View Full Version : Limerick V Cork

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4

Pablo Escobar
02/04/2010, 5:20 AM
I could definitely see us having more than 300. We had 2 buses in Athlone and over 200 fans. 4 buses this time and it's a lot closer......

Xile
02/04/2010, 9:45 AM
I had a few calls in the Office about tickets etc. from Cork people - Who are traveling not on buses.

LK37oldskool
02/04/2010, 12:17 PM
I can see this game being delayed till after 4.30, as the weather picks up lots more will make up there minds nearer kick off(i've certainly spoken to a few who are still undecided -not regular goers) and with the entrance being such a bottleneck it could be mayhem.Hopefully a big crowd and a good result for us will push our season on.

Ciarán R
02/04/2010, 12:25 PM
I can see this game being delayed till after 4.30, as the weather picks up lots more will make up there minds nearer kick off(i've certainly spoken to a few who are still undecided -not regular goers) and with the entrance being such a bottleneck it could be mayhem.Hopefully a big crowd and a good result for us will push our season on.

Can see that happening alright. 3 mates of mine who I don't have ever been to a Limerick game before are coming along for a taste this evening...Hopefully, the performance will make them come back!

Castletroy_Blue
02/04/2010, 12:29 PM
Hopefully weather keeps up until at least after the match is over, and a tasty 4-2 victory to the mighty Limerick. Good times.

thomas72
02/04/2010, 6:00 PM
limerick oscar trainer team 1 cork city 3

shocking no creative play what so ever all limerick did in the whole 90mins was hoof the ball forward alot of players no league of ireland standard sorry to say.

there were people leaving at half time it was so poor

Bonovox
02/04/2010, 7:04 PM
Another few performances like that and we'll be bringing our junior players home.

LK37oldskool
02/04/2010, 7:12 PM
Totally gutted with that performance.Really dont have the players to compete this season i'm afraid.Scully has a lot to answer for - no excuses! He had a decent budget and an excellent pre season and we got stuffed by a team that did'nt exist a week before the season started. 2 big game in front of great crowds - todays was superb -and they bottled it. It wont be long until they'll be playin in front of a couple hundred again. I'm hoppin mad !

Limk_FamilyGuy
02/04/2010, 7:16 PM
Actually very little created by either side. Two of their goals were from nothing free kicks. Organisation is supposed to be Scully's strongpoint. How hard is it to mark up in the penalty area?

Amazing how quiet the whole game was - bearing in mind the bumper crowd of 1400+

The goals we conceded were very very soft and to be honest we could have conceded three in the first 20 against Longford as well. Let's hope Conor and Paddy get fit soon.............

bluewhitearmy
02/04/2010, 8:08 PM
Everytime we get a crowd they seem to make it their business to make sure they never come back not only do they lose but they are terrible. It was clear to see that getting the ball down and playing it was the way to go the only people that couldn't see that was the players.

Castletroy_Blue
02/04/2010, 9:20 PM
What a disappointment. Massive crowd, and we were borderline awful. Plenty left early and I doubt they will be back. Was behind the goal Robbie scored in - What a header and cross for the goal.

Now let me get on to Boyle. The lad hasn't set the footballing world alight this season really, and he appears to be lacking in confidence more and more as the weeks go by. Today on several occasions, Kelly let rip at Boyle, particularly on one occasion on the touchline as they both tried to clear a ball and failed. What good is that going to do Boyler, Mr Kelly? Bit of encouragement may help the lad, as he seemed scared to try some of the simplest passes today - Opting to hoof forward instead.

Roll on Waterford... :(

thomas72
02/04/2010, 9:22 PM
alot of limerick supporters beside me said they would never set foot in jackman park again pike rovers would give that cork team a better game

bluewhitearmy
02/04/2010, 9:52 PM
What a disappointment. Massive crowd, and we were borderline awful. Plenty left early and I doubt they will be back. Was behind the goal Robbie scored in - What a header and cross for the goal.

Now let me get on to Boyle. The lad hasn't set the footballing world alight this season really, and he appears to be lacking in confidence more and more as the weeks go by. Today on several occasions, Kelly let rip at Boyle, particularly on one occasion on the touchline as they both tried to clear a ball and failed. What good is that going to do Boyler, Mr Kelly? Bit of encouragement may help the lad, as he seemed scared to try some of the simplest passes today - Opting to hoof forward instead.

Roll on Waterford... :(

Both should go back to where they came from.

bluewhitearmy
02/04/2010, 10:09 PM
where's gael353 surprised his not on defending limerick's poor performance,he will blame every one from the officals to the tea girls

Seriously doubt he will be defending them.I know us up in the corner are sick to death of the same thing every year starting to see why people stay away.

Its as clear as day that Boyler is not a defender and putting him left back when he doesn't use his left leg at all is a joke.

bluewhitearmy
02/04/2010, 10:19 PM
i never seen limerick play so bad scully should of sticking on robbie alot earlier he started to cause cork alot of trouble when he came on and don't worry gael353 will defend limerick tonight

Fully agree we were doing nothing up top why wait so long.

fc hammer
02/04/2010, 10:28 PM
Scully should go simple as, the players he brought in are not up to standard, it was embarrassing to have to watch that rubbish tonight.

SeniorBlue
02/04/2010, 10:30 PM
i never seen limerick play so bad scully should of sticking on robbie alot earlier he started to cause cork alot of trouble when he came on and don't worry gael353 will defend limerick tonight

Typical crap out of you redcardrory, you look at Cork tonight and a very proud club who have bounced back from a very traumatic pre season and you look at their support tonight who applauded their players throughout the game. You as a Limerickman and the others that have now decided on the basis on two performances that Limerick are crap should not bother going anymore and definately don't comment on something you know nothing about.

Now i have no agenda here and i would bet i'm going to Limerick games alot longer than you but what i will say is that Limerick deserve support regardless of whether they are doing well or not, they are your local team, your city and you should support them. The club have made massive strides and i have criticised them in the past but for people to come on sayin they will never go again after tonight then fine don't but don't what they are trying to do, either support them or just stay off the site.

Tonight was bad and Derry was poor but its not always about winning and i believe for one that as long as the club is stable then we have a chance. Scully has done what he can wheeling and dealing but obviously does not have the budget of Derry Waterford Shels and Cork and for the time being we have to live with that and just get behind the lads. Its a pity Limerick people just turn out in numbers when results are going well and then decide they are not supporters when results go bad

I for one will be there for the next home game and any true supporter will be too, i support Limerick in whatever code, successful or not and the club deserves support if they are making the effort off the pitch.

bluewhitearmy
02/04/2010, 10:31 PM
Think its a bit early to be saying that to be honest but things have to pick up and fast its grand the 2 wins last 2 weeks but everytime we have a big game and a big crowd we mess it up. We never get on an unbeaten run like other teams.

bluewhitearmy
02/04/2010, 10:36 PM
Paul is not allowed play for us because of work commitments. And SeniorBlue i go to all games home and away have only missed one game this year that was the pre season game in Mayo. And i will be there next week in Waterford but making excusess has gone on long enough every time we have the chance to really start a challenge and a crowd comes out we mess it up simple as.

SeniorBlue
02/04/2010, 10:42 PM
Paul is not allowed play for us because of work commitments. And SeniorBlue i go to all games home and away have only missed one game this year that was the pre season game in Mayo. And i will be there next week in Waterford but making excusess has gone on long enough every time we have the chance to really start a challenge and a crowd comes out we mess it up simple as.

I'm not disputing that, i'm just saying its great when we are doing well and challenging but you either support a club or not, and its everyones choice whether to go or not to games, but in good times and bad every club needs a good strong core of supporters and my example ws cork tonight, they had a fantastic support and prove that even when their club is in the doldrums they are still 100% behind it

bluewhitearmy
02/04/2010, 10:42 PM
No hes fit again but hes an accountant and didn't have the time to commit to playing for us.

bluewhitearmy
02/04/2010, 10:44 PM
I'm not disputing that, i'm just saying its great when we are doing well and challenging but you either support a club or not, and its everyones choice whether to go or not to games, but in good times and bad every club needs a good strong core of supporters and my example ws cork tonight, they had a fantastic support and prove that even when their club is in the doldrums they are still 100% behind it

Its easier to stick around for the bad times when you have had god times in recent years to go with it.
They have had league and cup wins and european games in recent years.
We have had 16 years of 1st division crap theres the difference.

SeniorBlue
02/04/2010, 10:49 PM
Its easier to stick around for the bad times when you have had god times in recent years to go with it.
They have had league and cup wins and european games in recent years.
We have had 16 years of 1st division crap theres the difference.

We had a great night at the brandywell in the league cup win in those barren years!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

bluewhitearmy
02/04/2010, 10:52 PM
Yes that 1 cup followed by failure after failure after failure. Remember the Brandywell in the play-offs?

bluewhitearmy
02/04/2010, 10:55 PM
and by the way seniorblue scully is only hanging around untill his dream job comes up in dublin and even limerick fc members will tell you that we should hire a local boy who knows the players and can get the best out of those players too many yes men in limerick,and all those members of limerick who get in for nothing should start paying to get in for matchs i counted at least thirty five who got in for free that 350 euros lost

Dont think there is anyone local good enough tbf.
Those people that get in free there wouldn't be a club to go and watch without them.

SeniorBlue
02/04/2010, 10:57 PM
alocal manager won that cup with limerick noel o connor now manager of wexford youths

Lads get a grip will ye i don't care who manages the team or where they are from, i support Limerick fotball club and thats all i'm saying, ye are just moaners, ye moan abut everything, and thats not support

bluewhitearmy
02/04/2010, 11:01 PM
Who are the lads did i say anything about the manager?
Moan about everything its about time people stopped settling for crap and thinking that finishing 5th was good enough.
You can say nothing about my support of the club the amount of money i have spent and the work i have done for them i have the right to be annoyed and so does anyone else that watched that today unless they are happy to settle for finishing nowhere again.

bluewhitearmy
02/04/2010, 11:10 PM
Wouldn't take any of them being honest.
I'll have to take your word for that i never take any notice.

bluewhitearmy
02/04/2010, 11:14 PM
We will see some players Sunday that are better then some with us.

02/04/2010, 11:16 PM
Depressing.....

We need more experience. I know people say experience costs more but surely one or two players could be around. We can't sit and hope players can come back from injury and perform or put out a load of young players and hope they can do it. I don't know whats happened Tracey this season but from what i've seen so far, the matches just seem to be passing him by.

bluewhitearmy
02/04/2010, 11:20 PM
Depressing.....

We need more experience. I know people say experience costs more but surely one or two players could be around. We can't sit and hope players can come back from injury and perform or put out a load of young players and hope they can do it. I don't know whats happened Tracey this season but from what i've seen so far, the matches just seem to be passing him by.

Few of us were saying that today.
Dave Ryan needs to relax when he gets the all gives it away a lot from just hoofing it as soon as he gets it.

bluewhitearmy
02/04/2010, 11:21 PM
scully should have nver left colbert walk away theres experience

Was no hope of him staying he doesn't get on with Scully.

abbeyvale
02/04/2010, 11:28 PM
Have to say that today was a poor performance, and with Hughes and Boyle at full backs they are wasted.

Good attendance tonight (just over 1400) but we really do need some experienced heads on the field, asap.

Has Clarke got off the mark yet this season? I think Robbie Kelleher should be given a chance, maybe even a start on Sunday in the MSC or Tuesday week in the League Cup, or maybe even a start in both games........If Robbie gets games, he'll score goals, simpe as.........

bluewhitearmy
02/04/2010, 11:28 PM
We need more strength in midfield too just what Wayne has.

bluewhitearmy
02/04/2010, 11:30 PM
Have to say that today was a poor performance, and with Hughes and Boyle at full backs they are wasted.

Good attendance tonight (just over 1400) but we really do need some experienced heads on the field, asap.

Has Clarke got off the mark yet this season? I think Robbie Kelleher should be given a chance, maybe even a start on Sunday in the MSC or Tuesday week in the League Cup, or maybe even a start in both games........If Robbie gets games, he'll score goals, simpe as.........

Clarkey hasn't scored yet but he has been doing a lot of work to help JT in fairness to him.

bluewhitearmy
02/04/2010, 11:36 PM
Still haven't heard anything.
If we don't get an answer soon should move on to someone else we don't have time to be waiting around.

abbeyvale
02/04/2010, 11:36 PM
Clarkey hasn't scored yet but he has been doing a lot of work to help JT in fairness to him.

I agree with you there, but, ask yourself this question...................would you prefer a striker that does a lot of work but barely scores or a striker that does f*** all work but scores regularly?

Maybe Clarkey should become more greedy, yes he is a fine player and a nice guy, but how long can he be kept in the side without scoring???

A strikers job is to score goals, simple as that.

Robbie was on the pitch no more than 25mins tonight yet he scored and looked very hungry, thats exectly what we need.....................

bluewhitearmy
02/04/2010, 11:40 PM
I agree with you there, but, ask yourself this question...................would you prefer a striker that does a lot of work but barely scores or a striker that does f*** all work but scores regularly?

Maybe Clarkey should become more greedy, yes he is a fine player and a nice guy, but how long can he be kept in the side without scoring???

A strikers job is to score goals, simple as that.

Robbie was on the pitch no more than 25mins tonight yet he scored and looked very hungry, thats exectly what we need.....................

Think your right there may be time to give Robbie a start.

abbeyvale
02/04/2010, 11:43 PM
scully should try play robbie and clarke up front with jt just behind them some combo there give any defenders headaches

Now your talking,

bluewhitearmy
02/04/2010, 11:45 PM
scully should try play robbie and clarke up front with jt just behind them some combo there give any defenders headaches

It would be easy to do just drop Hickey and move JT back.

bluewhitearmy
02/04/2010, 11:58 PM
Not as if we played so well that people cant be dropped people should be dropped.

abbeyvale
03/04/2010, 12:13 AM
Not as if we played so well that people cant be dropped people should be dropped.

If we got Paddy Purcell back, along with the signing of Willie John Boland and then gave Robbie Kelleher a few starts up front, then that would give us a lot more experience right through the spine of the team.

03/04/2010, 12:24 AM
If we got Paddy Purcell back, along with the signing of Willie John Boland and then gave Robbie Kelleher a few starts up front, then that would give us a lot more experience right through the spine of the team.

I hate to say it but one of the main problems we've had the last couple of years is that we can't depend on Purcell anymore because of injuries. I wish he could get back to full fitness and get a good run in the team but sadly every time he comes back from injury he seems to be out again soon after. Robbie deserves a run in the team but he wouldn't last 90minutes doing the work he did when he came on today. I think Tierney needs to be commended on his performance. He was one of the only Limerick players that looked of any quality through out the game and he worked his socks off. White also did well despite Limerick conceding 3 goals. Judge was ok in parts of the game. Outside of that i thought everyone else was poor. Clarke let the Cork defence boss him around way too much. He's better than what he showed today and is a big strong lad that should have caused Rogers loads of problems. Great cross by Stanley? and good finish by Kelleher.

We need another experienced centre half and midfielder end of story.

ped_ped
03/04/2010, 12:32 AM
We need another experienced centre half and midfielder end of story.

This. Very irritating game to watch today, especially in front of such a large crowd.

03/04/2010, 12:33 AM
lets hope scully can go around and watch players in local leagues haven't seen him at any matchs to look at local talent that would give him the players he needs

He needs players that have played League of Ireland before not more local junior lads that are going to have to be tried to see how they get on. Plenty of local players already in the team.

Monkfish
03/04/2010, 1:35 AM
Gutless, absolutley gutless today, im disgusted with most of the players today and serious questions are being asked of them by fans.
Same old story in front of a big crowd, Cork were ok but we made them look good. fair play to Robbie and Kav when they came on. Also fair play to the Cork fans who came in big numbers and who conducted themselves in a decent manner.

03/04/2010, 2:40 AM
Gutless, absolutley gutless today, im disgusted with most of the players today and serious questions are being asked of them by fans.
Same old story in front of a big crowd, Cork were ok but we made them look good. fair play to Robbie and Kav when they came on. Also fair play to the Cork fans who came in big numbers and who conducted themselves in a decent manner.

big time agreement here, as i keep my a r s e to the wall in case i get rode by redcardrory... how the hell could i come on here and defend the performance of the team today?certain players have opened to door rather early for an immidiate release.

who are these 35 members who get in for free rory?

thomas72
03/04/2010, 8:56 AM
a couple of points

1) why are limerick not allowed look or sign any good pike players they have some players that would get in that limerick team do pike and limerick have some sort of agreement i think they do think back did limerick ever get any players off pike??

2) will JT be with the club much longer he can clearly play at a higher level big club will be knocking at he door soon and who would blame him for moving on

3) clarke is an excellant junior player but not LOI IMO thoughts?

4) john boyle is not a left full and is getting roasted week in week out not blaming john i blame scully.

5) lyons is wreckless and is very very lucky not to of seen red AGAIN yesterday a trwo footed tackle lucky to only get yellow. his nickname should be red

Xile
03/04/2010, 10:18 AM
and by the way seniorblue scully is only hanging around untill his dream job comes up in dublin and even limerick fc members will tell you that we should hire a local boy who knows the players and can get the best out of those players too many yes men in limerick,and all those members of limerick who get in for nothing should start paying to get in for matchs i counted at least thirty five who got in for free that 350 euros lost

Just thought I'd point out - Scully is possibly one of the best managers in Ireland, so no point in getting someone local who wouldn't have as much experience then him.

Also I'd like to point out to everyone, unlike most people - Scully didn't spend all of his budget during the Pre-Season, he still has enough to sign more good players, when he finds them.

kev08
03/04/2010, 10:49 AM
a couple of points

1) why are limerick not allowed look or sign any good pike players they have some players that would get in that limerick team do pike and limerick have some sort of agreement i think they do think back did limerick ever get any players off pike??

2) will JT be with the club much longer he can clearly play at a higher level big club will be knocking at he door soon and who would blame him for moving on

3) clarke is an excellant junior player but not LOI IMO thoughts?

4) john boyle is not a left full and is getting roasted week in week out not blaming john i blame scully.

5) lyons is wreckless and is very very lucky not to of seen red AGAIN yesterday a trwo footed tackle lucky to only get yellow. his nickname should be red
boyle went to limerick shur what players you on about this just another carew dig at pike :dance: