View Full Version : Tonights Games 9/4/2010
Slow afternoon is it boys?
very slow ! you cant mention local when refering to louth in front of dundalk fans .strange bunch .
White Horse
10/04/2010, 3:25 PM
Your club and town dont have a divine right when it comes to supporting a football team . Drogheda is as local to these areas as dundawk is .
I'm being ungracious to your club seeing you sent Dundalk top of the table last night. Apologies.
Add in the fact that you are probably originally from Finglas or some such Dublin suburb, your sense of Louth geography is understandibly sketchy.
eamoss
10/04/2010, 3:32 PM
Sorry for going off topic but TBH I have found people from North Louth will generally say they are from Dundalk and South will say Drogheda. I knew a girl who said she was from South Dundalk when in fact she was from Ardee. So people around Mid Louth can be from both thus fair game to be called local.
RoversHead
10/04/2010, 3:39 PM
Forgive me, I have grown weary of listening to the needless rubbish that is spouted by both Bohs and Shams supporters every other week!From the man who posted "I really dont rate Ndo ""and "I havnt really seen him play"in the same parragraph!!!!!!!!!
L.T.F.C.
10/04/2010, 3:42 PM
From the man who posted "I really dont rate Ndo ""and "I havnt really seen him play"in the same parragraph!!!!!!!!!
I rated him under the impression he was a striker. Strikers will only be remembered on goals they scored. Not if they played well against us or any other small club. I also notice you've conveniently forgotten my second post on that thread.
RoversHead
10/04/2010, 3:43 PM
Sorry L.T.F.C .
L.T.F.C.
10/04/2010, 3:54 PM
Sorry L.T.F.C .
Cheers
RoversHead
10/04/2010, 4:01 PM
So you gonna make points and not back them up?
I made a point and backed it up with a mistake. By mistake. I rectified it. Move on.Nope Ive edited my second post and once again Im sorry it was cheap.but a little funny you must admit.
danthesaint
10/04/2010, 4:27 PM
great win for us last night ! well deserved imo . We have been playing some decent football in games and getting hammerd by a dodgy defence , if we can keep it tight we are capable of beating anyone on our day . We should have beaten bohs and dundalk in our games and we played fingal off the park in the first half then collapsed in the second . Pats played hoof ball all night long and no creativity in midfield . Great goal from a set piece from local boy Osbourne . Bring on rovers !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
serious lad what game did you go to last night
deserved...........to my memory it was the first and only chance at goal yaz had all nite.....
the ref didtn know there was 2 teams on the pitch either some of the decisions he made were mad, your time wasting was ridiculous also, matthew clearly set out for a draw at the start
no way you deserved to win tho, draw was a fair result but didnt happen.
on a pats note, we set out our stall completely wrong, that team that was put out was ideal against bohs away but not at home, ya should be attacking
lynchy is not a left back
couglan should have started and williams too..... he left it late to bring them on.... complete negative on our part, neither team wanted to play football
Jicked
10/04/2010, 4:29 PM
certainly outplayed ye and beat ye easily though....
Which would be exactly why I said they've got a pretty good team and will have quite a good season. How was that so hard to understand?
You may not like to believe it, but not everybody has an agenda where Rovers are involved, and not everybody plays up or plays down incidents in order to paint Rovers in a certain way. I for one couldn't give a f**k whether Rovers, Bohs, or any other Premier team wins or loses.
I absolutely do believe that, but you have to admit that there are certain people on here who do play up/down incidents to try to paint Shamrock Rovers in a bad light. That couldn't possibly be doubted by anyone.
What a lovely morning, sun is shining, birds are singing, and Bohs still can't win in Tallaght.
It's a good day for the world, a win for good over evil, happiness over misery. It's a good day to be alive.
serious lad what game did you go to last night
deserved...........to my memory it was the first and only chance at goal yaz had all nite.....
the ref didtn know there was 2 teams on the pitch either some of the decisions he made were mad, your time wasting was ridiculous also, matthew clearly set out for a draw at the start
no way you deserved to win tho, draw was a fair result but didnt happen.
on a pats note, we set out our stall completely wrong, that team that was put out was ideal against bohs away but not at home, ya should be attacking
lynchy is not a left back
couglan should have started and williams too..... he left it late to bring them on.... complete negative on our part, neither team wanted to play football
Eh ? nonsense tbh .we set out to play football like we always do under AM . Pats on the other hand set out to hoof the ball endlessly .You didnt get a kick of the ball for the first 30 mins , stewy byrne was pathetic as was ryan guy . Did he even get a kick of the ball ? Mahon messed up big time not playing williams imo and he paid the price for his tactics . Neither team had many clear cut chances , and as for the ref and linesman ! We didnt get anything from either in the second half ... HOOF BALL ATHLETIC .
salthill devon 0 monaghan 2 after 25 min brennan 11 & 12 min
**FrOsTy**
10/04/2010, 6:44 PM
Mons now 3-0 up Clancy with the 3rd
10/04/2010, 7:11 PM
Mons 4 nil up now. Brennan with his hattrick!
10/04/2010, 7:24 PM
5-1 now. Brennan from Peno but not sure who scored for Salthill yet
gufc2000
10/04/2010, 7:32 PM
Gilmore for Salthill
10/04/2010, 7:50 PM
6-1 now. Apparently Karl Bermingham owns 2 of those goals, Clancy one and Brennan 3. :D
juniorc
10/04/2010, 7:55 PM
Salthill Devon 1 - 6 Monaghan United (FT)
10/04/2010, 7:56 PM
Whooohooo! Nice one!!
Dundalkjames
10/04/2010, 8:23 PM
maybe monaghan were just very good?
less than 100 at drom for salthill game
gufc2000
10/04/2010, 9:33 PM
less than 100 at drom for salthill game
How much less?
PartySaint
10/04/2010, 10:28 PM
Eh ? nonsense tbh .we set out to play football like we always do under AM . Pats on the other hand set out to hoof the ball endlessly .You didnt get a kick of the ball for the first 30 mins , stewy byrne was pathetic as was ryan guy . Did he even get a kick of the ball ? Mahon messed up big time not playing williams imo and he paid the price for his tactics . Neither team had many clear cut chances , and as for the ref and linesman ! We didnt get anything from either in the second half ... HOOF BALL ATHLETIC .
Not a chance you were at the game on Friday if this is your view, Stuey was probably our best player maybe Conor Kenna could claim to be aswell, BOTH teams hoofed the ball the whole night the only player in the Drogs squad that actually took the ball down and tried to play was Gareth O'Conor, we dominated the second half trying to get the goal but didnt really create anything, draw would have been a fair result but thats football, well done on the win, hope yous can win again next week, Im still gutted tho
10/04/2010, 11:06 PM
Seriously, I've never seen a report as off as much as this one.
PartySaint has it spot on. We created about 5/6 half chances (mostly headers) but it was backs against forwards for the second half. Drogheda's only shot was the goal. Thats football though. Take your chances and you generally win
historynut
10/04/2010, 11:08 PM
Possibly Monaghan's biggest ever league win ? Probably bigest ever away win ?
10/04/2010, 11:45 PM
Possibly Monaghan's biggest ever league win ? Probably bigest ever away win ?
We beat Kildare County 6-1 last year too but at home so it mite be the biggest away win alright.
ndrog
11/04/2010, 11:33 AM
Seriously, I've never seen a report as off as much as this one.
PartySaint has it spot on. We created about 5/6 half chances (mostly headers) but it was backs against forwards for the second half. Drogheda's only shot was the goal. Thats football though. Take your chances and you generally win
Seriously lads if stewy was your man of the match there is something very wrong with your judgement ! anyway onwards and upwards !!!
11/04/2010, 6:19 PM
I know Bohs and Rovers fans might enjoy their slagging matches, but to fans of the other 20 league clubs, they're utterly tedious. There's separate Bohs and Rovers forums for that kind of rubbish; the rest of us aren't interested, so please keep the rows to there!
Ciaran W
11/04/2010, 7:46 PM
Does anybody Know if the setanta cup semi finals are on tele this week ? And not setanta sports 1 like it was for the bohs-linfield first leg >:(
RoversHead
11/04/2010, 8:06 PM
I know Bohs and Rovers fans might enjoy their slagging matches, but to fans of the other 20 league clubs, they're utterly tedious. There's separate Bohs and Rovers forums for that kind of rubbish; the rest of us aren't interested, so please keep the rows to there!If i was that late ffor work Id be sacked STU.
danthesaint
11/04/2010, 8:23 PM
Does anybody Know if the setanta cup semi finals are on tele this week ? And not setanta sports 1 like it was for the bohs-linfield first leg >:(
mondays isnt (7.45 KO),
saturdays is tho (5.15 KO)
think its just us and sligo this week lad, bohs and linfield is the following week i think
Ciaran W
11/04/2010, 9:11 PM
Alright and is the second leg in richmond or the showground ? Two league of ireland matches in 2 days :) nice
danthesaint
11/04/2010, 9:24 PM
Alright and is the second leg in richmond or the showground ? Two league of ireland matches in 2 days :) nice
sorry first leg is on tuesday
2nd leg is in showgrounds
saint dog
12/04/2010, 8:09 AM
jesus lads came on here to get a few match reports and updates from the week end games and all there is is childish behaviour from certain fans bickering and slagging each other and you said this , that and the other ,and my team is this and our crowd is better grow up lads
Its actually destroying the site as can be seen by the drop off in posts.
marinobohs
12/04/2010, 11:42 AM
sorry first leg is on tuesday
2nd leg is in showgrounds
Second leg of Bohs/Linfield semi is next Monday night (19th) in Windsor - 7.45 KO (I think). Not certain but think it is to be shown on SETANTA Ireland. score after the first leg was 2-1 Bohs. Away goals rule does not apply in SETANTA Cup
PartySaint
12/04/2010, 1:46 PM
Second leg of Bohs/Linfield semi is next Monday night (19th) in Windsor - 7.45 KO (I think). Not certain but think it is to be shown on SETANTA Ireland. score after the first leg was 2-1 Bohs. Away goals rule does not apply in SETANTA Cup
Youse bringning many up there marinobohs??
marinobohs
12/04/2010, 1:59 PM
Youse bringning many up there marinobohs??
dont know numbers yet but expect a few hundred. Difficult to guesstimate given the Monday night aspect (not usually a night that drags out the crowds) and the general lack off excitement about the SETANTA Cup. Club are running a bus up (leaving Dalymount at 4.30) for 15 euro and hopefully we will get a decent crowd. NBB are also running a bus up to the game and I expect a lot will travel independently by car.
danthesaint
12/04/2010, 2:26 PM
dont know numbers yet but expect a few hundred. Difficult to guesstimate given the Monday night aspect (not usually a night that drags out the crowds) and the general lack off excitement about the SETANTA Cup. Club are running a bus up (leaving Dalymount at 4.30) for 15 euro and hopefully we will get a decent crowd. NBB are also running a bus up to the game and I expect a lot will travel independently by car.
Did they linfield lad invite yaz to the supporters club??
yes, David invited all of the travelling supporters to the club, said that Pats and Cork(?) fans had been invited in previous years and that it had been good craic. Not sure what the uptake will be like.
marinobohs
12/04/2010, 3:14 PM
yea, Dave (I think) was on inviting us up to the supporters club. Not sure if the PSNI would be mad about this, I suspect the bus wll be straight in and out. Would like to go there for a jar (as I believe Cork and Drogs did) but probobly wont be an option this year :D Dan did Pats fans visit ?
(apols for repeating much of what SkStu said - great minds...)
Ciaran W
12/04/2010, 3:15 PM
Rovers-Shelbourne is on the 19th so i cant watch bohs game
danthesaint
12/04/2010, 3:18 PM
yea, Dave (I think) was on inviting us up to the supporters club. Not sure if the PSNI would be mad about this, I suspect the bus wll be straight in and out. Would like to go there for a jar (as I believe Cork and Drogs did) but probobly wont be an option this year :D Dan did Pats fans visit ?
(apols for repeating much of what SkStu said - great minds...)
nah, we were supposed to head up, but the PSNI said it would be too much of a risk, so we just drove up and back.
apparently there is a youtube vid of your man singing anti-catholic songs, probably just as well we didnt go up to their supporters club
yes, David invited all of the travelling supporters to the club, said that Pats and Cork(?) fans had been invited in previous years and that it had been good craic. Not sure what the uptake will be like.
We went there alright. Plenty of free food and Linfield fans buying us drink and a good sing song.
Good craic.
We went there alright. Plenty of free food and Linfield fans buying us drink and a good sing song.
Good craic.
good to hear - stuff like this is what the Setanta Cup should be about in my opinion.
marinobohs
12/04/2010, 3:28 PM
good to hear - stuff like this is what the Setanta Cup should be about in my opinion.
Yea, great oppurtunity to mix with new fans, hopefully in the future there will be more of this. we have had Linfield fans down in Dalymount bars and they were good crack. Not so sure Iwould be comfortable drinking in the Shankill Road but if the PSNI advised against it I doubt any of our fans will avail of the offer.
Dan, I think singing anti catholic songs is just part of Rangers/Linfield/Norn Ireland away trips (bit like our Wolfe Tones/ ballads sing songs around Ireland away games) I wouldn't read too much into it to be honest. the guy seems a decent enough bloke and his invite appeared genuine.
12/04/2010, 3:43 PM
I'm flying over on Monday morning (as I'm in Ayr this weekend so Prestwick is only 10 minutes away by train) and stopping overnight in Belfast.
Never been to Belfast before - quite looking forward to it
12/04/2010, 3:58 PM
Belfast is a cracking spot. Love it.