View Full Version : Limerick V Cork
bluewhitearmy
03/04/2010, 11:26 AM
Pike players get more money then Limerick thats why they don't sign for us.
thomas72
03/04/2010, 11:49 AM
boyle went to limerick shur what players you on about this just another carew dig at pike :dance:
john boyle was not with pike when limerick signed him he was signed with nobody as it was in the summer when he agreed to sign for limerick and was working in dublin still is.
IMO pat mcgarry, hartnett, pike left full cleary is an excellant player who would walk on the limerick team. pa moloney is prob the best finisher in the town and id put him ahead of shane clarke look at his goalscoring record over 30 league goals for the last 4yrs id say now very strong good in the air 10 times better than hickey but he is not even been looked at you must wonder why.
fieldofmarkets
03/04/2010, 12:11 PM
Was very disappointed with our performance yesterday. Lots of the lads did not play anywhere near their capabilities and were passed by. I didn't think it was lack of effort though so some of the criticism might be a bit harsh. I didn't think Cork were great either, I remember thinking just before their 1st goal that we looked better organised and had actually offered more, was pretty sure we would even take the 3 points! Think the shed thought likewise with that worse than the Ramblers chant. Next thing it was 3-0 and I'm wondering how are we losing 3-0, didn't seam Cork were 3-0 better than us. I could only remember them having 3 crosses and they burried each one perfectly....that and the Peter White block. We looked very vulnerable under the cross against Longford and I thought at the time that our back 4 will be killed by anyone with a decent frontline. We met a Cork team this week that will put those away.
Its not the end of our season, Scully needs to pick the heads up and press on. Yesterday showed us perhaps we are not as good as we hoped but we still have players capable of chasing that 3rd spot provided we sort out the back 4. Don't think we can run out the two boys in full-back positions in a 4-4-2 like this for the season. Some sort of re-alignment is needed if we are forced to play midfielders at full-back.
Lots of Clarke's first time layoffs and flicks didn't find JT yesterday, thought he might have taken it on a bit more himself maybe.
All in all, we didn't perform and got caught on the hop by a team we should have been putting away.....and Cork will only get better I think.
Fair play to Cork for bringing the great crowd.
connie
03/04/2010, 12:34 PM
Both should go back to where they came from.
Bit harsh on john boyle hes not a fullback.
fieldofmarkets
03/04/2010, 12:41 PM
[QUOTE=bluewhitearmy;1342355]Pike players get more money then Limerick thats why they don't sign for us.
Could well be....and I have no idea what the Limerick players or the better Junior players get. The common number you hear for Limerick is 50-100, now this might be completely false so fair enough. But the best junior players are hardly making millions more and I cannot understand why a good footballer if they have any motivation would choose to play at a lower level for a few extra quid if that is the case. Maybe some guys choose for other reasons and thats fair enough. I suspect that our best Junior guys in the LDL and DL are not as good as we think they are or unfortunately money is far too big a motivator.....which is a whole other message board. Either way, I'm happy to have players that want to play for the shirt. Isn't the morale high ground great :)
Someone mentioned Wayne Colbert in this thread already, gutted he's not in the squad this year. Always gave 110% and we could have used him yesterday.
LK37oldskool
03/04/2010, 12:41 PM
Lets get some reality here. We're back to square one in relation to defence.Same as last season - no one playing in their proper positions,relying on PP to come back and save us is fanciful and as been said elsewhere he's not fit and wont play a full season.We need a full back 4 with LOI experience.There's enough local lads in the team and there's not enough quality defenders in local soccer anyway. Our midfield and attack have enough quality to cause most teams problems and dont need to be addressed straight away,if defence is sorted we can push on from there. Look at Rogers yeaterday,despite his age his experience was there for all to see and he cleaned up at the back,i'm afraid we slippped up there,he's the kind of player we should be lookin for if we're serious about pushing up the table and makin a challenge.
If Scully has the money its defenders we need. As for questioning Scully's managment ,while he's got to answer for recent problems he's the best thats available, NOC ? yeah Wexford are really setting the league alight!
connie
03/04/2010, 12:42 PM
Typical crap out of you redcardrory, you look at Cork tonight and a very proud club who have bounced back from a very traumatic pre season and you look at their support tonight who applauded their players throughout the game. You as a Limerickman and the others that have now decided on the basis on two performances that Limerick are crap should not bother going anymore and definately don't comment on something you know nothing about.
Now i have no agenda here and i would bet i'm going to Limerick games alot longer than you but what i will say is that Limerick deserve support regardless of whether they are doing well or not, they are your local team, your city and you should support them. The club have made massive strides and i have criticised them in the past but for people to come on sayin they will never go again after tonight then fine don't but don't what they are trying to do, either support them or just stay off the site.
Tonight was bad and Derry was poor but its not always about winning and i believe for one that as long as the club is stable then we have a chance. Scully has done what he can wheeling and dealing but obviously does not have the budget of Derry Waterford Shels and Cork and for the time being we have to live with that and just get behind the lads. Its a pity Limerick people just turn out in numbers when results are going well and then decide they are not supporters when results go bad
I for one will be there for the next home game and any true supporter will be too, i support Limerick in whatever code, successful or not and the club deserves support if they are making the effort off the pitch.
I agree with your post bar the part its not all about winning because it is all about winning, well done to robbie kel made a big differance when he came on.
bluewhitearmy
03/04/2010, 12:42 PM
john boyle was not with pike when limerick signed him he was signed with nobody as it was in the summer when he agreed to sign for limerick and was working in dublin still is.
IMO pat mcgarry, hartnett, pike left full cleary is an excellant player who would walk on the limerick team. pa moloney is prob the best finisher in the town and id put him ahead of shane clarke look at his goalscoring record over 30 league goals for the last 4yrs id say now very strong good in the air 10 times better than hickey but he is not even been looked at you must wonder why.
Hartnett isn't even the best midfielder Pike have and Cleary was with Limerick before and wasn't overly good. I would love to try out McGarry Moloney and Mullins.
bluewhitearmy
03/04/2010, 12:44 PM
Bit harsh on john boyle hes not a fullback.
Ya good point apologies to John on that one.
bluewhitearmy
03/04/2010, 12:52 PM
Also what shocks me is its clear to see Boyler isn't good enough at left back because its not his position would it really be hard to give Ian Storan a game?
connie
03/04/2010, 1:03 PM
Ya good point apologies to John on that one.
no problem! alot of our players love GAA and would choose it over soccer,summer is the peak for GAA so they wouldnt be available to play lol in the summer.
see's it
03/04/2010, 1:06 PM
would it not make more sense to play boyle at right back,treacy at left back and hughes in midfield??
where did they get sean kelly from? he hasnt looked anywhere near the standard needed.
as for the junior players mentioned in earlier posts ,most of them are not even junior internationals so why do ye think they'd be good enough for EL?
Have seen some good junior players fail to make it at EL standard down through the years.i think people dont realise how big the gap is between the two codes.
bluewhitearmy
03/04/2010, 1:09 PM
Junior international caps are more about who you know Rossi Cosgrove proves that.
It would ave made a lot more sense to maybe bring in some cover in defence before the season but ya John right and Shane left would be better if John has to play in defence..
Johnnie C
03/04/2010, 1:28 PM
Are Maurice Quinlivan and Tom Collopy regular supporters ? Spotted them at game yesterday.
bluewhitearmy
03/04/2010, 1:37 PM
Probably just because there was a crowd expected.
bluewhitearmy
03/04/2010, 1:38 PM
would it not make more sense to play boyle at right back,treacy at left back and hughes in midfield??
where did they get sean kelly from? he hasnt looked anywhere near the standard needed.
as for the junior players mentioned in earlier posts ,most of them are not even junior internationals so why do ye think they'd be good enough for EL?
Have seen some good junior players fail to make it at EL standard down through the years.i think people dont realise how big the gap is between the two codes.
He was a pro with Galway last year would you believe.
Just noticed this:
and all those members of limerick who get in for nothing should start paying to get in for matchs i counted at least thirty five who got in for free that 350 euros lost
Care to elaborate whom? I'm sure we can shed some light on it, and point out that you are completely wrong, because there is nothing more that I would love to do then prove you wrong - so go on, be my guest.
bluewhitearmy
03/04/2010, 2:07 PM
Just noticed this:
Care to elaborate whom? I'm sure we can shed some light on it, and point out that you are completely wrong, because there is nothing more that I would love to do then prove you wrong - so go on, be my guest.
I wouldnt be trying to prove too many wrong on this match you said earlier there is no local manager as good as Scully and i dont think there is but could you name some local managers or even some other League of Ireland managers?
I'm not trying to prove anything wrong about the match, just where he got this ticketing idea.
bluewhitearmy
03/04/2010, 3:22 PM
I'm not trying to prove anything wrong about the match, just where he got this ticketing idea.
A load of people do get in free so what are you going to prove?
rooney10
03/04/2010, 4:22 PM
question for u- how many players in d current limerick squad have played junior international??
see's it
03/04/2010, 9:16 PM
question for u- how many players in d current limerick squad have played junior international??
id guess 2,robbie and pat purcell.i could be wrong there though!
most of the limerick squad havent played junior football at all
abbeyvale
03/04/2010, 10:37 PM
Of the Pike squad that you say may be good enough, Mullins, McGarry & Hartnett put GAA before playing footy, so they're a no go, Moloney is decent but not as good as Clarke or Tierney IMO and I dont think Cleary is good enough, anybody else in the Pike squad has either been there and done that with LFC (and left for whatever reason) and the rest wouldn't be good enogh IMO.
bluewhitearmy
03/04/2010, 10:38 PM
id guess 2,robbie and pat purcell.i could be wrong there though!
most of the limerick squad havent played junior football at all
Cant go by junior caps Ross Cosgrove has em and i'm told Pa Moloney doesn't i know which one id want in my team.
abbeyvale
03/04/2010, 10:43 PM
Cant go by junior caps Ross Cosgrove has em and i'm told Pa Moloney doesn't i know which one id want in my team.
We get it.........you like Moloney..........but would you start him ahead of Clarke or Tierney?
bluewhitearmy
03/04/2010, 11:02 PM
We get it.........you like Moloney..........but would you start him ahead of Clarke or Tierney?
Id start him up front with them seen as we play 4 3 3.
And i like a lot of Pikes players and there manager they are winners and i respect that.
Castletroy_Blue
04/04/2010, 1:45 AM
Id start him up front with them seen as we play 4 3 3.
And i like a lot of Pikes players and there manager they are winners and i respect that.
So to summarise after ten pages: Limerick were awful, and bluewhitearmy wants to make babies with pike rovers because he is deeply in love with them.
Close the thread. :)
thomas72
04/04/2010, 9:13 AM
no but id start him ahead of hickey
bluewhitearmy
04/04/2010, 11:29 AM
So to summarise after ten pages: Limerick were awful, and bluewhitearmy wants to make babies with pike rovers because he is deeply in love with them.
Close the thread. :)
There should be at least 5 more pages on how awful they were.
da bishop
04/04/2010, 5:44 PM
it was a bad day,the result shouldn,t be maybe that surprising but our performance was.as mr.fishy puts it gutless and in many ways this particular eleven collaspsed in a big match.however while one would have expected a bit more fight in the players performances,,save tierney,,,,the managers efforts were imo quite poor.we played this 4-3-1-2 formation again and its not working and certainly wont work v the top 4 i.e shels,waterf,derry and cork.clarke is totally unsuited to his role and given we played a tight mid 3 our converted fulls are always under pressure,speaking of which one has to feel sorry for boyle a willing player who,s a winger but scully puts him leftfull,hughes is a midfielder not a fullback who i believe is out of his depth anyway and of course kelly,cant tackle,cant head,has no leadership ability(not retained by galway or cork and can see why),white is a good player but will suffer with this lot around him as he showed fri.also no plan B when it was very obvious things were,n happening,scullys first solution was to put on roche a fb for lyons(who is going backwards under this manager) when we were chasing the game.cork won comfortably even though they it was hardly a good performance from them,they will improve as the season goes on,it seems we will have a few new arrivals shortly and its early days so scully needs to get working harder on the training ground or we will be left behind.btw...judge m.o.m wtf,tierney head and shoulder above anybody.the pitch an absolute disgrace.the cork fans easily 600-700 brilliant.scully why so quiet fri.
bluewhitearmy
04/04/2010, 5:51 PM
it was a bad day,the result shouldn,t be maybe that surprising but our performance was.as mr.fishy puts it gutless and in many ways this particular eleven collaspsed in a big match.however while one would have expected a bit more fight in the players performances,,save tierney,,,,the managers efforts were imo quite poor.we played this 4-3-1-2 formation again and its not working and certainly wont work v the top 4 i.e shels,waterf,derry and cork.clarke is totally unsuited to his role and given we played a tight mid 3 our converted fulls are always under pressure,speaking of which one has to feel sorry for boyle a willing player who,s a winger but scully puts him leftfull,hughes is a midfielder not a fullback who i believe is out of his depth anyway and of course kelly,cant tackle,cant head,has no leadership ability(not retained by galway or cork and can see why),white is a good player but will suffer with this lot around him as he showed fri.also no plan B when it was very obvious things were,n happening,scullys first solution was to put on roche a fb for lyons(who is going backwards under this manager) when we were chasing the game.cork won comfortably even though they it was hardly a good performance from them,they will improve as the season goes on,it seems we will have a few new arrivals shortly and its early days so scully needs to get working harder on the training ground or we will be left behind.btw...judge m.o.m wtf,tierney head and shoulder above anybody.the pitch an absolute disgrace.the cork fans easily 600-700 brilliant.scully why so quiet fri.
Only thing wrong with that post is we have won 2 out of 3 we have played with that formation.
da bishop
04/04/2010, 6:24 PM
agreed,we have ,v harps which i didn,t see and v longford where we should have been 2 down in the first half alone ,again teams who wont be in top 4 contention,for me theres a bigger picture here and our current players are not suited to that formation.
harpin
06/04/2010, 9:16 AM
.scully why so quiet fri.
Wondered that myself, not like him