View Full Version : Limerick V Cork
:o I like! I like!
That means (If there is a lot of them and the weather is good) we "could" have 1500+.
LFC-Zulu
28/03/2010, 11:33 AM
:o I like! I like!
That means (If there is a lot of them and the weather is good) we "could" have 1500+.
I hope to God you're being extremely sarcastic?
No sarcasm, but there was emphasis on "could", Could being a possibility that there is always a chance of happening.
AKA Being unrealisticly optimistic.
bluewhitearmy
28/03/2010, 12:11 PM
I hope to God you're being extremely sarcastic?
What info do you have that you know for sure it wont happen?
I've been told there will be Athlone and other fans up for the pubs that are going to go to the game.
kevincronin2000
28/03/2010, 12:18 PM
What kind of attendance are ye expecting?
bluewhitearmy
28/03/2010, 12:21 PM
Hoping for around the 900-1000 mark. But depending on how many if any fans of other clubs come up for the double header and the pubs it could be more.
desmondoldie
28/03/2010, 5:47 PM
Well done lads have to say great resut and im really looking forward to the cork game now, It would be great to see us raking up a nice few points early on in the season.
Nice interview from ex view boy duggie here from after game against mervue which he scored a hat trick in asking the limerick boys in the shed, for no abuse next friday night.
http://www.corkcityforasco-op.com/home/index.php/2010/03/shane-duggan-interview/
bluewhitearmy
28/03/2010, 5:59 PM
Well done lads have to say great resut and im really looking forward to the cork game now, It would be great to see us raking up a nice few points early on in the season.
Nice interview from ex view boy duggie here from after game against mervue which he scored a hat trick in asking the limerick boys in the shed, for no abuse next friday night.
http://www.corkcityforasco-op.com/home/index.php/2010/03/shane-duggan-interview/
Bound to get it now.:doh:
Monkfish
29/03/2010, 9:30 AM
asking the limerick boys in the shed, for no abuse next friday night.
In fairness, who the fcuk does he think he is? he's a nobody to us and why would we abuse him?
Going to get it big time now.
bluewhitearmy
29/03/2010, 10:57 AM
In fairness, who the fcuk does he think he is? he's a nobody to us and why would we abuse him?
He says he played for us all through underage?
We don't have underage teams.
29/03/2010, 11:14 AM
Have you actually listened to the interview? He was asked if he expects stick and he says he hopes not.Sounded surprised by the suggestion of it so obviously he didnt think ye'd have any reason to abuse him.
Monkfish
29/03/2010, 11:30 AM
He says he played for us all through underage?
We don't have underage teams.
So we brought him up through the ranks, took care of him as a youngefella and he fecked off to the bright lights as soon as he got the chance?!!!!!
My blood is boiling now!
29/03/2010, 1:22 PM
Another hat trick would do nicely actually ;)
Monkfish
29/03/2010, 1:28 PM
Another hat trick would do nicely actually ;)
He'll do well to get it with the outrage he's created, hostile crowd ready and waiting.
(good player tbf)
So we brought him up through the ranks, took care of him as a youngefella and he fecked off to the bright lights as soon as he got the chance?!!!!!
My blood is boiling now!
Bright lights of UCD :D
Monkfish
29/03/2010, 1:36 PM
Bright lights of UCD :D
Dublin > Cork tbf :cool:
29/03/2010, 1:41 PM
I don't think Shane played for us but could be wrong. He went over to Plymouth quite young and then on to UCD. His father Gerry was a decent player with us for many years and was part of the league winning side of 1980.
We'd have no reason to abuse Shane. I'd love to see him come home soon.
Dublin > Cork tbf :cool:
Now you're just being silly.
Monkfish
29/03/2010, 3:31 PM
Now you're just being silly.
Me? never.
Any local lad who pulls on an opposition jersey (let alone a Cork one) and comes to Jackman Park trying to beat us will always get a bit of stick.
Exept Gary, we love Gary we do, wasted talent, come back Gary, all is not lost, not yet anyway, another few months of Noels total hoofball and your a gonner, c'mon Gaz, Gazza, the Gazzster, DJ Gazzy Geff! c'mon!!!
29/03/2010, 10:19 PM
Seems like it's gonna be pi$$ing rain all week.
I know Jackman isn't the best surface, but how does it stand up to serious rain? I can't remember a game being called off there.
Monkfish
29/03/2010, 10:57 PM
Seems like it's gonna be pi$$ing rain all week.
I know Jackman isn't the best surface, but how does it stand up to serious rain? I can't remember a game being called off there.
Its usually ok (too much sand) but at the Longford game the middle of the pitch had a nice bit of surface water.
Bloody snowing now
connie
30/03/2010, 9:00 AM
Have you actually listened to the interview? He was asked if he expects stick and he says he hopes not.Sounded surprised by the suggestion of it so obviously he didnt think ye'd have any reason to abuse him.
shane is a great lad and a very good player prob too good for the first Division having said that i think it will be a close game two very young sides ill go with a draw.
30/03/2010, 9:27 AM
Limerick 2-1 Cork Att: 1,100
Hopefully there is a good performance put in and we get a result in front of a big crowd. Too many poor results over the years when the crowds come out to watch.
LFC-Zulu
30/03/2010, 11:35 AM
Limerick 2-1 Cork Att: 1,100
Hopefully there is a good performance put in and we get a result in front of a big crowd. Too many poor results over the years when the crowds come out to watch.
I'm worried about this aswell. Yet again, I'd rather have them on there, just for the sake that if they win, there's more there to sample the match and the atmosphere..
LK37oldskool
30/03/2010, 12:14 PM
The weather for friday looks very bad,i wonder how many will stay at home and wait till 6 to come out on friday.Limerick seem to have no luck with the weather when big mtach's come around.
Even so there still might be a big crowd, not to mention merchandise such as Hats/Scarves etc. will sell very well, not to mention Stand Tickets.
ped_ped
30/03/2010, 7:57 PM
So if I want a place in the stand, should I be getting my ticket tomorrow/Thursday?
Even so there still might be a big crowd, not to mention merchandise such as Hats/Scarves etc. will sell very well, not to mention Stand Tickets.
Ye could make a killing selling plastic ponchos!
30/03/2010, 10:38 PM
Hea all, there is no parking at the venue this friday. parking in many of the cities car parks as well as on street (away from the ground) is an option...but walking to the venue is best. Come early, do not arrive down at 4:25 and wonder why ur in a que. Tickets will be on sale outside the ground and not from the avenue (as per smaller games) Hot food from the chip van as well as refreshments from the supporters club shop at etiher end inside the ground. There are a limited number of consession stand tickets (child) so first come first serve.
There should be parking across the road, from what was said earlier anyway, there SHOULD be.
So don't take it as 100% that there is, but assume there is aswell.
bluewhitearmy
31/03/2010, 2:56 PM
Game could be off with the weather Jackman was in an awful way a few days ago.
abbeyvale
31/03/2010, 9:45 PM
Hey Gael, Just a quick one for you..I read last week on a local newspaper that the council were looking for ideas to make use of the wasteland across from JP that used to be the area used by Guinness, would this not be a good parking lot for large home games for LFC?
It probably has some red tape attached, but it was just an idea........
See you Friday.
LFC 2-1 CC
01/04/2010, 11:33 AM
Looking forward to visiting Limerick tomorrow.
I'm bringin the waterproofs.
I'm presuming the pubs around the ground will be opened after the match.
Monkfish
01/04/2010, 12:02 PM
Game is off as it stands lads, Fairview game off too.
Official announcement yet to be made.
LK37oldskool
01/04/2010, 12:08 PM
April Fool Monkfish ?
Monkfish
01/04/2010, 12:10 PM
Pitch is in ****e lads, no official announcement yet so keep an ear out, i may be wrong (hopefully)
Well there hasn't been any word of it out here yet, So As it stands its not off - But it will probably be Ralph who will call it in if anyone, So we'll just have to wait.
Monkfish
01/04/2010, 12:38 PM
Well there hasn't been any word of it out here yet, So As it stands its not off - But it will probably be Ralph who will call it in if anyone, So we'll just have to wait.
Ok, may be an april fools windup, take no notice, which is pretty poor form considering the pitch was a bit dicey during the week........carry on!
Hi Lads:
The match tomorrow is definitley ON. Not even a mention of a pitch inspection !!!
JohnD
Monkfish
01/04/2010, 2:32 PM
Hi Lads:
Not even a mention of a pitch inspection !!!
Now this IS a windup! :p
We rang Ralph there, And the pitch is perfect. So the match is definitely going ahead.
01/04/2010, 3:06 PM
the pitch is perfect.
Jackman perfect? :D :D :D
bluepowers
01/04/2010, 4:18 PM
jackman is never perfect
Monkfish
01/04/2010, 4:24 PM
We rang Ralph there, And the pitch is perfect. So the match is definitely going ahead.
Good aul Ralph, always the joker.
Good aul Kev, always the w@nker.. I mean joker.. yeah.. joker.. thats what I meant..
4 buses heading up full, so bout 110/120 going that way.
With train goers and people driving Id hope we could be pushing 300 or more.
Pablo Escobar
01/04/2010, 8:20 PM
Sure to be more, FFS Waaaherford brought 300 to us!!......I'm really looking forward to this one!!
bluepowers
01/04/2010, 9:18 PM
waterford 300 ? they usually dont bring much 2 limerick
01/04/2010, 9:53 PM
Fantastic if ye do bring around the 300 mark. Should push our attendance to at least 1,100-1,200 :good:
Have to laugh at one line in that preview of the game on extratime.ie "though it would be unsurprising if the away side support out numbered those in Blue. It will become standard fare for both Cork and Derry to outnumber other sides away from home this season"
Cork would need to be bringing about 600 to 700 at least to out number the home support and according to Derry fans they have only had small support at away games in recent years, 60 or 70 max at Jackman a couple of weeks ago.