View Full Version : Tonights Games 9/4/2010

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6

09/04/2010, 10:36 PM
I only saw Pats once this season but they certainly seemed like their gameplan for the season is to be as dull as they want and just focus on being a very solid unit, certainly not a lot of flair, but considering the players they have that'll probably be the better option than trying to outplay teams.

thats a bit rich from a Rovers fan. Hasnt that been your gameplan for the last two seasons? We were brutal tonight but you lot were as shocking as ever.

hoops1
09/04/2010, 10:40 PM
We didnt really need to be any good. 3 games in Tallaght and you have had 1 shot a peno that ended up in Kiltipper

09/04/2010, 10:46 PM
you can go back three games if that makes you feel good but in the 16 years since you lot last won anything, Bohs have won 4 league titles, 2 FAI Cups and a League Cup. I know which i would take more pride in. Enjoy your win tonight, we'll regroup and get on with winning trophies.

Jicked
09/04/2010, 10:47 PM
thats a bit rich from a Rovers fan. Hasnt that been your gameplan for the last two seasons? We were brutal tonight but you lot were as shocking as ever.

No not really. We've got more dynamic players than Pats have in guys like Baker, Twigg, Sean O'Connor, Dennehy, Kavanagh etc. I'm not saying Pats have a bad team at all, and they'll do quite well this season if they stick to outworking teams the way they do, reminds me a lot of how Ireland play, and I wouldn't say the same for Rovers.

Could always check the doctored footage of the match back on the RTE website when they put it up.

Jaysus, not really on form tonight are we.

Gary Twigg nearly caused a riot, came on and stuck his fingers up at the fans, on more than one occasion then started making signs for the rest of the game, then the ball went out near our fans and dumbo made another gesture somebody tried to pull him into the fans, i think they grabbed his top anyway. And by the way he want not even getting abuse before he done it.

Hang on a sec, big bad Gary Twigg had been trying to start a riot by "making signs" at Bohs fans, sticking his fingers up at them, and then goes to retrieve the ball in front of the same bunch of gents and doesn't get abuse?

hoops1
09/04/2010, 10:47 PM
Next time we will play our first team.

09/04/2010, 10:50 PM
No not really. We've got more dynamic players than Pats have in guys like Baker, Twigg, Sean O'Connor, Dennehy, Kavanagh etc. I'm not saying Pats have a bad team at all, and they'll do quite well this season if they stick to outworking teams the way they do, reminds me a lot of how Ireland play, and I wouldn't say the same for Rovers.

yes, really. Long ball rubbish. More dynamic players? LOL. Baker FFS!

How would you describe your style of play under O'Neill out of interest?

WoodquayBoy
09/04/2010, 10:53 PM
Jesus that's an awkward looking fall for Rice

Will Mr O'Neill blame the pitch this time as well, or realise - just like SUllivan - that people can land/twist awkwardly on any surface.

superjohnny
09/04/2010, 10:55 PM
you can go back three games if that makes you feel good but in the 16 years since you lot last won anything, Bohs have won 4 league titles, 2 FAI Cups and a League Cup. I know which i would take more pride in. Enjoy your win tonight, we'll regroup and get on with winning trophies.

Same old ****** on this forum. Hijacked again. nobody gives a **** what you have or have not done. There are other teams in the league. Rovers can just say they have won more leagues and cups than you overall. so its a pointless argument. Turning into utd pool job it is.

Jicked
09/04/2010, 10:56 PM
Canadian TV must not have done any in-depth reports on Dessie last season, but he was fantastic and a world away from the guy who most should have been thrown on the scrap heap before the start of the season.

Under O'Neill we play good football only in fits and starts, when panicked we knock it long too often, because we've got such a good outlet in Twigg up top. When he's not there and we do that we suffer badly, thankfully he's back now and we also have Chris Turner and James Chambers who'll help give us a lot of drive from midfield.

sligo23
09/04/2010, 11:02 PM
Under O'Neill we play good football.
No you dont't, not even close to good football, you may have 'more dynamic players' but you don't use them to play football. It's all long balls and long throws into the box. When we played you at the start of the season we sat back and let you have the ball and the fact is you were clueless with it. You play on the counter, anyone can see that and its why you won tonight.

09/04/2010, 11:03 PM
Same old ****** on this forum. Hijacked again. nobody gives a **** what you have or have not done. There are other teams in the league. Rovers can just say they have won more leagues and cups than you overall. so its a pointless argument. Turning into utd pool job it is.

would you ever give over FFS. We have just played each other and are having a bit of banter. hoops1 made some comment about winning in Tallaght, i posted a response yet you want to blame me for "hijacking a thread" (how someone hijacks a mb thread is another question)? Put me on ignore or something if it bothers you that much. Otherwise just shut it. This crap is all you ever post - i think ive only read one post about a Bray game from you. Give over.

Canadian TV must not have done any in-depth reports on Dessie last season, but he was fantastic and a world away from the guy who most should have been thrown on the scrap heap before the start of the season.

What a stupid comment about canadian tv. What in depth reports have RTE done on Dessie Baker? Id disagree about your style. Granted youve seen more of Rovers than i have but anytime ive watched you online or on MNS (quite a bit) its been ugly.

oriel
09/04/2010, 11:03 PM
Decent second half by us, UCD played some good stuff in the first half though, top of the table maybe but there`ll be bigger games than this coming up, still a good start and very pleasing to note we are playing some really good stuff, with the ball on the ground. We`ve a very small squad, so any injuries/suspensions will obviously hit us hard, but we`ll enjoy the start, 10/10 for Foster thus far !

JJ Melligan and I have to say Stephen Maher were both excellent in the middle tonight. I think UCD will be fine this year, appear to be a much better side than those currently at the lower end of the table.

Jicked
09/04/2010, 11:06 PM
What a stupid comment about canadian tv. What in depth reports have RTE done on Dessie Baker? Id disagree about your style. Granted youve seen more of Rovers than i have but anytime ive watched you online or on MNS (quite a bit) its been ugly.

Well you seemed to dismiss Baker out of hand. Those of us who see him every week, or see him four or five games a season as opposition fans will have done (plus the games you watch on telly) would have told you that Baker have wound them up an awful lot last season, but he played great all season.

the-blue-harp
09/04/2010, 11:07 PM
rovers big center back price i think it is, terrific vision and passing ability...;) good old fashioned defender though, and he did his job at the end of the day.
chambers is a terrific player. dennehy will get better and better, seems a real talent. tonights result could kick start rovers season if half their team wasnt crocked after it!

hoops1
09/04/2010, 11:07 PM
We had only 1 centre forward an unfit one at that.

Jicked
09/04/2010, 11:09 PM
We had only 1 centre forward an unfit one at that.

And with Flynn going off injured, joining Sullivan and Sives on the injury list we now have no right backs

09/04/2010, 11:10 PM
Well you seemed to dismiss Baker out of hand. Those of us who see him every week, or see him four or five games a season as opposition fans will have done (plus the games you watch on telly) would have told you that Baker have wound them up an awful lot last season, but he played great all season.

look, my point, if you want to persist on this (presumably to distract from the football style argument), is that Baker is not dynamic. Kavanagh, sure, though he's been quiet this season so far. Ill even own up that Twigg is somewhat dynamic and Dennehy was your MOTM in my opinion. But Dessie Baker is nothing more than a washed up transexual. :)

Jicked
09/04/2010, 11:13 PM
Again, my point is that I'd have agreed Baker wasn't dynamic in the past, last year he made us tick going forward and formed a lethal partnership with Twigg which caused most defences huge trouble. He didn't play particularly well in his 3 times against Bohs (that I can remember) so if that's what you're basing your view on then you simply didn't see enough of him.

The Lep
09/04/2010, 11:15 PM
TOP OF THE TABLE, get in there.

We will try and do something about that next week ;)

09/04/2010, 11:16 PM
fair enough Jicked. I saw him maybe 4 or 5 times in total last year. Ive watched and hated him for years now though and that wont change. But ill start referring to him as dynamic dessie from now on... :)

now, whats your email address for that template?

Jicked
09/04/2010, 11:19 PM
fair enough Jicked. I saw him maybe 4 or 5 times in total last year. Ive watched and hated him for years now though and that wont change. But ill start referring to him as dynamic dessie from now on... :)

now, whats your email address for that template?

cantbeatus@tallaght.com

hoops1
09/04/2010, 11:21 PM
The will some day when they get used to playing in front of a big crowd.

The Lep
09/04/2010, 11:22 PM
If we play like we did in the second-half for the rest of the season we should be ok. It was a real case of two points dropped, but the 2nd half performance was the best we've played this year. Thought Flood and Sheppard combined well, and we did deserve a peno early on when Sheppard haad his shirt tugged.

Fingal were average at best, don't look like a team that will score alot of goals. We should have beaten them a cricket score really

I listened to the second half on galway bay fm and it sounded that Galway deserved a win. The stream went down at the end and i thought we had lost but good old errortel gave me the good news. It seemed that we got out a jail and gained a point we didnt deserve apart from not giving up at the end.
It sounded that there are reasons to cheer for with the Galway performance and maybe more to come.

09/04/2010, 11:23 PM
The will some day when they get used to playing in front of a big crowd.

shouldnt you be out actually enjoying this victory in real life or something?

well played Jicked (your post, not your team)

hoops1
09/04/2010, 11:25 PM

Id rather enjoy it with you.

Jicked
09/04/2010, 11:25 PM

Had a few pints in the Maldron afterwards and plenty before hand, early enough night to be up for the A-Team game at noon tomorrow in Tallaght. Quigley might still be wandering around the stadium in the morning looking for his first touch.

kdjaC
09/04/2010, 11:26 PM
http://homepage.eircom.net/~kdjac/DSCF1997.JPG

Anyone any clue what that means?

F4SU??

decent game , thought we should have won it 2nd half but missed our chances.

ref deserves applause for some WOW decisions.

09/04/2010, 11:26 PM
Id rather enjoy it with you.

quite sad for you then...

09/04/2010, 11:29 PM
http://homepage.eircom.net/~kdjac/DSCF1997.JPG

Anyone any clue what that means?

F4SU??

is it not F45U? Either way, not sure what it is/means.

on google - appears to be the Drogs Ultras group.

http://z6.invisionfree.com/UltrasTifosi/index.php?showtopic=7083

check out the link - its clazz...

Gareth
09/04/2010, 11:32 PM
Famous 45 Ultras - The name they give their fans. Drogheda is their Heroin......

kdjaC
09/04/2010, 11:38 PM
Shame that, was a Q of pats fans going over we thought they had some, theres a drought :(

09/04/2010, 11:43 PM
even when its clearly such bad gear?

http://www.droghedaunited.ie/gallery/2010/drogs_v_Bohemians_0310/14.jpg

Ciaran W
10/04/2010, 12:12 AM
Great win for rovers tonight :) well deserved

Mental Man
10/04/2010, 1:13 AM
Just for other people interested in what happens in the Domestic league outside of the usual Bohs-Rovers cat calling etc..

The Blues beat Limerick tonight at the RSC, thats 6 games in a row unbeaten and top of the Division too, happy days :jump:

10/04/2010, 1:21 AM
Just for other people interested in what happens in the Domestic league outside of the usual Bohs-Rovers cat calling etc..

First Division doesn't count iirc...

:massivesafetywinkjustincasesomegraveyardfanstarts gettingallparochialaboutit:

L.T.F.C.
10/04/2010, 3:16 AM
yes, really. Long ball rubbish.

Long ball was the only thing Bohs did tonight.

bullit
10/04/2010, 5:09 AM
bore us to death lads and blind us with faith,but look up!!!!!!!!!
we are running away with it
were do yous wanna meet? cos theres bulging on both sides
meanwhile dundalk win the leauge lol,end the leauge now!!

10/04/2010, 5:10 AM
Long ball was the only thing Bohs did tonight.

yeah, and if you read my other posts you'd notice i said that.

10/04/2010, 8:50 AM
Seems to be a less fevered reaction on here to a player being attacked at Tallaght Stadium as there was after the Pats game, how incredibly strange.

I don't think you can compare the two. A fan rambles onto the pitch and up to a Pats player with no stewards in sight, versus a number of Bohs fans trying and failing to lean far enough over a wall/railing to get at Twigg.

You may not like to believe it, but not everybody has an agenda where Rovers are involved, and not everybody plays up or plays down incidents in order to paint Rovers in a certain way. I for one couldn't give a f**k whether Rovers, Bohs, or any other Premier team wins or loses.

RoversHead
10/04/2010, 9:18 AM
Can someone put up the ucd teamsheet from last night for me ,cheers in advance.

White Horse
10/04/2010, 9:26 AM
Can someone put up the ucd teamsheet from last night for me ,cheers in advance.

Billy Brennan (G)
Andrew Boyle (D)
Evan McMillan (D)
Ciaran Nangle (D)
Brian Shortall (D)
Greg Bolger (M)
Paul Corry (M)
Peter McMahon (M)
David McMillan (M)
Ciaran Kilduff (F)
Graham Rusk (F)

hoopy
10/04/2010, 9:31 AM
What a lovely morning, sun is shining, birds are singing, and Bohs still can't win in Tallaght. Hopefully Nutsy continues to play the two crabs in midfield, and teams continue to play five in midfield against them. They'll struggle to beat anyone the way they're set up. Finally, on I suppose a sad note for the league, we witnessed the rapid disintegration of Owen Heary last night. One of the best defenders I've seen in the league, now reduced to being Mr Average. Age waits for no man.

ndrog
10/04/2010, 12:13 PM
great win for us last night ! well deserved imo . We have been playing some decent football in games and getting hammerd by a dodgy defence , if we can keep it tight we are capable of beating anyone on our day . We should have beaten bohs and dundalk in our games and we played fingal off the park in the first half then collapsed in the second . Pats played hoof ball all night long and no creativity in midfield . Great goal from a set piece from local boy Osbourne . Bring on rovers !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

White Horse
10/04/2010, 12:35 PM
Great goal from a set piece from local boy Osbourne.

Since when did Drogheda include mid Louth? Local my backside. It's Osborne by the way.

ndrog
10/04/2010, 12:49 PM
Since when did Drogheda include mid Louth? Local my backside. It's Osborne by the way.

Whats your problem ffs ? Hes a local lad that comes from togher that has come from our youth set up . You cant get much more local than togher ! If he was playing for dundawk hed be local though wouldnt he ? And thanks for the spelling lesson .

White Horse
10/04/2010, 12:56 PM
Whats your problem ffs ? Hes a local lad that comes from togher that has come from our youth set up . You cant get much more local than togher ! If he was playing for dundawk hed be local though wouldnt he ? And thanks for the spelling lesson .

He's from Annagassan, which is not "local to Drogheda". It's full of Dundalk fans. He was edcated in the CBS in Dundalk. You are talking rubbish.

ndrog
10/04/2010, 1:20 PM
Hes from togher which is very local to drogheda . And for your information i was sat with 2 ardee men last night who have been watching us for over 20 years . I also traveled to the game with someone from mid louth , we also have supporters who travel from Dunleer . That ok with you my high and mighty friend ? Your club and town dont have a divine right when it comes to supporting a football team . Drogheda is as local to these areas as dundawk is .

L.T.F.C.
10/04/2010, 1:40 PM
Hes from togher which is very local to drogheda . And for your information i was sat with 2 ardee men last night who have been watching us for over 20 years . I also traveled to the game with someone from mid louth , we also have supporters who travel from Dunleer . That ok with you my high and mighty friend ? Your club and town dont have a divine right when it comes to supporting a football team . Drogheda is as local to these areas as dundawk is .

great win for us last night ! well deserved imo . We have been playing some decent football in games and getting hammerd by a dodgy defence , if we can keep it tight we are capable of beating anyone on our day . We should have beaten bohs and dundalk in our games and we played fingal off the park in the first half then collapsed in the second . Pats played hoof ball all night long and no creativity in midfield . Great goal from a set piece from local boy Osbourne . Bring on rovers !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Slow afternoon is it boys?

L.T.F.C.
10/04/2010, 1:41 PM
yeah, and if you read my other posts you'd notice i said that.

I'm sorry but I don't have time to be sifting through posts upon posts of Rovers Bohs mumbo jumbo to find one line!

Lamper.sffc
10/04/2010, 1:43 PM
If we play like we did in the second-half for the rest of the season we should be ok. It was a real case of two points dropped, but the 2nd half performance was the best we've played this year. Thought Flood and Sheppard combined well, and we did deserve a peno early on when Sheppard haad his shirt tugged.

Fingal were average at best, don't look like a team that will score alot of goals. We should have beaten them a cricket score really

I listened to the second half on galway bay fm and it sounded that Galway deserved a win. The stream went down at the end and i thought we had lost but good old errortel gave me the good news. It seemed that we got out a jail and gained a point we didnt deserve apart from not giving up at the end.
It sounded that there are reasons to cheer for with the Galway performance and maybe more to come.

We should have lost by 3 or 4 goals maybe more. We where muck in the second half and Galway where very good. Our defense was terrible. We where missing our two left backs and instead of just replacing them with Quinn who has done alright there. We completely change our defense to accomodate Paisley. He played alongside maher in the centre and Browne played at right back with O Brien played at left back. It was a shambles and to top it all we had quigley in goals doing his best to flap and drop every ball put into the box. Not sure why Clarke wasnt in goals but I hope its not a long term thing. We really missed Mc Faul last night as well.

Fair play to Galway, they where very good and played some good fooball. They should have nothing to worry about based on that performance.