View Full Version : Limerick V Cork
LK37oldskool
02/03/2010, 12:21 PM
Just read that Munster have moved their game against Leinster to the same night as we were due to play Cork.this could have been a big money spinner for the club as its Good Friday and not a lot happening but now the rugby match will take a large chunk of support away.Should Limerick seek to get this game moved to the saturday maybe?
BigfeetBigsocks
02/03/2010, 12:23 PM
Yes, then least your Ying ye yang yuddle what ever the beer's name is , can promote itself on the night , :-)
02/03/2010, 1:53 PM
Was just talking about this in the links, fixtures thread above. Looks like its going to have to be a choice of one or the other for me and a few of my mates. Tis a balls. Could affect travelling Cork fans who might be atending the Munster match too. Might not be much of a overlap there though.
Monkfish
02/03/2010, 8:47 PM
Great op for the club, use your heads lads.
Try our very best to get the game ko to around 3/4pm
Beer/BBQ night
Everyones a winner
Pablo Escobar
02/03/2010, 9:00 PM
Munster match won't affect our travelling support....which I predict will be big. But, a few pints beforehand would be nice..........
BigfeetBigsocks
02/03/2010, 9:58 PM
Beer/BBQ night
Everyones a winner
Unless Jackman has became a restuarant or a hotel facility, think it will be a non alcholic beer/BBQ that would be one dull BBQ.
02/03/2010, 9:58 PM
Beer/BBQ night
Everyones a winner
Was thinking that about the early kick off. Would be a great way to entice people to pop in. Most the Munster fan base at the match friday evening will be from Limerick and Cork anyway so no reason that with the right advertising you couldn't get a few more people in the gate for the footie. What are the chances of limerick moving for an early kick off though? They couldn't have it too early either as a lot of people would still be working Good Friday.
02/03/2010, 10:00 PM
Unless Jackman has became a restuarant or a hotel facility, think it will be a non alcholic beer/BBQ that would be one dull BBQ.
Limerick wouldn't be selling drink though. The offer the last time was match program beer and hotdog for €5, so your paying for the program and hotdog but the beer is "free".
abbeyvale
02/03/2010, 10:03 PM
Was thinking that about the early kick off. Would be a great way to entice people to pop in. Most the Munster fan base at the match friday evening will be from Limerick and Cork anyway so no reason that with the right advertising you couldn't get a few more people in the gate for the footie. What are the chances of limerick moving for an early kick off though? They couldn't have it too early either as a lot of people would still be working Good Friday.
Limerick FC v Cork 16:00
Munster v Leinster 20:05
BigfeetBigsocks
02/03/2010, 10:13 PM
Limerick wouldn't be selling drink though. The offer the last time was match program beer and hotdog for €5, so your paying for the program and hotdog but the beer is "free".
What's the normal price of program and hot dog?
02/03/2010, 10:19 PM
Program €3 and i don't normally get hotdogs so wouldn't know.
oscar
02/03/2010, 10:22 PM
Beer/BBQ night
Everyones a winner
now you're talking
02/03/2010, 10:25 PM
What's the normal price of program and hot dog?
€5:50
harpin
03/03/2010, 9:03 AM
Not a Munster fan but know they will be selling alcohol in the ground, it shouldn't be an enticement but obviously it is so an earlier kick off with Monkfish's idea of beer bbq would attract a few who normally wouldn't go
03/03/2010, 9:28 AM
Not a Munster fan but know they will be selling alcohol in the ground
Ya something about because its an all ticket event its a private event so they are allowed sell alcohol.
BigfeetBigsocks
03/03/2010, 9:30 AM
Thanks , just wanted to know what change to bring :-) actually sad the situation that brought derry and cork to the league but should make the league a lot more interesting, entertaining & competitive to watch and i think anything below a top four for Limerick this year would mean no prgression even a step backwards. Looking forward to first home game
abbeyvale
03/03/2010, 10:06 AM
so 2.50euro for a hot dog? what are the other prices up there?
Minerals?
Tea/Coffee?
Soup?
Handy to know,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,thanks
bluewhitearmy
03/03/2010, 4:18 PM
Thanks , just wanted to know what change to bring :-) actually sad the situation that brought derry and cork to the league but should make the league a lot more interesting, entertaining & competitive to watch and i think anything below a top four for Limerick this year would mean no prgression even a step backwards. Looking forward to first home game
Wouldnt go that far we finished 20 something points behind 3rd last year cant expect to jump straight up to top 4 not saying we wont but wont be that easy.
oscar
04/03/2010, 12:29 PM
are you going to watch a game or bring your missus out for a meal:):):)
LK37oldskool
04/03/2010, 12:48 PM
interesting concept Oscar! wonder if there's any profit to be made in it!
abbeyvale
04/03/2010, 5:49 PM
are you going to watch a game or bring your missus out for a meal:):):)
both hopefully, it''ll keep her quiet while i watch the game
abbeyvale
04/03/2010, 5:50 PM
interesting concept Oscar! wonder if there's any profit to be made in it!
you've lost me!!!!!
LK37oldskool
05/03/2010, 12:06 PM
you've lost me!!!!!
if the club could make a few bob floggin proper food to Oscar and his missus!
Monkfish
07/03/2010, 7:01 PM
Been informed the club is attempting to have the game switched to 4pm and have pints available.
Possibility of beer for every game also. (I $hit you not)
Cant say their not trying lads.
07/03/2010, 7:11 PM
Would be class if they did. Should get the word around below in Cork too if this does happen.
Monkfish
07/03/2010, 7:18 PM
Would be class if they did. Should get the word around below in Cork too if this does happen.
Game could promoted weeks in advance if the club had it confirmed, they wont say anything officially unless they get the go ahead however. Lets not hold our breath either lads, not like anyone will go out of their way to do the club any favours. We would have to put an R before the F and C for that to happen. :rolleyes:
coolroe
08/03/2010, 1:31 PM
Any update on this match being changed? Know quite a few cork lads who are going to thomond that would love to go see City before hand.
desmondoldie
10/03/2010, 8:08 AM
Lads they only downside that I can see to the 4 o clock game is that there could be more Cork people at the game than Limerick people.
Monkfish
10/03/2010, 7:34 PM
Lads they only downside that I can see to the 4 o clock game is that there could be more Cork people at the game than Limerick people.
Every bum, cider baby and Buckfast sucker from Limerick (and thats just the sc) will go to the game if theres pints available, either way it would be a win win situation for the club.
12/03/2010, 8:46 AM
Game could promoted weeks in advance if the club had it confirmed, they wont say anything officially unless they get the go ahead however. Lets not hold our breath either lads, not like anyone will go out of their way to do the club any favours. We would have to put an R before the F and C for that to happen. :rolleyes: But only real proper rugby clubs like Shannon and Young Munsters are RFC's....Garryowen on the other hand are known as Garryowen FC...
Monkfish
20/03/2010, 12:49 PM
Garryowen on the other hand are known as Garryowen FC...
Or GFC as the massive letters on their club hoodies tell us.
Game KO confirmed for 4.30pm
Ciarán R
23/03/2010, 12:24 PM
Or GFC as the massive letters on their club hoodies tell us.
Game KO confirmed for 4.30pm
Any word on whether there'll be an ol bit of beer going at the game? Think I may have roped in three more "first timers", but that'll definitely seal the deal:rolleyes:
Not sure about the beer now, ;) But KO Is 4:30, Posters started being handed out Yesterday, and bus times were changed last Friday before the match so Advertising is already underway.
LK37oldskool
23/03/2010, 4:46 PM
where can you get posters,are they available to download? could do with a few to put up around the job.
Castletroy_Blue
23/03/2010, 8:09 PM
where can you get posters,are they available to download? could do with a few to put up around the job.
Would also be happy to put some up around campus, and at work too, if some were available to download from the limerickfc.ie website.
They are due to be uploaded on the Limerick FC Website, When I get around to doing the Fanzone (Other things are taking priority over it for the moment, Mainly in regards to sponsors being put on the website), But they are availible out in Knockailisheen aswel.
But I may aswel just update that link (When I get the PDF Version of the poster), for download until I get around to updating the Fanzone. So I'll try get that done tomorrow morning. (Check back around noon it should be done).
Okay, Its been updated so the Cork Game Poster can be downloaded Here (http://limerickfc.ie/fanzone/downloads.html)
LK37oldskool
24/03/2010, 12:24 PM
Thanks Xile!
27/03/2010, 9:42 AM
here we go :) Limerick Football Club Vs Cork City Friends Of the Rebel Army Society Co-operative Football Club......:eat: 4:30 good friday jackman park.....free buses from Foynes, Newcatlewest and Ennis.
oh and i belive the wall on the cie side has been done :D
harpin
27/03/2010, 10:40 AM
Hopefully a big crowd and a great atmosphere and a win
Bringing up a lad who hasn't been in 3 years and a West Ham fan from Southend his first game hopefully they'll enjoy it and come to more
Yep they are done, and don't forget We can drink on good Friday :D
27/03/2010, 11:43 AM
Any guess at what the crowd should be like for this lads? Hopefully a good atmosphere and good game
There should be a good crowd considering that we won last night, aswel as the pubs being open. How many of you lads are coming up?
Monkfish
27/03/2010, 1:04 PM
Any guess at what the crowd should be like for this lads? Hopefully a good atmosphere and good game
Well over a thousand if the weather is ok, if not our floating fan base will feck off to the pub and wait for the egg chasing. Large Cork support fully expected so should be pushing a thousand either way.
There should be a good crowd considering that we won last night, aswel as the pubs being open. How many of you lads are coming up?
I'd be disappointed if it was less than the 200 we had in athlone but hopefully more.
A lot of families off work, a fair few doing the double header and last night's performance should create a bit of buzz about it.
I'd be disappointed if it was less than the 200 we had in athlone but hopefully more.
A lot of families off work, a fair few doing the double header and last night's performance should create a bit of buzz about it.
And they can have a drink, and watch the Rugby because its only in Limerick <3
abbeyvale
27/03/2010, 5:37 PM
here we go :) Limerick Football Club Vs Cork City Friends Of the Rebel Army Society Co-operative Football Club......:eat: 4:30 good friday jackman park.....free buses from Foynes, Newcatlewest and Ennis.
oh and i belive the wall on the cie side has been done :D
Did LFC get the alcohol lisence passed for the Cork game?
I'm not sure, but all the bars have anyway.
L37Ultra
27/03/2010, 7:38 PM
I'm not sure, but all the bars have anyway.
Not until 6 though.
Monkfish
27/03/2010, 11:41 PM
My intel sources have me told that there will be a large amount of 'neutral observers' from near and far at the game. The lure of a sporting double header along with the bars being open has made Limerick the place to be on Good Friday.