That's McGeady going to Russia, Sheridan to Bulgaria and Amond to Portugal in the one transfer window, pretty unusual for Irish players.

30/08/2010, 10:54 AM
Is he knobbing that Tully one as well? Doing alright for himself if he is.

Spudulika
30/08/2010, 12:16 PM
Still worry about McGeady in Moscow, not the city, it's grand, but the club is a mess. Karpin runs the show, until the supporters decide to throw him out or his financiers want a change. It makes LOI clubs look positively stable!

Jicked, don't forget Anto Flood to Sweden!

cornflakes
30/08/2010, 12:29 PM
Billy Mehmet went to Genēlerbirliği in Turkey too, hes probably more turkish then irish tho

30/08/2010, 12:33 PM
Looks like Podge is off to Portugal, his official spokeswoman, Claire Tully, announced on twitter that a decision has been made and is now going on about the stress of the passport office. Best of luck to him/them

That's McGeady going to Russia, Sheridan to Bulgaria and Amond to Portugal in the one transfer window, pretty unusual for Irish players.

Looks like the passport is sorted, just spotted him heading towards Grafton St, didn't look too happy though.
Good luck to him, hope he makes an impression over there.

Sadly Ms Tully was not with him.

poster
30/08/2010, 12:37 PM
She's a very plain jane when she's not caked to the lasht. Don't like how she seems to be his PA either, spouting all her ****e on Twitter. He's been on his way anyway for a while now, so best of luck to him. Never warmed to him, but fair play to him, he can finish. Hope he's a success.

redobit
30/08/2010, 1:30 PM
Sure Sligo signed him for nothing only months ago...

Absolutely, and from that point of view its been great to have had his goals and to get some money for him.

That said, Im personally dissapointed he couldn't have given us until the end of the season. I understand a footballers carrer is short and he worked hard for his oppurtunity.
But I thought he could have been a little more loyal to Sligo Rovers. At the start of the season he had no contract, no club, there was no Platinum 1 on the phone or Page3 girl hanging about. Rovers gave him a good 2year contract and the oppurtunity to play for maybe the most creative team in the league.

Anyway hes taken his chance so best of luck to him.

30/08/2010, 1:54 PM
In fairness he's going out with her a few years...

poster
30/08/2010, 2:03 PM
In fairness he's going out with her a few years...

Is he? That long? Are you sure?

sundance kid
30/08/2010, 2:54 PM
he was definitely going out with her all of last season anyway.

30/08/2010, 4:56 PM
so is it definitley confirmed that padraig admond has left sligo rovers??

30/08/2010, 4:57 PM
so is it definitley confirmed that padraig admond has left sligo rovers??

No, not confirmed

30/08/2010, 7:53 PM
Hope he is gone before the 17th of September.

31/08/2010, 6:03 AM
Travelling to Portugal this morning to sign the deal, according to the MNS Facebook.

31/08/2010, 10:23 AM
Don't think it'll be too long before he ends up back in the LOI.

31/08/2010, 10:43 AM
Don't think it'll be too long before he ends up back in the LOI.
oooh I can see the steam coming from your ears...

Mario
31/08/2010, 10:56 AM
Best of luck to him, a good little player who seems to have his feet on the ground and his head screwed on from the few brief chats I had with him. Will be very interesting to see how he gets on!

Wouldnt be surprised to see him end up a bigger Portugese team and then upwards again after that in the next few years.

Think though that Sligo were fleeced, especially with the hefty chuck of the reported 60k that Ive heard will be going to d24 as a development fee :cool:

Mario

31/08/2010, 11:03 AM
Think though that Sligo were fleeced, especially with the hefty chuck of the reported 60k that Ive heard will be going to d24 as a development fee :cool:

ROvers will get a maximum of 5% of the €60k. Or €3,000

http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=4529&Itemid=318

And considering you let him go to Sligo for nothing fairly recently, I'd imagine Sligo are happier about the deal then Rovers

Spudulika
31/08/2010, 1:16 PM
Has anyone else heard that Mr. G. Twigg could be on the way out of Tallaght? An offer from Scotland (Hibernian).

poster
31/08/2010, 1:57 PM
Has anyone else heard that Mr. G. Twigg could be on the way out of Tallaght? An offer from Scotland (Hibernian).

Heard that from a Shams fan a few weeks ago, apparently not happy with how things are going in Dublin. Heard Mannus is wanted by another SPL team with Irish links.

HulaHoop
31/08/2010, 2:09 PM
Heard that from a Shams fan a few weeks ago, apparently not happy with how things are going in Dublin. Heard Mannus is wanted by another SPL team with Irish links.

Extracts from Twigg interview with Irish fanzine You Boys in Green a few weeks ago:

YBIG: How is life outside football in Ireland treating you?
Twigg: Ye it's been good for me. Obviously my wife is Irish. It's good for her and my kids were born here, I enjoy it. It's pretty much the same way of life as it is in Glasgow, it's not much different.

YBIG: Can you see yourselves staying long in Ireland?
TWIGG: Ye, my missus doesn't want to move anywhere else. Even when I finish football I will be staying here.

31/08/2010, 2:11 PM
There was an interview with Twigg in the last issue with YBIG and he sounded very settled, his wife and child are Irish and he said he'd most likely be staying here after he retired from football (Sives on the other hand sounded like he'd be off if he got a half decent offer). So unless it's a financial offer too good to refuse I can't see him going anywhere.

*Edit* HulaHoop beat me to the puch and even has quotes!

poster
31/08/2010, 2:13 PM
Only going from what I heard from a Tallaghtman. Can't say naatin more.